DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US Pub: 2010/0083372).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing computer-readable instructions for a control device comprising a processor, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the control device to [p0076]: acquire first setup information related to a progress of an initial setup of a specific image processing device [p0044, p0048]; and in a case where the acquired first setup information includes first information, display a first password setting screen on a display [p0049], the first password setting screen does not include a first password input area for inputting an initial password but includes a second password input area for inputting an update password [p0053], the initial password being necessary to access the specific image processing device and being prestored in the specific image processing device [p0006, p0053], and the update password being a password to replace the initial password necessary to access the specific image processing device [p0053]. Shin teaches a flag indicating an initial configuration stat and cleared upon completion of security setting, which would have been obvious to allow password setting display initially and avoiding redisplay after setup.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1.
Claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1.
4. Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US Pub: 2010/0083372) and in further view of Bailey et al (US Patent: 6350010).
Regarding claim 2, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporate herein. Shin does not disclose initial setup including operation of a consumable. In the same field of endeavor, Bailey et al teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the initial setup includes an attachment operation of a consumable article to the specific image processing device [col 1: lines 16-19]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of the two to include operation of a consumable at initial setup to enable printer to perform its intended function.
Regarding claim 17, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 16 has been incorporated herein. Claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 2.
5. Claims 3, 5, 14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US Pub: 2010/0083372) and in further view of Chiba (US Pub: 2021/0274061) (applicant supplied reference).
Regarding claim 3, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporate herein. Shin does not specify a separate terminal. In the same field of endeavor, Chiba teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the control device is a controller of a terminal device configured to communicate with the specific image processing device, and the display is a display of the terminal device [p0044, p0048]. The combined teaching would have made the claimed invention obvious to implement Shin’s password setting on a client terminal to allow remote configuration.
Regarding claim 5, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 3 has been incorporated herein. Shin further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 3, wherein the first information indicates that the initial setup is not started yet [p0044, p0048. p0049 (display password setting when OutofBox flag is set.)].
Regarding claim 14, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 3 has been incorporated herein. Shin in view of Chiba further teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 3, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the control device to: in case where an operation of inputting the update password in the second password input area is received, send the update password to the specific image processing device; in response to the update password being sent to the specific image processing device, receive, from the specific image processing device, success information indicating that the update password has been stored in the specific image processing device; and in a case where the success information is received from the specific image processing device, display, on the display, an initial setup screen related to the initial setup [Shin: p0053, p0055-p0058, p0066, p0067; Chib: p0052-p0055, p0063].
Regarding claim 18, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 16 has been incorporated herein. Claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 18 has been incorporated herein. Claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 5.
6. Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US Pub: 2010/0083372) and Chiba (US Pub: 2021/0274061) (applicant supplied reference); and in further view of Maekawa (US Pub: 2011/0075203).
Regarding claim 4, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 3 has been incorporated herein. Shin in view of Chiba does not disclose displaying a device selection screen including ID. In the same field of endeavor, Maekawa teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 3, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the control device to: display, on the display, a device selection screen including one or more device identification information for identifying one or more image processing devices including the specific image processing device [p0020], wherein in a case where an operation for selecting specific device identification information for identifying the specific image processing device from among the one or more device identification information on the device selection screen is received, the first setup information is acquired [p0020, p0023, p0024, claim 6]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Maekawa’s printer selection into terminal configuration to enable specific printer configuration.
Regarding claim 19, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 18 has been incorporated herein. Claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 6-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682