Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the application filed on November 27,2024.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending and has been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
3.The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 and 11/27/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings submitted on 11/27/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,6,10-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang “20230283165”.
In regard to claim 1, Fang discloses a control circuit (Fig. 3: controller 900) for an asymmetrical half-bridge flyback converter (IG. 3 is a simplified diagram showing an asymmetrical half-bridge flyback switch-mode power converter) with a first switch , a second switch (transistors 320 and 330) , a transformer (primary winding 310, the secondary winding 312, and the auxiliary winding 314 ) and a resonant capacitor (Cr) , comprising: an input terminal configured to receive resonant current information (comparator 910, which also receives the current sensing voltage 345, see prag. 0040 ,0042 and 0048) , wherein the resonant current information is associated with a resonant current flowing through a resonant tank (Cr and primary winding 310) formed by a primary winding of the transformer and the resonant capacitor ( the current sensing voltage 345 current flowing thru Cr and LP , see prag. 0040, 0042 and 0048); and an output terminal configured to provide a first control signal (output signal from gated driver 920/980 ) to turn off the first switch of the asymmetrical half-bridge flyback converter based on the resonant current information (see prag. 0042 and 0048).
In regard to claim 2, Fang discloses (Figs. 1-6) further comprising: an output voltage detecting circuit (a combination of demagnetization detector 950, comparator 910 and comparator 940 ) configured to receive an output voltage feedback signal indicating an output voltage of the asymmetrical half-bridge flyback converter (demagnetization detector 950 and comparator 940 are configured to receive the feedback voltage 377 represents the output voltage 392) , and to disable or enable the first control signal based on the output voltage feedback signal (output signal from gated driver 920/980 is based on the feedback signal 377 ) .
In regard to claim 3, Fang discloses (Figs. 1-6) wherein the output voltage feedback signal (a voltage 361 and/or a current 363 and generates the drive voltage 335 based at least in part on the feedback voltage 377 and the voltage 361 and/or the current 363, see prag. 0041) is provided by an auxiliary winding magnetically (auxiliary winding 314) coupled to the primary winding (primary winding 310)
In regard to claim 4, Fang discloses (Figs. 1-6), wherein the resonant current information (Vsc) comprises a first signal indicating a value of the resonant current (current 353 flows to the capacitor terminal 356).
In regard to claim 6, Fang discloses (Figs. 1-6), wherein the resonant current information (Vsc) comprises a resonant period of the resonant tank (see Figs.4-5).
In regard to claim 10, Fang discloses a power device, comprising: an asymmetrical half-bridge flyback converter (Fig. 3: is showing an asymmetrical half-bridge flyback switch-mode power converter) comprising a first switch, a second switch (transistors 320 and 330), a transformer (primary winding 310, the secondary winding 312, and the auxiliary winding 314 ) and a resonant capacitor (Cr) , wherein the first switch and the second switch are coupled in series between an input terminal and a primary side reference ground terminal (transistors 320 and 330 are coupled in series between an input terminal and a primary side reference ground terminal ), wherein the transformer comprises a primary winding and a secondary winding (primary winding 310, the secondary), and a resonant tank (Cr and primary winding 310) is formed by the primary winding and the resonant capacitor (Cr and primary winding 310); and a control circuit (controller 900) configured to receive resonant current information associated with a resonant current flowing (comparator 910, which also receives the current sensing voltage 345, see prag. 0040 ,0042 and 0048) through the resonant tank ( the current sensing voltage 345 current flowing thru Cr and LP , see prag. 0040, 0042 and 0048), and to provide a first control signal to turn off the first switch based on the resonant current information (output signal from gated driver 920/980 ).
In regard to claim 11, Fang discloses (Figs. 1-6) f comprising: an output voltage detecting circuit (a combination of demagnetization detector 950, comparator 910 and comparator 940 ) configured to receive an output voltage feedback signal indicating an output voltage of the asymmetrical half-bridge flyback converter (demagnetization detector 950 and comparator 940 are configured to receive the feedback voltage 377 represents the output voltage 392) , and to disable or enable the first control signal based on the output voltage feedback signal (output signal from gated driver 920/980 is based on the feedback signal 377 ) .
In regard to claim 12, Fang discloses (Figs. 1-6) wherein the output voltage feedback signal (a voltage 361 and/or a current 363 and generates the drive voltage 335 based at least in part on the feedback voltage 377 and the voltage 361 and/or the current 363, see prag.0041) is provided by an auxiliary winding magnetically (auxiliary winding 314) coupled to the primary winding (primary winding 310)
In regard to claim 16, Fang discloses a method for controlling a resonant power converter circuit (Fig.3: asymmetrical half-bridge flyback switch-mode power converter comprising controller 900) with a first switch and a second switch (transistors 320 and 330), a transformer (primary winding 310, the secondary winding 312, and the auxiliary winding 314) and a resonant capacitor (Cr) , comprising: controlling (300) the first switch and the second switch (320 and 330) in the resonant power converter circuit to regulate energy transfer from a primary winding to a secondary winding of the transformer (primary winding 310 and secondary winding 312), wherein a resonant tank (capacitor Cr and primary winding 310) of the resonant power converter circuit is formed by the primary winding (primary winding 310 and the resonant capacitor (Cr) ; receiving resonant current information associated with a resonant current flowing through the resonant tank (the current sensing voltage 345 current flowing thru Cr and LP , see prag. 0040, 0042 and 0048); and turning off the first switch based on the resonant current information (see prag. 0042 and 0048).
In regard to claim 17, Fang discloses: (Figs. 1-6) detecting an output voltage (comparator 910) of the resonant power converter circuit and performing the step of turning off the first switch based on the resonant current information (Vcs) when the output voltage is lower than a set value (Vthreshold , see prag. 0042) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang “20230283165” in a view of Jiang “20210391800”.
In regard to claim 8, Fang discloses (Figs. 1-6) wherein the resonant current information (Vcs) is a capacitance of the resonant capacitor in the resonant tank but fails to discloses resonant tank comprises an inductance of a resonant inductor.
Whereas Jing discloses (Figs.3 resonant converter 300 includes resonant tank 32 which comprises an inductor L.sub.S and capacitance C.sub.S and Fig.6 shows the zero current detection circuit is configured to generate a resonant current signal IR indicative of the sensed resonant current passing through the resonant tank 32 and further configured to generate the zero current signal ZCD by comparing the resonant current signal IR with a cross-zero threshold signal V.sub.ZCD, see prag.0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the asymmetrical half-bridge flyback switch-mode power converter of Fang to include an inductor L.sub.S resonant tank as taught by Jiang because resonant inductance provide significantly higher efficiency through soft-switching, reduced electromagnetic interference (EMI) and furthermore, the resonant converter that can provide good line regulation performance to meet high line regulation requirements with an open loop control, thus good line regulation performance improve the reliability of the converter.
In regard to claim 18, Fang discloses (Figs. 1-6) wherein the resonant current information comprises a value of the resonant current and the step of turning off the first switch based on the resonant current information comprises (comparator 910, which also receives the current sensing voltage 345, see prag. 0040 ,0042 and 0048) but fails to discloses detecting a zero-crossing event indicating the resonant current crosses zero from positive to negative; and turning off the first switch when a number of times of the zero-crossing event reaches a set value.
Whereas, Jiang discloses (Figs. 3 and 6A-6B shoes the timing and calculating circuit is coupled to the zero current detection circuit and configured to generate a frequency detection signal FD indicative of the characteristic resonant frequency F.sub.R by timing and calculating the period T.sub.ZCD of the zero current signal ZCD to turn on and off switches M1 and M2, see prag. 0022-0028 and Fig. 6 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of Fong to include frequency detection circuit as taught by Jiang because resonant converter 700 to provide a regulation voltage V.sub.REG with a smaller ripple compared with the output voltage V.sub.OUT, and thus advantageously get a voltage (the regulation voltage V.sub.REG) with improved precision, see prag.0032.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 5,7, 9,13-15 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Claim 5 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the controller circuit including the limitation of “provide a zero-crossing detecting signal indicating the zero-crossing event; and a counting circuit configured to receive the zero-crossing detecting signal, and to count a number of times of the zero-crossing event based on the zero-crossing detecting signal; and wherein the first control signal turns off the first switch when the number of times of the zero-crossing event reaches a set value.”
Claim 7 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the controller circuit including the limitation of “wherein the first control signal turns off the first switch when an on-time of the first switch is within a range of 1.1 to 1.4 times of the resonant period of the resonant tank.”
Claim 9 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the controller circuit including the limitation of “resonant period calculation circuit configured to calculate a resonant period based on the inductance of the resonant inductor and the capacitance of the resonant capacitor; and a duration control circuit configured to control the first control signal to turn off the first switch when an on-time of the first switch is within a range of 1.1 to 1.4 times of the calculated resonant period.”
Claim 13 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the power device including the limitation of “provide a zero-crossing detecting signal indicating the zero-crossing event; and a counting circuit configured to receive the zero-crossing detecting signal, and to count a number of times of the zero-crossing event based on the zero-crossing detecting signal; and wherein the first control signal turns off the first switch when the number of times of the zero-crossing event reaches a set value.”
Claim 14 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the power device including the limitation of “the first control signal turns off the first switch when an on-time of the first switch is within a range of 1.1 to 1.4 times of the resonant period of the resonant tank.”
Claim 15 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the power device including the limitation of “ a resonant period calculation circuit configured to calculate a resonant period based on the inductance of the resonant inductor and the capacitance of the resonant capacitor; and a duration control circuit configured to control the first control signal to turn off the first switch when an on-time of the first switch is within a range of 1.1 to 1.4 times of the resonant period.”
Claim 19 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the controller method including the limitation of “the resonant current information comprises a resonant period of the resonant tank during the first switch is on and the second switch is off, and the step of turning off the first switch based on the resonant current information comprises: turning off the first switch when an on-time of the first switch is within a range of 1.1 to 1.4 times of the resonant period of the resonant tank.”
Claim 20 is objected because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the controller method including the limitation of “the step of turning off the first switch based on the resonant current information comprises: calculating a resonant period based on the inductance of the resonant inductor and the capacitance of the resonant capacitor; and turning off the first switch when an on-time of the first switch is within a range of 1.1 to 1.4 times of the calculated resonant period.”
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang “20230217551” the present application present invention relates to a heating device, and more particularly to a heating device with a resonant tank and a detecting method thereof. By utilizing the natural response characteristics of the resonant tank in the negative half cycle, the inductance of the resonant tank equivalent inductor and the impedance value of the resonant tank equivalent impedance are calculated according to the current and voltage information of the resonant tank.
Halberstadt “20250141351” the present disclosure relates to controllers for resonant converter, and associated methods.
XU “20220416644” the present disclosure relates to a technical field of an asymmetric half-bridge flyback converter, in particular to an asymmetric half-bridge flyback converter and a control method thereof.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838