DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20,
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a method, which falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis: Claim 1 recites,
obtaining location information about a location of the terminal;
obtaining time information about a time corresponding to the location information;
obtaining state information of the terminal, the state information including
network access state information;
determining situation-adaptive information based on the location information, the time information and the state information, the situation adaptive information including information on a destination being predicted to move to and a time taken in moving to the destination; and
displaying the situation-adaptive information can be considered to be an evaluation in the human mind.
These limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind which falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements – “one or more memories”, “one or more processors”, “terminal” does not claim the function as being positively recited actions or functions, and or it does not add any meaning or purpose to the associated manipulative step.)”. Thus, the elements in the claim are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
These limitations are considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity. Please see MPEP 2106.05(g). The claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of utilizing one or more memories, one or more processors, client device, to perform the steps of the claimed process amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Please see MPEP 2106.05(f). The limitations of receiving information and model configuration information from a client device are well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by MPEP §2106.05(d)(II)(I), “transmitting data over a network”. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and insignificant extra-solution activity which cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claims 2-10 and 12-19 the rejection of claims 1 and 11 are further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: determining a count…, determining a probability…, obtaining training data , training the entity resolution…, This limitation amounts to an insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The limitation of: determining a count…, determining a probability…, obtaining training data , training the entity resolution… are well understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by MPEP §2106.05(d)(II)(iv). This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration, and does not amount to significantly more. Even when considered in combination, this additional element represents an insignificant extra-solution activity which cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuura et al. (US Pub. 2006/0156209) (Eff filing date of app: 2/18/2004)(Hereinafter Matsuura) in view of Winters (US Pub. 2010/0323715) (Eff filing date of app: 6/18/2009).
As to claims 1, 11, and 20, Matsuura teaches a method of display situation-adaptive information by a terminal, the method comprising:
obtaining location information about a location of the terminal (see p. 133, “the movement history recording unit 202 records the location of the mobile terminal 11 and the date and time onto the hard disk HDD of the movement history data storage unit”; p. 9-10 and fig. 6, 202 and 204);
obtaining time information about a time corresponding to the location information (see p. 133, “the movement history recording unit 202 records the location of the mobile terminal 11 and the date and time onto the hard disk HDD of the movement history data storage unit”); and
displaying the situation-adaptive information (see fig, 27).
Matsuura teaches obtain current location and current data and time, see abstract and fig. 39, but does not expressly teach obtaining state information of the terminal, the state information including network access state information; and
determining situation-adaptive information based on the location information, the time information and the state information, the situation-adaptive information including information on a destination being predicted to move to and a time taken in moving to the destination.
Winters teaches device location prediction for mobile service, see abstract, in which he teaches obtaining state information of the terminal, the state information including network access state information (see p. 15, “In FIG. 1, locator device 120 may be coupled to location detection system 150 via communications connection 121, over which navigation data 122 and/or real-time location information 123 may be transmitted. Inside location detection system 150, satellite 151 may be coupled with location detection server(s) 153 via communications connection 152, over which navigation data 122 and/or real-time location information 123 may be transmitted….”; p. 40, “By way of example, and not limitation, communication media may include wired media such as a wired network or direct-wired connection, and wireless media such as acoustic, radio frequency (RF), infrared (IR), and other wireless media.”; p. 46, “”); and
determining situation-adaptive information based on the location information, the time information and the state information, the situation-adaptive information including information on a destination being predicted to move to and a time taken in moving to the destination (see p. 50-53, location prediction information ).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Matsuura by the teaching of Winters, because obtaining state information of…, would enable the method because to predict future mobile device locations in order to provide optimized mobile services, see paragraph 14.
As to claims 2 and 12, Matsuura as modified teaches wherein the network access state information indicated that the terminal is connected to a predetermined (see Matsuura p. 222, “This system includes the above-mentioned mobile phone 1201 capable of doing search via voice call and networks, a wireless IC card 1202 that has a communication function via a local wireless (RF (radio frequency)) tag or the like and is mounted or integrated in the mobile phone, a public network 1203 such as the Internet, a server 1204 that performs information retrieval and information distribution”).
As to claims 3 and 13, Matsuura as modified teaches the method further comprises generating a user database including prior location information, prior time information and prior state information (see Winters p. 27, historical device movements).
As to claims 8 and 18, Matsuura as modified teaches wherein the state information of the terminal further comprises application information of the terminal (see p. 1, “The present invention relates to a method of predicting an application program that a user is likely to use from among application programs previously installed onto a mobile terminal such as a mobile phone).
As to claims 9 and 19, Matsuura as modified teaches wherein the determining the situation adaptive information comprises predicting a situation of the user based on the state information of the terminal indicating that a certain application is being executed (see Winters, p. 33, use of application location by the use of applications and Matsuura abstract, “that creates a usage prediction rule of the application executed on the input device (106), in association with a usage location detected by the GPS reception unit (108); and an information display control unit (204) that specifies, based on the usage prediction rule, an application corresponding to the current location detected by the GPS reception unit (108), and causes a display (105) to display the specified application as a prediction result.” and p. 279, “The mobile phone according to the present embodiment previously holds the usage history of an e-mail application or the like for the user of the mobile terminal, and predicts, based on the current date and time and location, an application that the user is likely to use currently. The mobile terminal further predicts an application that the user is likely to use in the future location predicted by the above location prediction method.’).
As to claim 10, Matsuura teaches wherein: the obtaining the location information comprises determining the location information of the terminal as that the terminal is in a car and is near a workplace of the user of the terminal (see p. 174, mobile terminal is mounted in a car); and
the application information of the terminal comprises information of a map application installed on the terminal (see fig 8, map database and fig 63, map display and p. 135, “recorded location coordinate of the mobile terminal 11 belongs, by referring to the map database (map DB”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 14-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bilogrevic et al. “A machine-learning based approach to privacy-aware information-sharing in mobile social networks” (Hereinafter Bilogrevic) (Eff filing date of 06/30/2014).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BELIX M. ORTIZ DITREN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2164
/Belix M Ortiz Ditren/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164