DETAILED ACTION
Summary
2. The patent application submitted on November 27, 2024, has been received and recorded. There are 1-13 claims in the application of which claims 1, 11, and 12 are independent claims. Claims 2-10 and 13 are dependent claims. Therefore, claims 1-13 are pending for consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed along with the mailing date of the application on November 27, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHUSTER et al.(US 2024/0353743 A1)(herein after SCHUSTER) in view of HUELSEN et al.(US 2023/0399058 A1)(herein after HUELSEN).
Regarding claim 1, SCHUSTER teaches a sensor arrangement (sensor 4, fig.1, Para-32) for capturing the surrounding of a vehicle(fig.1), comprising:
a sensor(surround sensor 4, fig.1, Para-32) for capturing the surroundings having a sensor housing(figs.1, 5);
an arrangement housing in which the sensor is arranged(figs.1-2, 4-5 and related texts);
wherein the arrangement housing is arranged in/on a vehicle (windshield of the vehicle, Para-32) [roof of the vehicle]; and
a fastening device(system installation arrangement 2, fig.1, Para-32) disposed on the sensor housing(figs.1-2, 4-5) and including a first portion having a first diameter and a second portion having a second diameter(figs.1, 5), wherein the first diameter is smaller than the second diameter(fig.1); and
the vehicle(vehicle 1) defines at least one receptacle (receptacle region 7, fig.1) which can receive the first portion having the first diameter(fig.1) but cannot receive the second portion having the second diameter(fig.1) such that the fastening apparatus engages with the first portion in the receptacle and the second portion does not engage in the receptacle in order to align the sensor on the vehicle(figs.1, 5 and related texts).
Nevertheless, SCHUSTER is not found to teach expressly the sensor arrangement, wherein the arrangement housing is arranged in/on a vehicle roof of the vehicle.
However, HUELSEN teaches a vehicle roof and a sensor module,
wherein the arrangement(sensor modules 24, fig.1) housing is arranged in/on a vehicle roof of the vehicle(Para-4, 33).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified SCHUSTER with the teaching of HUELSEN to include the feature in order to ensure that the sensor housing is accommodated in the sensor cutout of the roof skin assembly in a sealing manner.
Regarding claim 2, SCHUSTER as modified by HUELSEN teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement housing defines a recess behind which the sensor is arranged(figs.2, 4-6, SCHUSTER).
Regarding claim 3, SCHUSTER as modified by HUELSEN teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 2, further comprising a cover disposed in the recess, the cover being permeable to signals of the sensor(figs.1, 5, SCHUSTER).
Regarding claim 7, SCHUSTER as modified by HUELSEN teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 1, further comprising at least one tongue(spring device 6, figs.1-3, SCHUSTER) provided on the sensor housing and at least one slot defined by the arrangement housing(figs.1-2, 4-6, SCHUSTER), wherein the sensor housing is inserted in the arrangement housing by introducing the tongue(6) of the sensor housing into the slot of the arrangement housing(figs.2, 4, 6, SCHUSTER).
Regarding claim 8, SCHUSTER as modified by HUELSEN teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the fastening device is fixed in the receptacle(figs.1, 6, SCHUSTER).
Regarding claim 9, SCHUSTER as modified by HUELSEN teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the arrangement housing is fastened to the vehicle by a connection comprising a through-bore hole(fig.5, SCHUSTER)(obvious and well-known in the art), wherein the diameter of the hole is larger than the diameter of a bore of the receptacle(figs.1, 5, HUELSEN)(for motivation, see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, SCHUSTER as modified by HUELSEN teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 1, further comprising aligning bushes disposed on at least one of the sensor housing and the arrangement housing(figs.1, 5, SCHUSTER), and accommodating aligning pins(alignment pins 101, fig.5, SCHUSTER), wherein the sensor housing and the arrangement housing are arranged on one another and aligned by the aligning pins engaging in the aligning bushes and being secured therein(fig.5, SCHUSTER).
Claim 11 is rejected for same reason as mentioned in the rejection of independent claim 1 as both claims 1 and 11 recite almost identical claim limitations except minor change wording and terminology in preamble.
Claim 12 is rejected for same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claims 1, 7 and 10, since claim 12 recites almost identical claim limitations, in combination, of claims 1, 7 and 10 except change in preamble and minor change in terminology. SCHUSTER teaches a method of assembling sensor arrangement in the vehicles(Para-2, 7-13, 35, 42, SCHUSTER).
Claim 13 is rejected for same reason as mentioned in the rejection of independent claim 8 as both claims 8 and 13 recite almost identical claim limitations except change in preamble and minor change in terminology.
8. Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHUSTER et al.(US 2024/0353743 A1) in view of HUELSEN et al.(US 2023/0399058 A1) and further in view of Pfeiffer et al.(US 2018/0198967 A1) (herein after Pfeiffer).
Regarding claim 4, SCHUSTER as modified by HUELSEN is not found to teach expressly the sensor arrangement according to claim 3, further comprising a first sealing element arranged between the sensor housing and the arrangement housing and surrounding the recess.
However, Pfeiffer teaches a connection device for a camera module, further comprising a first sealing element(sealing element 16, fig.1) arranged between the sensor housing and the arrangement housing and surrounding the recess(Para-32).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified SCHUSTER further with the teaching of Pfeiffer to include the feature in order to reduce and/or prevent environmental influences such as, dirt, dust, moisture on the sensor device.
Regarding claim 5, SCHUSTER as modified by HUELSEN and Pfeiffer teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 4, further comprising a second sealing element(sealing assembly 36, figs.2-3, HUELSEN) arranged between the arrangement housing and the vehicle(Para-38)(for motivation, see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, SCHUSTER as modified by HUELSEN and Pfeiffer teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 5, wherein at least one of the sealing elements includes a 2C seal(Para-18, 32, Pfeiffer)(applicant is suggested to define 2C seal otherwise there would be rejection for indefiniteness and/or unclear).
Examiner Note
9. The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references, as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the references or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact
/MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626