DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-12 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tani et al. (hereinafter Tani) (US 2024/0295998 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Tani discloses receive a subscription operation for subscribing to a service related to an image processing device, the image processing device being configured to communicate with the terminal device (The image-forming apparatus 1 is installed in a user environment E1 of a user who has entered into a subscription contract (referred to simply as a “contract” hereinafter). The image-forming apparatus 1 and the user terminal 401 are connected to a local network N1, which can be a Local Area Network (LAN), for example. The management server 301 is installed in a remote environment E2 and is operated by a business that provides a subscription service. The remote environment E2 is connected to the local network N1 via an external network N2. The external network N2 may be the Internet or a Virtual Private Network (VPN), for example. Each of the local network N1 and the external network N2 may include any number of network devices of any type, such as routers, switches, gateways, wireless access points, and base stations, for example., par. 105); in a case where the subscription operation is received, acquire update information related to an update of an initial password, the initial password being necessary to access the image processing device and being prestored in the image processing device (In conjunction with other functions provided by the processing circuit 314, e.g., the authentication unit 370, the data management unit 350 manages the registration and updating of data in the management DB 313. The data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of account information to be registered in the account table 320, receive the input account information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input account information in the account table 320. Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134); and in a case where the acquired update information is first update information, display on a display of the terminal device an instruction screen for instructing a user to execute an authentication operation on the image processing device (Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134), wherein in a case where the acquired update information is second update information different from the first update information, displaying of the instruction screen is limited (In S123, the print control unit 95 of the image-forming apparatus 1 determines whether to permit printing by comparing “Remaining number of sheets” from the notification made by the management server 301 in S122 with the total number of printed sheets calculated in S120. Specifically, printing is permitted if “Remaining number of sheets” is at least the total number of printed sheets, whereas printing is not permitted if “Remaining number of sheets” is less than the total number of printed sheets. If printing is not permitted, in S124, the print control unit 95 notifies the user terminal 401 that printing is not permitted. When the notification that printing is not permitted is made, in S125, the application unit 440 of the user terminal 401 displays an indication that printing is not permitted in the display device 415., par. 188).
Regarding claim 9: Tani in view of Ito satisfy all the elements of claim 1. Tani further discloses wherein in a case where the update information is the first update information, the instruction screen is not displayed (In S123, the print control unit 95 of the image-forming apparatus 1 determines whether to permit printing by comparing “Remaining number of sheets” from the notification made by the management server 301 in S122 with the total number of printed sheets calculated in S120. Specifically, printing is permitted if “Remaining number of sheets” is at least the total number of printed sheets, whereas printing is not permitted if “Remaining number of sheets” is less than the total number of printed sheets. If printing is not permitted, in S124, the print control unit 95 notifies the user terminal 401 that printing is not permitted. When the notification that printing is not permitted is made, in S125, the application unit 440 of the user terminal 401 displays an indication that printing is not permitted in the display device 415., par. 188).
Regarding claim 10: Tani in view of Ito satisfy all the elements of claim 1. Tani further discloses wherein the service includes an automatic ordering service of automatically ordering a consumable article of the image processing device (Here, because the contract continues, it is assumed that the in-contract refill pack 200 will be automatically sent to the user when the remaining amount of toner decreases., par. 259).
Regarding claim 11: Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 1 are applicable. Additionally, Tani discloses a display (Fig. 11, display device 415); and a controller (Fig. 2, processing circuit 90) configured to.
Regarding claim 12: The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 12. Thus, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20: Tani in view of Ito satisfy all the elements of claim 12. The structural elements of apparatus claim 9 perform all of the steps of method claim 20. Thus, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 21: Tani in view of Ito satisfy all the elements of claim 12. The structural elements of apparatus claim 10 perform all of the steps of method claim 21. Thus, claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani in view of Ito (US 2017/0155801 A1).
Regarding claim 2: Tani satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tani further discloses wherein the terminal device (Figs. 9 and 11, user terminal 401, part of printing management system 300 (Fig. 9)) further comprises a memory (Figs. 10, account table 320), 13 is a sequence chart illustrating an overview of the toner refilling processing according to the present embodiment. In S60, the user inputs a user ID and password in a login screen displayed in the display device 415 of the user terminal 401. In S61, the application unit 440 of the user terminal 401 sends the input user ID and password to the management server 301. In S62, the authentication unit 370 of the management server 301 executes user authentication to authenticate whether the user ID and password received from the user terminal 401 match a record in the account table 320. It is assumed here that the user authentication is successful and the login to the system is established. The subsequent processing illustrated in FIG. 13 is performed while the login session continues., par. 166), the update password being a password with which the initial password (In conjunction with other functions provided by the processing circuit 314, e.g., the authentication unit 370, the data management unit 350 manages the registration and updating of data in the management DB 313. The data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of account information to be registered in the account table 320, receive the input account information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input account information in the account table 320. Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134) 13 is a sequence chart illustrating an overview of the toner refilling processing according to the present embodiment. In S60, the user inputs a user ID and password in a login screen displayed in the display device 415 of the user terminal 401. In S61, the application unit 440 of the user terminal 401 sends the input user ID and password to the management server 301. In S62, the authentication unit 370 of the management server 301 executes user authentication to authenticate whether the user ID and password received from the user terminal 401 match a record in the account table 320. It is assumed here that the user authentication is successful and the login to the system is established. The subsequent processing illustrated in FIG. 13 is performed while the login session continues., par. 166), or
Tani fails to specifically address wherein in a case where an update password; and the update password; is replaced; and in a case where the update password is not stored; the update password is not stored; the second update information is acquired; the second update information indicating that the password authentication is not successful.
Ito discloses wherein in a case where an update password (Specifically, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 displays a message indicating that the authentication was unsuccessful and urging the user to input a password again. In addition, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 indicates that the current number of times that a password was input has been updated. In the first authentication process, the current number of times that a password was input is updated each time it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code is absent. That is, the current number of times that a password was input, displayed in the message display field A11 i the same as the number of times that the authentication code was determined to be absent in step S6, which is indicated by the presence/absence determination frequency information. On the other hand, the authentication code input screen A10 shown in FIG. 5 is also displayed during the process of step S2 that is executed by the control portion 5 after it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code by which the authentication was determined to be unsuccessful in step S5, is present in the storage area of the RAM. In this case, the current number of times that a password was input, which is displayed in the message display field Al11 is not updated., pars. 80-81); and the update password (Specifically, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 displays a message indicating that the authentication was unsuccessful and urging the user to input a password again. In addition, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 indicates that the current number of times that a password was input has been updated. In the first authentication process, the current number of times that a password was input is updated each time it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code is absent. That is, the current number of times that a password was input, displayed in the message display field A11 i the same as the number of times that the authentication code was determined to be absent in step S6, which is indicated by the presence/absence determination frequency information. On the other hand, the authentication code input screen A10 shown in FIG. 5 is also displayed during the process of step S2 that is executed by the control portion 5 after it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code by which the authentication was determined to be unsuccessful in step S5, is present in the storage area of the RAM. In this case, the current number of times that a password was input, which is displayed in the message display field Al11 is not updated., pars. 80-81); is replaced (On the other hand, in general, in this type of information processing apparatus, a restriction is made to the display of the authentication code input on the authentication code input screen by the user so as to prevent the authentication code from being peeped by another person. For example, in this type of information processing apparatus, the input authentication code is replaced with a sign(s) such as an asterisk(s), and the sign(s) is displayed. In this case, the user cannot confirm if the user has correctly input the authentication code on the authentication code input screen. As a result, if the authentication process results in a failure, the user cannot determine whether or not the authentication process failure has been caused by an erroneous input operation. Here, the user may input the same authentication code that the user input once by incorrectly recognizing that the authentication process failure was caused by an erroneous input operation. In this case, the authentication is determined to be unsuccessful again because the same, incorrect authentication code was input. This reduces the number of times that the user can input authentication codes that are different from authentication codes that have already been input. On the other hand, as described below, according to the image processing apparatus 10 of the present embodiment, during the authentication process, it is possible to prevent the reduction of the number of times that the user can input authentication codes that are different from authentication codes that have already been input., par. 26); and in a case where the update password is not stored (For example, in the case of this information processing apparatus, if the number of times that the authentication is determined to be unsuccessful exceeds an upper limit number of times, a predetermined process of, for example, deleting data stored in a storage portion is executed., par. 25); the update password is not stored (Specifically, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 displays a message indicating that the authentication was unsuccessful and urging the user to input a password again. In addition, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 indicates that the current number of times that a password was input has been updated. In the first authentication process, the current number of times that a password was input is updated each time it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code is absent. That is, the current number of times that a password was input, displayed in the message display field A11 i the same as the number of times that the authentication code was determined to be absent in step S6, which is indicated by the presence/absence determination frequency information., par. 80); the second update information is acquired (In the first authentication process, the current number of times that a password was input is updated each time it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code is absent. That is, the current number of times that a password was input, displayed in the message display field A11 i the same as the number of times that the authentication code was determined to be absent in step S6, which is indicated by the presence/absence determination frequency information., par. 80); the second update information indicating that the password authentication is not successful (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein in a case where an update password; and the update password; is replaced; and in a case where the update password is not stored; the update password is not stored; the second update information is acquired; the second update information indicating that the password authentication is not successful in order to provide the user with a message to let them know whether authentication was successful or unsuccessful and whether they are required to input their password again or not as taught by Ito (pars. 80-81 and Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 3: Tani satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Tani further discloses wherein the terminal device (Figs. 9 and 11, user terminal 401, part of printing management system 300 (Fig. 9)) further comprises a memory (Figs. 10, account table 320), wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor (Fig. 2, processing circuit 90), further cause the terminal device (Figs. 9 and 11, user terminal 401, part of printing management system 300 (Fig. 9)) to: in a case where a specific password is stored in the memory (The account table 320 is a table that holds information pertaining to the accounts of users that have entered into contracts. The account table 320 can include the following information items, for example: [0115] “User ID” [0116] “Password” [0117] “Name” [0118] “Address” [0119] “Email address”, par. 114), send the specific password to the image processing device (In conjunction with other functions provided by the processing circuit 314, e.g., the authentication unit 370, the data management unit 350 manages the registration and updating of data in the management DB 313. The data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of account information to be registered in the account table 320, receive the input account information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input account information in the account table 320. Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134), wherein in a case where the specific password has been sent to the image processing device and the specific password (The account table 320 is a table that holds information pertaining to the accounts of users that have entered into contracts. The account table 320 can include the following information items, for example: [0115] “User ID” [0116] “Password” [0117] “Name” [0118] “Address” [0119] “Email address”, par. 114), send the specific password to the image processing device (In conjunction with other functions provided by the processing circuit 314, e.g., the authentication unit 370, the data management unit 350 manages the registration and updating of data in the management DB 313. The data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of account information to be registered in the account table 320, receive the input account information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input account information in the account table 320. Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134) 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134), wherein in a case where the acquired update information is second update information different from the first update information, displaying of the instruction screen is limited (In S123, the print control unit 95 of the image-forming apparatus 1 determines whether to permit printing by comparing “Remaining number of sheets” from the notification made by the management server 301 in S122 with the total number of printed sheets calculated in S120. Specifically, printing is permitted if “Remaining number of sheets” is at least the total number of printed sheets, whereas printing is not permitted if “Remaining number of sheets” is less than the total number of printed sheets. If printing is not permitted, in S124, the print control unit 95 notifies the user terminal 401 that printing is not permitted. When the notification that printing is not permitted is made, in S125, the application unit 440 of the user terminal 401 displays an indication that printing is not permitted in the display device 415., par. 188) indicating that the specific password (The account table 320 is a table that holds information pertaining to the accounts of users that have entered into contracts. The account table 320 can include the following information items, for example: [0115] “User ID” [0116] “Password” [0117] “Name” [0118] “Address” [0119] “Email address”, par. 114) 320 is a table that holds information pertaining to the accounts of users that have entered into contracts. The account table 320 can include the following information items, for example: [0115] “User ID” [0116] “Password” [0117] “Name” [0118] “Address” [0119] “Email address”, par. 114), send the specific password to the image processing device (In conjunction with other functions provided by the processing circuit 314, e.g., the authentication unit 370, the data management unit 350 manages the registration and updating of data in the management DB 313. The data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of account information to be registered in the account table 320, receive the input account information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input account information in the account table 320. Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134), 314, e.g., the authentication unit 370, the data management unit 350 manages the registration and updating of data in the management DB 313. The data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of account information to be registered in the account table 320, receive the input account information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input account information in the account table 320. Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134) 314, e.g., the authentication unit 370, the data management unit 350 manages the registration and updating of data in the management DB 313. The data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of account information to be registered in the account table 320, receive the input account information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input account information in the account table 320. Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134) and the specific password (The account table 320 is a table that holds information pertaining to the accounts of users that have entered into contracts. The account table 320 can include the following information items, for example: [0115] “User ID” [0116] “Password” [0117] “Name” [0118] “Address” [0119] “Email address”, par. 114) 320 is a table that holds information pertaining to the accounts of users that have entered into contracts. The account table 320 can include the following information items, for example: [0115] “User ID” [0116] “Password” [0117] “Name” [0118] “Address” [0119] “Email address”, par. 114)
Tani fails to specifically address and an update password do not match; and the update password do not match; the update password being a password; is replaced; and the update password match, the second update information; and the update password match is acquired.
Ito discloses and an update password do not match (On the other hand, when the input authentication code received by the reception processing portion 51 does not match the registration information stored in the storage portion 7, the authentication determining portion 53A determines that the authentication is unsuccessful., par. 32); and the update password do not match (On the other hand, when the input authentication code received by the reception processing portion 51 does not match the registration information stored in the storage portion 7, the authentication determining portion 53A determines that the authentication is unsuccessful., par. 32); the update password being a password (Specifically, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 displays a message indicating that the authentication was unsuccessful and urging the user to input a password again. In addition, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 indicates that the current number of times that a password was input has been updated. In the first authentication process, the current number of times that a password was input is updated each time it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code is absent. That is, the current number of times that a password was input, displayed in the message display field A11 i the same as the number of times that the authentication code was determined to be absent in step S6, which is indicated by the presence/absence determination frequency information. On the other hand, the authentication code input screen A10 shown in FIG. 5 is also displayed during the process of step S2 that is executed by the control portion 5 after it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code by which the authentication was determined to be unsuccessful in step S5, is present in the storage area of the RAM. In this case, the current number of times that a password was input, which is displayed in the message display field Al11 is not updated., pars. 80-81); is replaced (On the other hand, in general, in this type of information processing apparatus, a restriction is made to the display of the authentication code input on the authentication code input screen by the user so as to prevent the authentication code from being peeped by another person. For example, in this type of information processing apparatus, the input authentication code is replaced with a sign(s) such as an asterisk(s), and the sign(s) is displayed. In this case, the user cannot confirm if the user has correctly input the authentication code on the authentication code input screen. As a result, if the authentication process results in a failure, the user cannot determine whether or not the authentication process failure has been caused by an erroneous input operation. Here, the user may input the same authentication code that the user input once by incorrectly recognizing that the authentication process failure was caused by an erroneous input operation. In this case, the authentication is determined to be unsuccessful again because the same, incorrect authentication code was input. This reduces the number of times that the user can input authentication codes that are different from authentication codes that have already been input. On the other hand, as described below, according to the image processing apparatus 10 of the present embodiment, during the authentication process, it is possible to prevent the reduction of the number of times that the user can input authentication codes that are different from authentication codes that have already been input., par. 26); and the update password match (In the image processing apparatus 10, for example, predetermined registration information is stored in the storage portion 7. When the input authentication code received by the reception processing portion 51 matches the registration information stored in the storage portion 7, the authentication determining portion 53A determines that the authentication is successful., par. 32), the second update information (In the first authentication process, the current number of times that a password was input is updated each time it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code is absent. That is, the current number of times that a password was input, displayed in the message display field A11 i the same as the number of times that the authentication code was determined to be absent in step S6, which is indicated by the presence/absence determination frequency information., par. 80); and the update password match is acquired (In the image processing apparatus 10, for example, predetermined registration information is stored in the storage portion 7. When the input authentication code received by the reception processing portion 51 matches the registration information stored in the storage portion 7, the authentication determining portion 53A determines that the authentication is successful., par. 32).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include and an update password do not match; and the update password do not match; the update password being a password; is replaced; and the update password match, the second update information; and the update password match is acquired in order to provide the user with a message to let them know whether authentication was successful or unsuccessful and whether they are required to input their password again or not as taught by Ito (pars. 80-81 and Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 4: Tani in view of Ito satisfy all the elements of claim 3. Tani further discloses wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor (Fig. 2, processing circuit 90), further cause the terminal device (Figs. 9 and 11, user terminal 401, part of printing management system 300 (Fig. 9)) to: in a case where the specific password (The account table 320 is a table that holds information pertaining to the accounts of users that have entered into contracts. The account table 320 can include the following information items, for example: [0115] “User ID” [0116] “Password” [0117] “Name” [0118] “Address” [0119] “Email address”, par. 114) 320 is a table that holds information pertaining to the accounts of users that have entered into contracts. The account table 320 can include the following information items, for example: [0115] “User ID” [0116] “Password” [0117] “Name” [0118] “Address” [0119] “Email address”, par. 114) to the image processing device (Fig. 40, account table 320), 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134)
Tani fails to specifically address is not stored in the memory, send an information request not including; wherein in a case where the information request is sent; which is a response to the information request is further acquired.
Ito discloses is not stored in the memory (Fig. 6, Step S6, “NO” path), send an information request not including (Fig. 6, Step S51 Login Process); wherein in a case where the information request is sent (Fig. 6, Step S51 Login Process); which is a response to the information request is further acquired (Fig. 6, Step S51 Login Process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include is not stored in the memory, send an information request not including; wherein in a case where the information request is sent; which is a response to the information request is further acquired in order to provide a way for a person to login to an image processing device if authentication is unsuccessful as taught by Ito (pars. 64-66).
Regarding claim 5: Tani in view of Ito satisfy all the elements of claim 3. Tani further discloses wherein the memory is a volatile memory (Figs. 10, memory 312, part of management server 301; memory 312 can include RAM, par, 112, which is a volatile type memory).
Regarding claim 13: Tani satisfies all the elements of claim 12. The structural elements of apparatus claim 2 perform all of the steps of method claim 13. Thus, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 14: Tani satisfies all the elements of claim 12. The structural elements of apparatus claim 3 perform all of the steps of method claim 14. Thus, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15: Tani in view of Ito satisfy all the elements of claim 14. The structural elements of apparatus claim 4 perform all of the steps of method claim 15. Thus, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 16: Tani in view of satisfy all the elements of claim 14. The structural elements of apparatus claim 5 perform all of the steps of method claim 16. Thus, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani in view of Ito and further in view of Hayashi (JP-2017065121-A).
Regarding claim 6: Tani in view of Ito satisfy all the elements of claim 3. Tani further discloses wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor (Fig. 2, processing circuit 90), further cause the terminal device (Figs. 9 and 11, user terminal 401, part of printing management system 300 (Fig. 9)) to: display, on the display, a password setting screen including a password input area (Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134), wherein in a case where the acquired update information is second update information different from the first update information, displaying of the instruction screen is limited (In conjunction with other functions provided by the processing circuit 314, e.g., the authentication unit 370, the data management unit 350 manages the registration and updating of data in the management DB 313. The data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of account information to be registered in the account table 320, receive the input account information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input account information in the account table 320. Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134) 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134), 1 is installed in a user environment E1 of a user who has entered into a subscription contract (referred to simply as a “contract” hereinafter). The image-forming apparatus 1 and the user terminal 401 are connected to a local network N1, which can be a Local Area Network (LAN), for example. The management server 301 is installed in a remote environment E2 and is operated by a business that provides a subscription service. The remote environment E2 is connected to the local network N1 via an external network N2. The external network N2 may be the Internet or a Virtual Private Network (VPN), for example. Each of the local network N1 and the external network N2 may include any number of network devices of any type, such as routers, switches, gateways, wireless access points, and base stations, for example., par. 105); 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134), 1 is installed in a user environment E1 of a user who has entered into a subscription contract (referred to simply as a “contract” hereinafter). The image-forming apparatus 1 and the user terminal 401 are connected to a local network N1, which can be a Local Area Network (LAN), for example. The management server 301 is installed in a remote environment E2 and is operated by a business that provides a subscription service. The remote environment E2 is connected to the local network N1 via an external network N2. The external network N2 may be the Internet or a Virtual Private Network (VPN), for example. Each of the local network N1 and the external network N2 may include any number of network devices of any type, such as routers, switches, gateways, wireless access points, and base stations, for example., par. 105), execute an initial setup process related to an initial setup of the image processing device (FIG. 13 is a sequence chart illustrating an overview of the toner refilling processing according to the present embodiment. In S60, the user inputs a user ID and password in a login screen displayed in the display device 415 of the user terminal 401. In S61, the application unit 440 of the user terminal 401 sends the input user ID and password to the management server 301. In S62, the authentication unit 370 of the management server 301 executes user authentication to authenticate whether the user ID and password received from the user terminal 401 match a record in the account table 320. It is assumed here that the user authentication is successful and the login to the system is established. The subsequent processing illustrated in FIG. 13 is performed while the login session continues., par. 166); and in a case where the initial setup process is completed, display, on the display, a service screen corresponding to a service related to the image processing device (The authentication unit 370 of the management server 301 starts the pre-refill authentication in response to the unlock request being received. S67 is a first stage of the pre-refill authentication, in which the authentication unit 370 checks the legitimacy of the code 201 included in the unlock request. If the code 201 is encrypted, checking the legitimacy of the code 201 includes determining whether the code 201 can be decrypted, for example. Checking the legitimacy of the code 201 also includes determining whether the refill pack 200 is an in-contract refill pack 200 or an out-of-contract refill pack 200. If the first stage of the authentication is successful, in S68, the data management unit 350 instructs the application unit 440 to display a message prompting a predetermined operation to be performed in the image-forming apparatus 1 to be refilled. The message is displayed by the display device 415 as a result., par. 168), wherein in a case where the subscription operation is received while the service screen is displayed on the display, the specific password in the memory is sent to the image processing device ( In conjunction with other functions provided by the processing circuit 314, e.g., the authentication unit 370, the data management unit 350 manages the registration and updating of data in the management DB 313. The data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of account information to be registered in the account table 320, receive the input account information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input account information in the account table 320. Similarly, the data management unit 350 may cause the user terminal 401 to display a screen for accepting the input of apparatus information for the image-forming apparatus used under the contract, receive the input apparatus information through the communication I/F 311, and register the input apparatus information in the apparatus registration table 330. These input screens may be provided in any format, such as, for example, a web page, an input form, or an application screen. Typically, the input of the apparatus information may be accepted during a period in which user authentication using the user ID and password stored in the account table 320 is successful and the user is logged into the system., par. 134).
Tani fails to specifically address for inputting the update password, in a case where an operation for inputting the update password; in the case where the operation for inputting the update password; after the update password has been sent.
Ito discloses for inputting the update password, in a case where an operation for inputting the update password; in the case where the operation for inputting the update password; after the update password has been sent (Specifically, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 displays a message indicating that the authentication was unsuccessful and urging the user to input a password again. In addition, the message display field A11hown in FIG. 5 indicates that the current number of times that a password was input has been updated. In the first authentication process, the current number of times that a password was input is updated each time it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code is absent. That is, the current number of times that a password was input, displayed in the message display field A11 i the same as the number of times that the authentication code was determined to be absent in step S6, which is indicated by the presence/absence determination frequency information. On the other hand, the authentication code input screen A10 shown in FIG. 5 is also displayed during the process of step S2 that is executed by the control portion 5 after it is determined in step S6 that the authentication code by which the authentication was determined to be unsuccessful in step S5, is present in the storage area of the RAM. In this case, the current number of times that a password was input, which is displayed in the message display field Al11 is not updated., pars. 80-81).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include for inputting the update password, in a case where an operation for inputting the update password; in the case where the operation for inputting the update password; after the update password has been sent in order to provide the user with a message to let them know whether authentication was successful or unsuccessful and whether they are required to input their password again or not as taught by Ito (pars. 80-81 and Figs. 4-5).
Tani in view of Ito fail to specifically address store the update password as the specific password in the memory.
Hayashi discloses store the update password as the specific password in the memory (In the above printing apparatus, the memory may store data identification information for identifying the target data in association with the first password information. In addition, when specific processing is determined to satisfy a predetermined condition, an extraction process of extracting data identification information related to the first password information and an update screen showing the extracted data identification information , And generation processing for generating screen data indicating a change screen for updating the first password information to the second password information., par. 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tani in view of Ito to include store the update password as the specific password in the memory in order to determine which password is saved as taught by Hayashi (par. 15).
Regarding claim 17: Tani in view of Ito satisfy all the elements of claim 14. The structural elements of apparatus claim 6 perform all of the steps of method claim 17. Thus, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 7-8 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
14 August 2026