DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The status of the claims for this application is as follows.
Claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending.
Claims 17-20 are currently withdrawn.
Claim 2 is canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
Applicant’s amendments to the abstract have made moot the previous specification objection.
Drawings
Applicant’s amendments to the claim have made moot the previous drawing objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fennington, JR. (US 2007/0001447), (hereinafter, Fennington).
At the outset the applicant is reminded that:
1. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
2. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Re Clm 1: Fennington discloses an instrument tee (10, see Figs. 1, 2a, and 2c-4 and the Fig. above) comprising:
a main fluid passageway (20) comprising
a first fluid port (16),
a second fluid port (18) opposite the first fluid port, and
a pressure fluid passageway port (the inner opening between 16 and 18) between the first fluid port and the second fluid port;
a pressure fluid passageway (24) comprising a proximal end (the end adjacent the inner opening between 16 and 18) fluidly connected to the pressure fluid passageway port (see Figs. 2a and 2c-4) and having
a first inner diameter (the inner diameter closest to 20, see Fig. 1; in the region below the inner tapered surface) and
a first outer diameter (the outer diameter closest to 20, see Fig. 1; in the region below the inner tapered surface), and
a distal end (the end away from the inner opening between 16 and 18) having
a second inner diameter (see the inner diameter away from 20, see Fig. 1; in the region above the inner tapered surface and including the inner tapered surface) and
a second outer diameter (the outer diameter away from 20, see Fig. 1; in the region above the inner tapered surface and including the region including inner tapered surface);
a first clamp member (38) configured to connect an instrument (such as, 28 and the structure connected to 30 and retained by the clamp, also see [0034]) to the distal end of the pressure fluid passageway; and
a gasket (26, see [0034], [0036], [0040], claims 1 and 9-11, the abstract and Figs. 12 and 13) a first surface (the surface closest to 10) of which is configured to connect (connect being defined as linked) to at least a portion of a top surface of the pressure fluid passageway (see [0045], [0040], and [0035] and Figs. 12 and 13), and a second surface (the surface opposite of 10) of which is configured to connect (connect being defined as linked) to a bottom surface of the instrument (see [0045], [0040], and [0035] and Figs. 12 and 13) when the instrument is connected to the instrument tee by the first clamp member (see [0045] and [0040] and Figs. 12 and 13); and
wherein a portion (for example: the branched radially inward portion at 1024, see above) of the pressure fluid passageway (24) extends into a flow path of the main fluid passageway (20), and the first inner diameter is not the same as the second inner diameter (see Figs. 2a and 2c-4, they are not the same because they are not in the same place).
Re Clm 3: Fennington discloses wherein the first inner diameter is less than the second inner diameter (see Fig. 1).
Re Clm 4: Fennington discloses wherein the first fluid port comprises a first hose barb (see Fig. 1, the left 14).
Re Clm 5: Fennington discloses wherein the second fluid port comprises a second hose barb (see Fig. 1, the right 14).
Re Clm 6: Fennington discloses further comprising the instrument removably connected to the pressure fluid passageway by at least the first clamp member (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 7: Fennington discloses wherein the instrument is a pressure gauge (such as, 28 and the structure connected to 30 and retained by the clamp, also see [0034]).
Re Clm 8: Fennington discloses wherein the first clamp member is integrally connected to an end of the pressure gauge (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 15: Fennington discloses wherein the gasket is configured to fluidly isolate the pressure fluid passageway from the instrument (see [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fennington, JR. (US 2007/0001447), (hereinafter, Fennington) as applied to claims 1, 3-8, and 15 above.
Re Clms 9 and 10: Fennington discloses an instrument (such as, 28 and the structure connected to 30 and retained by the clamp, also see [0034]) and that the first clamp member is integrally connected to an end of the instrument (see Fig. 3 and [0034]).
Fennington fails to disclose that the disclosed instrument is a centrifugal pump.
A centrifugal pump is used to move fluid in order to provide fluid flow within a fluid system. The examiner is taking Official Notice that centrifugal pump(s) are old and well-known and having a centrifugal pump(s) connected to a fitting/system is also old and well-known, for the purpose of moving fluid within a fluid system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified the device of Fennington, to have employed a centrifugal pump, with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of a centrifugal pump with a fitting is old and well-known and because the instrument of Fennington could have been replaced with a centrifugal pump (similarly to applicant), for the purpose of moving fluid within a fluid fitting/system.
Re Clms 11 and 12: Fennington discloses an instrument (such as, 28 and the structure connected to 30 and retained by the clamp, also see [0034]) and that the first clamp member is integrally connected to an end of the instrument (see Fig. 3 and [0034]).
Fennington fails to disclose that the disclosed instrument is a valve.
A valve is used to control the flow of a fluid within a system, for the purpose of regulating a fluid within a fitting/system. The examiner is taking Official Notice that valve(s) are old and well-known and having a valve(s) connected to a fitting/system is also old and well-known, for the purpose of moving fluid within a fluid system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified the device of Fennington, to have employed a valve, with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of a valve with a fitting is old and well-known and because the instrument of Fennington could have been replaced with a centrifugal pump (similarly to applicant), for the purpose of moving fluid within a fluid fitting/system.
Re Clms 13 and 14: Fennington discloses an instrument (such as, 28 and the structure connected to 30 and retained by the clamp, also see [0034]) and that the first clamp member is integrally connected to an end of the instrument (see Fig. 3 and [0034]).
Fennington fails to disclose that the disclosed instrument is a positive displacement pump.
A positive displacement pump is used to move fluid in order to provide fluid flow within a fluid system. The examiner is taking Official Notice that positive displacement pump(s) are old and well-known and having a positive displacement pump(s) connected to a fitting/system is also old and well-known, for the purpose of moving fluid within a fluid system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified the device of Fennington, to have employed a positive displacement pump, with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of a positive displacement pump with a fitting is old and well-known and because the instrument of Fennington could have been replaced with a positive displacement pump (similarly to applicant), for the purpose of moving fluid within a fluid fitting/system.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fennington, JR. (US 2007/0001447), (hereinafter, Fennington) as applied to claims 1, 3-8, and 15 above, in view of Whitaker et al. (US 9004545), (hereinafter, Whitaker).
Re Clm 16: Fennington discloses The instrument tee of claim 1, wherein the first clamp member is (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Fennington fails to disclose a first clamp member first section having: a first semi-circular wall having a first inner surface, a first outer surface, a first wall first end point, and a first wall second end point; a first wall first engagement member attached to the first wall outer surface at the first wall first end point and comprising a first hinge section; and a first wall second engagement member attached to the first outer surface at the first wall second end point and comprising a first plurality of inwardly facing teeth; and
a first clamp member second section having: a second semi-circular wall having a second inner surface, a second outer surface, a second wall first end point, and a second wall second end point; a second wall first engagement member attached to the second outer surface at the second wall first end point and comprising a second hinge section; and a second wall second engagement member attached to the second outer surface at the second wall second end point and comprising a first plurality of outwardly facing teeth; and
wherein the first clamp member first section is configured to connect to the first clamp member second section by mating the first hinge section to the second hinge section and mating the first plurality of inwardly facing teeth to the first plurality of outwardly facing teeth.
However, Whitaker discloses a clamp for securing flanged members, similar to that of Fennington. Whitaker also teaches a first clamp member first section (112) having: a first semi-circular wall (see Fig. 1) having a first inner surface (138), a first outer surface (see Fig. 1, the outer surface), a first wall first end point, and a first wall second end point; a first wall first engagement member (144) attached (connected) to the first wall outer surface at the first wall first end point and comprising a first hinge section (at 144); and a first wall second engagement member (118) attached (connected) to the first outer surface at the first wall second end point and comprising a first plurality of inwardly facing teeth (120s); and
a first clamp member second section (114) having: a second semi-circular wall (see Fig. 1) having a second inner surface (168), a second outer surface (see Fig. 1, the outer surface), a second wall first end point, and a second wall second end point; a second wall first engagement member (142) attached (connected) to the second outer surface at the second wall first end point and comprising a second hinge section (at 142); and a second wall second engagement member (136) attached (connected) to the second outer surface at the second wall second end point and comprising a first plurality of outwardly facing teeth (the 128s); and
wherein the first clamp member first section is configured to connect to the first clamp member second section by mating the first hinge section to the second hinge section and mating the first plurality of inwardly facing teeth to the first plurality of outwardly facing teeth (see Fig. 7). Where such would securely clamp two flanged members together to form a leak free joint.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified the device of Fennington, to have had a first clamp member first section having: a first semi-circular wall having a first inner surface, a first outer surface, a first wall first end point, and a first wall second end point; a first wall first engagement member attached to the first wall outer surface at the first wall first end point and comprising a first hinge section; and a first wall second engagement member attached to the first outer surface at the first wall second end point and comprising a first plurality of inwardly facing teeth; and
a first clamp member second section having: a second semi-circular wall having a second inner surface, a second outer surface, a second wall first end point, and a second wall second end point; a second wall first engagement member attached to the second outer surface at the second wall first end point and comprising a second hinge section; and a second wall second engagement member attached to the second outer surface at the second wall second end point and comprising a first plurality of outwardly facing teeth; and
wherein the first clamp member first section is configured to connect to the first clamp member second section by mating the first hinge section to the second hinge section and mating the first plurality of inwardly facing teeth to the first plurality of outwardly facing teeth, as taught by Whitaker, with a reasonable expectation of success because one clamp structure is merely being replaced with another clamp structure, for the purpose of securely clamping flanged members together to form a leak free joint.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 8 line 15 through page 13 line 13, that Fennington fails to discloses wherein a portion of the pressure fluid passageway extends into a flow path of the main fluid passageway and that Whitaker does not disclose a tee.
This is not persuasive.
Fennington discloses, for example: that the branched radially inward portion at 1024, see above, is a portion of the pressure fluid passageway (24) extends into a flow path of the main fluid passageway (20), and Whitaker was not used to teach a tee.
All claims not specifically argued will stand or fall with the claim(s) from which it depends.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES ALBERT LINFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
03/09/2026
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679