DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 9/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden or search. This is not found persuasive because of the reasons set forth in paragraph 5, as the restriction is maintained because of a different field of search, separate status in the art and separate classification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhangqi et al. (CN11231754A; machine translation) in view of Ding et al. (CN209721894U, machine translation).
Zhangqi et al. teach a method of treating contaminated soil with a leachate to produce a slurry (paragraph 61), and separating contaminants from the soil to produce treated soil and contaminated leachate (paragraphs 67 and 69). Specifically, Zhangqui et al. teach pre-screening the soil to screen out components (paragraph 10), followed by a main leaching apparatus 30 comprising a roller separator, and primary and secondary screens (paragraphs 19-20, 61).
Zhangqi et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of mixing the contaminated soil with process water or pumping the slurry through a mixing chamber. Ding et al. teach a mixing chamber comprising a plurality of mixing chambers (5,6,7, 8) separated by mixing screens (9,10,11), wherein the sludge is mixed with process water (claim 1, paragraphs 8, 32) for purposes of treating waste water in order to separate contaminants while reducing cleaning costs. Ding et al. further teach a circulation pump 15 for pumping sludge into the mixing chamber for repeated filtration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhangqi et al. to include mixing with water and pumping, as taught by Ding et al., for purposes of extracting contaminants while reducing cleaning costs. In reference to the limitations of the mixing chambers being separated by a set of mixing screens, Zhangqi et al. teach the magnetic separation system 40 (i.e. chamber, paragraph 58) and the leaching stirring tank 34 separated by vibrating screens (32,33). It is noted that applicant’s claim limitation of “chamber” lacks any structural limitations and is read broadly to include any component/system capable of separating contaminants from the soil. Alternatively, the secondary reference of Ding al. is relied upon to also teach chambers separated by screens for purposes of performing the same function of separating contaminants. In reference to the limitations of increasing the mass transfer of sorbed contaminants from the soil, the limitations are met as a result of filtration through a plurality of screens, as taught by both Zhangqi et al. and Ding et al. In reference to positioning the mixing screens to increase the dissipation rates within the mixing chambers, the limitations are met as a result of positioning the screens in a downward angle to help discharge the sludge and prevent clogging of the filter plates. Re claim 2, refer to the pre-screening device of Zhangqi et al. Re claim 5, refer to paragraph 32 of Ding et al., as the prior art teaches pumping into the mixing chamber until the particle size becomes smaller which reads broadly on a predetermined number of times. Re claims 6-9, refer to paragraph 17 of Zhangqi et al. Re claim 10, refer to paragraph 14 of Zhangqi et al. which teach the removal of magnetic impurities which reads on metals.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhangqi et al. (CN11231754A; machine translation) in view of Ding et al. (CN209721894U, machine translation) and further in view of Jung et al. (WO2013/069853A1).
Zhangqi et al. in view of Ding et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of passing the treated soil to a dewatering component and directing collecting the treated soil in a collection area. Jung et al. teach a system and method for remediating contaminated soil through separation of particles and a remediation unit adapted to wash the soil and a filtering unit adapted to separate the water from the soil. Paragraph 56 teaches the process water is dewatered by vacuum absorption and collecting the soil in a collection area (paragraph 47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Zhangqi et al. to include dewatering and collecting the soil, as taught by Jung et al. in order to separate the water from the soil during the remediation of the contaminated soil.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhangqi et al. (CN11231754A; machine translation) in view of Ding et al. (CN209721894U, machine translation) and further in view of Hyun et al. (KR101744849B1).
Zhangqi et al. in view of Ding et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of heating the contaminated soil. Hyun et al. teach purification of contaminated soil by filtration and heating the soil slurry in order to increase the solubility of contaminants, allowing contaminants to be desorbed (page 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Zhangqi et al. to include heating, as taught by Hyun et al., for purposes of increasing the solubility of contaminants in order to allow for desorption of contaminants from the soil.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Akihiro et al. teach contaminated soil treatment. Santoro et al. teach treating a contaminated fluid. Ringdal et al. teach a filtration tank.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc