DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-13 are pending in this instant application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application JP 2021-159410 filed on 09/29/2021 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d).
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in priorApplication Nos. 17/817,129 & 18/484,020, filed on 08/03/2022 & 10/10/2023, and name an inventor or inventors named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or division. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120 and 37 CFR 1.78.
Drawings
4. The drawing has been filed on 11/27/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement filed on 11/27/2024, 05/13/2024 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
7. Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent 11,816,381 B2 (and/or claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent 12,182,465 B2).
It is clear that all the elements of an instant application independent claim 1 is to be found in patent (U.S. Patent No. 11,816,381 B2) claims 1, 11 as the instant application independent claim 1 fully encompasses the patent claim 1, 11. The difference between the instant application independent claim 1 and the patent (U.S. Patent No. 11,816,381 B2) claims 1, 11 lies in the fact that the patent (U.S. Patent No. 11,816,381 B2) claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claims 1, 11 of the patent (U.S. Patent No. 11,816,381 B2) is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the instant application independent claim 1. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the instant application independent claim 1 anticipated by claims 1, 11 of the patent (U.S. Patent No. 11,816,381 B2), it is not patentably distinct from claims 1, 11 of the patent (U.S. Patent No. 11,816,381 B2).
The dependent claims 2-13 of the instant application obviously claim the same subject matter as found in the claims 2-10, 12-18 of the parent patent’ 381 and therefore would be rejected based on the claims 2-10, 12-18 of the parent patent’ 381.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-6, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda, US Pub 2016/0124686 in view of Nakamoto, US Pub 2020/0005102.
As to claim 1 [independent], Maeda teaches an image forming apparatus comprising [fig. 1, element 300; 0049-0050]:
a user interface [fig. 3, element 36; 0054];
a communication interface [fig. 3, element 37; 0054]; and
a controller configured to [fig. 3, element 30; 0054]:
perform an approval process of [fig. 4; 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 performs an approval process for the user]:
in response to receiving a data request from an apparatus connected via the communication interface [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus], displaying an approval screen on the user interface ([fig. 4; 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 performs an approval process for the user]), the apparatus having transmitted the data request being a requesting apparatus [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 upon condition such as connection information related to any target printer 300 can be applicable to remotely operated];
in response to receiving an approval operation to the approval screen via the user interface, transmitting requested data to the requesting apparatus [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 upon condition such as connection information related to any target printer 300 can be applicable to remotely operated]; and
Maeda doesn’t teach in response to determining that a particular condition is satisfied when the data request is received from the requesting apparatus via the communication interface, transmitting the requested data to the requesting apparatus without displaying the approval screen on the user interface; and
after transmitting the requested data, in response to receiving an instruction via the communication interface from the requesting apparatus, perform a particular process based on the instruction.
Nakamoto teaches in response to determining that a particular condition is satisfied when the data request is received from the requesting apparatus via the communication interface [0038-0039 Nakamoto teaches that when the administrator of the printer 102 and satisfied the condition such as the authorized user or the connection/setting information uses when the printer 102 & the client 101 connect with each other through stored setting information, for the login screen page request received from the client 101 correspond to the requesting apparatus], transmitting the requested data to the requesting apparatus without displaying the approval screen on the user interface [fig. 6; 0038-0039 Nakamoto teaches that when the administrator of the printer 102 and satisfied the condition such as the authorized user or the connection/setting information uses when the printer 102 & the client 101 connect with each other through stored setting information, for the login screen page request received from the client 101 correspond to the requesting apparatus, the printer 102 has transmitted the login screen page to the client 101 (fig. 6; 0038-0039) without displaying the approval screen on the user interface (figs. 6, 9-10; 0038-0039), because the requested data correspond to the login screen page is transmitted before sending the approval screen (figs. 6, 9-10; 0044-0047)]; and
after transmitting the requested data, in response to receiving an instruction via the communication interface from the requesting apparatus, perform a particular process based on the instruction [figs. 6, 9-10; 0038-0039, 0046-0047 Nakamoto teaches that when the administrator of the printer 102 and satisfied the condition such as the authorized user or the connection/setting information uses when the printer 102 & the client 101 connect with each other through stored setting information, for the login screen page request received from the client 101 correspond to the requesting apparatus (fig. 6; 0038-0039), then the printer 102 has executes the initial setting generates Web page data in which a message that the flat-rate printing service registration succeeded is embedded and replies to the client terminal 101 with it as a response. The client 101, based on Web page data returned as the response, displays the approval screen as shown in fig. 10 (figs. 6, 9-10; 0046-0047)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nakamoto teaching to determine a condition is satisfied when transmitting the requested data to the requesting apparatus without displaying the approval screen to modify Maeda’s teaching to register settings related to the Web service, and an instruction is generated by the client terminal to the printer for execution of a predetermined setting related to the Web service authenticate the user first and then respond to logged user request for the print jobs stored in plural servers located in different areas or regions and then displayed on the requested printer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to apply method enables accessing a service provision apparatus by a user for clicking selection item as an instruction to register to the Web service.
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Maeda teaches a Web server,
wherein the controller is configured to:
in response to receiving a display request for a Web page relating to the image forming apparatus [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 upon condition such as connection information related to any target printer 300 can be applicable to remotely operated], control the Web server to transmit Web page data to an apparatus having transmitted the display request [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 upon condition such as connection information related to any target printer 300 can be applicable to remotely operated], the Web page data being data for allowing the apparatus having transmitted the display request to display the Web page [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 upon condition such as connection information related to any target printer 300 can be applicable to remotely operated]; and
after transmitting the Web page data, in response to receiving, via the Web page, the data request from the apparatus having transmitted the display request [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 upon condition such as connection information related to any target printer 300 can be applicable to remotely operated],
Nakamoto teaches perform the approval process by using a communication address used for communication with the apparatus having transmitted the display request, the apparatus having transmitted the display request being the requesting apparatus [figs. 6, 9-10; 0038-0039, 0046-0047 Nakamoto teaches that when the administrator of the printer 102 and satisfied the condition as the authorized user or communication/connection address is satisfied for the login screen page request received from the client 101 correspond to the requesting apparatus (fig. 6; 0038-0039), then the printer 102 has executes the initial setting generates Web page data in which a message that the flat-rate printing service registration succeeded is embedded and replies to the client terminal 101 with it as a response. The client 101, based on Web page data returned as the response, displays the approval screen as shown in fig. 10 (figs. 6, 9-10; 0046-0047)].
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 1], Maeda teaches wherein the user interface includes a touch panel [fig. 3, element 30; 0054] and an operation key [fig. 3, element 30; 0054];
wherein the data request is a request for remote screen data for displaying a remote screen, the remote screen being a screen displayed on the requesting apparatus [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 to be displayed on the client 100 related to any target printer 300 can be applicable to remotely operated];
Nakamoto teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
in response to receiving the approval operation to the approval screen via the user interface, transmitting the remote screen data to the requesting apparatus [figs. 6, 9-10; 0038-0039, 0046-0047, 0092-0094 Nakamoto teaches that when the administrator of the printer 102 and satisfied the condition as the authorized user or communication/connection address is satisfied for the login screen page request received from the client 101 correspond to the requesting apparatus (fig. 6; 0038-0039), then the printer 102 has executes the initial setting generates Web page data in which a message that the flat-rate printing service registration succeeded is embedded and replies to the client terminal 101 with it as a response. The client 101, based on Web page data returned as the response, displays the approval screen as shown in fig. 10 (figs. 6, 9-10; 0046-0047)]; and
wherein the remote screen is a screen that virtually displays the user interface including the touch panel and the operation key [figs. 6, 9-10; 0038-0039, 0046-0047, 0092-0094 Nakamoto teaches that when the administrator of the printer 102 and satisfied the condition as the authorized user or communication/connection address is satisfied for the login screen page request received from the client 101 correspond to the requesting apparatus (fig. 6; 0038-0039), then the printer 102 has executes the initial setting generates Web page data in which a message that the flat-rate printing service registration succeeded is embedded and replies to the client terminal 101 with it as a response. The client 101, based on Web page data returned as the response, displays the approval screen as shown in fig. 10 (figs. 6, 9-10; 0046-0047)].
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Maeda teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
in response to determining that information transmitted from the requesting apparatus satisfies the particular condition when the data request is received from the requesting apparatus via the communication interface [fig. 4; 0068-0070 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 received connection information from the client 100 and obviously or inherently the printer 300 determined the connection information satisfied the condition to be communicated with the client 100, transmitted the login screen page to the client displays any approval screen], transmit the requested data to the requesting apparatus without displaying the approval screen on the user interface [fig. 4; 0068-0070 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 received connection information from the client 100 and obviously or inherently the printer 300 determined the connection information satisfied the condition to be communicated with the client 100, transmitted the login screen page to the client displays any approval screen on the printer 300].
As to claim 5 [dependent from claim 1], Maeda teaches wherein a memory of the image forming apparatus [fig. 3, element 31 or 33; 0054, 0122 Maeda ] is configured to store setting information relating to the particular condition [fig. 3, element 31 or 33; 0054, 0122 Maeda teaches that one of or both memories 31 or/and 33 storing a program and settings including different conditions which executed by processor 30]; and
wherein the controller is configured to:
in response to receiving the data request from the requesting apparatus via the communication interface in a state where the memory stores the setting information relating to the particular condition ([fig. 3, element 31 or 33; 0054, 0122 Maeda teaches that one of or both memories 31 or/and 33 storing a program and settings including different conditions which executed by processor 30]), determine whether the particular condition is satisfied based on the setting information stored in the memory [fig. 4; 0068-0070 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 received connection information from the client 100 and obviously or inherently the printer 300 determined the connection information satisfied the condition to be communicated with the client 100, transmitted the login screen page to the client displays any approval screen on the printer 300]; and
Nakamoto teaches in response to determining that the particular condition is satisfied, transmit the requested data to the requesting apparatus without displaying the approval screen on the user interface key [figs. 6, 9-10; 0038-0039, 0046-0047 Nakamoto teaches that when the administrator of the printer 102 and satisfied the condition as the authorized user or communication/connection address is satisfied for the login screen page request received from the client 101 correspond to the requesting apparatus (fig. 6; 0038-0039), then the printer 102 has executes the initial setting generates Web page data in which a message that the flat-rate printing service registration succeeded is embedded and replies to the client terminal 101 with it as a response. The client 101, based on Web page data returned as the response, displays the approval screen as shown in fig. 10 (figs. 6, 9-10; 0046-0047)].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Nakamoto teaching to determine a condition is satisfied when transmitting the requested data to the requesting apparatus without displaying the approval screen to modify Maeda’s teaching to register settings related to the Web service, and an instruction is generated by the client terminal to the printer for execution of a predetermined setting related to the Web service authenticate the user first and then respond to logged user request for the print jobs stored in plural servers located in different areas or regions and then displayed on the requested printer. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to apply method enables accessing a service provision apparatus by a user for clicking selection item as an instruction to register to the Web service.
As to claim 6 [dependent from claim 5], Maeda teaches wherein the controller is configured to: in response to receiving an operation relating to the particular condition via the user interface, store, in the memory, the setting information relating to the particular condition based on the operation received via the user interface [fig. 4; 0070-0072 Maeda teaches that the operation is performed by the printer 300 to store setting information based on the connection request received initiated by the user on the display 13].
As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 1], Maeda teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
in response to determining that a communication address satisfies the particular condition when the data request is received from the requesting apparatus via the communication interface [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus after setting communication between the printer 300 & client 100 using the connection information such as IP address or other identification information, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, then the printer 300 determined that the connection information is verified to be authenticated and in response the printer 300 has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 without displaying the approval screen on the user interface/display 36 of the printer 300], transmit the requested data to the requesting apparatus without displaying the approval screen on the user interface, the communication address being an address used for communication with the requesting apparatus [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus after setting communication between the printer 300 & client 100 using the connection information such as IP address or other identification information, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, then the printer 300 determined that the connection information is verified to be authenticated and in response the printer 300 has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 without displaying the approval screen on the user interface/display 36 of the printer 300].
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 8], Maeda teaches wherein the controller is configured to: in the approval process, use an IP address of the image forming apparatus as the communication address [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus after setting communication between the printer 300 & client 100 using the connection information such as IP address or other identification information, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, then the printer 300 determined that the connection information is verified to be authenticated and in response the printer 300 has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 without displaying the approval screen on the user interface/display 36 of the printer 300]; and
in response to determining that the IP address of the image forming apparatus is a private IP address, determine that the particular condition is satisfied [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus after setting communication between the printer 300 & client 100 using the connection information such as IP address or other identification information, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, then the printer 300 determined that the connection information is verified to be authenticated and in response the printer 300 has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 without displaying the approval screen on the user interface/display 36 of the printer 300].
As to claim 10 [dependent from claim 8], Maeda teaches wherein a memory of the image forming apparatus is configured to store an IP address of a permission target of the approval process [fig. 3, element 31 or 33; 0054, 0122 Maeda teaches that one of or both memories 31 or/and 33 storing a program and settings including different conditions which executed by processor 30]; and
wherein the controller is configured to:
in the approval process, use an IP address of the requesting apparatus as the communication address [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus after setting communication between the printer 300 & client 100 using the connection information such as IP address or other identification information, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, then the printer 300 determined that the connection information is verified to be authenticated and in response the printer 300 has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 without displaying the approval screen on the user interface/display 36 of the printer 300]; and
in response to determining that the IP address of the requesting apparatus matches the IP address of the permission target stored in the memory, determine that the particular condition is satisfied [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus after setting communication between the printer 300 & client 100 using the connection information such as IP address or other identification information, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, then the printer 300 determined that the connection information is verified to be authenticated and in response the printer 300 has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 without displaying the approval screen on the user interface/display 36 of the printer 300].
As to claim 11 [dependent from claim 8], Maeda teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
in the approval process, use an IP address of the image forming apparatus and an IP address of the requesting apparatus as the communication address [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus after setting communication between the printer 300 & client 100 using the connection information such as IP address or other identification information, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, then the printer 300 determined that the connection information is verified to be authenticated and in response the printer 300 has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 without displaying the approval screen on the user interface/display 36 of the printer 300]; and
in response to determining that the IP address of the image forming apparatus and the IP address of the requesting apparatus are addresses on a same LAN, determine that the particular condition is satisfied [fig. 4; 0066-0069, 0070, 0072 Maeda teaches that the printer 300 has received the a data request correspond to the login screen page from the client 100 correspond to the requesting apparatus after setting communication between the printer 300 & client 100 using the connection information such as IP address or other identification information, the printer 300, in response to the request made by the client 100, then the printer 300 determined that the connection information is verified to be authenticated and in response the printer 300 has transmitted the login screen page to the client 100 without displaying the approval screen on the user interface/display 36 of the printer 300].
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 7, 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The dependent claim 12 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “a Web server, wherein the controller is configured to: in response to receiving a display request for a registration page from an apparatus connected via the communication interface, transmit Web page data for displaying the registration page to the apparatus having transmitted the display request for the registration page, the registration page being a Web page for receiving an operation relating to the particular condition; and in response to receiving, via the communication interface, the operation relating to the particular condition from the apparatus having transmitted the display request for the registration page, store the setting information relating to the particular condition based on the operation relating to the particular condition, a process of storing the setting information relating to the particular condition requiring administrator authentication”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 12 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the approval process includes: a first approval process of, in response to determining that a communication address satisfies the particular condition, approving transmission of the requested data to the requesting apparatus without displaying the approval screen on the user interface, the communication address being an address used for communication with the requesting apparatus; and a second approval process of, in response to receiving the approval operation to the approval screen via the user interface, approving the transmission of the requested data to the requesting apparatus; and wherein the controller is configured to: perform a setting for the image forming apparatus based on an operation received via the user interface, the setting relating to whether to enable or disable the first approval process; and in response to receiving the data request from the requesting apparatus and to determining that the first approval process is disabled, perform the second approval process as the approval process”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 13 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “a Web server, wherein the approval process includes: a first approval process of, in response to determining that a communication address satisfies the particular condition, approving transmission of the requested data to the requesting apparatus without displaying the approval screen on the user interface, the communication address being an address used for communication with the requesting apparatus; and a second approval process of, in response to receiving the approval operation to the approval screen via the user interface, approving the transmission of the requested data to the requesting apparatus; and wherein the controller is configured to: in response to receiving a display request for a Web page relating to the approval process from an apparatus connected via the communication interface, control the Web server to transmit Web page data to the apparatus having transmitted the display request, the Web page data being data for displaying a Web page on the apparatus having transmitted the display request, the Web page indicating a screen for receiving an operation of setting whether to enable or disable the first approval process; after transmitting the Web page data, perform a setting for the image forming apparatus based on a setting instruction from the apparatus having transmitted the display request, the setting relating to whether to enable or disable the first approval process; and in response to receiving the data request from the requesting apparatus and to determining that the first approval process is disabled, perform the second approval process as the approval process”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682