DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on October 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 15, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palmer et al. (US Patent No. 5454378).
Regarding claim 1, Palmer teaches a medical device (Abstract), comprising:
a disposable portion (14; Column 6, Lines 29-35), including a sheath (46) and a wire (42/44) disposed within a lumen of the sheath (Figure 1),
a handle (12), the handle comprising
a main body (16/18/20) with a slot (20),
a releasably engageable moveable body (26/24; Column 6, Lines 29-35), wherein the moveable body is formed by a first component (28) and a second component (24), and wherein the first component and the second component are releasably engageable with both the slot and a proximal portion of the disposable portion (Figures 1-1b),
wherein movement of the moveable body is configured to move the wire (Column 5, Lines 25-26; “movement of the spool 26 relative to the shaft 16 moves the pull wires 42, 44“).
Regarding claim 2, Palmer teaches wherein the disposable portion includes an end effector (a pair of opposed jaws 38, 40; Figure 1), wherein the moveable body is configured to receive a proximal portion of the wire and movement of the moveable body is configured to actuate the end effector (Figure 1; Column 5, Lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 3, Palmer teaches wherein the disposable portion includes a first crimp positioned at a proximal end of the wire (the circumferential groove 50; Figure 1), wherein the moveable body is configured to receive the first crimp (pull wire coupling means 30 engaging the mating tip assembly 50; Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Palmer teaches wherein the first component includes a release tab (pull wire coupling means 30).
Regarding claim 5, Palmer teaches wherein when the release tab is in an actuated configuration, the first crimp and proximal end of the wire are receivable within a recess (132 and 134) of the second component (Column 7, Lines 57-58; Column 8, Lines 30-32).
Regarding claim 6, Palmer teaches wherein the release tab includes a tab, a slot defined through the tab, the slot sized and shaped to receive the wire and reject the first crimp (Figure 1; Column 5, Lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 7, Palmer teaches the medical device of claim 6 (see above rejection of claim 6), wherein, when the first crimp is received within the recess and the release tab is in a deactuated configuration, the first crimp is prevented from moving in a distal direction by the tab (Examiner notes given the claimed invention is an apparatus, the when language which is conditional thus causes the limitation following the term ‘when’ to be considered optional and thus not required by the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 8, Palmer teaches the medical device of claim 6 (see above rejection of claim 6), wherein when the first crimp is received within the recess and the release tab is in a deactuated configuration, a portion of the wire is disposed within the slot of the tab (Examiner notes given the claimed invention is an apparatus, the when language which is conditional thus causes the limitation following the term ‘when’ to be considered optional and thus not required by the claimed invention.)
Regarding claim 9, Palmer teaches wherein the disposable portion includes a removable distal tip (38/40 and 34), wherein the distal tip includes a lumen (part of the inside of 34; Figure 1) and a chamber (part of the inside of 34; Figure 1), wherein the lumen and chamber are in communication with each other and are positioned along a central longitudinal axis of medical device (Figure 1), and wherein at least a portion of the wire is positioned within the lumen and the chamber (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Palmer teaches wherein a distal tip of the disposable portion includes a protrusion extending in a proximal direction from a proximal end of the distal tip, wherein the main body includes a chamber configured to receive the protrusion, wherein the distal tip is releasably attached to the main body when the protrusion is received within the chamber of the main body (Column 6, Lines 16-42; Figures 2a-2b).
Regarding claim 13, Palmer teaches wherein the protrusion includes a flange and the chamber includes a flange, wherein the protrusion of the distal tip is received within the chamber of the main body, and wherein the flange of the protrusion and the flange of the chamber contact one another to prevent the protrusion from exiting the chamber (Column 6, Lines 16-42; Figures 2a-2b).
Regarding claim 14, Palmer teaches wherein the flange of the protrusion extends radially outward relative to a central longitudinal axis of the medical device and the flange of the chamber extends radially inward relative to the central longitudinal axis of the medical device (Column 6, Lines 16-42; Figures 2a-2b).
Regarding claim 15, Palmer teaches wherein the handle includes a locking mechanism configured to couple the disposable portion with the handle (Column 5, Lines 19-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer et al. (US Patent No. 5454378) in view of Cohen et al. (US 2006/0235382).
Regarding claim 10, Palmer teaches wherein the disposable portion includes a second crimp (circumferential groove 48) positioned distally of the first crimp on the wire (Figure 1),but is silent on the second crimp interacting with the chamber/sheath. Cohen teaches second crimp fixedly attached to a portion of the sheath and positioned within the chamber, wherein a dimension of the second crimp prevents the second crimp from exiting the chamber (Paragraphs 0034-0035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Palmer with Cohen because it enables easy and accurate mounting of the end effector and/or other elements (Paragraph 0034 of Cohen).
Regarding claim 11, Palmer teaches a second crimp (circumferential groove 48) but is silent on the second crimp interacting with the sheath. Cohen teaches wherein the second crimp prevents movement of the sheath relative to the distal tip (Paragraphs 0034-0035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Palmer with Cohen because it enables easy and accurate mounting of the end effector and/or other elements (Paragraph 0034 of Cohen).
Conclusion
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791