DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities. Examiner suggests the changes below:
“side seal” be changed to --side sill-- (paragraph 0006);
“side seal” be changed to --side sill-- (paragraph 0051);
“The second intermediate member 22 may be arranged adjacent to the front end portion of the rear floor panel 12” be changed to --The first intermediate member 21 may be arranged adjacent to the front end portion of the rear floor panel 12-- (paragraph 0055).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner suggests adding “of” into the phrase “a first intermediate member the plurality of intermediate members”, so as to read --a first intermediate member of the plurality of intermediate members-- (line 3). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear which rear side member is being referenced by “the rear side member” (line 4) since plural rear side members have been previously claimed. Clarification and rephrasing are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibasawa et al. (US 7004274 B2). Shibasawa et al. discloses a structure for reinforcing stiffness of a rear floor of a vehicle, the structure comprising:
(claim 1) a center floor panel (#1A) arranged under an interior occupant cabin of the vehicle (figures 6, 9);
a rear floor panel (#1), of which a rear-floor-panel front end portion is fastened to a center-floor-panel rear end portion of the center floor panel (#1A; figures 6, 9; column 3, lines 5-7);
a plurality of intermediate members (including reinforcing member #5, floor cross member #10) extending in a width direction of the vehicle, fastened to a rear-floor-panel upper surface of the rear floor panel (#1), and arranged to be spaced apart from each other along a lengthwise direction of the vehicle (figures 1, 2, 6-9);
(claim 2) wherein each of the plurality of intermediate members (#5, 10) includes at least one closed cross-section portion (column 6, lines 62-67; column 7, lines 5-15; figures 1, 6-8);
(claim 4) wherein an intermediate-member upper surface of at least one of the plurality of intermediate members (#5, 10) supports a seat (#6) of the vehicle (column 3, lines 18-51; figures 1, 6-8);
(claim 5) wherein the rear floor panel (#1), the plurality of intermediate members (#5, 10), and the seat (#6) form a cargo space in which items can be stored (small space beneath seat #6 in which items are able to be stored can be seen in figures 1, 6-8);
(claim 6) wherein a seat mount (front seat mount including front mounting holes #7, bolts #13, nuts #15), to which the seat (#6) is fixed, is installed on a first-intermediate-member upper surface (#5a) of a first intermediate member (#5) located most forward in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle among the plurality of intermediate members (#5, 10; figures 6, 7; column 7, lines 16-23, 64-66);
(claim 9) a longitudinal member (including rear frame #2) arranged in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle and configured to have a longitudinal-member front end portion connected to a first intermediate member (#5) the plurality of intermediate members (#5, 10), wherein the first intermediate member is located most forward in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle among the plurality of intermediate members (figures 1-3, 6, 8, 9);
(claim 10) wherein a longitudinal-member rear end portion of the longitudinal member (#2) is connected to a transverse member (floor cross member #10) installed on the rear floor panel (#1), wherein the transverse member is extending in the width direction of the vehicle (figures 1, 2, 7-9);
(claim 11) wherein the longitudinal member (#2) intersects with a second intermediate member (#10) of the plurality of intermediate members (#5, 10), wherein the second intermediate member is located most rearward in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle among the plurality of intermediate members (figures 1, 2, 7-9).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-12, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsukamoto et al. (US 11091205 B2).
In regards to claims 1, 2, and 7-12, Tsukamoto et al. discloses a structure (rear vehicle-body structure #1) for reinforcing stiffness of a rear floor of a vehicle, the structure comprising:
(claim 1) a center floor panel (#10) arranged under an interior occupant cabin of the vehicle (figures 1, 2; column 4, lines 37-42);
a rear floor panel (#30), of which a rear-floor-panel front end portion is fastened to a center-floor-panel rear end portion of the center floor panel (#10; figures 1, 2; column 5, lines 18-28);
a plurality of intermediate members (cross members #60, 70, or alternatively cross members #60, 70, 80) extending in a width direction of the vehicle, fastened to a rear-floor-panel upper surface of the rear floor panel (#30), and arranged to be spaced apart from each other along a lengthwise direction of the vehicle (figures 1-3; column 6, line 52-column 8, line 32);
(claim 2) wherein each of the plurality of intermediate members (#60, 70, or #60, 70, 80) includes at least one closed cross-section portion (column 7, lines 49-54; column 8, lines 9-32; figures 3, 4);
(claim 7) wherein both end portions of the plurality of intermediate members (#60, 70, or #60, 70, 80) are fastened (fastened directly to side sills #20 or fastened to side sills #20 via rear frame #40) to side sill inners (#21) of side sills (#20), respectively (column 5, line 29-column 6, line 25; column 6, line 56-column 7, line 7; column 7, line 60-column 8, line 32; figures 1, 2);
(claim 8) wherein rear side members (such as, parallel part #42) formed in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle are provided on both sides of the rear floor panel (#30; figures 1, 2; column 5, line 56-column 6, line 9);
wherein a second intermediate member (#70) of the plurality of intermediate members (#60, 70, or #60, 70, 80) is located further forward than a rear-side-member front end portion of the rear side member (#42), wherein the second intermediate member is located most rearward in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle among the plurality of intermediate members (figures 1, 2);
(claim 9) a longitudinal member (reinforcing members #90, or alternatively including rear frames #40 and reinforcing members #90) arranged in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle and configured to have a longitudinal-member front end portion (front-end flange portion #96) connected to a first intermediate member (#60) the plurality of intermediate members (#60, 70, or #60, 70, 80), wherein the first intermediate member is located most forward in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle among the plurality of intermediate members (figures 1-5; column 8, line 33-column 13);
(claim 10) wherein a longitudinal-member rear end portion (rear-end flange portion #94, or rear end portion of rear frames #40) of the longitudinal member (#90, or #40, 90) is connected to a transverse member (rear cross member #70, or spare-tire-pan cross member #80) installed on the rear floor panel (#30), wherein the transverse member is extending in the width direction of the vehicle (figures 1-3; column 8, lines 22-32; column 9, lines 17-30);
(claim 11) wherein the longitudinal member (#90, or #40, 90) intersects with a second intermediate member (#70 or #80) of the plurality of intermediate members (#60, 70, or #60, 70, 80), wherein the second intermediate member is located most rearward in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle among the plurality of intermediate members (figures 1-3; column 8, lines 22-32; column 9, lines 17-30);
(claim 12) wherein the longitudinal member (such as, #40, 90) comprises:
a front longitudinal member (reinforcing members #90) configured to connect the plurality of intermediate members (such as, #60, 70) in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle and located on the rear-floor-panel upper surface of the rear floor panel (#30; figures 1-5; column 8, line 33-column 13);
a rear longitudinal member (rear frames #40) configured to connect a transverse member (#80) with the second intermediate member (#70) of the plurality of intermediate members (#60, 70; figures 1, 2; column 7, line 60-column 8, line 32).
In regards to claims 15 and 16, Tsukamoto et al. discloses a structure (rear vehicle-body structure #1) for reinforcing stiffness of a rear floor of a vehicle, the structure comprising:
(claim 15) a center floor panel (#10) arranged under an interior occupant cabin of the vehicle (figures 1, 2; column 4, lines 37-42);
a rear floor panel (#30), of which a front end portion is fastened to a rear end portion of the center floor panel (#10; figures 1, 2; column 5, lines 18-28);
a first intermediate member (cross member #60) disposed in a width direction of the vehicle (figures 1-3; column 6, line 52-column 8, line 32);
a second intermediate member (cross member #70) spaced apart from the first intermediate member (#60) and arranged at a rear side of the first intermediate member relative to a lengthwise direction of the vehicle, wherein the second intermediate member is fastened to an upper surface of the rear floor panel (#30; figures 1-3; column 6, line 52-column 8, line 32);
side sill inners (#21), wherein both end portions of the first and second intermediate members (#60, 70) are fastened (fastened directly to side sills #20 or fastened to side sills #20 via rear frame #40) to the side sill inners, respectively (column 5, line 29-column 6, line 25; column 6, line 56-column 7, line 7; column 7, line 60-column 8, line 32; figures 1, 2);
(claim 16) wherein the second intermediate member (#70) is arranged to be in contact with a vertical surface of a stepped portion formed at a boundary between the interior occupant cabin and a cargo compartment of the rear floor panel (rear cross member #70 acts as a boundary between rear-floor rear part #32 and rear-floor front part #31, and rear-floor rear part #32 is located at a higher level than rear-floor front part #31; column 6, lines 41-51; figures 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibasawa et al. (US 7004274 B2) in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0179190 A1). Shibasawa et al. does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of intermediate members (#5, 10) comprises a stiffener portion having a closed cross-section formed therein and a cover portion covering the stiffener portion. Kim et al. teaches a structure for reinforcing stiffness of a floor of a vehicle, the structure comprising an intermediate member (lower cross member #1000) extending in a width direction of the vehicle (figure 1), the intermediate member comprises a stiffener portion (including core member #100, inner member #400, rib part #500) having a closed cross-section formed therein and a cover portion (including lower layer #200, upper layer #300) covering the stiffener portion (figures 6-9; paragraphs 0045-0076). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Shibasawa et al. such that each intermediate member includes a stiffener portion, as taught by Kim et al., so as to “contribute to increase load dispersion, buckling resistance and rigidity, reduce the number of parts and the number of processes, and reduce weight and costs” (Kim et al.: paragraph 0007).
Claim(s) 3 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukamoto et al. (US 11091205 B2) in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0179190 A1).
In regards to claim 19, Tsukamoto et al. discloses a longitudinal member (including reinforcing members #90) supporting the first intermediate member (#60) and the second intermediate member (#70) in the lengthwise direction of the vehicle (figures 1-5; column 8, line 33-column 13).
In regards to claims 3, 17, and 18, Tsukamoto et al. does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of intermediate members (#60, 70, or #60, 70, 80) comprises a stiffener portion having a closed cross-section formed therein and a cover portion covering the stiffener portion. Kim et al. teaches a structure for reinforcing stiffness of a floor of a vehicle, the structure comprising an intermediate member (lower cross member #1000) extending in a width direction of the vehicle (figure 1), (claims 3, 17) the intermediate member comprises a stiffener portion (including core member #100, inner member #400, rib part #500) having a closed cross-section formed therein and a cover portion (including lower layer #200, upper layer #300) covering the stiffener portion (figures 6-9; paragraphs 0045-0076), (claim 18) wherein the stiffener portion is fastened (via lower layer #200) to an upper surface of a floor panel (paragraphs 0045, 0066; claim 1), such that stiffness in the width direction of the vehicle is enhanced at a portion to which the intermediate member is fastened (strength and reinforcement provided by layered cross members discussed throughout specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Tsukamoto et al. such that each intermediate member includes a stiffener portion, as taught by Kim et al., so as to “contribute to increase load dispersion, buckling resistance and rigidity, reduce the number of parts and the number of processes, and reduce weight and costs” (Kim et al.: paragraph 0007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the allowable subject matter of claims 13 and 20 is wherein the longitudinal member includes an upper longitudinal member arranged on the upper surface of the rear floor panel and a lower longitudinal member arranged on a lower surface of the rear floor panel, in combination with other features of respective claims 13 and 20, and any preceding claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses vehicle floor structure. Of particular note:
Nakayama (US 2024/0239244 A1) discloses a structure for reinforcing stiffness of a rear floor of a vehicle, the structure comprising a center floor panel, a rear floor panel, a plurality of intermediate cross-members, seat mounts, and longitudinal members connecting intermediate cross-members;
Fukui (US 10603999 B2) and Choi et al. (US 10710640 B2) disclose a vehicle floor structure including an intermediate cross-members with an internal stiffener;
Vincenti (US 7118168 B2), Ishigame et al. (US 8292356 B2), Takenaka (JP 2015123758 A), and Saeki (US 11420509 B2) disclose a structure for reinforcing stiffness of a rear floor of a vehicle, the structure comprising a center floor panel, a rear floor panel, and a plurality of intermediate cross-members;
Iwasa et al. (US 8561743 B2), Matsuzawa et al. (US 8794365 B2), Naruke (JP 2014151891 A), Katsuno et al. (US 10418675 B2), and Jeon et al. (US 11780314 B2) disclose storage beneath a rear seat.
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614