DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous
Claims pending: 1-20
Claims amended: 1, 12, 20,
Claims cancelled: n/a
New claims: n/a
Response to Double patenting
Applicant’s mention of intent to file Terminal Disclaimer with regard to patent 11146848, and 12003808, can overcome the double patent issue, however to date no Terminal Disclaimer has been filed, thus the double patent issue still stands as stated in prior rejection.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, and 12 overcomes the Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) raised, therefore the Rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 12, have been fully considered.
Regarding applicant’s remarks dated 04/30/2026, regarding Seed Does Not Disclose an Intermediate Node Between the Origin Node and the Edge Node (pg. 10-11).
Examiner agree, and therefore claim(s) 1-11, 12-19 are allowable if the double patenting issue can be resolved.
Regarding applicant’s remarks dated 04/30/2026, regarding Seed Does Not Disclose Cached Content Data by a Business Logic Agent while a Caching Agent Is Being Filled with the Content Data (pg. 12-13).
Examiner disagree.
Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in further view of Shteyn, see detailed action below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US PGPUB 20060015574) to (Seed) in view of (US PUB 20140372589) to (Newton) in view of (US 20210045186) to (Fu) in view of (US pub 20020162109) to (Shteyn).
Regarding claim(s) 20, Seed teach a method for managing caching for a content delivery system, receiving, by a business logic agent from a caching agent, a content request indicating that the caching agent is requesting content data for a client, wherein the business logic agent and the caching agent are operatively coupled via a network; wherein the caching agent is in an edge node, wherein the business logic agent is in a node upstream of the edge node; (Seed Fig. 2, edge server 130, 140 reads on (caching agent), parent server 120, reads on (business logic agent)) filling, by the business logic agent, the content data in a first cache storage of the business logic agent, wherein the content data is received from an upstream node of the content delivery system, (Seed Fig. 2, parent server 120, reads on (logic agent), origin server 110, reads on (origin server)) maintaining, by the business logic agent, the cached content data in response to receiving additional content requests from the caching agent, wherein the additional content requests indicate that the caching agent is requesting the same content data for additional clients; whether filling content data has completed (Seed Fig. 1-3(a), 3(b), P. 1, 10, 19, 20-26, 32, 47, 50-53, 55, 63, 66, 68-69, storage fill and move data to different location once data fill is complete).
Seed teach a node of a content delivery system, comprising: a network device providing a network; at least one processor implementing a business logic agent and a caching agent, the business logic agent and the caching agent are operatively coupled via the network; and at least one memory implementing a first cache storage of the business logic agent and a second cache storage of the caching agent, wherein the at least one processor, …wherein the second cache storage of the catching agent is in geographical proximity to the client and the first cache storage of the business logic agent is upstream of the second cache storage of the catching agent (Seed Fig. 2, cache storage within edge server 130 (caching agent), and client 140, reads on (second cache storage of caching agent is in geographical proximity to the client), parent server 120 (business logic agent), further upstream from edge server 130, reads on (first cache storage of the business logic agent is upstream of second cache storage of the caching agent).
(Seed Fig. 1-3(a), 3(b), P. 1, 10, 19, 20-26, 32, 51, 63, 66, 68-69, as shown in Fig. 2, the edge server 130 is read as (caching agent), and parent server 120 is read as (business logic agent), origin server 110 is read as (origin server at the upstream node) that stores content data, client 140 request edge server 130 for content 200, each server consists of processor, exist within the network, and with their own corresponding storages within each server node. Seed teach client 140 request edge server 130 for content (path 200), (each server consists of processor, exist within the network, and with their own corresponding storages within each server node), which reads on (a content request indicating that the caching agent is requesting content data for a client) (Fig. 2, P. 24,). If the edge server 130 doesn’t have the content, and parent server 120 also doesn’t have the content, the content is replicated by the parent server from the origin server 110 (path 240) (specifically Fig. 2, P. 32,). If the edge server 130 does not have the content, the edge server 130 then replicates the content from the parent server 120 (path 220), Fig. 2, P. 32, Seed Fig. 1-3(a), 3(b), P. 1, 10, 19, 20-26, 32, 51, 63, 66, 68-69).
Newton further teach receiving, an authentication request before content request,
authenticating that content data is provided by a customer of system; and sending, an authentication response in response to authenticating, wherein the authentication response comprises an authorization. (Fig. 1, 3, P. 15, 40, 42-46, 53, CDN node 120a to connect with and authenticate clients according to various arrangements...CDN node 120a receives, from the client 110a, a connection request to the CDN node 120a to access content data corresponding to services provided by the origin server 150...users 101a-110n, among other clients/users. For example, client authentication information can be stored in the client database 250 at the 120a node, such that responsive to receiving the connection request from the client 110a at 310, the CDN node 120a authenticates the authentication credentials included in the connection request based on the client authentication information stored in the client database 250. As such, the CDN node 120a can leverage application-level knowledge at the CDN node 120a, and once authenticated the user is authenticated within the CDN system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Newton by receiving, an authentication request before content request, authenticating that content data is provided by a customer of system; and sending, an authentication response in response to authenticating, wherein the authentication response comprises an authorization as taught by Newton in order to provide content to clients in real-time with fewer degradation of user experience.
Fu further teach authentication comprising a cache key. (Fig 6, P. 79, authentication response involves encrypted cache key).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seed in view of Newton by authentication comprising a cache key as taught by Fu in order to not negatively impact when using a transport protocol for delivering in a CDN configuration.
Seed teach the business logic agent providing the cached content data to the caching agent, and the concept of replicating frequently requested (popular) content to parent server from original server.
Shteyn further teach providing, cached content data while a second cache storage of caching agent is being filled with content data.(Fig. 1, 3, 4, P. 6-8, 14, 16-18 using portions of local storage for content sharing storage, where the end user system device can have parts of their local storage used for content sharing storage amongst the network, when content is requested by an end user system, it is obtained from multiple shared storage locations at different end user systems using the look up service, the different local storage locations reads on (separate second cache on second server that maintain requested content data, in other words while content is being provided from one local storage, another local storage can be filled with the content) )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seed in view of Newton in view of Fu by providing, cached content data while a second cache storage of caching agent is being filled with content data as taught by Shteyn in order to provide efficient storage for easy quick access of content upon request.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-11, 12-19 are allowable if the double patenting issue can be resolved.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONG LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421