DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. [US 2018/0139039], Applicant Cited Art, in view of Qiu et al. [EP3358456A1].
Claim 1, Liu et al. discloses a method implemented by a network adapter [par. 0048], wherein the method comprises: receiving, from a host, a write operation command to write to-be-written data [par. 0049; par. 0055]; processing, based on the write operation command, the to-be-written data to obtain first processed data [encryption operation, par. 0060]; and writing the first processed data into the storage pool [save the encrypted to be written data, par. 0062]. Liu et al. does not teach but Qiu et al. discloses receiving a write operation by a network adapter [par. 0004, 0010] and from a host over a network [par. 0004, 0009], writing data into a storage pool [par. 0023], processing data by the network adapter [par. 0004, 0010, 0020-0023], and writing data by the network adapter [par. 004,0020-0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu et al. as disclosed by Qiu et al. since doing so implements a network capable system that enables scalability, remote access, and integration with other services.
Claim 2, Liu et al. in view of Qiu et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein processing the to-be- written data comprises performing erasure coding (EC), data integrity field (DIF) protection, encryption on the to-be-written data, or decryption on the to-be-written data [CRC encryption, par. 0062].
Claim 3, Liu et al. in view of Qiu et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first processed data comprises a verification data block of the to-be-written data [CRC code, par. 0062], and wherein writing the first processed data comprises storing the verification data block in the storage pool [store the CRC code and the encrypted to be written data in a storage area, par. 0061].
Claim 4, Liu et al. in view of Qiu et al. discloses the method of claim 3, wherein writing the first processed data further comprises storing the verification data block in a memory of the network adapter [par. 0061-0062].
Claim 5, Liu et al. in view of Qiu et al. discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the first processed data further comprises the to-be-written data, and wherein before processing the to-be-written data the method further comprises storing the to-be-written data in a memory of the network adapter [steps 201-204, par. 0055-0060].
Claim 6, Liu et al. in view of Qiu et al. discloses the method of claim 5, wherein writing the first processed data comprises storing the to-be-written data from the memory into the storage pool [par. 0062].
Claim 7, Liu et al. in view of Qiu et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first processed data comprises the to-be-written data and data integrity field (DIF) protection data, or wherein the first processed data comprises data based on encryption of the to-be-written data [par. 0062].
Claim 8, Liu et al. in view of Qiu et al. discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the host, a read operation command to read data from the storage pool; reading, based on the read operation command, the data from the storage pool to obtain read data; processing the read data to obtain second processed data; and sending, to the host, the second processed data [data read commands, par. 0008].
Claim 9, Liu et al. in view of Qiu et al. discloses the method of claim 8, wherein processing the read data comprises performing decryption processing on the read data [par. 0022-0033, decrypting to be read data].
Claims 10-19 and 19-20 are rejected using the same rationale as claims 1-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection of Claims 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to signals per se has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIDYS ROJAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133