DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a shredding unit that shreds paper into paper pieces” in claim 1 the term “shredding unit” is a nonce term, is coupled to the functional language “that shreds”, and is not preceded by a structural modifier; the corresponding structure was found in page 10 of specification “ As illustrated in FIG. 3, the shredding unit 20 has a first slope portion 21, a first vertical blade 22, a second vertical blade 23, a horizontal blade 24, a second slope portion 26, a top plate 27, and a stirring portion 28. In the shredding unit 20, the first slope portion 21, the first vertical blade 22 and the second vertical blade 23, the horizontal blade 24, and the second slope portion 26 are disposed above the top plate 27 in the above-described order. The paper to be shredded sequentially moves from the charging port 7 to the first slope portion 21, the first vertical blade 22 and the second vertical blade 23, the horizontal blade 24, the second slope portion 26, and the stirring portion 28”. Therefore, “a shredding unit” is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure in the specification and drawings that entirely performs the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (KR 20210014041 A) .
Regarding claim2 Jung discloses a method (fig.8, page 12, 13, see attached translation) for controlling a shredder, the shredder (fig.4, also see abstract) including a shredding unit (fig.4, 4) that shreds paper into paper pieces, a tank (fig.4, 5, referred as shredded paper collection box) that stores the paper pieces, a weight sensor (using proximity and laser sensor) that measures a weight of the paper pieces inside the tank (page9, para6, see attached translation), a processor (fig.3, 12, referred as controller), and a display (fig.3, 15), the method (fig.8, page 12, 13, see attached translation) for controlling the shredder, comprising: a first step ( page 11, para7, page 17, para 1, see attached translation) of measuring the weight of the paper (weight of the paper before shredding is measured based on the thickness); a second step of calculating (see page 11, para 9 (last para), see attached translation), by the processor (fig.3, 12, referred as controller), an environmental contribution value (see page9, para 6, 7, referred as carbon money referred as carbon money, see attached translation) based on the weight of the paper; and a third step of displaying the environmental contribution value (calculated carbon money is displayed, page6, para5, see attached translation) on the display (fig.3, 15).
Regarding claim3, which depends on claim2, Jung discloses the method for controlling a shredder according to claim 2. Jung further discloses the second step (calculating carbon money/environmental contribution value after shredding, page9, para7, see attached translation) and the third step (accumulated amount is displayed, page6, para5, see attached translation) are performed after shredding by the shredding unit (page9, para8).
Regarding claim4, which depends on claim2, Jung discloses the method for controlling a shredder according to claim 2. Jung further discloses that in the second step, an accumulated value of the measured weight of the paper pieces is calculated , and the environmental contribution value (referred as carbon money) is calculated based on the calculated accumulated value (page11, last para, measure the weight, accumulated carbon money is calculated based on user input of waste paper, see attached translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20210014041 A) in view of Chang (US 20190134642 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a shredder (fig.4, also see abstract) comprising: a shredding unit (fig.4, 4) that shreds paper into paper pieces; a tank (fig.4, 5, referred as shredded paper collection box) that stores the paper pieces; a processor (fig.3, 12, referred as controller) that calculates an environmental contribution value (page9, para 6, 7, referred as carbon money, see attached translation) based on the weight of the paper pieces; and a display (fig.7a) that displays the environmental contribution value (page9, para 6, 7, referred as carbon money referred as carbon money, see attached translation).
Jung is silent about a weight sensor that is provided below the tank and that measures a weight of the paper pieces inside the tank;
However, Chang teaches a weight sensor (§[0022], lines 12-15) that is provided below the tank (§[0018], lines 9-12) and that measures a weight of the paper pieces inside the tank;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the shredder disclosed by Jung and incorporate a weight sensor below the tank, as taught by Chang, for the purpose of determining when the container is full (§[0018], lines 9-12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ji Whan (KR 102145554 B1): also teaches carbon money based on paper weight.
/M.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725