DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a Final action on the merits in response to the application filed on 04/30/2026.
Claims 1, 12, 18 and 19 have been amended. Claim 16 has been cancelled. Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment has been considered.
Applicant’s amendment was sufficient to overcome the subject matter 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection to directed Claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks have been considered.
Applicant argues, “ …cannot practically be performed in the human mind given the volume of data and complexity of pattern detection. Computing regional sales density from location-attributed inventory records is precisely this kind of pattern detection operation.” (pg. 9)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C), “Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer.” Here, generic computer components (e.g. a processor and memory) are performing generic computer functions such as creating an inventory record for boat inventory, updating the inventory records as new data is received, generating bar charts from inventory records, aggregating location data to computer regional sales activity, determining inventory metrics, etc., which are reflective of observation and evaluation (collecting and analyzing data).
Applicant argues, “Nor is this a method of organizing human activity. Aggregating location data to compute geographic density is a computational operation performed by a processor. It does not organize relationships between people. It transforms raw transaction data into a computed spatial model.” (pgs. 9-10)
Examine respectfully disagrees. The limitations encompass Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity related to sales activities and economic principles. For instance steps such as managing inventory including creating inventory records, updating the inventory records, generating bar charts, aggregating location data to computer regional sales activity, determining inventory metrics, etc. involve sales activities and economic principles. Accordingly the claims recite Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities.
Further, the Specification indicates the system is utilized by brokers and dealers to help manage inventory, track sales opportunities and provide various metrics in a CRM environment (Spec ¶0004), which involve sales activities and behaviors. Additionally, steps such as aggregating location data to compute geographic density is considered sales activity or behavior
Applicant argues, “Even assuming arguendo that the claims recite a judicial exception, the claims integrate any such exception into a practical application.” (pg. 10)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the additional elements of a computer system, a non-transitory CRM, a memory, a processor and a dashboard interface. These are generic computer components recited at a high level generality as performing generic computer functions (Spec ¶0106).
For instance, Claim 1, the steps of creating an inventory record for each boat, including classification data comprising categories of wholesale, leads, etc.; automatically updating the inventory records as new data is received to thereby manage the used boat inventory and generating bar charts from the inventory records comprising metrics for each individual broker over a period of time involve data gathering activity and analyzing data to produce a result (bar charts). The steps of aggregating location data associated with the inventory records to compute a regional sales activity density and determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold involves analyzing data. The steps of displaying the generated bar charts (display representing known data), displaying a heat map visualization of regional sales activity (display representing result of analysis) and displaying a plurality of navigation tabs involves basic display functionality. The step of in response to the determining modifying the dashboard interface to display an alert is analyzing data and producing the result of the alert.
Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components (e.g. a processor, CRM). The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (e.g. a processor, CRM). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites:
creating an inventory record for each boat in inventory, each inventory record including classification data comprising categories of wholesale, leads, bids, most recent incoming boats, and most recent outgoing boats, and financial data comprising an amount of cash invested, floorplan financing details, and investor contributions;
automatically updating the inventory records as new data is received to thereby manage the used boat inventory;
generating bar charts from the inventory records comprising metrics for each individual broker over a period of time;
aggregating location data associated with the inventory records to compute a regional sales activity density for each of a plurality of geographic regions;
determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold;
displaying, [on a dashboard interface], the generated bar charts for each individual broker over the period of time;
displaying, [on the dashboard interface], a heat map visualization of the computed regional sales activity density;
displaying, [on the dashboard interface], a plurality of navigation tabs each leading to a separate page, the navigation tabs including at least a contacts tab, a sales tab, an inventory tab, an alerts tab, and a reports tab; and
in response to the determining, modifying [the dashboard interface] to display an alert identifying the geographic region and the inventory metric that reached the predefined threshold.
The limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers Methods of Organizing Human Activities related to sales activities and behaviors, but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. a processor and memory). For example, managing inventory including creating inventory records, generating bar charts and reports and updating inventory records involve sales activities. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Additionally, the claim encompass Mental Processes related to observation and evaluation of data.
Claim 12 recites:
receiving, [via the GUI], a user selection to display inventory metrics based on specific criteria, wherein the specific criteria include a number of purchased boats, a number of sold boats, an amount of cash invested in boats, an amount of money in floorplans, and an amount of money from investors;
determining, [by a processor], the values of each metric over a predetermined period of time;
generating, [by the processor], bar charts from the determined values comprising metrics for each individual broker over the predetermined period of time;
aggregating, [by the processor], location data associated with inventory records to compute a regional sales activity density for each of a plurality of geographic regions;
receiving user input to navigate through categories including wholesale, leads, bids, most recent incoming boats, and most recent outgoing boats;
determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold;
displaying, [on a dashboard interface of the GUI], the generated bar charts for each individual broker over the predetermined period of time;
updating [the dashboard interface] to display the selected category's information in the bar charts;
displaying, [on the dashboard interface], a heat map visualization of the computed regional sales activity density; and in response to the determining, modifying the dashboard interface to display an alert identifying the geographic region and the inventory metric that reached the predefined threshold.
Claim 18:
receiving and storing data related to boat transactions, including data for purchased boats, sold boats, cash in boats, floorplan financing, and investor funds;
aggregating location data associated with the stored data to compute a regional sales activity density for each of a plurality of geographic regions;
determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold;
displaying, [on a dashboard interface], the generated bar charts and visual summaries;
displaying, [on the dashboard interface], a heat map visualization of the computed regional sales activity density;
providing, [on the dashboard interface], multiple tabs, each tab configured to display relevant data and metrics for contacts, sales, inventory, alerts, reports, users, tasks, marketing, settings, requests, training, and logs;
in response to the determining, modifying [the dashboard interface] to display an alert identifying the geographic region and the inventory metric that reached the predefined threshold; and
enabling automated updates and dynamic visualizations on the dashboard interface for the tracked metrics.
The limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers Methods of Organizing Human Activities related to sales activities and behaviors, but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. a CRM). For example, managing inventory including creating inventory records, updating the inventory records, generating bar charts, determining inventory metrics, etc. involve sales activities and economic principles. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Additionally, the claim encompass Mental Processes related to observation and evaluation of data.
Claim 19 recites:
track data related to the purchase and sale of boats, cash in boats, money in floorplans, and investor funds;
aggregate location data associated with the tracked data to compute a regional sales activity density for each of a plurality of geographic regions;
determine that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold;
generate [a dashboard interface] comprising visual metrics dynamic bar charts, and a heat map visualization of the computed regional sales activity density;
manage separate data categories through multiple interface tabs, including contacts, sales, inventory, alerts, and reports;
in response to the determination that the inventory metric associated with the geographic region has reached the predefined threshold, modify the dashboard interface to display an alert identifying the geographic region and the inventory metric; and
display [the dashboard interface] allowing brokers to input and review boat inventory data, with automated updates to the dashboard interface for real-time tracking, [the dashboard interface] displaying the bar charts, the heat map visualization, and the navigation tabs.
The limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers Methods of Organizing Human Activities related to sales activities and behaviors, but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. a crm and processor). For example, managing inventory including receiving data, providing user data and updating data involve sales activities. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Additionally, the claim encompass Mental Processes related to observation and evaluation of data.
The dependent claims encompass the same abstract ideas. For instance, Claim 2 is directed to generating predictive analytics; Claim 3 is directed to providing custom reports; Claims 4 and 5 are directed to tabs; Claim 6 is directed to synchronizing inventory data (analyzing); Claim 7 is directed to customizing a dashboard (data input); Claim 8 is directed to user preferences; Claim 9 is directed to Contacts tab; Claims 10-11 are directed to various tabs; Claim 13 is directed to exporting metrics (data gathering); Claim 14 is directed to determining metric values (analyzing); Claim 15 is directed to interactive bar charts; and Claim 17 is directed to search functions. Thus, the dependent claims further limit the abstract concepts found in the independent claims.
The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the additional elements of a memory, a processor and a dashboard interface. Claim 12 recites the additional elements of a Gui of a computer system. Claim 18 recites the additional elements of a non-transitory computer-readable medium, a processor and a dashboard interface. Claim 19 recites the additional elements of a user interface, a non-transitory computer readable medium and a processor. These are generic computer components recited at a high level generality as performing generic computer functions (Spec ¶0106).
Regarding Claim 1, the steps of creating an inventory record for each boat, including classification data comprising categories of wholesale, leads, etc.; automatically updating the inventory records as new data is received to thereby manage the used boat inventory and generating bar charts from the inventory records comprising metrics for each individual broker over a period of time involve data gathering activity and analyzing data to produce a result (bar charts). The steps of aggregating location data associated with the inventory records to compute a regional sales activity density and determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold involves analyzing data. The steps of displaying the generated bar charts (display representing known data), displaying a heat map visualization of regional sales activity (display representing result of analysis) and displaying a plurality of navigation tabs involves basic display functionality. The step of in response to the determining modifying the dashboard interface to display an alert is analyzing data and producing the result of the alert.
Regarding Claim 12, the steps of receiving a user selection to display inventory metrics based on specific criteria; receiving user input to navigate through the categories and updating the Gui to display the selected category’s information in the bary chart involve data gathering functionality. The steps of determining the values of each metric over a period of time; generating from determined values comprising metrics; aggregating location data associated with inventory records to computer regional sales activity density; determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold and in response to the determining modifying the dashboard interface involves analyzing and producing a result.
Regarding Claim 18, the steps of receiving and storing data related to boat transactions is data gathering activity. The steps of generating bar charts and visual summaries from the stored data; aggregating location data associated with the stored data to compute a regional sales activity density; determining that the inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold involve analyzing data. The steps of displaying the generated bar charts; displaying a heat map visualization of regional sales activity density; providing multiple tabs on an interface is displaying functionality. The steps of in response to the determining modifying the dashboard interface involves analyzing data and producing a result.
Regarding Claim 19, the steps of tracking data related to purchase and sale of boats is data gathering activity. Thes steps of aggregating location data associated with tracked data to compute a regional sales activity density; determining inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold; managing separate data categories through tabs is analyzing data and producing a result of analysis. The step of displaying generated bar charts; displaying a heat map visualization of regional sales activity density and displaying an interface allowing brokers to input and review boat inventory with automatic updates involves data gathering activity.
Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components (e.g. a processor, crm). The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (e.g. a processor, crm). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As stated above, the additional elements of a processor, a memory, a crm, etc. are considered generic computer components performing generic computer functions that amount to no more than instructions to implement the judicial exception. Mere, instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
The dependent claims when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be ineligible for the same reason above and the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract. The additional limitations of the dependent claims when considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination and individually adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use generic computer components, to "apply" the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, Claims 1-19 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 12, 14,15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danaei et al. (US 10621215) further in view of Green et al. (US 2015/0032502) further in view of Relangi et al. (US 10635751).
Claim 1:
Danaei discloses:
A system for managing used boat inventory records by tracking and displaying inventory metrics, the system comprising: a memory and processor configured to perform the steps of: (see at least column 9, lines 19-23, dealership may offer used products; see also lines 30-33, inventory includes boats; lines 59-64, may process inventory information to provide various metrics, analytics and reports)
creating an inventory record for each boat in inventory, each inventory record including classification data comprising categories of wholesale, leads, bids, most recent incoming boats, and most recent outgoing boats, and financial data comprising an amount of cash invested, floorplan financing details, and investor contributions ; (see at least column 9, lines 10-12, inventory management system stores product information; see also column 31, lines 55 email address of leads; see also column 15, lines 3-10, wholesale units; see also column 14, lines 42-47, inventory turnover; column 14, lines 55-62, loan payments)
automatically updating the inventory records and the dashboard interface as new data is received to thereby the used boat inventory; and (see at least column 18, lines 44-51, inventory can be updated in real time and users can view on website)
aggregating location data associated with the inventory records to compute a regional sales activity density for each of a plurality of geographic regions;
determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold;
displaying, on the dashboard interface, a heat map visualization of the computed regional sales activity density;
displaying, on the dashboard interface, a plurality of navigation tabs each leading to a separate page, the navigation tabs including at least a contacts tab, a sales tab, an inventory tab, an alerts tab, and a reports tab; and (see at least Figures, 11A-11C and associated text; see also column 30, lines 20-35, interactive customer website with various tabs)
While Danaei discloses the above limitations, Danaei does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Green does disclose:
aggregating location data associated with the inventory records to compute a regional sales activity density for each of a plurality of geographic regions; (see at least ¶0044, aggregating vendor/retailer; see also ¶0116, report focused by vendor and aggregate retailer data also provides messages and alerts in response to triggers; see also ¶0164, aggregating data by regions)
determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold; (see at least ¶0015, receiving by an alert generator an alert threshold for an item; see also ¶0175)
displaying, on the dashboard interface, a heat map visualization of the computed regional sales activity density; (see also ¶0159-¶0161, report generator generates map based reports including territorial heat maps)
displaying, on the dashboard interface, a plurality of navigation tabs each leading to a separate page, the navigation tabs including at least a contacts tab, a sales tab, an inventory tab, an alerts tab, and a reports tab; and (see at least Figures 8-11 and associated text)
in response to the determining, modifying the dashboard interface to display an alert identifying the geographic region and the inventory metric that reached the predefined threshold. (see at least figure 6 and associated text see also ¶0175)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei with the report generator and alert generator of Green to facilitate sales and inventory management.
While Danaei and Green disclose the above limitations, neither explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Relangi does disclose:
generating bar charts and reports based on the inventory records, displaying metrics for each individual broker over a period of time on a dashboard interface; (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information; see also Figure 4B)
displaying, on a dashboard interface, the generated bar charts for each individual broker over the period of time; (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information; see also Figure 4B)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei and the report generator and alert generator of Green with the interactive charts, tables and graphs of Relangi and to provide real-time easily viewable representation of data to assist in managing inventory.
Claim 3:
While Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1, Danaei does not explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Relangi does disclose:
wherein a Reports tab provides customizable reporting tools allowing users to create and save custom reports based on selected inventory metrics and time periods. (see at least column 23, lines 51-57, user customizes predetermined drill down commands to show the type of data they desire to see on display, where the data present is a report)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei and the report generator and alert generator of Green with the interactive charts, tables and graphs of Relangi to provide real-time easily viewable representation of data to assist in managing inventory.
Claim 4:
Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1. Danaei further discloses:
wherein a Users tab includes user management functionality allowing administrators to assign roles and permissions to different users of the system. (see at least column 15, lines 49-52, user roles and permission levels; see also column 13, lines 17-24, administrator interface)
Claim 5:
Danaei and Relangi disclose claim 1. Danaei further discloses:
wherein a Marketing tab allows users to create and manage marketing campaigns targeting potential buyers based on inventory data. (see at least column 14, lines 63-65-column 15, lines 1-16, dealer can adjust the retail price to apply a discount)
Claim 6:
Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1. Danaei further discloses:
further comprising an integration module configured to synchronize inventory data with external platforms such as online marketplaces or dealer networks. (see at least column 12, lines 13-25, managing one or more data feeds from manufacture, dealership and customer; see also lines 26-34)
Claim 7:
Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1. Danaei further discloses:
wherein the system is further configured to allow users to customize the dashboard interface by selecting which inventory metrics and categories are displayed. (see at least column 5, lines 60-65, customizable user interface )
Claim 8:
Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1. Danaei further discloses:
wherein the system stores user preferences for the customized dashboard interface and automatically applies them upon user login. (see at least column 5, lines 60-65, customizable user interface; see also column 6, lines 65-67 )
Claim 9:
While Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1, and Danaei further discloses wherein a Contacts tab provides access to a contact management module(see at least column 15, lines 55-57, contact information), Danaei nor Green explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Relangi does disclose
[wherein a Contacts tab provides access to a contact management module] allowing users to add, edit, and track interactions with clients, brokers, and investors. (see at least column 13, lines 8-11, storing records of every interaction with customers)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system including a contact management module of Danaei and the report generator and alert generator of Green with the storing of interactions with customers of Relangi since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 11:
Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1. Danaei further discloses:
wherein an Alerts tab provides automated notifications to users regarding significant events, including new leads, bids, or changes in inventory status. (see at least column 9, lines 52-55, notify a dealer of a private party product for sale)
Claim 12:
Danaei discloses:
A method of displaying used boat inventory metrics on a graphical user interface (GUI) of a computer system, the method comprising: (see at least column 9, lines 59-64, may process inventory information to provide various metrics, analytics and reports; see also Figure 14)
receiving, via the GUI, a user selection to display inventory metrics based on specific criteria, wherein the specific criteria include a number of purchased boats, a number of sold boats, an amount of cash invested in boats, an amount of money in floorplans, and an amount of money from investors; (see at least column 9, lines 59-64, may process inventory information to provide various metrics, analytics and report; see also Figure 14 and assorted text; see also column 13, lines 49-55; see also column 31, lines 55 email address of leads; see also column 15, lines 3-10, wholesale units; see also column 14, lines 42-47, inventory turnover; column 14, lines 55-62, loan payments)
determining, by a processor, the values of each metric over a predetermined period of time; (see at least column 9, lines 59-64, may process inventory information to provide various metrics, analytics and report; see also Figure 14 and assorted text; see also column 13, lines 49-55)
receiving user input to navigate through categories including wholesale , leads, bids, most recent incoming boats and most recite outgoing boats (see also column 13, lines 49-55; see also column 31, lines 55 email address of leads; see also column 15, lines 3-10, wholesale units; see also column 14, lines 42-47, inventory turnover; column 14, lines 55-62, loan payments)
While Danaei discloses the above limitations, Danaei does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Green does disclose:
aggregating, by the processor, location data associated with inventory records to compute a regional sales activity density for each of a plurality of geographic regions; (see at least ¶0044, aggregating vendor/retailer; see also ¶0116, report focused by vendor and aggregate retailer data also provides messages and alerts in response to triggers; see also ¶0164, aggregating data by regions)
determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold; (see at least ¶0015, receiving by an alert generator an alert threshold for an item; see also ¶0175)
displaying, on the dashboard interface, a heat map visualization of the computed regional sales activity density; and (see also ¶0159-¶0161, report generator generates map based reports including territorial heat maps)
in response to the determining, modifying the dashboard interface to display an alert identifying the geographic region and the inventory metric that reached the predefined threshold. (see at least figure 6 and associated text see also ¶0175)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei with the report generator and alert generator of Green to facilitate sales and inventory management.
While Danaei and Green disclose the above limitations, neither explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Relangi does disclose:
generating, by the processor, bar charts from the determined values comprising metrics for each individual broker over the predetermined period of time; (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information)
receiving user input to navigate through categories…; (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information)
displaying on a dashboard interface of the GUI, the generated bar charts for each individual broker over a period of time; (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information; see also Figure 4B)
updating the dashboard interface of the GUI, the display of the selected category's information in the bar charts. (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei and the report generator and alert generator of Green with the interactive charts, tables and graphs of Relangi to provide real-time easily viewable representation of data to assist in managing inventory.
Claim 14:
Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 12. Danaei further discloses:
wherein determining the values of each metric further comprises aggregating data from multiple data sources including internal databases and external market data feeds. (see at least column 12, lines 13-25, managing one or more data feeds from manufacture, dealership and customer; see also lines 26-34)
Claim 15:
While Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1, neither Danaei nor Green explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Relangi does disclose:
further comprising providing interactive bar charts that allow the user to select a segment of the bar chart to view detailed information about that metric. (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei and the report generator and alert generator of Green with the interactive charts, tables and graphs of Relangi to provide real-time easily viewable representation of data to assist in managing inventory.
Claim 17:
Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1. Danaei further discloses:
wherein the GUI includes a search function allowing the user to search for specific boats, brokers, or transactions based on user-defined criteria. (see at least Abstract, search database; see also column 1, lines 43-47, search query)
Claim 18:
Danaei discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for managing used boat inventory, the instructions, when executed by a processor, are configured for: receiving and storing data related to boat transactions, including data for purchased boats, sold boats, cash in boats, floorplan financing, and investor funds; (see at least column 14, lines 28-31, sales report; see also column 2, lines 12-15, crm)
[a generating bar charts and visual summaries for:] wholesale, leads, bids, most recent incoming boats, and most recent outgoing boats, for each broker over a specified period; (see at least column 9, lines 30-33, inventory includes boats; lines 59-64, may process inventory information to provide various metrics, analytics and reports; see also column 18, lines 25-30, price and cost information; see also column 15, lines 5-15 and 51-54, price and wholesale information; see also column 15, lines 3-10, wholesale units; see also column 14, lines 42-47, inventory turnover; column 14, lines 55-62, loan payments)
providing on the dashboard interface, multiple tabs, each tab configured to display relevant data and metrics for contacts, sales, inventory, alerts, reports, users, tasks, marketing, settings, requests, training, and logs; and (see at least Figures, 11A-11C and associated text; see also column 30, lines 20-35, interactive customer website with various tabs)
enabling updates and dynamic visualizations on the dashboard interface for the tracked metrics. see at least column 18, lines 44-51, inventory can be updated in real time and users can view on website)
While Danaei discloses the above limitations, Danaei does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Green does disclose:
aggregating location data associated with stored data to compute a regional sales activity density for each of a plurality of geographic regions; (see at least ¶0044, aggregating vendor/retailer; see also ¶0116, report focused by vendor and aggregate retailer data also provides messages and alerts in response to triggers; see also ¶0164, aggregating data by regions)
determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold; (see at least ¶0015, receiving by an alert generator an alert threshold for an item; see also ¶0175)
displaying, on the dashboard interface, a heat map visualization of the computed regional sales activity density; (see also ¶0159-¶0161, report generator generates map based reports including territorial heat maps)
in response to the determining, modifying the dashboard interface to display an alert identifying the geographic region and the inventory metric that reached the predefined threshold (see at least figure 6 and associated text see also ¶0175)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei with the report generator and alert generator of Green to facilitate sales and inventory management.
While Danaei and Green disclose the above limitations, neither explicitly disclose the following limitations; however Relangi does disclose:
generating bar charts and visual summaries from the stored data for [wholesale, leads, bids, most recent incoming boats, and most recent outgoing boats,] for each broker over a specified period; (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information)
displaying on a dashboard interface, the generated bar charts and visual summaries; (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei and the report generator and alert generator of Green with the interactive charts, tables and graphs of Relangi and to provide real-time easily viewable representation of data to assist in managing inventory.
Claim 19:
Danaei discloses:
A system for tracking and managing boat inventory through a user interface, comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions executable by a processor, wherein the instructions are configured to: track data related to the purchase and sale of boats, cash in boats, money in floorplans, and investor funds; (see at least column 14, lines 28-31, sales report; see also column 2, lines 12-15, crm, an apparatus)
update and display visual summaries of wholesale, leads, bids, incoming and outgoing boats for each broker; (see at least column 9, lines 30-33, inventory includes boats; lines 59-64, may process inventory information to provide various metrics, analytics and reports; see also column 18, lines 25-30, price and cost information; see also column 15, lines 5-15 and 51-54, price and wholesale information)
a processor programmed to: execute instructions for generating a dashboard view comprising visual metrics [and dynamic bar charts]; (see at least column 13, lines 49-67, displaying various metrics)
manage separate data categories through multiple interface tabs, including contacts, sales, inventory, alerts, and reports; and (see at least Figures, 11A-11C and associated text; see also column 30, lines 20-35, interactive customer website with various tabs)
display the dashboard interface allowing brokers to input and review boat inventory data, with automated updates to the dashboard interface for real-time tracking, the dashboard interface displaying the bar charts, [the heat map] visualization and the navigation tabs. (see at least column 18, lines 44-51, inventory can be updated in real time and users can view on website)
While Danaei discloses the above limitations, Danaei does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Green does disclose:
aggregating location data associated with the inventory records to compute a regional sales activity density for each of a plurality of geographic regions; (see at least ¶0044, aggregating vendor/retailer; see also ¶0116, report focused by vendor and aggregate retailer data also provides messages and alerts in response to triggers; see also ¶0164, aggregating data by regions)
determining that an inventory metric associated with a geographic region has reached a predefined threshold; (see at least ¶0015, receiving by an alert generator an alert threshold for an item; see also ¶0175)
generate a dashboard interface comprising visual metrics, dynamic bar charts, and a heat map visualization of the computed regional sales activity density; (see also ¶0159-¶0161, report generator generates map based reports including territorial heat maps)
in response to the determining, modifying the dashboard interface to display an alert identifying the geographic region and the inventory metric that reached the predefined threshold. (see at least figure 6 and associated text see also ¶0175)
display the dashboard interface allowing brokers to input and review boat inventory data, with automated updates of the dashboard interface for real-time tracking, the dashboard interface displaying the bar charts, the heat map visualization, [and the navigation tabs] (see also ¶0159-¶0161, report generator generates map based reports including territorial heat maps; see Figure 8 and associated text)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei with the report generator and alert generator of Green to facilitate sales and inventory management.
While Danaei and Green disclose the above limitations, neither explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Relangi does disclose:
a processor programmed to: execute instructions for generating a dashboard view comprising visual metrics and dynamic bar charts; (see at least column 14, lines 47-67- column 15, lines 1-20, interactive selectable charts that are modifiable and use can select on bar to see more information)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei and the report generator and alert generator of Green with the interactive charts, tables and graphs of Relangi to provide real-time easily viewable representation of data to assist in managing inventory.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danaei et al. (US 10621215) further in view of Green (US 2015/0032502) further in view of Relangi et al. (US 10635751) further in view of Colliat et al. (US 2011/0196717).
Claim 2:
While Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1, neither explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Colliat does disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to generate predictive analytics based on historical inventory data to forecast future sales and inventory needs. (see at least ¶0067, past sales performance and forecasted sales performance data)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei, the report generator and alert generator of Green and the interactive charts, tables and graphs of Relangi with the determining of forecasted sales data of Colliat which can assist the user in identifying any changes to sales territory data (see ¶0067).
Further, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 10:
While Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 1, neither explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Colliat does disclose:
wherein a Sales tab provides real-time tracking of sales opportunities, including status updates, projected closing dates, and sales pipeline analytics. (see at least ¶0023, sales accounts, leads, opportunities and orders; ¶0030, opportunities expected to close; see also ¶0033, sales pipeline)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei, the report generator and alert generator of Green and the interactive charts, tables and graphs of Relangi with the determining sales data of Colliat to assist users in tracking sales pipeline activity.
Further, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danaei et al. (US 10621215) further in view of Green (US 2015/0032502) further in view of Relangi et al. (US 10635751) further in view of Srinivasan et al. (US 2009/0157522).
Claim 13:
While Danaei, Green and Relangi disclose claim 12, neither explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Srinivasan does disclose:
further comprising allowing the user to export the displayed inventory metrics and bar charts to a report in a selectable format including PDF, Excel, or CSV. (see at least ¶0043, data may be exported using csv file)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the inventory management system of Danaei, the report generator and alert generator of Green and the interactive charts, tables and graphs of Relangi with the data export functionality of Srinivasan since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered relevant but not applied:
Hill (US 2011/0295724) discloses monitoring and tracking collateral and inventory including a receiving location information and collateral or inventory identification information from one or more location devices attached to one or more pieces of collateral or inventory, storing the received location and collateral or inventory identification information and presenting on a dashboard information regarding the location of the one or more pieces of collateral or inventory.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Renae Feacher whose telephone number is 571-270-5485. The Examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Beth Boswell can be reached at 571-272-6737.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to 571-273-8300.
Hand delivered responses should be brought to the United States Patent and Trademark Office Customer Service Window:
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/Renae Feacher/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625