DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 10, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0072459 to Davey et al. (Davey) in view of JP 11301632 to Hirayama.
Regarding claim 1, Davey discloses a multi-compartment tray (1) comprising first and second compartments (2a, 2b) having first and second terminal edges (8 attached to 7a, 8 attached to 7b), respectively, that extend towards one another in a first plane (A, Fig 21 below), a wave-shaped perforation region (8) having a series of undulating crests (D, Fig 21 below) and troughs (E, Fig 21 below) that extend in series with respective tangents that extend in second (B, Fig 21 below) and third planes (C, Fig 21 below) respectively, and are parallel to and laterally offset from the first plane and from each other, wherein at least some of the undulating crests and troughs comprise a perforation tab (11) formed thereon that connect the first and second compartments, the sole attachment between the first and second compartments is achieved through connection of the perforation tabs at the crests and troughs (Fig 11). Davey does not teach the perforation tabs to be only one at each of the crests or troughs. Hirayama discloses a multicompartment tray (Fig 1) and in particular discloses compartments (2) attached through the sole connection of perforation tabs (6), only one perforation tab (6) at each of the crests and troughs (Figs 2, 11). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to reduce the number of perforation tabs such that there was a single one at each of the crests or troughs as suggested by Hirayama in order to facilitate bending (Hirayama, abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Davey further discloses bending the compartments relative to one another can cause them to snap and break the tab forming the connection between compartments since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 3, Davey further discloses the compartments (2a, 2b) shaped as a polygon (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, Davey further discloses at least four sets of undulating crests and troughs (Fig 21).
Regarding claim 7, Davey further discloses at least five sets of undulating crests and troughs (Fig 21).
Regarding claim 10, Davey further discloses wave-shaped perforation region (8) having a wave thickness greater than tab thickness of each of the tabs (11) since the tabs are located within the perforation region (Fig 21).
Regarding claim 13, Davey further discloses the tray composed of polypropylene (€0020).
Regarding claim 14, Davey further discloses first and second compartments (2a, 2b) comprising first and second flanges (7a, 7b).
Regarding claim 15, Davey further discloses first flange (7a) comprising first terminal edge (8) and second flange comprising second terminal edge (8).
Regarding claim 16, Davey further discloses first terminal edge (8) adjacent to second terminal edge (Fig 1).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davey in view of Hirayama, and US Patent No. 5,938,068 to Atkins et al. (Atkins) or EP 1092344 to Fernholz.
Regarding claim 11, Davey teaches the tray of claim 1 but does not teach the wave-shaped perforation substantially sinusoidal. However, Atkins discloses a multi-compartment container (Fig 1) comprising compartments (10, 12) separated by a perforation (16) that is substantially sinusoidal with crests and troughs (col. 2, ll. 10-20). Fernholz also discloses a multi-compartment container (Fig 1) where the compartments (2) are separated by a sinusoidal perforation (8) that facilitate separation of the container so that each compartment can be used as a separate sale unit (¶0014). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make the perforation region (8) of Davey also sinusoidal as suggested by either Atkins or Fernholz in order to facilitate separation of the compartments.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davey in view of Hirayama and US 2007/0228039 to Tyberghein.
Regarding claim 17, Davey teaches the tray of claim 15 but does not explicitly teach first and second terminal edge separated by a gap. However, Tyberghein discloses a multi-compartment tray (10, Fig 1) and in particular discloses the trays having first and second terminal edges separated by a gap (101B, Fig 9). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate gaps between the terminal edges of each compartment as suggested by Tyberghein in order to facilitate separation.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Davey further teaches gap (101b, Tyberghein) is notched (Fig 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs 1-3 of remarks, filed 6/17/2026, with respect to the objection to specification and priority have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs 4-6 of remarks, filed 6/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 10, 13-16 under 35 USC 102a1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2018/0072459 to Davey in view of JP 11301632 to Hirayama.
Conclusion
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735