DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 07/20/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 24, 26-31, 35, 37, and 41 have been amended, claim 34 has been cancelled, and claim 44 has been added. Thus, claims 24-33 and 35-44 are presently pending in this application, with no claims being withdrawn from consideration. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112 rejection, minus the 112(b) rejection of claim 37 maintained below, set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 04/20/2026. The 112(f) interpretations are maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p.9 of “Remarks”, filed 07/20/2026, with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claim 40 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of 04/20/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see p.9-10 of “Remarks”, filed 07/20/2026, with respect to the 102 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejection of 04/20/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see p.11-14 of “Remarks”, filed 07/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) the subject matter of claim 44 (previously claims 24, 25, 42, and 43) under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Avery.
Claim Objections
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 35, the phrase “each of the respective securing feature” in lines 2-3 should read “each of the respective securing features” for proper grammar,
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A fixing member in claims 24 and 44,
A plurality of circumferentially disposed securing features in claim 24,
Regarding the fixing member in claims 24 and 44, the specification is referenced for the corresponding structure. Fig. 4a and page 24, line 9 discloses the fixing member as a clip component with an approximately U-like shape. Examiner will be interpreting it as such.
Regarding the plurality of circumferentially disposed securing features in claim 24, the specification is referenced for the corresponding structure. Figs. 1B-1C and page 23, lines 4-6 disclose the securing features as finger-like or tab-like structures. Examiner will be interpreting them as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-28, 37, and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 26, the phrase “the fixing member has a main body” in line 1 renders the claim unclear as it is unclear whether this is a different main body or the aforementioned main body of the fixing member in line 21 of claim 24. Examiner is interpreting it as the same.
Regarding claim 27, the phrase “the width of a radial opening” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether this is different radial opening or the aforementioned radial opening of in line 2 of claim 27. Examiner is interpreting it as the same.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the neck portion of the cartridge” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes the neck portion of the cartridge is introduced in claim 25 and claim 37 is only dependent upon claim 24.
Claim 43 recites the limitation "the main body of the cartridge" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the end opposite" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 28, this claim is rejected due to its dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Avery et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20130204187 A1, “Avery”).
Regarding claim 44, Avery discloses (Claim 44) a drug delivery device (100 in Fig. 1A), comprising:
a cartridge assembly (700 and 704 in Fig. 14A-14B), comprising:
a cartridge (704 in Fig. 14A-14B) containing a drug (see Abstract), the cartridge (704) comprising a dispensing end (distal end of 704 in Fig. 14A-14B);
a cartridge holder (700), the cartridge holder (700) defining an interior cartridge holding section (interior cavity of 700 in Fig. 14B); where the cartridge (704) is arranged within the cartridge holding section (interior cavity of 700, see Fig. 14B); and
a fixing member (702, examiner notes this limitation is being interpreted under 112(f) as a clip-like component with a substantially U-shape, see Fig. 14A and para. 0040),
wherein the fixing member (702) comprises a fixing surface (distal surface of 702), which is arranged to abut a cartridge surface (proximal surface of 719 in Fig. 14B) of the cartridge (704, see at least Fig. 14B for abutment limitation, see annotated Avery drawing 1 below for fixing surface clarity, see para. 0207), wherein the cartridge surface (proximal surface of 719 in Fig. 14B) is a proximal surface which faces away from the dispensing end (distal end of 704) of the cartridge (704, see Fig. 14B and annotated Avery drawing 1 below and para. 0207), and wherein the cartridge surface (proximal surface of 719 in Fig. 14B) is arranged between the dispensing end (distal end of 704) of the cartridge (704) and the end (proximal end of 704) opposite of the dispensing end (distal end of 704, see Fig. 14B and annotated Avery drawing 1 below), and
wherein the fixing member (702) comprises a securing surface (radial surface of 702 in Fig. 14B) which is arranged to abut a holder surface (717 in Fig. 14B) of the cartridge holder (700) to prevent removal of the cartridge (704) from the cartridge holder (700) such that the cartridge (704) is permanently secured in the cartridge holder (700, see para. 0158 and see Fig. 14B and para. 0207), and wherein the holder surface (717) is a distal surface of the cartridge holder (700, see Figs. 14B and see annotated Avery drawing 1 below for exemplary embodiment of 700 and 704, examiner notes the distal surface is being
interpreted as a surface located in the distal portion of the device); and
a housing (102 in Fig. 1A) to which the cartridge assembly (700 and 704 in Fig. 14) is secured (see para. 0089); and
wherein the cartridge (704) has a head portion (ferrule of 704 in Fig. 14B), a main body portion (body of 704), and a neck portion (neck of 704, see annotated Avery 2 drawing below for head, main body, and neck), wherein the neck portion (neck of 704) is arranged between the head portion (ferrule of 704) and the main body portion (body of 704) and the neck portion (neck of 704) has a reduced diameter as compared to the head portion (ferrule of 704, see annotated Avery drawing 2 below), wherein the cartridge surface (proximal surface of 719) delimits the head portion (ferrule of 704) proximally (see Fig. 14B and annotated Avery drawing 2 below for portion
limitations),
wherein the cartridge holder (700) has a first region in which the head portion (ferrule of 704) of the cartridge (704) is arranged and a second region that is axially offset from the first region in a proximal direction (see annotated Avery drawing 2 above), and
wherein the fixing surface (distal surface of 702) of the fixing member (702) is arranged in the first region (see annotated Avery drawing 2 above), wherein the main body portion (body of 704) of the cartridge (704) is arranged in the second region (see annotated Avery drawing 2 above), and wherein the securing surface (radial edge of 702) is arranged in the second region (see annotated Avery Drawing 2 above – as annotated above, the first region extends to the distal surface of the fixing member 702 and thus includes the fixing surface whereas the second region extends from the first region proximally and thus includes at least a portion of the radial surface of the fixing member 702 and thus the securing surface).
Double Patenting
Claims 24-26, 29-30, 35, 37, and 40-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-5, 9, and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12186537 in view of Avery et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20130204187 A1, “Avery”), see Table 1 for mapping of the claims.
Table 1 :
Instant Application (18962038) Claims
Reference Application (17258699) Claims
24
1
25
12
26
12
29
9
30
10
35
2
37
4
40
5
41
11
42
12
43
13
Instant Application Claim 24 recites a drug delivery device comprising a cartridge assembly. Reference Application Claim 1 recites a cartridge assembly. The instant application claim 24 differs from the reference application claim 1 only in reciting a drug delivery device comprising a housing to which the cartridge assembly is secured.
Avery discloses a cartridge assembly (104, 119 in Fig. 1A-1B) comprising a cartridge (119) and a cartridge holder (104), wherein a drug delivery device (100 in Fig. 1A) comprises said cartridge assembly (104, 119) and a housing (102 in Fig. 1A) to which the cartridge assembly (104, 119) is secured (see para. 0089).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cartridge assembly taught by the reference application to be used by a drug delivery device comprising a housing to which the cartridge assembly is secured as taught by Avery. Avery teaches that cartridge assemblies are well known assemblies used in conjunction with drug delivery devices when the drug delivery device is reusable (see para. 0003). It is well known practice in the art to disconnect the cartridge holder from the drug delivery device, replace the empty cartridge, and secure the assembly back to the drug delivery device for reuse (see para. 0003).
The remaining instant application claims have the same scope as the cited reference application claims with the exception of the drug delivery device limitation discussed above that is rendered obvious in view of Avery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-25, 29-30, 35, and 40-42 would be allowable if rewritten and amended to overcome the double patenting rejections, set forth in this Office Action, or with the filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Claims 31-33, 36, 38-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 26-28, 37, and 43 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and by overcoming the double patent rejection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is Avery et al. (U.S Patent Pub. No. 20130253432 A1, “Avery 2”) and Bar-el et al. (W.O Patent Pub. No. 2019126421 A1, “Bar-el”):
Bar-el discloses a cartridge assembly comprising a cartridge door (26) interpreted as the holder, a cartridge (28), and an adapter collar (30 in Fig. 4-6, see para. 0032 and 0034). The adapter collar (30) is configured to engage with the cartridge (28) and the interior pathway (26b) of the cartridge door (26) to stabilize the cartridge (28) within the pathways (26b, see para. 0034). The collar (30) comprises a plurality of circumferentially disposed deflectable fingers (36 in Fig. 6) oriented adjacent slots (32a in Fig. 6) between adjacent fingers (36), wherein the slots (32a) receive the annular lip segments (40) of the cartridge door (26) to mount the collar (30) and thus the cartridge (28) to the cartridge door (26b) for centering the cartridge and protecting a needle tip (see para. 0034 and 0044). However, Bar-el's collar (30) does not anticipate the fixing member of the claimed invention as it is not disclosed primarily for retaining the cartridge within the cartridge holder nor are the plurality of circumferentially disposed fingers (36) disclosed as each defining a section of a securing surface that abuts with the cartridge door. Rather, the fingers (36) are configured to engage with the cartridge (28) for covering the piercing needle (26c, see para. 0037). There is no teaching reference to include a fixing member comprising a plurality of circumferentially disposed features as interpreted under 112(f) as a plurality of circumferentially disposed finger-like or tab-like structures, wherein each feature defines one section of the securing surface and the features extend axially and radially away from the fixing member body.
Avery 2 discloses a cartridge assembly (see Fig. 12) comprising a cartridge holder (820), a cartridge (810), and a locking mechanism (800), wherein the locking mechanism (800) operates in a similar manner as the fixing member to contact both the cartridge (810) and cartridge holder (820) for preventing removal of said cartridge from said holder (see para. 0080-0081). The locking mechanism (800) comprises a securing surface (832 in Fig. 12) disposed on an external ledge (830) which is a circumferentially disposed ledge abutting a holder surface in the groove (840 in Fig. 12) of the cartridge holder (820) for preventing removal of said cartridge from the said holder (see para. 0080-0081). While Avery 2 discloses a circumferentially disposed securing feature comprising the securing surface, Avery 2 fails to disclose a plurality of said securing features as interpreted under 112(f) as a plurality of circumferentially disposed finger-like or tab-like structures. There is no reference to modify Avery 2 to be a plurality of securing features.
Therefore, there is no reference that discloses or teaches the plurality of circumferentially disposed securing features as interpreted under 112(f) and as claimed in claim 24.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAYLA M. TURKOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783