DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Amendment filed on 14 July 2026 has been acknowledged.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 14 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 27 March 2026
Currently, claims 1 – 13 are pending and considered as set forth.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections set forth in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 14 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues, “Dolgov therefore does not disclose "editing the motor-vehicle-generated environmental data based on the infrastructure-generated environmental data in order to ascertain an edited motor-vehicle-generated environmental data; generating a data set that comprises the edited motor-vehicle-generated environmental data" as claimed in claim 1. Independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-11 and 13 are allowable over Dolgov.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and traverses that, considering the reference as a whole, Dolgov still teaches the limitations of "editing the motor-vehicle-generated environmental data based on the infrastructure-generated environmental data in order to ascertain an edited motor-vehicle-generated environmental data; generating a data set that comprises the edited motor-vehicle-generated environmental data" as claimed in claim 1 in the paragraph 25 and 27 – 28 as updated rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dolgov et al. (Hereinafter Dolgov) (US 2019/0073545 A1).
As per claim 1, Dolgov teaches the limitations of: a method, comprising:
receiving a motor-vehicle-generated environmental data that represent an environment of a motor vehicle from a perspective of the motor vehicle (See at least abstract; at least one sensor for detecting the vehicle surroundings, and Kl-module(s) to classify objects in the surroundings based on the sensor data supplied by the sensor with an internal processing chain established by parameters,);
receiving an infrastructure-generated environmental data that represent the environment of the motor vehicle from a perspective of an infrastructure (See at least abstract; the plausibility check module receiving pieces of reference information about objects in the surroundings supplied by other vehicles and/or by an infrastructure);
editing the motor-vehicle-generated environmental data based on the infrastructure-generated environmental data in order to ascertain an edited motor-vehicle-generated environmental data (See at least abstract and paragraph 25 and 27 - 28; comparing the pieces of reference information with the classification result by the Kl-module and to initiate at least one measure for a deviation established by the comparison, so that the parameters of the processing chain of the Kl-module are adapted to the effect that the deviation is reduced in comparable situations. … the measure taken by the plausibility check module is at least that the Kl-module is to be set into a learning mode and the sensor data are to be supplied to the Kl-module as a learning-value for its input variable and the pieces of reference information as a learning-value for its output variable. … the measure is at least to report the sensor data and the pieces of reference information to an external server, which is configured to use this report as learning information for the calculation of updated parameters for the processing chain of the Kl-module. This offers the further advantage that the information about new objects may be aggregated by numerous vehicles. Combinations and mixed forms are also possible. Initially, for example, a self-sufficient learning process of the Kl-module may be initiated, in order, as much as possible, to retrofit a recognition of the new object with an on-board arrangement.); and
generating a data set that comprises the edited motor-vehicle-generated environmental data (See at least paragraph 45 – 47; a different vehicle is selected as a classified object. The pieces of reference information are retrieved based on a vehicle type, which is conveyed by the different vehicle and/or by the infrastructure via a wireless interface. Thus, the same “ground truth” obtainable via V2X communication may be used, which is also used for the plausibility check of the object recognition and for the subsequent additional learning of new objects. The receiving part of the wireless interface may be situated, for example, in the plausibility check module, but also at another location in the driver assistance system. The pieces of reference information may, for example, be imbedded in a “cooperative awareness message,” CAM, transmitted via V2X, which presently contains position data and velocity data. An extended CAM may contain, for example, the vehicle type, including body color, the geometry and load, potentially added accessories (such as a trailer or a bicycle rack on the rear end) or also a confidence about the position data, pose data and velocity data (for example, in the form of a covariance). These pieces of information may be imbedded, for example, in the “low frequency” container of the CAM. In this way, the vehicles are able to exchange information even among one another about the objects recognized by each respectively and about the respective positions, which further enhances the database. Vehicles may also behave cooperatively and support a clear association of V2X data to detected vehicles. For this purpose, they may, for example, change the intensity of their taillight or carry out a modulation of the taillight invisible to the human driver using a particular code, which may be negotiated via V2X. This cooperative approach may be implemented initially within the fleet of a single manufacturer and ensures a perceptible benefit for the customer of this manufacturer by the increase in quality of the sensor data and by the accompanying improvement in the perception of the environment by the vehicle. Furthermore, vehicles may communicate their future planned routes and velocities in the form of trajectories. Thus, the clear assignment of a V2X transmitter to an object measured using an on-board sensor system then becomes possible, since the trajectory planned and transmitted via V2X may be compared ex-post with the actually driven trajectory of a measured vehicle.).
As per claim 2, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the editing includes validating the motor- vehicle-generated environmental data to ascertain a result of validation, so that the edited motor- vehicle-generated environmental data include the result of validation (See at least paragraph 17).
As per claim 3, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the editing includes checking a plausibility of the motor-vehicle-generated environmental data in order to ascertain a result of checking the plausibility, so that the edited motor-vehicle-generated environmental data include the result of checking the plausibility (See at least abstract and paragraph 16 – 18).
As per claim 4, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the editing includes purging the motor- vehicle-generated environmental data of a faulty data, so that the edited motor-vehicle-generated environmental data is a purged motor-vehicle-generated environmental data (See at least paragraph 60).
As per claim 5, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the editing includes analyzing the infrastructure-generated environmental data to obtain an environmental information about the environment of the motor vehicle, the editing includes enriching the motor-vehicle-generated environmental data with the environmental information, so that the edited motor-vehicle- generated environmental data include the environmental information (See at least paragraph 45 – 46).
As per claim 6, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the infrastructure-generated environmental data include a context data that represent a context of the environment, so that the motor-vehicle- generated environmental data are edited based on the context data (See at least paragraph 61 – 63).
As per claim 7, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the context comprises one or more of the following contexts: a constructional context, a traffic context, an event context, a weather context, and a road-condition context (See at least paragraph 61 – 63).
As per claim 8, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the motor-vehicle-generated environmental data are generated based on a capture of the environment with a plurality of environment sensorics of the motor vehicle, at least one technical parameter of the environment sensorics of the motor vehicle is received, the data set is generated to include the at least one technical parameter of the environment sensorics of the motor vehicle (See at least paragraph 41 – 42).
As per claim 9, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the infrastructure-generated environmental data are generated based on a capture of the environment with a plurality of environment sensorics of the infrastructure, at least one technical parameter of the environment sensorics of the infrastructure is received, the data set is generated to include the at least one technical parameter of the environment sensorics of the infrastructure (See at least paragraph 43 – 45).
As per claim 10, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the motor-vehicle-generated environmental data represent a respective environment of a plurality of motor vehicles from the perspective of the motor vehicles in the course of a respective journey through a respective infrastructure region of the infrastructure, the infrastructure-generated environmental data represent the respective environment of the motor vehicles from the perspective of the infrastructure (See at least paragraph 41 – 47).
As per claim 13, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
wherein the data set is generated in such a manner that it comprises the motor-vehicle-generated environmental data and/or the infrastructure-generated environmental data (See at least paragraph 15, 62 – 63, and figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolgov.
As per claim 11, Dolgov teaches the limitations of:
the respective infrastructure region (See at least abstract), but does not expressly show the claimed data including:
wherein the respective infrastructure region is an element selected from the following group of infrastructure regions: a road interchange, a construction site, a tunnel, a freeway entrance ramp, a freeway exit ramp, a freeway, a stopping- point, an entry, an exit, a constriction, a road constriction, a lane constriction, an underpass, and a place with adjacent public traffic.
The Examiner notes, even though Dolgov doesn't expressly disclose a road interchange, a construction site, a tunnel, a freeway entrance ramp, a freeway exit ramp, a freeway, a stopping- point, an entry, an exit, a constriction, a road constriction, a lane constriction, an underpass, and a place with adjacent public traffic, these differences are only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. receiving an infrastructure-generated environmental data that represent the environment of the motor vehicle from a perspective of an infrastructure would be performed in the same manner regardless of the infrastructure type. Thus, this material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolgov in view of Fairley et al. (Hereinafter Fairley) (US 2022/0001892 A1).
As per claim 12, Dolgov teaches the limitations of: the infrastructure but does not explicitly teach the limitation of:
wherein at least some of the respective infrastructure regions are identical to one another and/or at least some of the infrastructure regions are different from one another.
Fairley teaches the limitation of:
wherein at least some of the respective infrastructure regions are identical to one another and/or at least some of the infrastructure regions are different from one another (See at least figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein at least some of the respective infrastructure regions are identical to one another and/or at least some of the infrastructure regions are different from one another as taught by Fairley in the system of Dolgov, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IG T AN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3662
/IG T AN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662