This office action is in response to application filed on 11/27/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the usage of the slash symbol "/". It is suggested that the word “or” be used instead of a symbol slash "/", for example, "at least one A or B."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al (US20250287261A1) (hereinafter "Wu").
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a cell configuration method, applicable to a terminal, the method comprising:
receiving candidate configuration information from a base station, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises a candidate cell configuration ([0028] Step 101a: configuration information of at least one candidate cell and/or at least one candidate cell group configured by a network device is obtained.);
receiving first indication information from the base station over L1 signaling or L2 signaling, wherein the first indication information indicates that a primary cell and/or a secondary cell of the terminal is changed; and ([0150] Step 403: indication information is transmitted to the UE, where the indication information is used to indicate a post-change configuration state of the candidate cell and/or the candidate cell group, and the post-change configuration state includes at least one of a post-change activation state of the candidate cell, a post-change activation state of the candidate cell group, a post-change cell type, or a post-change cell group type. [0118] Further, in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the obtaining by the UE the indication information transmitted by the network device may include at least one of: [0119] obtaining the indication information transmitted by the network device through an RRC message; [0120] obtaining the indication information transmitted by the network device through MAC CE (Medium Access Control-Control Element) signaling; or, [0121] obtaining the indication information transmitted by the network device through DCI (Downlink Control Information) signaling.)
configuring the primary cell and/or the secondary cell of the terminal based on the first indication information and the candidate configuration information ([0122] Step 205: a configuration state of the candidate cell and/or the candidate cell group is changed based on the indication information [0123] Specifically, in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the changing the configuration state of the candidate cell based on the indication information may specifically include: changing the cell type of the candidate cell to the post-change cell type corresponding to the candidate cell (e.g., it is assumed that the initial cell type of candidate cell-1 is PCell, and the UE determines that the post-change cell type of candidate cell-1 is SCell based on the indication information, then the UE may change the cell type of the candidate cell-1 from PCell to SCell), and activating or deactivating the candidate cell based on the post-change activation state corresponding to the candidate cell.).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses a terminal, comprising: a processor, a memory, and a transceiver; wherein
the transceiver is configured to receive candidate configuration information from a base station, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises a candidate cell configuration; and receive first indication information from the base station over L1 signaling or L2 signaling, wherein the first indication information indicates that a primary cell and/or a secondary cell of the terminal is changed; and ([0150] Step 403: indication information is transmitted to the UE, where the indication information is used to indicate a post-change configuration state of the candidate cell and/or the candidate cell group, and the post-change configuration state includes at least one of a post-change activation state of the candidate cell, a post-change activation state of the candidate cell group, a post-change cell type, or a post-change cell group type. [0118] Further, in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the obtaining by the UE the indication information transmitted by the network device may include at least one of: [0119] obtaining the indication information transmitted by the network device through an RRC message; [0120] obtaining the indication information transmitted by the network device through MAC CE (Medium Access Control-Control Element) signaling; or, [0121] obtaining the indication information transmitted by the network device through DCI (Downlink Control Information) signaling. [0122] Step 205: a configuration state of the candidate cell and/or the candidate cell group is changed based on the indication information [0123] Specifically, in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the changing the configuration state of the candidate cell based on the indication information may specifically include: changing the cell type of the candidate cell to the post-change cell type corresponding to the candidate cell (e.g., it is assumed that the initial cell type of candidate cell-1 is PCell, and the UE determines that the post-change cell type of candidate cell-1 is SCell based on the indication information, then the UE may change the cell type of the candidate cell-1 from PCell to SCell), and activating or deactivating the candidate cell based on the post-change activation state corresponding to the candidate cell.)
the processor is configured to configure the primary cell and/or the secondary cell of the terminal based on the first indication information and the candidate configuration information ([0122] Step 205: a configuration state of the candidate cell and/or the candidate cell group is changed based on the indication information [0123] Specifically, in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the changing the configuration state of the candidate cell based on the indication information may specifically include: changing the cell type of the candidate cell to the post-change cell type corresponding to the candidate cell (e.g., it is assumed that the initial cell type of candidate cell-1 is PCell, and the UE determines that the post-change cell type of candidate cell-1 is SCell based on the indication information, then the UE may change the cell type of the candidate cell-1 from PCell to SCell), and activating or deactivating the candidate cell based on the post-change activation state corresponding to the candidate cell.).
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses a base station, comprising: a processor, a memory, and a transceiver; wherein
the transceiver is configured to send candidate configuration information to a terminal, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises a candidate cell configuration ([0028] Step 101a: configuration information of at least one candidate cell and/or at least one candidate cell group configured by a network device is obtained.); and send first indication information to the terminal over L1 signaling or L2 signaling, wherein the first indication information indicates that a primary cell and/or a secondary cell of the terminal is changed, such that the terminal configures the primary cell and/or the secondary cell of the terminal based on the first indication information and the candidate configuration information ([0150] Step 403: indication information is transmitted to the UE, where the indication information is used to indicate a post-change configuration state of the candidate cell and/or the candidate cell group, and the post-change configuration state includes at least one of a post-change activation state of the candidate cell, a post-change activation state of the candidate cell group, a post-change cell type, or a post-change cell group type. [0118] Further, in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the obtaining by the UE the indication information transmitted by the network device may include at least one of: [0119] obtaining the indication information transmitted by the network device through an RRC message; [0120] obtaining the indication information transmitted by the network device through MAC CE (Medium Access Control-Control Element) signaling; or, [0121] obtaining the indication information transmitted by the network device through DCI (Downlink Control Information) signaling.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Kim et al (US20220022067A1) (hereinafter "Kim '067").
Regarding claim 2, Wu fails to disclose the method, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises at least one candidate cell configuration; wherein each of the at least one candidate cell configuration comprises: a candidate cell index, a measurement configuration, and candidate cell configuration information.
However, Kim '067 discloses the method, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises at least one candidate cell configuration ([0149] Cell group configuration information, or previously configured cell group configuration information, or a message indicating cell group activation or resumption (e.g., an RRC message or an RRCReconfiguration) may include first channel measurement configuration information for rapid cell group activation. In order to rapidly activate a cell group and rapidly perform channel measurement in a cell (e.g., a PCell, a PSCell, or an SCell) of the cell group, the first channel measurement configuration information may be included and configured in configuration information of the cell.);
wherein each of the at least one candidate cell configuration comprises: a candidate cell index ([0150] Also, cell group configuration information, or previously configured cell group configuration information, or a message indicating cell group activation or resumption (e.g., an RRC message or an RRCReconfiguration) may include second channel measurement configuration information for measuring a signal of a cell (a PSCell, a PCell, or an SCell) of a cell group.).
Wu and Kim '067 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing selective activation of cells and/or cell groups based on a configuration information of candidate cells and/or candidate cell groups by receiving signaling for activation or deactivation transmitted by a network device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Kim '067 to create the method, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises at least one candidate cell configuration; wherein each of the at least one candidate cell configuration comprises: a candidate cell index, a measurement configuration, and candidate cell configuration information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to selectively activate a cell and/or a cell group to reduce signaling overhead and interruption duration of cell group change.
Regarding claim 3, Wu fails to disclose the method, wherein the candidate cell configuration information comprises at least one of: a cell identity (ID), a cell-radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI), a random access channel (RACH) resource, system information, a timing advance group (TAG) ID, an uplink bandwidth configuration, or a downlink bandwidth configuration.
However, Kim '067 discloses the method, wherein the candidate cell configuration information comprises at least one of:
a cell identity (ID), a cell-radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI), a random access channel (RACH) resource, system information, a timing advance group (TAG) ID, an uplink bandwidth configuration, or a downlink bandwidth configuration ([0265] In the RRC message (the RRC Setup message or the RRCResume (1f-25) or the RRCReconfiguration message (1f-45, 1f-70, and 1f-85)), configuration information for a cell group may be included. The configuration information for the cell group may include some of the following information. The configuration information for the cell group may indicate a state, procedure, configuration information application, or release for each cell group. [0266] Cell group identifier indicating the cell group (e.g., cell group identifier or index)).
Wu and Kim '067 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing selective activation of cells and/or cell groups based on a configuration information of candidate cells and/or candidate cell groups by receiving signaling for activation or deactivation transmitted by a network device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Kim '067 to create the method, wherein the candidate cell configuration information comprises at least one of: a cell identity (ID), a cell-radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI), a random access channel (RACH) resource, system information, a timing advance group (TAG) ID, an uplink bandwidth configuration, or a downlink bandwidth configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to selectively activate a cell and/or a cell group to reduce signaling overhead and interruption duration of cell group change.
Regarding claim 9, Wu fails to disclose the terminal, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises at least one candidate cell configuration; wherein each of the at least one candidate cell configuration comprises: a candidate cell index, a measurement configuration, and candidate cell configuration information.
However, Kim '067 discloses the terminal, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises at least one candidate cell configuration;
wherein each of the at least one candidate cell configuration comprises: a candidate cell index, a measurement configuration, and candidate cell configuration information ([0149] Cell group configuration information, or previously configured cell group configuration information, or a message indicating cell group activation or resumption (e.g., an RRC message or an RRCReconfiguration) may include first channel measurement configuration information for rapid cell group activation.).
Wu and Kim '067 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing selective activation of cells and/or cell groups based on a configuration information of candidate cells and/or candidate cell groups by receiving signaling for activation or deactivation transmitted by a network device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Kim '067 to create the terminal, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises at least one candidate cell configuration; wherein each of the at least one candidate cell configuration comprises: a candidate cell index, a measurement configuration, and candidate cell configuration information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to selectively activate a cell and/or a cell group to reduce signaling overhead and interruption duration of cell group change.
Regarding claim 10, Wu fails to disclose the terminal, wherein the candidate cell configuration information comprises at least one of: a cell identity (ID), a cell-radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI), a random access channel (RACH) resource, system information, a timing advance group (TAG) ID, an uplink bandwidth configuration, or a downlink bandwidth configuration.
However, Kim '067 discloses the terminal, wherein the candidate cell configuration information comprises at least one of:
a cell identity (ID), a cell-radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI), a random access channel (RACH) resource, system information, a timing advance group (TAG) ID, an uplink bandwidth configuration, or a downlink bandwidth configuration ([0265] In the RRC message (the RRC Setup message or the RRCResume (1f-25) or the RRCReconfiguration message (1f-45, 1f-70, and 1f-85)), configuration information for a cell group may be included. The configuration information for the cell group may include some of the following information. The configuration information for the cell group may indicate a state, procedure, configuration information application, or release for each cell group. [0266] Cell group identifier indicating the cell group (e.g., cell group identifier or index)).
Wu and Kim '067 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing selective activation of cells and/or cell groups based on a configuration information of candidate cells and/or candidate cell groups by receiving signaling for activation or deactivation transmitted by a network device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Kim '067 to create the terminal, wherein the candidate cell configuration information comprises at least one of: a cell identity (ID), a cell-radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI), a random access channel (RACH) resource, system information, a timing advance group (TAG) ID, an uplink bandwidth configuration, or a downlink bandwidth configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to selectively activate a cell and/or a cell group to reduce signaling overhead and interruption duration of cell group change.
Regarding claim 16, Wu fails to disclose the base station, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises at least one candidate cell configuration; wherein each of the at least one candidate cell configuration comprises: a candidate cell index, a measurement configuration, and candidate cell configuration information.
However, Kim '067 discloses the base station, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises at least one candidate cell configuration;
wherein each of the at least one candidate cell configuration comprises: a candidate cell index, a measurement configuration, and candidate cell configuration information (the RRC Setup message or the RRCResume (1f-25) or the RRCReconfiguration message (1f-45, 1f-70, and 1f-85)), configuration information for a cell group may be included. The configuration information for the cell group may include some of the following information. … Cell group identifier indicating the cell group (e.g., cell group identifier or index)), a measurement configuration, and candidate cell configuration information ([0149] Cell group configuration information, or previously configured cell group configuration information, or a message indicating cell group activation or resumption (e.g., an RRC message or an RRCReconfiguration) may include first channel measurement configuration information for rapid cell group activation.).
Wu and Kim '067 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing selective activation of cells and/or cell groups based on a configuration information of candidate cells and/or candidate cell groups by receiving signaling for activation or deactivation transmitted by a network device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Kim '067 to create the base station, wherein the candidate configuration information comprises at least one candidate cell configuration; wherein each of the at least one candidate cell configuration comprises: a candidate cell index, a measurement configuration, and candidate cell configuration information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to selectively activate a cell and/or a cell group to reduce signaling overhead and interruption duration of cell group change.
Regarding claim 17, Wu fails to disclose the base station, wherein the candidate cell configuration information comprises at least one of: a cell identity (ID), a cell-radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI), a random access channel (RACH) resource, system information, a timing advance group (TAG) ID, an uplink bandwidth configuration, or a downlink bandwidth configuration.
However, Kim '067 discloses the base station, wherein the candidate cell configuration information comprises at least one of:
a cell identity (ID), a cell-radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI), a random access channel (RACH) resource, system information, a timing advance group (TAG) ID, an uplink bandwidth configuration, or a downlink bandwidth configuration ([0265] In the RRC message (the RRC Setup message or the RRCResume (1f-25) or the RRCReconfiguration message (1f-45, 1f-70, and 1f-85)), configuration information for a cell group may be included. The configuration information for the cell group may include some of the following information. The configuration information for the cell group may indicate a state, procedure, configuration information application, or release for each cell group. [0266] Cell group identifier indicating the cell group (e.g., cell group identifier or index)).
Wu and Kim '067 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing selective activation of cells and/or cell groups based on a configuration information of candidate cells and/or candidate cell groups by receiving signaling for activation or deactivation transmitted by a network device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Kim '067 to create the base station, wherein the candidate cell configuration information comprises at least one of: a cell identity (ID), a cell-radio network temporary identity (C-RNTI), a random access channel (RACH) resource, system information, a timing advance group (TAG) ID, an uplink bandwidth configuration, or a downlink bandwidth configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to selectively activate a cell and/or a cell group to reduce signaling overhead and interruption duration of cell group change.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Damnjanovic et al (US20220322177A1) (hereinafter "Damnjanovic '177").
Regarding claim 4, Wu fails to disclose the method, wherein the first indication information is one of:
first indication signaling indicating that the primary cell of the terminal is changed;
second indication signaling indicating that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or
third indication signaling indicating that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed.
However, Damnjanovic '177 discloses the method, wherein the first indication information is one of:
first indication signaling indicating that the primary cell of the terminal is changed ([0074] As described in further detail herein, the second L1/L2 inter-cell mobility technique may enable a network node to use L1/L2 signaling (e.g., DCI or a MAC-CE) to indicate control information associated with an activated cell set and/or a deactivated cell set and/or to indicate a change to a PCell or a PSCell within the activated cell set.);
second indication signaling indicating that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
third indication signaling indicating that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Wu and Damnjanovic '177 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for cell activation and signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Damnjanovic '177 to create the method, wherein the first indication information is one of: first indication signaling indicating that the primary cell of the terminal is changed; second indication signaling indicating that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or third indication signaling indicating that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to notify a device about a handover or cell switch.
Regarding claim 11, Wu fails to disclose the terminal, wherein the first indication information is one of:
first indication signaling indicating that the primary cell of the terminal is changed;
second indication signaling indicating that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or
third indication signaling indicating that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed.
However, Damnjanovic '177 discloses the terminal, wherein the first indication information is one of:
first indication signaling indicating that the primary cell of the terminal is changed ([0074] As described in further detail herein, the second L1/L2 inter-cell mobility technique may enable a network node to use L1/L2 signaling (e.g., DCI or a MAC-CE) to indicate control information associated with an activated cell set and/or a deactivated cell set and/or to indicate a change to a PCell or a PSCell within the activated cell set.);
second indication signaling indicating that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
third indication signaling indicating that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Wu and Damnjanovic '177 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for cell activation and signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Damnjanovic '177 to create the terminal, wherein the first indication information is one of: first indication signaling indicating that the primary cell of the terminal is changed; second indication signaling indicating that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or third indication signaling indicating that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to notify a device about a handover or cell switch.
Regarding claim 18, Wu fails to disclose the base station, wherein the first indication information is one of:
first indication signaling indicating that the primary cell of the terminal is changed;
second indication signaling indicating that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or
third indication signaling indicating that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed.
However, Damnjanovic '177 discloses the base station, wherein the first indication information is one of:
first indication signaling indicating that the primary cell of the terminal is changed ([0074] As described in further detail herein, the second L1/L2 inter-cell mobility technique may enable a network node to use L1/L2 signaling (e.g., DCI or a MAC-CE) to indicate control information associated with an activated cell set and/or a deactivated cell set and/or to indicate a change to a PCell or a PSCell within the activated cell set.);
second indication signaling indicating that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
third indication signaling indicating that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Wu and Damnjanovic '177 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for cell activation and signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Damnjanovic '177 to create the base station, wherein the first indication information is one of: first indication signaling indicating that the primary cell of the terminal is changed; second indication signaling indicating that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or third indication signaling indicating that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to notify a device about a handover or cell switch.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Damnjanovic et al (US20220182894A1) (hereinafter "Damnjanovic '894").
Regarding claim 5, Wu fails to disclose the method, further comprising:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, setting a cell state of the changed secondary cell based on secondary cell state indication information contained in the candidate configuration information.
However, Damnjanovic '894 discloses the method, further comprising:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, setting a cell state of the changed secondary cell based on secondary cell state indication information contained in the candidate configuration information ([0025] The method may include receiving radio resource control signaling from a base station indicating a set of cells configured for layer one or layer two mobility and indicating a list of candidate cells for a primary secondary cell from the set of cells, receiving layer one or layer two signaling indicating activation of the primary secondary cell from the list of candidate cells, and transmitting control information in a first control channel to the primary secondary cell, where the control information in the first control channel is associated with a first subset of the set of cells linked to a same distributed unit as the primary secondary cell.).
Wu and Damnjanovic '894 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of using layer one or layer two signaling to indicate a primary cell or primary secondary cell to a user equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Damnjanovic '894 to create the method, further comprising: for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, setting a cell state of the changed secondary cell based on secondary cell state indication information contained in the candidate configuration information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to lower the latency at the UE associated with transitioning to or communicating with the PCell or PSCell.
Regarding claim 12, Wu fails to disclose the terminal, wherein the processor is configured to: for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, set a cell state of the changed secondary cell based on secondary cell state indication information contained in the candidate configuration information.
However, Damnjanovic '894 discloses the terminal, wherein the processor is configured to:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, set a cell state of the changed secondary cell based on secondary cell state indication information contained in the candidate configuration information ([0025] The method may include receiving radio resource control signaling from a base station indicating a set of cells configured for layer one or layer two mobility and indicating a list of candidate cells for a primary secondary cell from the set of cells, receiving layer one or layer two signaling indicating activation of the primary secondary cell from the list of candidate cells, and transmitting control information in a first control channel to the primary secondary cell, where the control information in the first control channel is associated with a first subset of the set of cells linked to a same distributed unit as the primary secondary cell.).
Wu and Damnjanovic '894 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of using layer one or layer two signaling to indicate a primary cell or primary secondary cell to a user equipment
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Damnjanovic '894 to create the terminal, wherein the processor is configured to: for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, set a cell state of the changed secondary cell based on secondary cell state indication information contained in the candidate configuration information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to lower the latency at the UE associated with transitioning to or communicating with the PCell or PSCell.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Zhang et al (US20160127107A1) (hereinafter "Zhang").
Regarding claim 6, Wu fails to disclose the method, further comprising:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, setting a cell state of the changed secondary cell to an activated state or a deactivated state.
However, Zhang discloses the method, further comprising:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, setting a cell state of the changed secondary cell to an activated state or a deactivated state ([0186] It can be seen from the forgoing embodiments that UE receives a first indication sent by a master base station, where the first indication is used to indicate a status change of a first cell of the master base station or indicate a status change of a second cell of a secondary base station; and performs activation on the first cell or the second cell according to the first indication, or performs deactivation on the first cell or the second cell according to the first indication. In the embodiments of the present invention, both the master base station and the secondary base station serve the UE and undergo carrier aggregation, and the UE may obtain, by using the received first indication sent by the master base station, an active state or an inactive state of a serving cell that belongs to a base station that serves the UE, so that activation or deactivation can be performed on all serving cells.).
Wu and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of indicating by a base station, a status change of a cell of the master base station or a status change of a second cell of a secondary base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Zhang to create the method, further comprising: for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, setting a cell state of the changed secondary cell to an activated state or a deactivated state.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce UE power consumption by preventing the UE from continuously monitoring channels.
Regarding claim 13, Wu fails to disclose the terminal, wherein the processor is configured to:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, set a cell state of the changed secondary cell to an activated state or a deactivated state.
However, Zhang discloses the terminal, wherein the processor is configured to:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, set a cell state of the changed secondary cell to an activated state or a deactivated state ([0186] It can be seen from the forgoing embodiments that UE receives a first indication sent by a master base station, where the first indication is used to indicate a status change of a first cell of the master base station or indicate a status change of a second cell of a secondary base station; and performs activation on the first cell or the second cell according to the first indication, or performs deactivation on the first cell or the second cell according to the first indication. In the embodiments of the present invention, both the master base station and the secondary base station serve the UE and undergo carrier aggregation, and the UE may obtain, by using the received first indication sent by the master base station, an active state or an inactive state of a serving cell that belongs to a base station that serves the UE, so that activation or deactivation can be performed on all serving cells.).
Wu and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor indicating by a base station, a status change of a cell of the master base station or a status change of a second cell of a secondary base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Zhang to create the terminal, wherein the processor is configured to: for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as changed in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, set a cell state of the changed secondary cell to an activated state or a deactivated state.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce UE power consumption by preventing the UE from continuously monitoring channels.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chang et al (US20220217801A1)) (hereinafter "Chang").
Regarding claim 7, Wu fails to disclose the method, further comprising:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as unchanged in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, setting a cell state of the unchanged secondary cell to a deactivated state, or keeping the cell state of the unchanged secondary cell unchanged.
However, Chang discloses the method, further comprising:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as unchanged in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, setting a cell state of the unchanged secondary cell to a deactivated state, or keeping the cell state of the unchanged secondary cell unchanged ([0254] When the indication bits are 0, current statuses of the secondary cells remain unchanged. When the first secondary cell set includes the primary secondary cell, and the second message uses the MAC CE as a carrier, if a value of the indication bit R corresponding to the primary secondary cell in the MAC CE shown in Table 1-1 is 1, the terminal device is indicated to deactivate the dual connectivity. That is, all secondary cells in the secondary cell group are deactivated.).
Wu and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of the activation and deactivation of secondary cells in a mobile network using a MAC Control Element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Chang to create the method, further comprising: for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as unchanged in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, setting a cell state of the unchanged secondary cell to a deactivated state, or keeping the cell state of the unchanged secondary cell unchanged.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure the network can quickly scale data speeds up with more efficient aggregation.
Regarding claim 14, Wu fails to disclose the terminal, wherein the processor is configured to:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as unchanged in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, set a cell state of the unchanged secondary cell to a deactivated state, or keep the cell state of the unchanged secondary cell unchanged.
However, Chang discloses the terminal, wherein the processor is configured to:
for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as unchanged in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, set a cell state of the unchanged secondary cell to a deactivated state, or keep the cell state of the unchanged secondary cell unchanged ([0254] When the indication bits are 0, current statuses of the secondary cells remain unchanged. When the first secondary cell set includes the primary secondary cell, and the second message uses the MAC CE as a carrier, if a value of the indication bit R corresponding to the primary secondary cell in the MAC CE shown in Table 1-1 is 1, the terminal device is indicated to deactivate the dual connectivity. That is, all secondary cells in the secondary cell group are deactivated.)
Wu and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of the activation and deactivation of secondary cells in a mobile network using a MAC Control Element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Chang to create the terminal, wherein the processor is configured to: for a secondary cell that is determined, based on the first indication information, as unchanged in a current secondary cell list of the terminal, set a cell state of the unchanged secondary cell to a deactivated state, or keep the cell state of the unchanged secondary cell unchanged.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure the network can quickly scale data speeds up with more efficient aggregation.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Kim et al (US20220046522A1)) (hereinafter "Kim '522").
Regarding claim 19, Wu fails to disclose the base station, wherein the first indication information comprises a first identification bit, wherein the first identification bit indicates one of following situations:
the first indication information indicates that the primary cell of the terminal is changed;
the first indication information indicates that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or
the first indication information indicates that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed.
However, Kim '522 discloses the base station, wherein the first indication information comprises a first identification bit, wherein the first identification bit indicates one of following situations:
the first indication information indicates that the primary cell of the terminal is changed (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
the first indication information indicates that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or ([0399] After receiving DCI of PDCCH in a PCell 9-01, the UE may determine, while reading DCI in 9-05, the presence or absence of a bitmap including an indication (e.g., switching or activation to a dormant bandwidth part, or switching or activation to a normal bandwidth part) for bandwidth parts of SCells or SCell groups, or an indication of suspending or resuming a cell group (or secondary cell group) or a PSCell (or SCell) of a cell group (or secondary cell group). If there is the bitmap, for an SCell, SCells 9-02 and 9-03 belonging to an SCell group, a cell group (or secondary cell group), or a PSCell (or SCell) of a cell group (or secondary cell group), indicated by each bit of the bitmap, a bandwidth part may be switched or activated, or the cell group may be suspended or resumed according to the bit value. For example, if the bit of the bitmap indicates a first SCell (or first SCell identifier) 9-02, a cell group (or secondary cell group), or a PSCell (or SCell) of a cell group (or secondary cell group), or indicates a SCell group including the first SCell (or first SCell identifier), and the bit value is 0 (or 1), the UE may, for the first SCell 9-02, the cell group (or secondary cell group), or the PSCell (or SCell) of the cell group (or secondary cell group), activate a bandwidth part 9-21 to a dormant bandwidth part 9-22, or switch a current bandwidth part to the dormant bandwidth part 9-22, or when the current bandwidth part is not a dormant bandwidth part, the UE may switch or activate 9-25 the currently activated bandwidth part 9-21 to the dormant bandwidth part 9-22, or may suspend or deactivate a cell group.)
the first indication information indicates that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Wu and Kim '522 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multiple secondary cell group configurations and dual connectivity or carrier aggregation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Kim '522 to create the base station, wherein the first indication information comprises a first identification bit, wherein the first identification bit indicates one of following situations: the first indication information indicates that the primary cell of the terminal is changed; the first indication information indicates that the secondary cell of the terminal is changed; or the first indication information indicates that the primary cell and the secondary cell of the terminal are both changed.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 20, Wu fails to disclose the base station, wherein the first indication information comprises a first indication bit of a first secondary cell, wherein
the first indication bit indicates that the first secondary cell is changed.
However, Kim '522 discloses the base station, wherein the first indication information comprises a first indication bit of a first secondary cell, wherein
the first indication bit indicates that the first secondary cell is changed ([0399] After receiving DCI of PDCCH in a PCell 9-01, the UE may determine, while reading DCI in 9-05, the presence or absence of a bitmap including an indication (e.g., switching or activation to a dormant bandwidth part, or switching or activation to a normal bandwidth part) for bandwidth parts of SCells or SCell groups, or an indication of suspending or resuming a cell group (or secondary cell group) or a PSCell (or SCell) of a cell group (or secondary cell group). If there is the bitmap, for an SCell, SCells 9-02 and 9-03 belonging to an SCell group, a cell group (or secondary cell group), or a PSCell (or SCell) of a cell group (or secondary cell group), indicated by each bit of the bitmap, a bandwidth part may be switched or activated, or the cell group may be suspended or resumed according to the bit value. For example, if the bit of the bitmap indicates a first SCell (or first SCell identifier) 9-02, a cell group (or secondary cell group), or a PSCell (or SCell) of a cell group (or secondary cell group), or indicates a SCell group including the first SCell (or first SCell identifier), and the bit value is 0 (or 1), the UE may, for the first SCell 9-02, the cell group (or secondary cell group), or the PSCell (or SCell) of the cell group (or secondary cell group), activate a bandwidth part 9-21 to a dormant bandwidth part 9-22, or switch a current bandwidth part to the dormant bandwidth part 9-22, or when the current bandwidth part is not a dormant bandwidth part, the UE may switch or activate 9-25 the currently activated bandwidth part 9-21 to the dormant bandwidth part 9-22, or may suspend or deactivate a cell group.).
Wu and Kim '522 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting multiple secondary cell group configurations and dual connectivity or carrier aggregation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wu with Kim '522 to create the base station, wherein the first indication information comprises a first indication bit of a first secondary cell, wherein the first indication bit indicates that the first secondary cell is changed.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al (WO2022213371A1) discloses methods for indicating that a secondary cell group state changed from activated state to deactivated state.
Jung et al (US20120014357A1) discloses a technique for performing handover in a multiple component carrier system, including measurement results for one or more cells configured by a carrier aggregation, and configuring a candidate cell list in which the one or more cells are arranged in order based on measurement results.
Hwang et al (EP4203554A1) discloses a method for conditional cell addition with respect to a primary secondary cell addition.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419