DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Asterjadhi et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0366254 (hereinafter Asterjadhi).
Regarding claim 1, Asterjadhi discloses a wireless device (disclosed is a wireless device implemented as an access point (AP), according to [0060], Fig. 3 [element 302]) comprising:
a controller configured to determine an arrangement of control information (the AP comprises a processor, according to [0061], Fig. 3 [element 304], whereby said AP determines HE (high efficiency) Control field information in MPDUs, according to [0082]); and
a wireless transceiver configured to announce the arrangement of the control information in a first frame exchange with a second wireless device in a transmit opportunity (TXOP) and to conduct a plurality of subsequent frame exchanges with the second wireless device based on the arrangement of the control information (the AP comprises a transceiver, according to [0064], Fig. 3 [element 314], whereby said AP transmits a first frame, an A-MPDU, to a STA [“second wireless device”] during a TXOP, whereby said A-MPDU comprises an HE control field that facilitates two subsequent frame exchanges between the AP and the STA during the TXOP, according to [0082], Fig. 10 [elements 1002, 1004, 1006, and 1010]).
Regarding claim 19, Asterjadhi discloses a wireless access point (AP) compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol (disclosed is an IEEE 802.11 access point (AP), according to [0046], [0060], Fig. 3 [element 302]), the wireless AP comprising:
a controller configured to determine an arrangement of control information (the AP comprises a processor, according to [0061], Fig. 3 [element 304], whereby said AP determines HE (high efficiency) Control field information in MPDUs, according to [0082]); and
a wireless transceiver configured to announce the arrangement of the control information in a first frame exchange with a wireless station (STA) device in a transmit opportunity (TXOP) and to conduct a plurality of subsequent frame exchanges with the wireless STA device in the TXOP based on the arrangement of the control information (the AP comprises a transceiver, according to [0064], Fig. 3 [element 314], whereby said AP transmits a first frame, an A-MPDU, to a STA [“second wireless device”] during a TXOP, whereby said A-MPDU comprises an HE control field that facilitates two subsequent frame exchanges between the AP and the STA during the TXOP, according to [0082], Fig. 10 [elements 1002, 1004, 1006, and 1010]).
Regarding claim 20, Asterjadhi discloses a method for wireless communications (disclosed is a method for wireless communications, according to [0060]), the method comprising:
announcing a plurality of arrangements of control information in a first frame exchange between a first wireless device and a second wireless device in a transmit opportunity (TXOP), wherein each of the arrangements of the control information comprises at least one of in-device interference information, power saving information, sub-band switch information, and per TXOP responder's transmitter/receiver (Tx/Rx) parameter negotiation information for the TXOP (an AP [“first wireless device”] transmits a first frame, an A-MPDU, to a STA [“second wireless device”] during a TXOP, whereby said A-MPDU comprises an HE control field, according to [0082], Fig. 10 [elements 1002 and 1010], whereby the HE control field comprises power-save poll information [“power saving information”], according to [0085]); and
conducting a plurality of subsequent frame exchanges between the first wireless device and the second wireless device in the TXOP based on the arrangements of the control information (the HE control field in the A-MPDU that is transmitted from the AP to the STA facilitates two subsequent frame exchanges between the AP and the STA during the TXOP, according to [0082], Fig. 10 [elements 1002, 1004, 1006, and 1010]).
Regarding claim 2, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the arrangement of the control information comprises at least one of in-device interference information, power saving information, sub-band switch information, and per TXOP responder's transmitter/receiver (Tx/Rx) parameter negotiation information for the TXOP (the HE control field comprises power-save poll information [“power saving information”], according to [0085]).
Regarding claim 3, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Regarding claim 4, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to generate an initiating control frame that comprises the arrangement of the control information (the AP generates and transmits an A-MPDU, that comprises an HE control field, that is the first frame of the TXOP, according to [0082], Fig. 10 [elements 1002 and 1010]).
Regarding claim 5, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the arrangement of the control information comprises a control information triple, and wherein the control information triple comprises type information, length information, and content information (the content, type, and length of the information in a control information field depends on the value of the control ID field or of a length field that is added to the HE control field, according to [0079], Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the arrangement of the control information comprises a control information pair, and wherein the control information pair comprises type information and content information (the content and type of the information in a control information field depends on the value of the control ID field or of a length field that is added to the HE control field, according to [0079], Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to:
receive a second arrangement of the control information from the second wireless device in the first frame exchange with the second wireless device in the TXOP (the AP receives from the STA, during the TXOP, an A-MPDU that comprises an HE control field, according to [0082], Fig. 10 [elements 1004 and 1010]); and
conduct the subsequent frame exchanges with the second wireless device in the TXOP based on the arrangement of the control information and the second arrangement of the control information (the subsequent frame exchanges are conducted based on the HE control field information, according to [0082]).
Regarding claim 8, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 7, wherein the controller is further configured to generate an initiating control frame that contains the arrangement of the control information, and wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to receive, from the second wireless device, a responding control frame that contains the second arrangement of the control information (the AP generates an A-MPDU, that comprises an HE control field, that is the first frame of the TXOP, whereupon said AP receives from the STA, during the TXOP, an A-MPDU that comprises an HE control field, according to [0082], Fig. 10 [elements 1002, 1004, and 1010]).
Regarding claim 9, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the initiating control frame comprises a Buffer Status Report Poll (BSRP) trigger frame, and wherein the responding control frame comprises a multi-station (multi-STA) block acknowledgement (BA) frame (the HE control field comprises a buffer status request, according to [0090], Fig. 8B [element 863], whereby a multi-STA block acknowledgement (BA) frame is sent as a response by the STA, according to [0078]).
Regarding claim 11, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the Multi-STA BA frame does not carry a BA bitmap for acknowledging an Aggregate MAC Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) (a multi-STA BA frame for acknowledging an A-MPDU may have a BA bitmap field that is 0 bytes in length, according to [0113]-[0114]).
Regarding claim 12, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the Multi-STA BA frame comprises a Per Association ID (AID) Traffic Identifier (TID) information (Info) field for all addressed or associated stations (STAs) (the per-STA information subfield of the multi-STA BA frame comprises a per-AID TID information field, according to [0114]).
Regarding claim 15, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the initiating control frame comprises a Buffer Status Report Poll (BSRP) trigger frame, wherein the responding control frame comprises a quality of service (QOS) null frame, and wherein a TXOP holder of the TXOP does not send feedback information (the HE control field comprises a buffer status request, whereby the BS (buffer status) response frame from the STA comprises a QoS Null frame, according to [0090], Fig. 8B [element 863], whereby the channel/MCS feedback field may have no information, according to [0083]).
Regarding claim 16, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the initiating control frame to the second wireless device (the AP transmits the A-MPDU to the STA, according to [0082], Fig. 10 [element 1002]).
Regarding claim 17, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the initiating control frame comprises a special User information (Info) field for all addressed or associated stations (STAs) (the control information field comprises a multi-user (MU)/coding field, according to [0083]).
Regarding claim 18, Asterjadhi discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the wireless device comprises a mobile wireless access point (AP) or a wireless non-AP station (STA) (the wireless device is an AP, according to [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Chun et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0310424 (hereinafter Chun).
Regarding claim 13, Asterjadhi discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Asterjadhi does not expressly disclose that the initiating control frame comprises a block acknowledgement response (BAR) frame, and wherein the responding control frame comprises a block acknowledgement (BA) frame.
Chun discloses that the initiating control frame comprises a block acknowledgement response (BAR) frame, and wherein the responding control frame comprises a block acknowledgement (BA) frame (an AP transmits a BAR to a STA, and said STA transmits a BA to said AP, according to [0410]-[0411]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi with Chun such that the initiating control frame comprises a block acknowledgement response (BAR) frame, and wherein the responding control frame comprises a block acknowledgement (BA) frame.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance in an environment that in which there is a dense presence of APs and STAs (Chun: [0006]-[0008]).
9. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Xia et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0410149 (hereinafter Xia).
Regarding claim 14, Asterjadhi discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Asterjadhi does not expressly disclose that the initiating control frame comprises a multi-user-request to send (MU-RTS) frame, wherein the responding control frame comprises a clear to send (CTS) frame, and wherein a TXOP holder of the TXOP does not send feedback information.
Xia discloses that the initiating control frame comprises a multi-user-request to send (MU-RTS) frame, wherein the responding control frame comprises a clear to send (CTS) frame, and wherein a TXOP holder of the TXOP does not send feedback information (an MU-RTS frame is transmitted by a non-AP STA, and in response, a CTS frame is sent to said non-AP STA, according to [0140], [0153], whereby a non-AP STA doesn’t receive any feedback information from the associated AP before the TXOP holder STA configuration frame time out, according to [0251]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asterjadhi with Xia such that the initiating control frame comprises a multi-user-request to send (MU-RTS) frame, wherein the responding control frame comprises a clear to send (CTS) frame, and wherein a TXOP holder of the TXOP does not send feedback information.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce latency for STAs and APs (Xia: [0096]-[0097]).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645