DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 and 05/20/2025 are in accordance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the plurality of detecting radiating unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the plurality of detecting radiating unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purpose of examination the examiner interpret the claims as best understood.
Claim 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “each of the loop antennas is surrounded by a corresponding ground through hole”, however this limitation is unclear as how each of the loop antennas is surrounded by a single grounding through hole.
As shown in the drawing, figures 4, 18 and 19, element 111, and in the specifications, paragraph 0043, each loop antenna is surrounded by a plurality of grounding through holes.
Claim 17 recites “each of the loop antennas is surrounded by a corresponding ground through hole”, however this limitation is unclear as how each of the loop antennas is surrounded by a single grounding through hole.
As shown in the drawing, figures 4, 18 and 19, element 111, and in the specifications, paragraph 0043, each loop antenna is surrounded by a plurality of grounding through holes.
For purpose of examination the examiner interprets this limitation to mean each of the loop antennas is surrounded by a plurality of corresponding ground through holes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200280129 by Zachary T. Miers et al. (hereinafter Miers) in view of CN 112467396 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by Ling-long Xue et al. (hereinafter Xue).
Regarding claim 1, Miers teaches: An antenna testing device (¶ 0030, fig. 4-9 [404]) configured to test an antenna array (¶ 0023, fig. 1-5 [104]), the antenna testing device comprising:
a first dielectric substrate (fig. 5, [112]), a surface of the first dielectric substrate comprising a first area (fig. 6 [416]) and a second area (fig. 6, [408]), the second area surrounding the first area (fig. 6);
a plurality of radiating units (fig. 5 [108]) arranged in an array in a predetermined arrangement (¶ 0023, fig. 1-3, 5 [114]) in the first area and the second area (fig. 4-9), the predetermined arrangement of the plurality of radiating units corresponding to an arrangement of a plurality of antenna radiating units of the antenna array (¶ 0023, fig. 1).
Miers does not explicitly teach a plurality of second dielectric substrates stacked on another surface of the first dielectric substrate away from the plurality of the radiating units; and
a plurality of power dividers arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates, the plurality of power dividers connected to the plurality of radiating units arranged in the first area.
However, Xue teaches teach a plurality of second dielectric substrates stacked on another surface of the first dielectric substrate away from the plurality of the radiating units (¶ 0039, fig. 2a-2c [3]); and
a plurality of power dividers (several power dividers ¶ 0039, fig. 1 [4]) arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates (¶ 0039, fig. 1-2a [3-4]), the plurality of power dividers connected to the plurality of radiating units arranged in the first area (¶ 0038, 0052, fig. 1-2a [1-5, 21-22]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a plurality of second dielectric substrates stacked on another surface of the first dielectric substrate away from the plurality of the radiating units; and, a plurality of power dividers arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates, the plurality of power dividers connected to the plurality of radiating units arranged in the first area as taught by Xue in the antenna testing device of Miers for the benefit of providing the distribution of power and improving radiation performance.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, teaches wherein the plurality of power dividers are connected in sequence to form a cascade circuit structure to feed signals with a same energy to each of the plurality of detecting radiating unit arranged in the first area (Xue: The plurality of power dividers are cascaded together to distribute signals to the antenna array ¶ 0038, 0052, Abstract, fig. 1-2a [1-5, 21-22]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the plurality of power dividers are connected in sequence to form a cascade circuit structure to feed signals with a same energy to each of the plurality of detecting radiating unit arranged in the first area as taught by Xue in the antenna testing device of Miers for the benefit of providing the distribution of power (Xue, ¶ 0057-0058).
Regarding claim 10, Miers teaches: An antenna testing system (¶ 0037, fig. 10 [1004]) configured to test an antenna array (¶ 0023, fig. 1-5 [104]), the antenna testing system comprising an antenna testing device (¶ 0030, fig. 4-9 [404]), the antenna testing device comprising:
a first dielectric substrate (fig. 5, [112]), a surface of the first dielectric substrate comprising a first area (fig. 6 [416]) and a second area (fig. 6, [408]), the second area surrounding the first area (fig. 6);
a plurality of radiating units (fig. 5 [108]) arranged in an array in a predetermined arrangement (¶ 0023, fig. 1-3, 5 [114]) in the first area and the second area (fig. 4-9), the predetermined arrangement of the plurality of radiating units corresponding to an arrangement of a plurality of antenna radiating units of the antenna array (¶ 0023, fig. 1).
Miers does not explicitly teach a plurality of second dielectric substrates stacked on another surface of the first dielectric substrate away from the plurality of the radiating units; and
a plurality of power dividers arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates, the plurality of power dividers connected to the plurality of radiating units arranged in the first area.
However, Xue teaches teach a plurality of second dielectric substrates stacked on another surface of the first dielectric substrate away from the plurality of the radiating units (¶ 0039, fig. 2a-2c [3]); and
a plurality of power dividers (several power dividers ¶ 0039, fig. 1 [4]) arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates (¶ 0039, fig. 1-2a [3-4]), the plurality of power dividers connected to the plurality of radiating units arranged in the first area (¶ 0038, 0052, fig. 1-2a [1-5, 21-22]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a plurality of second dielectric substrates stacked on another surface of the first dielectric substrate away from the plurality of the radiating units; and, a plurality of power dividers arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates, the plurality of power dividers connected to the plurality of radiating units arranged in the first area as taught by Xue in the antenna testing device of Miers for the benefit of providing the distribution of power and improving radiation performance.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, teaches wherein the plurality of power dividers are connected in sequence to form a cascade circuit structure to feed signals with a same energy to each of the plurality of detecting radiating unit arranged in the first area (Xue: The plurality of power dividers are cascaded together to distribute signals to the antenna array ¶ 0038, 0052, Abstract, fig. 1-2a [1-5, 21-22]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the plurality of power dividers are connected in sequence to form a cascade circuit structure to feed signals with a same energy to each of the plurality of detecting radiating unit arranged in the first area as taught by Xue in the antenna testing device of Miers for the benefit of providing the distribution of power (Xue, ¶ 0057-0058).
Regarding claim 20, Miers teaches the antenna testing system of claim 10, wherein the plurality of antenna radiating units of the antenna array are arranged in a square (Miers: fig. 1), the plurality of radiating units located in the first area are also arranged in the square (Miers: fig. 1);
or the plurality of antenna radiating units of the antenna array are arranged in a diamond (Miers: fig. 1), the plurality of radiating units located in the first area are also arranged in the diamond (Miers: fig. 1).
Claim(s) 2, 5, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miers in view of Xue and in further view of US 20200161744 by Christian W. Baks et al. (hereinafter Baks).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, teaches wherein a part of the plurality of radiating units are located in the first area (Miers: fig. 5-6 [108, 416]).
The combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach and another part of the plurality of radiating units are located in the second area, the plurality of radiating units located in the first area are configured to transmit signals or receive signals, and a part of the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded.
However, Baks teaches and another part of the plurality of radiating units (fig. 3A [350]) are located in the second area (fig. 3A), the plurality of radiating units (fig. 3A [310-340]) located in the first area (fig. 3A) are configured to transmit signals or receive signals (transmit or receive signals ¶ 0035), and a part of the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded (The plurality of radiating units (350) in the second area are grounded ¶ 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include another part of the plurality of radiating units are located in the second area, the plurality of radiating units located in the first area are configured to transmit signals or receive signals, and a part of the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded as taught by Baks in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of achieving the desired radiation characteristics (Baks, ¶ 0042).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded through loads, the loads are arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates.
However, Baks teaches wherein the plurality of radiating units (¶ 0041, fig. 3A [350]) located in the second area (fig. 3A) are grounded through loads (¶ 0041, fig. 3B [352, 354]), the loads are arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates (¶ 0041, fig. 1 [M5, L5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded through loads, the loads are arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates as taught by Baks in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of achieving the desired radiation characteristics (Baks, ¶ 0042).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, teaches wherein a part of the plurality of radiating units are located in the first area (fig. 5-6 [108, 416]).
The combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach and another part of the plurality of radiating units are located in the second area, the plurality of radiating units located in the first area are configured to transmit signals or receive signals, and a part of the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded.
However, Baks teaches and another part of the plurality of radiating units (fig. 3A [350]) are located in the second area (fig. 3A), the plurality of radiating units (fig. 3A [310-340]) located in the first area (fig. 3A) are configured to transmit signals or receive signals (transmit or receive signals ¶ 0035), and a part of the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded (The plurality of radiating units (350) in the second area are grounded ¶ 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include another part of the plurality of radiating units are located in the second area, the plurality of radiating units located in the first area are configured to transmit signals or receive signals, and a part of the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded as taught by Baks in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of achieving the desired radiation characteristics (Baks, ¶ 0042).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded through loads, the loads are arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates.
However, Baks teaches wherein the plurality of radiating units (¶ 0041, fig. 3A [350]) located in the second area (fig. 3A) are grounded through loads (¶ 0041, fig. 3B [352, 354]), the loads are arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates (¶ 0041, fig. 1 [M5, L5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the plurality of radiating units located in the second area are grounded through loads, the loads are arranged among the plurality of second dielectric substrates as taught by Baks in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of achieving the desired radiation characteristics (Baks, ¶ 0042).
Claim(s) 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miers in view of Xue and in further view of US 20200313725 by Mustapha Abdulai et al. (hereinafter Abdulai).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of radiating units comprise loop antennas.
However, Abdulai teaches wherein the plurality of radiating units comprise loop antennas (loop antenna structures ¶ 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the loop antennas as taught by Abdulai in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of achieving the desired radiation characteristics, as the shape of the antennas determine (Abdulai, ¶ 0030).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of radiating units comprise loop antennas.
However, Abdulai teaches wherein the plurality of radiating units comprise loop antennas (loop antenna structures ¶ 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the loop antennas as taught by Abdulai in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit achieving the desired radiation characteristics, as the shape of the antennas determine (Abdulai, ¶ 0030).
Claim(s) 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miers in view of Xue and in further view of US 20220099721 by Tatsuya Saito et al. (hereinafter Saito).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined arrangement comprises each radiating unit of the plurality of radiating units is staggered between two radiating units in another row and in a triangular arrangement.
However, Saito teaches wherein the predetermined arrangement comprises each radiating unit of the plurality of radiating units is staggered between two radiating units in another row and in a triangular arrangement (three loop antennas arranged in a triangular grid pattern ¶ 0041, fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the predetermined arrangement comprises each radiating unit of the plurality of radiating units is staggered between two radiating units in another row and in a triangular arrangement as taught by Saito in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of achieving different resonant frequencies (Saito, ¶ 0041).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined arrangement comprises each radiating unit of the plurality of radiating units is staggered between two radiating units in another row and in a triangular arrangement.
However, Saito teaches wherein the predetermined arrangement comprises each radiating unit of the plurality of radiating units is staggered between two radiating units in another row and in a triangular arrangement (three loop antennas arranged in a triangular grid pattern ¶ 0041, fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the predetermined arrangement comprises each radiating unit of the plurality of radiating units is staggered between two radiating units in another row and in a triangular arrangement as taught by Saito in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of achieving different resonant frequencies (Saito, ¶ 0041).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miers in view of Xue in view of Baks and in further view of US 20160097833 by Liang Han et al. (hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Miers, Xue and Baks, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein each of the loads is a resistor with a resistance of 50 ohms (Baks: 50 Ohms ¶ 0042).
However, Han teaches wherein each of the loads is a resistor with a resistance of 50 ohms (¶ 0056, fig. 4 [212]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the load resistor with a resistance of 50 ohms as taught by Han in the antenna testing device of Miers, Xue and Baks for the benefit of impedance matching.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miers in view of Xue in view of Abdulai and in further view of US 20220416440 by Ádám Süle et al. (hereinafter Süle).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of radiating units comprise loop antennas.
However, Abdulai teaches wherein the plurality of radiating units comprise loop antennas (loop antenna structures ¶ 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the loop antennas as taught by Abdulai in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of achieving the desired radiation characteristics as the shape of the antenna would determine (Abdulai, ¶ 0030).
Miers, Xue and Abdulai do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, the first dielectric substrate is provided with a plurality of ground through holes, each of the loop antennas is surrounded by a corresponding ground through hole, the plurality of ground through holes pass through the first dielectric substrate and the plurality of second dielectric substrates to be connected to a ground to form a clearance area, the loop antennas are arranged in the clearance area.
Süle does not teach a loop antennas however it teaches an antenna surrounded by corresponding ground through holes the first dielectric substrate is provided with a plurality of ground through holes (¶ 0040, fig. 1 [50]), with antennas is surrounded by a corresponding ground through hole (fig. 1 [30]), the plurality of ground through holes pass through the first dielectric substrate and the plurality of second dielectric substrates to be connected to a ground to form a clearance area (fig. 1 [25]), the antennas are arranged in the clearance area (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a plurality of ground through holes, each of the antennas is surrounded by a corresponding ground through hole, the plurality of ground through holes pass through the first dielectric substrate and the plurality of second dielectric substrates to be connected to a ground to form a clearance area, the loop antennas are arranged in the clearance area as taught by Süle in surrounding the loop antennas of Miers, Xue and Abdulai for the benefit of providing shielding and grounding.
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of radiating units comprise loop antennas.
However, Abdulai teaches wherein the plurality of radiating units comprise loop antennas (loop antenna structures ¶ 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the loop antennas as taught by Abdulai in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of achieving the desired radiation characteristics (Abdulai, ¶ 0030).
Miers, Xue and Abdulai do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, the first dielectric substrate is provided with a plurality of ground through holes, each of the loop antennas is surrounded by a corresponding ground through hole, the plurality of ground through holes pass through the first dielectric substrate and the plurality of second dielectric substrates to be connected to a ground to form a clearance area, the loop antennas are arranged in the clearance area.
Süle does not teach a loop antennas however it teaches an antenna surrounded by corresponding ground through holes the first dielectric substrate is provided with a plurality of ground through holes (¶ 0040, fig. 1 [50]), with antennas is surrounded by a corresponding ground through hole (fig. 1 [30]), the plurality of ground through holes pass through the first dielectric substrate and the plurality of second dielectric substrates to be connected to a ground to form a clearance area (fig. 1 [25]), the antennas are arranged in the clearance area (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a plurality of ground through holes, each of the antennas is surrounded by a corresponding ground through hole, the plurality of ground through holes pass through the first dielectric substrate and the plurality of second dielectric substrates to be connected to a ground to form a clearance area, the loop antennas are arranged in the clearance area as taught by Süle in surrounding the loop antennas of Miers, Xue and Abdulai for the benefit of providing shielding and grounding.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miers in view of Xue and in further view of US 20190190575 by Anders Stjernman et al. (hereinafter Stjernman).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of power dividers comprises a first port and two second ports, each of the plurality of power dividers is configured to divide a signal received through the first port into two signals with a same energy and respectively output the two feed signals through the two second ports; or
each of the plurality of power dividers is configured to combine two signals respectively received through the two second ports into one signal and output the signal through the first port.
However, Stjernman teaches wherein each of the plurality of power dividers comprises a first port and two second ports (fig. 1 [10-13]), each of the plurality of power dividers is configured to divide a signal received through the first port into two signals with a same energy and respectively output the two feed signals through the two second ports (¶ 0024, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein each of the plurality of power dividers comprises a first port and two second ports, each of the plurality of power dividers is configured to divide a signal received through the first port into two signals with a same energy and respectively output the two feed signals through the two second ports as taught by Stjernman in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of providing the distribution of power.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of power dividers comprises a first port and two second ports, each of the plurality of power dividers is configured to divide a signal received through the first port into two signals with a same energy and respectively output the two feed signals through the two second ports; or
each of the plurality of power dividers is configured to combine two signals respectively received through the two second ports into one signal and output the signal through the first port.
However, Stjernman teaches wherein each of the plurality of power dividers comprises a first port and two second ports (fig. 1 [10-13]), each of the plurality of power dividers is configured to divide a signal received through the first port into two signals with a same energy and respectively output the two feed signals through the two second ports (¶ 0024, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein each of the plurality of power dividers comprises a first port and two second ports, each of the plurality of power dividers is configured to divide a signal received through the first port into two signals with a same energy and respectively output the two feed signals through the two second ports as taught by Stjernman in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of providing the distribution of power.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miers in view of Xue and in further view of Han.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein each of the loads is a resistor with a resistance of 50 ohms (Baks: 50 Ohms ¶ 0042).
However, Han teaches wherein each of the loads is a resistor with a resistance of 50 ohms (¶ 0056, fig. 4 [212]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the load resistor with a resistance of 50 ohms as taught by Han in the antenna testing device of Miers, Xue and Baks for the benefit of impedance matching.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miers in view of Xue and in further view of CN 115047256 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by Rong Li et al. (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Miers and Xue, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the network analyzer comprises a RF output port and a RF input port, the RF output port is connected to the plurality of power dividers, the RF input port is connected to a signal port of the antenna array; or
the RF output port is connected to the signal port of the antenna array, the RF input port is connected to the plurality of power dividers.
However, Li teaches wherein the network analyzer comprises a RF output port and a RF input port (Abstract, ¶ 0051, fig. 3), the RF output port is connected to the plurality of power dividers (Step A ¶ 0079, fig. 5), the RF input port is connected to a signal port of the antenna array (¶ 0012, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the network analyzer comprises a RF output port and a RF input port, the RF output port is connected to the plurality of power dividers, the RF input port is connected to a signal port of the antenna array as taught by Li in the antenna testing device of Miers and Xue for the benefit of improving the test of the array antenna (Li, Abstract).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11982699 by Martin Obermaier et al.
US 20220326290 by Koji Asami et al.
US 20200136226 by Qingming Xie et al.
US 20190013590 by Corbett Rowell et al.
US 20150325914 by Arzhang Ardavan et al.
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845