DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the Office Action mailed June 5, 2026, applicant submitted an amendment filed on June 25, 2026, in which the applicant amended and requested reconsideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the prior art cited fails to teach the claims as amended. Applicants’ arguments are persuasive, but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-15, 17-18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsabba (PGPUB 2022/0245328) in view of LaComb et al. (PGPUB 2004/0194009), hereinafter referenced as LaComb.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Tsabba discloses a method and product, hereinafter referenced as a method executed by a document processing and natural language engine implemented as a computer program within a computing environment, the method comprising:
generating parsed non-standardized data from a document or a natural language text (scanned paper data; p. 0098);
converting the parsed non-standardized data using a generative pretrained transformer into a hypertext markup language output (converting a user's scanned existing paper form into a responsive PDF form; p. 0082, 0095-0105, 0173);
extracting pages, controls, or entity fields from the hypertext markup language output using a hypertext markup language application interpreter (FIG. 4 shows how for example to upload an image of a scanned paper form and place the submitted form values above it. This feature is available using basic PDF mapping. A user can create an HTML layout and embed the field values in it. This option is also available using our dynamic PDF mode. Creating a PDF to look like a screenshot of the filled-in form can be done using an Auto PDF feature; p. 0105, 0127, 0145-0150);
integrating application specific constructs based on the pages, the controls, or the entity fields into an application template to provide an operational form application (FIG. 2 shows creating a customer relationship management platform network 210 and creating a customer relationship management platform network attached storage cloud device 200. Operating a customized customer relationship management platform 220 includes using a customized form builder 230 with features for using pdf mapping 231, using a dynamic mode 232 and using an auto mode 233. Using a customized form builder 230 includes providing cross platform integration 234 employing a get feature 235 and employing a push/pull feature 236. Converting user interactivity to a minimode 240 for displaying on digital devices 241 includes a computer 242, a tablet 243, a laptop computer 244 and a smart phone 245. Using a customized form builder 230 includes creating interactive pdf forms from user existing pdf forms 150 and user custom pdf forms 155. Using a customized form builder 230 includes integrating user CRM platforms and other user platforms 160 for performing customized user applications 260 of one embodiment.
[0097] FIG. 2 shows creating a customized customer relationship management platform network and creating a customized customer relationship management platform network attached storage cloud device. Operating a customized customer relationship management platform providing an interactive interface with the customized customer relationship management platform network and customized customer relationship management platform network attached storage cloud device.; p. 0096-0099); and
inserting into the operational form application a submit form button configured to push form data to a corresponding entity (submit button; p. 0127, 0193-0201), but does not specifically teach generating non-standardized optical character recognition (OCR) data from a document or natural language text using a document understanding service.
LaComb discloses a method comprising generating non-standardized optical character recognition (OCR) (no standardized format) data from a document or natural language text using a document understanding service (document understanding engine; p. 0018-0021), to assist with understanding unstructured information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to aid in developing scripts for data extraction, so that document analysis and recognition can be automated.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Tsabba discloses a method wherein the method comprises creating an entity schema from the entity fields (an email field—Select each field on canvas and go to the ‘Properties’ panel>‘Element’ tab>‘Settings’ option>‘Basic’ category>Label and change their label names to: Name, phone and email. Create a manual PDF:—Go to ‘Properties’ panel>‘Form’ tab>‘Settings’ option>Press “view more” link>‘PDF Mapping’ category. Press on the “Map fields” button and the PDF editor will then open. Use the toggle to change to the Dynamic mode. Press on the “Settings” icon in the Toolbar and turn on the “Preview before submit” checkbox (in the General category). Add some text, for example “Hello” and add the “name field” right after it. So it will now say: Hello name, Add some more text under that, for example “Welcome to my dynamic pdf”. Add a table with 3 columns (toolbar>insert>table). Click inside the first column and open a sub menu with a right mouse click. Select Insert and choose the ‘Name’ field—it will then be inserted into the column. Move to the second column and insert the ‘Phone’ field into it. Move to the third column and insert the ‘email’ field into it. At this point in the example a user can create 3 different types of Block conditions: Selection, Table Row, and Table Col.; p. 0286-0269, 0307-0312).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Tsabba discloses a method wherein the method comprises generating the application template comprising a shell hypertext markup language element layout of a form utilizing a system prompt (FIG. 4 shows how for example to upload an image of a scanned paper form and place the submitted form values above it. This feature is available using basic PDF mapping. A user can create an HTML layout and embed the field values in it. This option is also available using our dynamic PDF mode. Creating a PDF to look like a screenshot of the filled-in form can be done using an Auto PDF feature.; p. 0105, 0120-0137).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Tsabba discloses a method wherein the integrating of the pages, the controls, or the entity fields into the application template comprises converting hypertext markup language elements of the pages, the controls, or the entity fields to the application specific constructs (FIG. 4 shows how for example to upload an image of a scanned paper form and place the submitted form values above it. This feature is available using basic PDF mapping. A user can create an HTML layout and embed the field values in it. This option is also available using our dynamic PDF mode. Creating a PDF to look like a screenshot of the filled-in form can be done using an Auto PDF feature.; p. 0105, 0120-0137), wherein the application specific constructs are included in the application template (p. 0177-0178).
Regarding claim 6, Tsabba discloses a method wherein the application specific constructs are included in the application template (the manual pdf mapping tool includes no code visualization tools that allows the application creation user to drag and drop form elements onto a predetermined pdf template file, wherein upon submission of the form, the manual pdf mapping tool automatically generates a customizable pdf of the form that includes the customizable form elements with the form input from the end user. The dynamic pdf mapping tool includes no code visualization tools that allows the application creation user to drag and drop form elements onto a blank html template or edit the html of the blank html template. Upon submission of the form, the dynamic pdf mapping tool dynamically generates a customizable pdf of the form that includes the customizable form elements with the form input from the end user of one embodiment.; p. 0095, 0104, 0198).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Tsabba discloses a method wherein the method comprises constructing an entity schema, constructing the corresponding entity, and configuring an entity integration from the hypertext markup language output and adding the entity integration into the application template (Customized customer relationship management platform method and devices create a powerful cloud based platform for creating online forms, applications, landing pages and portals. Designed for any type of business ranging from small nonprofits to large enterprises. Customized customer relationship management platform method and devices offers Smart integrations, conditional logic, document generation, payments, Lead generation, surveys as well as Innovative bidirectional Salesforce and dynamic CRM integrations. Smart integrations, bidirectional Salesforce and dynamic CRM integrations also include settings including auto save/push, auto pull, auto translate, custom translate, and phone survey.; p. 0085, 0112, 0284, 0360-0363).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Tsabba discloses a method wherein the operational form application comprises a one-page application configured to receive and ingest the form data upon activation of the submit form button (Customized customer relationship management platform method and devices create a powerful cloud based platform for creating online forms, applications, landing pages and portals. Designed for any type of business ranging from small nonprofits to large enterprises. Customized customer relationship management platform method and devices offers Smart integrations, conditional logic, document generation, payments, Lead generation, surveys as well as Innovative bidirectional Salesforce and dynamic CRM integrations. Smart integrations, bidirectional Salesforce and dynamic CRM integrations also include settings including auto save/push, auto pull, auto translate, custom translate, and phone survey.; p. 0085, 0112, 0284, 0360-0363), wherein the document processing and natural language engine provides automatic configuration of bindings between one or more of the pages, the controls and the entity field (p. 0154).
Regarding claim 9, Tsabba discloses a method wherein the document processing and natural language engine provides automatic configuration of bindings between one or more of the pages, the controls, and the entity fields (Triggering Salesforce actions from a page break. The page break trigger is a new option to run Salesforce actions, and it works in multi-page forms. A user could have “Get” and “Push” actions either triggered on load (when the form opened), on submit (when the form was sent) or when a custom Salesforce Action button was pressed. The multi-page form makes the page break buttons act as triggers. It can help make the overall flow of the form faster. What's special about the multi-page form is that loading all the pages data in one go is not a necessity because the user can only view one page at a time anyway, so if a user break down Salesforce actions per page a user can cut loading time short. In order to use this option, all a user has to do is:—Select the page break element in a specific page, and attach the Salesforce actions to this page by setting integration lines as—and making them work via custom button (which in this case means the page break buttons). Define when the trigger will work:—If it will work only the first time a user reaches the page (this is the default trigger)—If it will work only if a user arrives at the page from a Next button—If it will work only if a user arrives at the page from a Back button—If it will work every time a user reaches the page. When a user adds a page break to a user form the default trigger state in all the form pages is “Load first time”. But this can be changed to one of the other options listed above.; p. 0351).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Tsabba discloses a method wherein the submit form button causes the operational form application of the document processing and natural language engine to push the form data to a corresponding entity upon a click event (Buttons & Labels properties:—Finish/Close button text: if a user decides to turn on the ‘preview before submit’ option, the user can change the text on the buttons at the bottom of it. Title: If a user decides to turn on the ‘preview before submit’ option, the user can add a title text to this window. Signature: When a Signature field is added to the PDF and made interactive (by turning on the ‘interactive mode’ and adding the signature field to the list of interactive fields), it will have a label below it, containing the default text: “Click here to sign”. A user can enter a different text in this input box to replace it. File upload: When a File upload field is added to the PDF and made interactive (by turning on the ‘interactive mode’ and adding the File Upload field to the list of interactive fields), it will have a label below it, containing the default text: “Click here to upload a file”. A user can enter a different text in this input box to replace it.; p. 0200, 0268-0271).
Regarding claim 21, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, LaComb discloses converting of the parsed non-standarized OCR data comprises context-based converting (context; p. 0020-0024).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsabba in view of LaComb and in further view of Watson et al. (USPN 11,971,914), hereinafter referenced as Watson.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Tsabba and LaComb disclose a method as described above, but does not specifically teach wherein the generative pretrained transformer comprises a generative pretrained transformer turbo 3.5 k model.
Watson discloses a method wherein the generative pretrained transformer comprises a generative pretrained transformer turbo 3.5 k model (column 3, lines 16-60 with column 5, lines 29-66), to positively affect many diverse industries, services, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to improve operations.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsabba in view of in view of LaComb and in further view of Grosse (PGPUB 2021/0397784).
Tsabba in view of LaComb discloses the method as described above but does not specifically teach wherein the operational form application is generated by a one-click generation and digitization of a single page form.
Grosse discloses a method wherein the operational form application is generated by a one-click generation and digitization of a single page form (p. 0039-0040), to provide processing with a single user action.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to provide convenience with processing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
Rimchala discloses a system and method for spatial encoding and feature generators for enhancing information extracting comprising OCR.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAKIEDA R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657