DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Based on the previously filed restriction requirement, the Applicant has elected claims 1-18 for examination and claims 19-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/27/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7, 9 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 contains the trademark Velcro. Where a trademark is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark is used to describe a Hook and Loop fastener and, accordingly, the identification is indefinite.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "such as", “other decorative or functional surfaces”, and “and the like” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 10, It is unclear on how the supplemental panel has additional stiles and/or tails when the stiles and rails are part of the door as seen in fig. 5. The examiner will proceed with examination as the door has stiles and rails with this interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11, & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roziere (FR 3011871).
In regards to claim 1, Roziere discloses a door panel system, comprising:
a door (as seen in annotated fig. 1, reference element 21) including a recessed panel portion (as seen in annotated fig. 1, reference element 22) having at least one contoured portion (as seen in annotated fig. 1, Reference element A); a supplemental panel (as seen in annotated fig. 1, reference element 20) configured to at least partially nest within that recessed door panel (as seen in annotated fig. 1); a first attachment mechanism for both the recessed panel portion and the supplemental panel, wherein the first attachment mechanism is configured to allow attachment and detachment of the supplemental panel without disassembly of any frame components of the door itself (as seen in annotated fig. 1, reference element 23).
The examiner wants to note on the record that a contour is defined as a boundary or an edge.
In regards to claim 2, Roziere discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental door panel 20 has a complementary geometry to the at least one contoured portion of the recessed panel portion (as seen in annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 3, Roziere discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental door 20 panel has a flush fit with the contoured portion around at least a portion of a perimeter thereof (as seen in annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 4, Roziere discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental door panel 20 is specific to a particular door or door panel and is flush fit with the contours of the door panel recess at a given depth of that recess (as seen in annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 5, Roziere discloses the claimed invention, wherein the first attachment mechanism is a plural of magnets (as seen in annotated fig. 1, reference element 23).
In regards to claim 11, Roziere discloses the claimed invention, wherein the contoured portion is a beveled portion (as seen in annotated fig. 1, reference element B).
In regards to claim 12, Roziere discloses the claimed invention, wherein the contoured portion is an angled portion (as seen in annotated fig. 1).
Claims 1, 2, 9, & 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghauforian (US 12473776).
In regards to claim 1, Ghauforian discloses a door panel system, comprising:
a door (as seen in fig. 3A, reference element 300) including a recessed panel portion (as seen in fig. 3A, reference element 320, col. 6 lines 45-47) having at least one contoured portion (as seen in fig. 3A); a supplemental panel (as seen in fig. 3B, reference elements 330 & 331) configured to at least partially nest within that recessed door panel (as seen in fig. 3B); a first attachment mechanism for both the recessed panel portion and the supplemental panel, wherein the first attachment mechanism is configured to allow attachment and detachment of the supplemental panel without disassembly of any frame components of the door itself (col. 6, lines 55-57).
In regards to claim 2, Ghauforian discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental door panel 330 has a complementary geometry to at least one contoured portion of the recessed panel portion 320 (as seen in fig. 3B).
In regards to claim 9, as best understood, Ghauforian discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental panel 330 (as seen in fig. 3B) includes decorative surfaces (as seen in fig. 3B).
In regards to claim 13, Ghauforian discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental panel (as seen in fig. 3G, reference element 332) includes electronics (as seen in fig. 3G, reference element 351 col. 7, lines 15-17).
In regards to claim 14, Ghauforian discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental panel includes data transfer hardware (col. 7, lines 19-20).
In regards to claim 15, Ghauforian discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental panel includes a battery (as seen in fig. 3G, col. 7, lines 28-30). The examiner notes that these panels 332 are capable to be inserted within the recessed portion (col. 7, lines 25-27).
Claims 1 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jude (US 20190338583).
In regards to claim 1, Jude discloses a door panel system, comprising:
a door (as seen in fig. 1, reference element 2) including a recessed panel portion (as seen in fig. 1, reference element 1) having at least one contoured portion (as seen in fig. 3); a supplemental panel (as seen in fig. 1, reference element 11) configured to at least partially nest within that recessed door panel (as seen in fig. 1); a first attachment mechanism for both the recessed panel portion and the supplemental panel, wherein the first attachment mechanism is configured to allow attachment and detachment of the supplemental panel without disassembly of any frame components of the door itself (as seen in fig. 1, reference element 112, para. [0047]).
In regards to claim 10, as best understood, Jude discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental panel includes additional stiles and rails to create a multi-panel door (as seen in fig. 6, reference element 110).
Claims 1, 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jude (US 20190338583).
In regards to claim 1, Jude discloses a door panel system, comprising:
a door (as seen in fig. 13, reference element 2) including a recessed panel portion (as seen in fig. 11, reference element A) having at least one contoured portion (as seen in annotated fig. 11); a supplemental panel (as seen in fig. 11, reference element 11) configured to at least partially nest within that recessed door panel (as seen in fig. 11); a first attachment mechanism for both the recessed panel portion and the supplemental panel, wherein the first attachment mechanism is configured to allow attachment and detachment of the supplemental panel without disassembly of any frame components of the door itself (as seen in fig. 11, reference element 121, para. [0056]).
In regards to claim 5, Jude discloses the claimed invention, wherein the first attachment mechanism is one or more of screws (para. [0056]).
In regards to claim 6, Jude discloses the claimed invention, wherein the door panel system further comprises a template specific to the door style or model, configured to show placement of fasteners on that specific door style or model for initial placement of a supplemental door panel (as seen in fig. 14, reference element 122).
Claims 1 & 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Foster et al. (US 20060150544).
In regards to claim 1, Foster discloses a door panel system, comprising:
a door (as seen in fig. 22, reference element 94) including a recessed panel portion (as seen in fig. 22) having at least one contoured portion (as seen in fig. 22); a supplemental panel (as seen in fig. 22, reference element 99) configured to at least partially nest within that recessed door panel (as seen in fig. 22); a first attachment mechanism for both the recessed panel portion and the supplemental panel, wherein the first attachment mechanism is configured to allow attachment and detachment of the supplemental panel without disassembly of any frame components of the door itself (as seen in fig. 22, reference element 100, para. [0059]).
In regards to claim 16, Foster discloses the claimed invention, wherein the supplemental panel is provided with an alignment mechanism (as seen in fig. 22, reference element 98) facilitating placement of the supplemental panel within the recessed panel portion of the door. The examiner wants to note that when the panel is placed inside the recessed portion of the door, the alignment mechanism 98 creates an offset for which the prongs (reference element 100) aligns and is inserted into the keyholes 98 so the decorative panel is aligned within the recessed portion of the door.
In regards to claim 17, Foster discloses the claimed invention, wherein the alignment mechanism is universal, for any door panel recess. (as seen in fig. 22).
In regards to claim 18, Foster discloses the claimed invention, wherein the alignment mechanism is specific to a particular door style or models to provide a custom fit therewith (as seen in fig. 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roziere (FR 3011871) in view of Garstad (US 20090293364).
In regards to claim 7, Roziere discloses the claimed invention, however Roziere does not disclose the use of Velcro as the first attachment mechanism.
However, Garstad uses Velcro strips as a first attachment mechanism for his suicide prevention door to be easily removed (as seen in figs. 13-15, para. [0060]). These Velcro strips can also be trimmed to predetermined lengths depending on the dimensions of the door (para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Velcro strips instead of magnets into Roziere’s design because the original design already has a recess portion where the bevel edge creates a tilting effect in order to quickly remove the Velcro, as well as Velcro provides easier installation, less time in preparation (ensuring polarities are correct), and cheaper costs.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghauforian (US 12473776).
In regards to claim 8, Ghauforian discloses the claimed invention, However, Ghauforian’s current embodiment (as previously mentioned in rejected claim 2) does not disclose wherein the supplemental panel 330 does not sit flush with the door, but instead extends past the recessed panel portion.
However, Ghauforian teaches of an interchangeable door panel (as seen in figs. 13A-13B, reference element 1330) that presents a securing mechanism (as seen in fig. 13B, reference element 1365) that extends past the recessed panel (col. 11, lines 56-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the decorative side of either the interchangeable panels 330 or interchangeable panel 331 with a securing mechanism 1330 to help against break-ins or harsh weather.
Conclusion
/GARRETT CHRISTOPHER PATTERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633