DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "The deterioration estimator" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “A” deterioration estimator has not been previously claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2020/0332755 to Miyashita et al (called 755) in view of US2023/0340903 to Watanabe (called 903).
Re claims 1-4, 7-11, 13 and 14, 755 discloses a motor 11, battery 13, cables as seen going from the battery to the alternator and starter as well as in vehicle equipment at least in figure 1. An estimation basic information acquirer seen in number 30. See also paragraphs 5-7 and 20-28. 755 may not specifically disclose that the device is in a watercraft or used with an outboard motor however 903 discloses these at least in figure 1 where the outboard motors are seen at numbers 2 and the watercraft is seen at number 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of application to use the control systems for motors as seen in 755 with the watercraft and outboard motors of 903 since control of a motor is seen in the primary reference and the watercraft and outboard motors are seen to use controllers and batteries. This would be done to make the watercraft and outboard motors more reliable as seen in the primary reference.
Re claim 5, 755 as modified may not specifically disclose that a server is used to communicate information about the system, however it is old and well known in the art to use servers to forward communications about vehicles to users. See modern vehicles controlled with apps remotely.
Re claim 6, 755 as modified discloses an indicator light at least in paragraph 52.
Re claim 12, 755 as modified above discloses a plurality of outboard motors. 903 may not specifically disclose that the motors are started individually however it’s old and well known in the art of vehicle engines to start them individually to decrease load on the batteries, such as in boats and in aircraft.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record show watercraft and control systems for motors.
TIMOTHY D. COLLINS
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3644
/TIMOTHY D COLLINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3644