DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-17 and 23 in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Claims 18-21 are dependent upon claim 1 and that there would not be a significant search burden. This is not found persuasive because while the composition used in the method of Group II is dependent upon claim 1, the composition could be used as a two part adhesive and similarly, could be used as a surface coating or to form a molded article, which would all represent different products.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore (US 20150231588).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3-5,
Moore teaches compositions that contain a plurality of microcapsules in an epoxy resin (Abstract) where the core of the microcapsules contains amine compounds such as triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, or polyalkyleneoxide polyamines or combinations thereof (Paragraph 34) and where the shell of the capsules is comprised of one or more polyureas (Paragraph 48) which is crosslinked with a polyisocyanate (Paragraph 69).
Regarding Claim 6,
Moore teaches that the polyurea is formed with a polyisocyanate, including bis(4-isocaynatocyclohexyl)methane (Paragraph 69).
Regarding Claim 9,
Moore teaches that the composition contains at least one epoxy monomer (Paragraph 76) and notes the use of an epoxy monomer based upon bisphenol A (Paragraph 91).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-8, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 20150231588) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, and 9 above.
Regarding Claim 2,
Moore teaches microcapsules are preferred to be between 5,000 and 50,000 nanometers (5 to 50 microns)(Paragraph 49), which overlaps with the range of the instant claim. It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 7,
Moore teaches the required amines in regard to claims 1 and 3-5 above and further teaches that combinations of these amines may be used (Paragraph 34). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that different amines would impart different characteristics on the cured product or would react at different rates and would be motivated to include more than one amine in order to alter the final characteristics of the cured composition or to alter the rate of the curing reaction. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used a mixture of amines.
Regarding Claim 8,
Moore teaches that the amines can be used in combination, but does not teach the relative amounts of each amine. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that different amines would impart different properties, as Moore notes that some of the listed amines contain electron withdrawing groups, or hydrophobic groups (Paragraph 34) which would impart different characteristics. The ordinarily skilled artisan would therefore alter the amine composition in order to alter these characteristics or to improve mixing with the desired epoxy resins in the composition. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used the combination of amines in any relative amount to afford adhesives with differing physical properties.
Regarding Claim 23,
Moore teaches that the composition is coated onto a surface and can initiate curing through mechanical sheering (Paragraph 7) and that the composition is useful as an adhesive (Paragraph 75). While Moore does not teach a specific use as an adhesive, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize through Moore’s disclosure of the composition being useful as an adhesive as well as the knowledge that similar compositions known in the art are used as such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used the composition as a one-part adhesive.
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 20150231588) as applied to claims 1-9 and 23 above, and further in view of Hunter (US 20120010329).
Regarding Claims 10-11, 13, and 15,
Moore teaches that the composition uses epoxy resins, but does not specify the use of bisphenol A and bisphenol F epoxy resins together. Hunter teaches curable epoxy resin compositions (Abstract) where epoxy resins include those derived from bisphenol A and bisphenol F, as well as mixtures thereof (Paragraph 37) while using similar amines such as Jeffamines (polyalkyleneoxide polyamines, Paragraph 48) and tetraethylene pentamine (Paragraph 52) to those used by Moore. Hunter further teaches that amines such as tetraethylene pentaamine can be used as adducts with epoxy resins (Paragraph 52) and other hardeners such as polymercaptans and polyamines (Paragraph 70). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Moore broadly teaches the use of epoxy resins but does not teach limitations on the overall composition and would seek out teachings in the prior art such as Hunter for additional guidance on the composition components. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have combined the teachings of Hunter and Moore to obtain the predictable result of a curable epoxy composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claims 12, 14, and 16-17,
Moore in view of Hunter teaches the composition as required by the instant claims as discussed above in regard to claims 1-11 and 13, but does not teach the specific amounts of microcapsules relative to the epoxy resin nor the amount of epoxy resin reacted with polyamine prior to curing. However, the examiner notes that the amount of curing agent (which is contained within the microcapsules) relative to the amount of epoxy resin would affect the curing rate as well as the physical properties of the cured product through structures formed such as interpenetrating networks mentioned by Hunter (Paragraph 54) and as such, the ratio of curing agent to epoxy resin would represent a result-effective variable. Further, as Moore in view of Hunter teaches the use of the required amines as well as the amine adducts of epoxy resins as noted above in regard to claims 1-10 and 13, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used them in any amount and in any ratio.
Conclusion
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765