DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE 10 2023 133 422, filed on 11/29/2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description: cardan housing lateral surface 50.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The use of the word “second” when describing the spring means. Because the claim is not dependent on claim 6, wherein a “first spring means” is described, the use of “second” may cause confusion. It is recommended to either change the phrasing or to make the claim dependent on claim 6.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: The use of the word “second” when describing the pressure chamber. Because the claim is not dependent on claim 10, wherein a “first pressure chamber” is described, the use of “second” may cause confusion. It is recommended to either change the phrasing or to make the claim dependent on claim 10.
Claim 15 is objected to because it uses the phrasing “which end stop”. The phrasing may cause confusion. For claim interpretation clarity, it is recommended to change the phrasing to “wherein at least one said end stop”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first spring means" and “the second spring means”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for "the first spring means" limitation in the claim.
While “a first spring means” and “a second spring means” are defined in claim 6 and claim 11, respectively, claim 13 depends on claim 11 but not claim 6. Thus, while the existence of the limitation of a “second spring means” has been established, the existence of the limitation “the first spring means” has not previously been established in the claim which in turn renders the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, this claim is being interpreted as “The angle compensation unit according to claim 11, wherein a first spring means is supported on one end on the control piston and on the other end on the locking piston, and/or wherein a second spring means is supported on one end on the locking piston and on the other end on the base part.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 13-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hounsfield and Williams (US 4702667), hereinafter Hounsfield.
Regarding claim 1, Hounsfield teaches
An angle compensation unit (Figure 3a, coupling mechanism C; Column 1, Lines 59-60, the coupling mechanism)
for a handling device (Column 1, Lines 4-5, compliant mechanism for coupling a robot gripper to a robot arm),
having a base part (Figure 3a and 3b, piston arrangement 10; Column 2, Line 23, a piston arrangement 10),
having a compensating part (Figures 3a-3c, support block 30; Column 2, Line 24, a support block 30),
having a control piston (Figure 3a, piston member 42; Column 3, Lines 4-5, additional piston member 42)
for controlling the pivoting moment (Figure 3a, see locking device 40, locking plate 41, and piston member 42; Column 3, Lines 3-5, The locking device 40 includes a locking plate 41 connected to an additional piston member 42 which can move slidingly within the plunger 11; Column 2, Lines 33-36, a locking device 40 maintains the gimbal arrangement in a locked condition (as shown in the drawings) such that displacement along and/or about the axis XX and YY cannot take place),
and having a locking piston (Figure 3a, plunger 11; Column 2, Lines 41-43, The piston arrangement 10 comprises a cylindrical plunger 11 which can move on axis ZZ within a closely fitting cylindrical sleeve 12 connected at P to the arm.)
for locking the compensating part (Figure 3a-3b, see at least piston arrangement 10, plunger 11, and locking device 40; Column 3, Lines 3-5, The locking device 40 includes a locking plate 41 connected to an additional piston member 42 which can move slidingly within the plunger 11; Column 2, Lines 33-36, a locking device 40 maintains the gimbal arrangement in a locked condition (as shown in the drawings) such that displacement along and/or about the axis XX and YY cannot take place; It is implied that the plunger 11 moves in collaboration with the locking device 40 as seen in figures 3a and 3b),
wherein the compensating part can be pivoted relative to the base part (Column 2, Lines 28-29, displacement of the support block along and/or about axes XX and YY)
about an x-axis (Figure 3c, YY Axis; Reference is interpreted to define YY axis as X-axis in claims)
and about a y-axis (Figure 3c, XX Axis; Reference is interpreted to define XX axis as Y-axis in claims)
running perpendicular to the x-axis (Column 2, Lines 5-7, two other axes XX and YY which, in this example, are arranged orthogonally in relation to one another, and to axis ZZ)
between a basic position and a compensating position (Column 2, Lines 55-66, In the unlocked condition, ... the support block 30 may be displaced along and/or rotate about the longitudinal axis XX of the shaft 23, ... Again, in the unlocked condition, ... the support block 30 may be displaced along, and/or rotate about, the common longitudinal axis YY of shafts 24; It is implied that the support block has a starting position without any displacement or rotation, corresponding to the basic position. Likewise, once it is pivoted in any direction along both XX and YY axes it assumes a second position, corresponding to the compensating position),
wherein a bearing frame (Figure 3a - 3c, outer frame member 22; Column 2, Lines 52-53, outer frame member 22)
and a bearing flange (Figure 3a - 3c, inner frame member 21; Column 2, Lines 51-52, inner frame member 21)
are arranged in the base part (Figure 3b, see outer frame member 22, inner frame member 21, piston arrangement 10, and plunger 11; Column 2, Lines 51-53, an inner frame member 21 supported by an outer frame member 22, which is formed integrally with plunger 11),
wherein the bearing frame is mounted in the base part (Figure 3a-3c, see inner frame member 21 and piston arrangement 10; Column 2, Lines 52-53, an inner frame member 21 supported by an outer frame member 22, which is formed integrally with plunger 11; Column 2, Lines 41-42, The piston arrangement 10 comprises a cylindrical plunger 11)
in a manner allowing rotation about the x-axis (Figure 3c, see outer frame member 22, inner frame member 21, arrow D, and the YY axis; Column 2, Lines 60-66, the inner frame member 21 is mounted fixedly on a pair of shafts 24, 25 supported freely, in bearings 61, by the outer frame member 22. Again, in the unlocked condition, the inner frame member 21 and so the support block 30 may be displaced along, and/or rotate about, the common longitudinal axis YY of shafts 24, 25, as shown by arrows C and D; While the outer frame member itself does not rotate about the YY axis, it does allow rotation of the supporting block about the YY axis),
wherein the bearing flange is mounted in the bearing frame (Figure 3a-3c, see at least outer frame member 22 and inner frame member 21; Column 2, Lines 51-53, an inner frame member 21 supported by an outer frame member 22)
in a manner allowing rotation about the y-axis (Figure 3c, see inner frame member 22, support block 30, arrow B, and XX axis; Column 2, Lines 53-55, Support block 30 is mounted fixedly on a shaft 23 which is supported in bearings 60 by the inner frame member 21; Column 2, Lines 53-60, In the unlocked condition, the shaft 23 is free to slide and/or turn in the bearings 60 so that the support block 30 may be displaced along and/or rotate about the longitudinal axis XX, as shown by arrows A and B; While the inner frame member itself does not rotate about the XX axis, it does allow rotation of the supporting block about the XX axis),
wherein the control piston is displaceable along a z-axis (Figure 3a-3b, see piston member 42 and ZZ axis; Column 3, Lines 3-5, The locking device 40 includes a locking plate 41 connected to an additional piston member 42 which can move slidingly within the plunger 11)
running perpendicular to the x-axis and the y-axis (Figure 3a, see XX axis and ZZ axis; Column 2, Lines 5-7, two other axes XX and YY which, in this example, are arranged orthogonally in relation to one another, and to axis ZZ; Reference is interpreted to define ZZ axis as Z-axis in claims)
between a control position and a release position (Column 3, Lines 5-9, A coil spring 43, acting between the piston member and flange 14, as shown, urges the locking plate against a complementary surface 31 of support block 30 and holds the gimbal arrangement in the locked condition; It is implied having the locking plate 41, controlled by piston member 42, against the complementary surface 31 is the locked position, corresponding to the control position. Likewise, this implies an unlocked position, corresponding to the release position.),
wherein the locking piston is displaceable along the z-axis (Figure 3a, see plunger 11 and ZZ axis; Column 2, Lines 41-43, The piston arrangement 10 comprises a cylindrical plunger 11 which can move on axis ZZ within a closely fitting cylindrical sleeve 12 connected at P to the arm.)
between an unlocked position and a locking position (Column 3, Lines 37-51, that in operation of the coupling mechanism the gimbal arrangement 20 will initially assume the locked condition, as shown in the drawing. If the gripper then experiences a force directed along axis ZZ, as may be encountered for example, on insertion of a pin in a hole, the coupling mechanism will, at least initially, exhibit compliance in the ZZ axis direction only. If, however, the force persists and displacement on axis ZZ exceeds a preset amount, defined by the relative position of the probe and sensor, the gimbal arrangement is caused to assume the unlocked condition to render the coupling mechanism compliant in relation to the XX and YY axis directions also. The gripper is then free to move in response to the forces to which it may be subjected; It is implied that the plunger 11 moves with the displacement on axis ZZ and has a locked condition, corresponding to the locking position, and an unlocked position, corresponding to the unlocked position.),
wherein the locking piston in the locking position compels the control piston in the direction of the control position, and wherein the control piston locks the compensating part (Figure 3a, see at least robot arm A, piston arrangement 10, plunger 11, flange 14, piston member 42, locking plate 41, gimbal arrangement 20, support block 30, and ZZ axis; It is implied that when the plunger 11 and flange 14, corresponding to the locking piston, is displaced as far as possible from robot arm A, corresponding to the locked position, the piston member 42, corresponding to the control piston, is likewise displaced away from the robot arm. This displacement, corresponding to the control position, moves the locking plate towards the gimbal arrangement 20 which in turn locks the support block 30).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the teaching above for claim 1, Hounsfield further teaches
wherein the compensating part is connected to the bearing flange (Figure 3a-3c, see inner frame member 21, shaft 23, and support block 30; Column 2, Lines 53-55, Support block 30 is mounted fixedly on a shaft 23 which is supported in bearings 60 by the inner frame member 21)
in a manner preventing movement (Column 2, Lines 55-59, In the unlocked condition, the shaft 23 is free to slide and/or turn in the bearings 60 so that the support block 30 may be displaced along and/or rotate about the longitudinal axis XX of the shaft; It is implied that in the locked condition the shaft 23, and thus in turn the support block 30, is not free to slide and/or turn).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the teaching above for claim 1, Hounsfield further teaches
wherein the bearing frame has a first axis of rotation running along the x-axis (Figure 3c, see outer frame member 22, inner frame member 21, arrow D, and the YY axis; Column 2, Lines 60-66, the inner frame member 21 is mounted fixedly on a pair of shafts 24, 25 supported freely, in bearings 61, by the outer frame member 22. Again, in the unlocked condition, the inner frame member 21 and so the support block 30 may be displaced along, and/or rotate about, the common longitudinal axis YY of shafts 24, 25, as shown by arrows C and D; While the outer frame member itself does not rotate about the YY axis, it does allow rotation of the supporting block about the YY axis)
and the bearing flange has a second axis of rotation running along the y-axis (Figure 3c, see inner frame member 22, support block 30, arrow B, and XX axis; Column 2, Lines 53-55, Support block 30 is mounted fixedly on a shaft 23 which is supported in bearings 60 by the inner frame member 21; Column 2, Lines 53-59, In the unlocked condition, the shaft 23 is free to slide and/or turn in the bearings 60 so that the support block 30 may be displaced along and/or rotate about the longitudinal axis XX, as shown by arrows A and B),
and wherein the first axis of rotation and the second axis of rotation lie in an axis of rotation plane (Figure 3c see axes XX and YY; Column 2, Lines 5-7, two other axes XX and YY which, in this example, are arranged orthogonally in relation to one another, and to axis ZZ).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the teaching above for claim 1, Hounsfield further teaches
wherein the bearing frame is rotatably mounted in the base part by first pivot pins (Figure 3b, shafts 24 and 25; Column 2, Lines 60-65, the inner frame member 21 is mounted fixedly on a pair of shafts 24, 25 supported freely, in bearings 61, by the outer frame member 22. Again, in the unlocked condition, the inner frame member 21 and so the support block 30 may be displaced along, and/or rotate about, the common longitudinal axis YY of shafts 24, 25)
and/or the bearing flange is rotatably mounted in the bearing frame by second pivot pins (Figure 3a-3c, see shaft 23 and bearings 60; Column 2, Lines 53-55, Support block 30 is mounted fixedly on a shaft 23 which is supported in bearings 60 by the inner frame member 21).
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the teaching above for claim 1, Hounsfield further teaches
wherein the bearing frame is ring-shaped (Figures 3a-3c, see outer frame member 22).
Hounsfield does not fully teach wherein the bearing flange is partially spherical. However, the use of the wording “and/or” implies that the claim can refer to one option in the singular. Thus, it is still anticipated by Hounsfield.
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the teaching above for claim 1, Hounsfield further teaches
wherein a first spring means is provided (Figure 3a, coil spring 43; Column 3, Lines 5-6, A coil spring 43)
for returning the control piston to the control position (Column 3, Lines 5-9, A coil spring 43, acting between the piston member and flange 14, as shown, urges the locking plate against a complementary surface 31 of support block 30 and holds the gimbal arrangement in the locked condition).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, in addition to the teaching above for claim 1, Hounsfield further teaches
wherein the first spring means are supported on one end on the control piston and on the other end on the locking piston (Figure 3a, see spring 43, plunger 11, flange 14, and piston member 42; Column 3, Lines 5-9, A coil spring 43, acting between the piston member and flange 14, as shown, urges the locking plate against a complementary surface 31 of support block 30 and holds the gimbal arrangement in the locked condition),
and/or wherein the second spring means are supported on one end on the locking piston and on the other end on the base part (Figure 3a, see spring 13, plunger 11, flange 14, sleeve 12, and piston arrangement 10; Column 2, Lines 41-47, The piston arrangement 10 comprises a cylindrical plunger 11 which can move on axis ZZ within a closely fitting cylindrical sleeve 12 connected at P to the arm. The plunger and sleeve are coupled together resiliently by a compression spring 13 which is connected, as shown, to a flange 14 mounted at the open end of the plunger).
Regarding claim 14, in addition to the teaching above for claim 1, Hounsfield further teaches
wherein it has a sensor device (Figure 3b, sensor 50; Column 3, Line 23, a sensor shown generally at 50)
with a position sensor (Column 3, Lines 23-24, A sensor shown generally at 50 in FIG. 3b, is arranged to monitor displacement)
for detecting the position of the locking piston and/or the control piston and/or the bearing frame and/or the bearing flange and/or the compensating part (Column 3, Lines 23-24, A sensor shown generally at 50 in FIG. 3b, is arranged to monitor displacement of the gripper on axis ZZ and to generate a control signal for actuating the air source whenever the displacement exceeds the preset amount).
It is implied that while the sensor is being used to monitor displacement of the gripper, it can be applied for any component which is capable of being displaced in the ZZ axis, of which each component listed here can.
Hounsfield does not fully teach wherein it has a presence sensor for detecting the presence of a component on the compensating part. However, the use of the wording “and/or” implies that the claim can refer to one option in the singular. Thus, it is still anticipated by Hounsfield.
Regarding claim 16, in addition to the teaching above for claim 1, Hounsfield further teaches
A clamping and/or gripping device (Figure 3a-3b, robot gripper G; Column 1, Lines 59-61, the coupling mechanism, shown generally at C, connects a robot arm, represented at A, to a robot gripper, represented at G),
having an angle compensation unit according to claim 1 (Figure 3a-3b, coupling mechanism C; Column 1, Lines 59-61, the coupling mechanism, shown generally at C, connects a robot arm, represented at A, to a robot gripper).
Regarding claim 17, in addition to the teaching above for claim 1, Hounsfield further teaches
A handling device (Figure 3a-3b, robot arm A, robot gripper G; Column 1, Lines 59-62, the coupling mechanism, shown generally at C, connects a robot arm, represented at A, to a robot gripper, represented at G. Both the arm and the gripper may be of conventional form)
having an angle compensation unit according to claim 1 (Figure 3a-3b, coupling mechanism C; Column 1, Lines 59-61, the coupling mechanism, shown generally at C, connects a robot arm, represented at A, to a robot gripper, represented at G).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hounsfield (US 4702667) in view of Ijiri et al (US 20230173691), hereinafter Ijiri.
Regarding claim 7, Hounsfield teaches fully for claim 1, on which claim 7 is dependent, as described above in the section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102”.
Hounsfield fails to fully teach wherein a protruding mandrel is provided on the control piston, and a pocket cooperating with the mandrel in the control position is provided on the bearing flange, or wherein a protruding mandrel is provided on the bearing flange and a pocket cooperating with the mandrel in the control position is provided on the control piston. While it teaches a similar pocket and mandrel setup (Hounsfield Column 3, Lines 10-13, A groove 44 and a complementary projection 32, formed respectively in plate 41 and on surface 31, maintain the plate and support block in centralized, interlocked relationship), this groove and projection are located on the locking plate and support block. Thus, it fails to fully anticipate the claim limitation.
However, Ijiri teaches
The angle compensation unit according to claim 1, wherein a protruding mandrel is provided on the control piston (Ijiri Figure 6, protrusion 121 and first member 110; Paragraph 0054, the protrusion 121 is provided on the first member 110),
and a pocket cooperating with the mandrel in the control position is provided on the bearing flange (Ijiri Figure 6, recess 111 and second member 120; Paragraph 0054, the recess 111 is provided in the second member 120),
or wherein a protruding mandrel is provided on the bearing flange (Ijiri Figure 1, protrusion 121 and second member 120; Paragraph 0030, A protrusion 121 is provided at the center portion of the second member 120)
and a pocket cooperating with the mandrel in the control position is provided on the control piston (Ijiri Figure 1, recess 111 and first member 110; Paragraph 0030, a recess 111 formed in a shape corresponding to the protrusion 121 is provided at the center portion of the first member 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of a protrusion on a first member and a recess on a second member, or vice versa, as taught by Ijiri, to the coupling mechanism of Hounsfield. One would be motivated to do this to ensure a strong locking force between the two members, in this case the control piston and bearing flange (Ijiri Paragraph 0012, A configuration is also possible in which a protrusion is provided at one of the first member and the second member, and a recess is provided in another thereof, and in the locked state, the first member and the second member are fixed to each other by the protrusion being fitted to the recess. Such a fitting method is suitable to the case where a strong fixing force is required).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to combine these systems and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Furthermore, each element in the combined context would perform the same function they did separately.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Ijiri to Hounsfield because they are in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (article manipulator joints), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Hounsfield in view of Ijiri teaches fully for claim 7, on which claim 8 is dependent, as described above.
Hounsfield fails to fully teach wherein the mandrel and/or the pocket are conical and/or complementary to one another.
However, Ijiri teaches
wherein the mandrel and/or the pocket are conical (Ijiri Figure 1, see protrusion 121 and recess 111; Paragraph 0041, A protrusion 121 that has a truncated conical shape; Paragraph 0042, A recess 111 that has a shape corresponding to the protrusion 121),
and/or complementary to one another (Ijiri Paragraph 0042, A recess 111 that has a shape corresponding to the protrusion 121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the protrusion and/or the recess as being conical shaped and/or complementary to each other, as taught by Ijiri, to the coupling mechanism of Hounsfield.
Regarding the conical shape, one would be motivated to do this to ensure possible angular deviation between a first and second member, in this case the control piston and bearing flange, to further suppress a failure in fitting (Ijiri Paragraph 0014, The protrusion may also have a circular conical shape or a circular truncated conical shape. By using the protrusion of the rotational symmetrical shape, angular deviation (rotation around the axis of the protrusion) between the first member (first element) and the second member (second element) is allowed, making it possible to further suppress a failure in fitting).
Regarding the mandrel and/or the pocket being complementary to each other, one would be motivated to do this to ensure a strong fixing force between a first and second member, in this case the control piston and bearing flange (Ijiri Paragraph 0012, A configuration is also possible in which a protrusion is provided at one of the first member and the second member, and a recess is provided in another thereof, and in the locked state, the first member and the second member are fixed to each other by the protrusion being fitted to the recess. Such a fitting method is suitable to the case where a strong fixing force is required).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to combine these systems and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Furthermore, each element in the combined context would perform the same function they did separately.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Ijiri to Hounsfield because they are in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (article manipulator joints), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hounsfield (US 4702667).
Regarding claim 10, Hounsfield teaches fully for claim 1, on which claim 10 is dependent, as described above in the section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102”. In addition, Hounsfield further teaches
wherein the base part and the control piston delimit a pressurizable first pressure chamber (Figure 3a, air-tight cavity 45; Column 3, Lines 14-15, The piston member 42 defines a closed, substantially air-tight cavity 45 within plunger 11).
Hounsfield fails to fully teach such that when the first pressure chamber is pressurized, the compensating part is centered.
However, Hounsfield does teach wherein the air-tight cavity, corresponding to the first pressure chamber, is pressurized, the piston member, corresponding to the control piston, releases the gimbal arrangement, corresponding to unlocking the compensating part (Column 3, Lines 15-23, This cavity is coupled, via a bore 46, to a source (not shown) of compressed air which can be actuated whenever displacement on axis ZZ exceeds the preset amount. In these circumstances, the air pressure inside the cavity is caused to rise forcing the piston member back against the action of spring 43 and so lifting the locking plate away from the support block 30, thereby releasing the gimbal arrangement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to either provide the air-tight cavity on the opposite side of the plunger, thereby allowing it to lock the gimbal arrangement when pressurized, or to depressurize the chamber to lock the gimbal arrangement. Both of these changes would accomplish the limitation set forth in the claim and are understood in the art. Furthermore, these changes would not change the operation of the coupling mechanism of Hounsfield in regards to the limitations set forth in claim 1. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coupling mechanism of Hounsfield to meet the claim limitation. For further information regarding this rationale, see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 11, Hounsfield teaches fully for claim 1, on which claim 11 is dependent, as described above in the section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102”. In addition, Hounsfield further teaches
wherein a second spring means is provided (Figure 3a, spring 13; Column 2, Lines 45, a compression spring 13).
Hounsfield fails to fully teach such that the second spring member is provided for returning the locking piston to the unlocked position.
However, Hounsfield does teach wherein the compression spring, corresponding to the second spring member, is coupled to the plunger, corresponding to the locking piston, such that it is compressed when the plunger is displaced along the ZZ axis (Column 2, Lines 44-49, The plunger and sleeve are coupled together resiliently by a compression spring 13 which is connected, as shown, to a flange 14 mounted at the open end of the plunger. If the gripper experiences a force directed along axis ZZ the plunger will be displaced with respect to the sleeve causing the spring 13 to be compressed). This in turn means that the compression spring is provided for returning the plunger to a default position, which corresponds to the locked position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the compression spring on the opposite side of the plunger inside the piston arrangement, thereby allowing it to compel the plunger towards the unlocked position. This change would accomplish the limitation set forth in the claim and is understood in the art. Furthermore, this change would not change the operation of the coupling mechanism of Hounsfield in regards to the limitations set forth in claim 1. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coupling mechanism of Hounsfield to meet the claim limitation. For further information regarding this rationale, see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 12, Hounsfield teaches fully for claim 1, on which claim 12 is dependent, as described above in the section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102”.
Hounsfield fails to fully teach wherein the base part and the locking piston delimit a pressurizable second pressure chamber, such that when the second pressure chamber is pressurized, the compensating part is locked.
However, Hounsfield does teach of an air-tight cavity withing the piston arrangement between the piston member, corresponding to the control piston, and the piston arrangement, corresponding to the base part (Figure 3a, air-tight cavity 45; Column 3, Lines 14-18, The piston member 42 defines a closed, substantially air-tight cavity 45 within plunger 11), that when pressurized unlocks the gimbal arrangement, corresponding to unlocking the compensating part (Column 3, Lines 15-23, This cavity is coupled, via a bore 46, to a source (not shown) of compressed air which can be actuated whenever displacement on axis ZZ exceeds the preset amount. In these circumstances, the air pressure inside the cavity is caused to rise forcing the piston member back against the action of spring 43 and so lifting the locking plate away from the support block 30, thereby releasing the gimbal arrangement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional air-tight cavity between the plunger and the base part (Figure 3a, see at least piston arrangement 10, flange 14, and air-tight cavity 45; It is implied by the figure that a similar air-cavity as 45 is formed between the piston arrangement 10 and flange 14) that, when pressurized, moves the plunger towards the support block which in turn locks the support block, corresponding to locking the compensating part. This change would accomplish the limitation set forth in the claim. Furthermore, this change would not change the operation of the coupling mechanism of Hounsfield in regards to the limitations set forth in claim 1. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coupling mechanism of Hounsfield to meet the claim limitation and one would be motivated to use an additional pressure chamber to move the piston as it is already taught by Hounsfield that a pressure chamber can move the piston. For further information regarding this rationale, see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hounsfield (US 4702667) in view of Norton (8794418).
Hounsfield teaches fully for claim 1, on which claim 15 is dependent, as described above in the section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102”.
Hounsfield fails to fully teach wherein at least one end stop is provided on the compensating part to limit the pivoting angle of the compensating part, which end stop contacts a bottom side of the base part in a maximum compensating position.
However, Norton teaches
wherein at least one end stop is provided on the compensating part (Norton Figure 3, see tool plate 30 edge; Column 4, Lines 55-57, the tool plate 30 includes a top side that is parallel with a top side 19 of the first section 11 in the home position),
to limit the pivoting angle of the compensating part, (Norton Column 4, Lines 60-62, The extent of compliance is illustrated by angle ρ formed between the top side of the tool plate 30 and the top side 19 of the first section 11),
which end stop contacts a bottom side of the base part (Norton Figure 3, see top side 19; Column 4, Lines 55-57, the tool plate 30 includes a top side that is parallel with a top side 19 of the first section 11 in the home position)
in a maximum compensating position (Norton Figure 3, see angle ρ; Column 4, Lines 60-61, The extent of compliance is illustrated by angle ρ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of using a tool plate edge and a top side of a first section to reach an angle of compliance, as taught by Norton, to the coupling mechanism of Hounsfield. One would be motivated to do this to limit the maximum angle possible of the compensating unit (Norton Column 1, Lines 20-23, To accommodate a variety of applications, the robotic tool may be designed to "give" or flex, thus providing the tool with a limited amount of freedom of movement when it encounters an obstacle or exerts a torque).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to combine these systems and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Furthermore, each element in the combined context would perform the same function they did separately.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Norton to Hounsfield because they are in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (article manipulator joints), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one having ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While Hounsfield in view of Ijiri fully teaches on claim 7, on which claim 9 is dependent, as described above in in the section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102”, it fails to teach wherein the mandrel and/or the pocket are designed as inserts. Furthermore, prior art fails to fully teach the use of inserts designed as a mandrel and a pocket on two complimentary members working in cooperation. Thus, it is considered to distinguish over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure [See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited] because the prior references contain subject matter that is related to one or more of the Applicant’s claim limitations.
Of note, Dien et al (US 4628765) teaches wherein the bearing frame is ring-shaped and/or the bearing flange is partially spherical (See at least figure 1, first track or slot 36 and second track or slot 46; Column 3 line 67 - Column 4 line 4, Inner yoke 40 includes a second track or slot 46. Control pin 14 extends through slot 46 of inner yoke 40 and into slot 36 of outer yoke 30. In this way spherical member 12 can be brought into any position within its working range by rotating yoke 30 about its axis 32 and/or rotating yoke 40 about its axis 42) and Sakata (US 4561825) teaches a presence sensor for detecting the presence of a component on the compensating part (Column 4, Lines 1-3, works to detect the presence of part pieces 40 and their spatial relationship by using simple contact sensors). These teachings are of particular relevance to claims 5 and 14, respectively.
/J.T.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655