Claims 1 and 3-20 are pending per amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RFC 8986: Segment Routing over IPv6 (Srv6) Network Programming (hereinafter RFC 8986), in view of Jeong US 20220369204.
For claim 1, RFC 8986 discloses:
A network device applied to a first node, comprising:
one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to execute the instructions (page 7, “3.2. SID Allocation within an SR Domain”: a plurality of router devices enabled for SRv6 disclosed), wherein execution of the instructions causes the network device to:
receive a first packet, comprising a first destination address field, wherein the first destination address field comprises a first segment identifier (page 6, second paragraph” “When an Srv6 SID is in the Destination Address field of an IPv6 header of a packet, it is routed through transit nodes…”; page 4, “2. Terminology”: SID defined as Segment ID);
determine, from the first destination address field, a first arguments field corresponding to the first segment identifier (page 6, “3.1 SID Format”: SRv6 SID format is LOC (locator):FUNCT (function):ARG (argument)); and
execute at least one first processing behavior indicated by the at least one behavior instruction (pages 9-10, “4. SR Endpoint Behaviors” and “Table 1: Endpoint Behaviors”: “…any behavior can be attached to a local SID; for example, a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”).
RFC 8986 fails to explicitly disclose “and wherein the first arguments field carries at least one behavior instruction; and execute at least one first processing behavior indicated by the first arguments field at least one behavior instruction, wherein the at least one first processing behavior comprises at least one of: forwarding the first packet based on a slice resource of a network slice; forwarding the first packet based on a network service indicated by application-aware information; performing in-situ flow information telemetry; forwarding the first packet based on an allocated network resource; encrypting and forwarding the first packet; or performing security verification.”
However, in a related field, Jeong discloses an IP header containing information on the network slice to which a packet belongs. A network entity processes/forwards received packet on basis of identified network slice and a corresponding network slice packet processing policy (par. 0209, 0218, 0222). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of claimed invention to have incorporated Jeong’s teachings with RFC 8986. The motivation to combine would have been for a network entity to process packets in accordance with correspondingly network slice policy (Jeong, par. 0208).
For claim 3, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 1, wherein executing the instructions further causes the network device to:
identify, based on an arguments field template, the at least one behavior instruction carried in the first arguments field, wherein the arguments field template defines at least one of a type, a location, or a length of the at least one behavior instruction carried in the first arguments field (RFC 8986, page 6, “3.1 SID Format”: SRv6 SID format is LOC (locator):FUNCT (function):ARG (argument); RFC 8986, pages 9-10, “4. SR Endpoint Behaviors, Table 1”: Table of endpoint behaviors that may be associated with endpoint disclosed; “…any behavior can be attached to a local SID; for example, a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”).
For claim 6, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 1, wherein executing the instructions further causes the network device to: identify at least one flag bit carried in the first arguments field, wherein each flag bit corresponds to the at least one behavior instruction; and identify, based on the at least one flag bit, the at least one behavior instruction carried in the first arguments field (RFC 8986, page 6-7, “3.1. SID Format”: Arguments (ARG) bit encoding disclosed; ARG bits of SRv6 SID governs endpoint behavior processing/treatment of packets).
For claim 7, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 6, wherein each flag bit indicates whether the first arguments field carries the corresponding at least one behavior instruction; or indicates whether the corresponding at least one behavior instruction in the first arguments field can be identified (RFC 8986, page 6-7, “3.1. SID Format”: Arguments (ARG) bit encoding disclosed; ARG bits of SRv6 SID governs endpoint behavior processing/treatment of packets).
For claim 8, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 1, wherein executing the instructions further causes the network device to: determine that a structured parameter function of the first node is in an enabled state (RFC 8986, pages 6-7, “3.1. SID Format”: SRv6 endpoint behavior information is included in ARG bits of the SID); and execute the at least one first processing behavior indicated by the first arguments field; or determine that the first arguments field is a structured arguments field based on at least one of a SRv6 (Segment Routing over IPv6) behavior or a SRv6 flavor indicated by a function field in the first segment identifier; and execute the at least one first processing behavior indicated by the first arguments field (RFC 8986, pages 9-10, “4. SR Endpoint Behaviors” and “Table 1: Endpoint Behaviors”: “…any behavior can be attached to a local SID; for example, a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”).
For claim 10, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 1, wherein a length of the first segment identifier is 128 bits (RFC 8986, page 6: “…an SRv6 SID as consisting of LOC:FUNCT:ARG, where a locator (LOC) is encoded in the L most significant bits of the SID, followed by F bits of function (FUNCT) and A bits of arguments (ARG). L, the locator length, is flexible, and an operator is free to use the locator length of their choice. F and A may be any value as long as L+F+A <= 128 (bits).”).
For claim 11, RFC 8986 discloses:
A network device, comprising:
one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to execute the instructions (page 7, “3.2. SID Allocation within an SR Domain”: a plurality of router devices enabled for SRv6 disclosed), wherein execution of the instructions causes the network device to:
encapsulate a first segment identifier into a first packet (page 6, second paragraph” “When an Srv6 SID is in the Destination Address field of an IPv6 header of a packet, it is routed through transit nodes…”; page 4, “2. Terminology”: SID defined as Segment ID; page 1, “Abstract”: “SRv6 network programming framework enables an application to specify a packet processing program by encoding a sequence of instructions in the IPv6 packet header.); and
send the first packet, wherein a node receiving the first packet is configured to determines a first arguments field from a first destination address field of the first packet (page 6, “3.1 SID Format”: SRv6 SID format is LOC (locator):FUNCT (function):ARG (argument)), wherein the first arguments field corresponds to the first segment identifier (pages 9-10, “4. SR Endpoint Behaviors” and “Table 1: Endpoint Behaviors”: “…any behavior can be attached to a local SID; for example, a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”).
RFC 8986 fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the first arguments field carries at least one behavior instruction and executes at least one first processing behavior indicated by the at least one behavior instruction ; wherein the at least one first processing behavior comprises at least one of: forwarding the first packet based on a slice resource of a network slice; forwarding the first packet based on a network service indicated by application-aware information; performing in-situ flow information telemetry; forwarding the first packet based on an allocated network resource; encrypting and forwarding the first packet; or performing security verification.”
However, in a related field, Jeong discloses an IP header containing information on the network slice to which a packet belongs. A network entity processes/forwards received packet on basis of identified network slice and a corresponding network slice packet processing policy (par. 0209, 0218, 0222). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of claimed invention to have incorporated Jeong’s teachings with RFC 8986. The motivation to combine would have been for a network entity to process packets in accordance with correspondingly network slice policy (Jeong, par. 0208).
For claim 12, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 11, wherein executing the instructions further causes the network device to:
encapsulate the first segment identifier into the first destination address field; or encapsulate a segment routing header (SRH} into the first packet, wherein the SRH comprises the first segment identifier (RFC 8986, page 6, SID Format packet includes ARG (argument function; pages 9-10, “a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”).
For claim 13, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 11, wherein the first packet corresponds to a target service flow, and wherein executing the instructions further causes the network device to:
encapsulate a second segment identifier into a second packet of the target service flow (RFC 8986, page 6, second paragraph” “When an Srv6 SID is in the Destination Address field of an IPv6 header of a packet, it is routed through transit nodes…”; RFC 8986, page 4, “2. Terminology”: SID defined as Segment ID); and
send the second packet, wherein a node receiving the second packet is configured to determines a second arguments field from a second destination address field of the second packet, and executes at least one second processing behavior indicated by the second arguments field (RFC 8986, page 6, “3.1 SID Format”: SRv6 SID format is LOC (locator):FUNCT (function):ARG (argument)), wherein
the second arguments field corresponds to the second segment identifier, and the at least one second processing behavior is different from the at least one first processing behavior (RFC 8986, pages 9-10, “4. SR Endpoint Behaviors” and “Table 1: Endpoint Behaviors”: “…any behavior can be attached to a local SID; for example, a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”).
For claim 14, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 13, wherein the node indicated by the first segment identifier is the same as the node indicated by the second segment identifier (RFC 8986, page 6, second paragraph” “When an Srv6 SID is in the Destination Address field of an IPv6 header of a packet, it is routed through transit nodes…”; page 4, “2. Terminology”: SID defined as Segment ID).
For claim 16, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 11, wherein the first segment identifier comprises the first arguments field is comprised in the first segment identifier, ;or the first arguments field is located behind after the first segment identifier (RFC 8986, page 6, “3.1 SID Format”: SRv6 SID format is LOC (locator):FUNCT (function):ARG (argument)).
For claim 17, RFC 8986 discloses:
A packet forwarding method applied to a packet forwarding system, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a first node, a first packet comprising a first destination address, wherein a first destination address field of the first packet comprises a first segment identifier (page 6, second paragraph” “When an Srv6 SID is in the Destination Address field of an IPv6 header of a packet, it is routed through transit nodes…”; page 4, “2. Terminology”: SID defined as Segment ID);
determining, by the first node from the first destination address field, a first arguments field corresponding to the first segment identifier (page 6, “3.1 SID Format”: SRv6 SID format is LOC (locator):FUNCT (function):ARG (argument)); and
executing, by the first node, at least one first processing behavior (pages 9-10, “4. SR Endpoint Behaviors” and “Table 1: Endpoint Behaviors”: “…any behavior can be attached to a local SID; for example, a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”);
receiving, by a second node, a second packet sent by the first node, wherein the second packet is obtained based on the first packet, and a second destination address field of the second packet comprises a second segment identifier (page 6, second paragraph” “When an Srv6 SID is in the Destination Address field of an IPv6 header of a packet, it is routed through transit nodes…”; page 4, “2. Terminology”: SID defined as Segment ID; That is, the packet flowing through network are routed in accordance with DA (destination address) in header of packet);
determining, by the second node, a second arguments field from the second destination address field, wherein the second arguments field corresponds to the second segment identifier (page 6, “3.1 SID Format”: SRv6 SID format is LOC (locator):FUNCT (function):ARG (argument)); and
executing, by the second node, at least one second processing behavior indicated by the second arguments field (pages 9-10, “4. SR Endpoint Behaviors” and “Table 1: Endpoint Behaviors”: “…any behavior can be attached to a local SID; for example, a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”).
RFC 8986 fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the first arguments field carries at least one behavior instruction; and execute at least one first processing behavior indicated by the first arguments field at least one behavior instruction, wherein the at least one first processing behavior comprises at least one of: forwarding the first packet based on a slice resource of a network slice; forwarding the first packet based on a network service indicated by application-aware information; performing in-situ flow information telemetry; forwarding the first packet based on an allocated network resource; encrypting and forwarding the first packet; or performing security verification.”
However, in a related field, Jeong discloses an IP header containing information on the network slice to which a packet belongs. A network entity processes/forwards received packet on basis of identified network slice and a corresponding network slice packet processing policy (par. 0209, 0218, 0222). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of claimed invention to have incorporated Jeong’s teachings with RFC 8986. The motivation to combine would have been for a network entity to process packets in accordance with correspondingly network slice policy (Jeong, par. 0208).
RFC 8986 fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the first arguments field carries at least one first behavior instruction; and executing…at least one first behavior instruction, wherein the at least one first processing behavior comprises at least one of: forwarding the first packet based on a slice resource of a network slice; forwarding the first packet based on a network service indicated by application-aware information; performing in-situ flow information telemetry; forwarding the first packet based on an allocated network resource; encrypting and forwarding the first packet; or performing security verification.”
However, in a related field, Jeong discloses an IP header containing information on the network slice to which a packet belongs. A network entity processes/forwards received packet on basis of identified network slice and a corresponding network slice packet processing policy (par. 0209, 0218, 0222). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of claimed invention to have incorporated Jeong’s teachings with RFC 8986. The motivation to combine would have been for a network entity to process packets in accordance with correspondingly network slice policy (Jeong, par. 0208).
For claim 18, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The method according to claim 17, wherein the first arguments field and the second arguments field are a same field (RFC 8986, page 6, SID Format packet includes ARG (argument function; pages 9-10, “a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”).
For claim 19, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The method according to claim 17, wherein the at least one first processing behavior is the same as the at least one second processing behavior (RFC 8986, page 6, SID Format packet includes ARG (argument function; pages 9-10, “a node N can bind a SID to a local Virtual Machine (VM) or container that can apply any complex processing on the packet, provided there is an SRv6 Endpoint Behavior codepoint allocated for the processing.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant disclosed RFC 8986: Segment Routing over IPv6 (Srv6) Network Programming (hereinafter RFC 8986), in view of Jeong US 20220369204, in view of NPL Compressed SRv6 Segment List Encoding in SRH” (hereinafter RFC 9800).
For claim 9, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the first segment identifier is a compressed segment identifier, and a length of the compressed segment identifier is less than 128 bits.”
However, in a related field, RFC 9800 discloses a compressed segment list encoding for SRv6 SIDs, wherein the segment-list field is 128 bits (page 4, “3. Basic Concepts”, paragraphs 1-5 and page 4, “3. Basic Concepts”: “…when the combined length of SRv6 SID, function and argument is smaller than 128 bits, the trailing bits are set to zero”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of instant application to have introduced RFC 9800’s disclosure alongside RFC 8966-Jeong. The motivation to combine would have been to achieve data storage efficiency by compressing portions of SID packet (RFC 9800, page 4, last paragraph – page 5, 1st full paragraph).
For claim 15, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The network device according to claim 11, but fails to disclose “wherein the first segment identifier is a compressed segment identifier, and a length of the compressed segment identifier is less than 128 bits; or a length of the first segment identifier is 128 bits.”
However, in a related field, RFC 9800 discloses a compressed segment list encoding for SRv6 SIDs, wherein the segment-list field is 128 bits (page 4, “3. Basic Concepts”, paragraphs 1-5 and page 4, “3. Basic Concepts”: “…when the combined length of SRv6 SID, function and argument is smaller than 128 bits, the trailing bits are set to zero”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of instant application to have introduced RFC 9800’s disclosure alongside RFC 8966-Jeong. The motivation to combine would have been to achieve data storage efficiency by compressing portions of SID packet (RFC 9800, page 4, last paragraph – page 5, 1st full paragraph).
For claim 20, RFC 8986-Jeong discloses:
The method according to claim 17, but fails to disclose “wherein both the first segment identifier and the second segment identifier are compressed segment identifiers and a length of the compressed segment identifier is less than 128 bits; or both a length of the first segment identifier and a length of the second segment identifier are 128 bits.”
However, in a related field, RFC 9800 discloses a compressed segment list encoding for SRv6 SIDs, wherein the segment-list field is 128 bits (page 4, “3. Basic Concepts”, paragraphs 1-5 and page 4, “3. Basic Concepts”: “…when the combined length of SRv6 SID, function and argument is smaller than 128 bits, the trailing bits are set to zero”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before effective filing date of instant application to have introduced RFC 9800’s disclosure alongside RFC 8966-Jeong. The motivation to combine would have been to achieve data storage efficiency by compressing portions of SID packet (RFC 9800, page 4, last paragraph – page 5, 1st full paragraph).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAYTON R WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443