DETAILED ACTION
EXAMINER’S COMMENTS
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdrawal of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/PatentForms. The form may be filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system using the document description Internet Communications Authorized to facilitate processing. If applicant authorizes Internet communications, USPTO employees may respond to email and initiate communications with applicants via email.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 15-16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites “each of the plurality of channels” it should be “each of the plurality of annular channels.”
Claim 15 recites “each of the plurality of channels” it should be “each of the plurality of annular channels.”
Claim 16 recites “wherein the entrances of the plurality of channels” it should be “wherein the entrances of the plurality of annular channels.”
Claim 16 recites “wherein the exits of the plurality of channels” it should be “wherein the exits of the plurality of annular channels.”
Claim 20 recites “the diaphragm” it should be “the dome diaphragm.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voishvillo US-PG-PUB No. 2015/0373445.
Regarding claim 1, Voishvillo teaches
A phasing plug (Fig. 1 shows a phasing plug 120) for a compression driver (Fig. 1 shows a compression driver 101), the phasing plug (i.e. phasing plug 120) comprising:
a body (i.e. phasing plug 120 has a body) including an inlet side (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120 has an inlet side) with a front surface (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120 has an inlet side) and an outlet side (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120 has an outlet side) with a rear surface (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120 has a rear surface) as shown in Fig. 1, the body (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120) disposed about a central axis as shown in Fig. 1; and
a plurality of channels (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of apertures or slots 123) formed through the body (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120) from the inlet side to the outlet side as shown in Fig. 1, each of the plurality of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) having an annular configuration with an entrance at the front surface as shown in Fig. 1, an exit at the rear surface as shown in Fig. 1, and a path length between the entrance and the exit as shown in Fig. 1. Voishvillo further teaches that the plurality of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) having equal path lengths such that acoustical signals traveling through the plurality of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) form a convex wavefront at the outlet side of the phasing plug (i.e. phasing plug 120) as shown in Fig. 1 and Para. [0025], Lines 6-10.
Voishvillo fails teach that the plurality of channels having unequal path lengths.
In a different embodiment, Voishvillo teaches a phasing plug 200 includes a plurality of channels 226 having unequal path lengths as shown in Fig. 2D and Para. [0032], Lines 1-4 and 10-15.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the embodiment of Voishvillo to include the plurality of channels having unequal path lengths, as taught by the different embodiment of Voishvillo. The advantage of such modification will allow the phasing plug improve acoustic loading and wave coherence while mitigating these unwanted resonance and distortion effects.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that one or more of the plurality of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) are circuitous and include a curved configuration between the entrance and the exit as shown in Fig. 1 (a phasing plug configured for use in a compression driver having a dome diaphragm includes a set of concentric circular slots through which acoustic waves travel from the compression chamber to the horn entrance….Para. [0003], Lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that each of the plurality of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123), a radial distance from the central axis varies from the entrance to the exit as shown in Fig. 1 (Phasing plug 120 is configured to mitigate several negative effects that may otherwise occur in compression chamber 122, such as variation in sound pressure in the compression chamber particularly along its radial dimension (e.g., perpendicular to central axis 124) for configurations in which diaphragm 112 includes a dome…..Para. [0026], Lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that the plurality of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) increase in path length from a first inner channel closest to the central axis to an outer channel farthest from the central axis (a horn driver, sound waves are directed to the horn through the acoustical channels of the phasing plug. The overall cross-sectional area of the channels gradually increases toward the exit of the phasing plug, finally matching the area of the horn's entrance (e.g., throat)…..Para. [0003], Lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that each of the plurality of channels is symmetric about the central axis (such that each portion 205 exhibits the same general meandering inner and/or outer perimeter, though the perimeter patterns scale down as top 202 is traversed radially inward toward innermost portion 216 (e.g., the lengths of segments 232 decrease for an aperture 226 that is closer to central axis 206 than for an aperture that is farther away from the central axis)….Para. [0033], Lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that the entrances of the plurality of channels form concentric circles about the central axis at the front surface, and the exits of the plurality of channels form concentric circles about the central axis at the rear surface as shown in Fig. 1 (a phasing plug configured for use in a compression driver having a dome diaphragm includes a set of concentric circular slots through which acoustic waves travel from the compression chamber to the horn entrance….Para. [0003], Lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that each of the plurality of channels, an area of the entrance is less than an area of the exit, such that a cross-sectional area of each channel increases from the entrance to the exit (The overall area of its acoustic entrance is significantly smaller than the area of a proximate diaphragm. This area gradually increases and matches the throat area of the waveguide or horn attached to the exit of the compression driver….Para. [0002], Lines 12-21).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that the front surface (i.e. front surface of the body of the phasing plug 120) is convex as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that the rear surface (i.e. rear surface of the body of the phasing plug 120) is generally flat as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that the body (i.e. phasing plug 120) includes a front portion including the front surface as shown in Fig. 1, an intermediate portion adjacent to the front portion as shown in Fig. 1, and a rear portion adjacent to the intermediate portion and including the rear surface as shown in Fig. 1, the front surface including a chamfer so as to overhang the intermediate portion as shown in Fig. 1, the intermediate portion having a diameter that decreases in a linear, conical manner from the front portion to the rear portion as shown in Fig. 1, and the rear portion being generally cylindrical as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 11, Voishvillo teaches
A compression driver (Fig. 1 shows a compression driver 101), comprising:
a motor assembly (Fig. 1 shows a motor is form by a voice coil 108, magnet 110, top plate 113, and/or pole piece-back plate assembly 115….Para. [0021], Lines 18-20) disposed about a central axis as shown in Fig. 1;
a diaphragm (Fig. 1 shows a diaphragm 112) operably connected to the motor assembly (i.e. motor….Para. [0021], Lines 18-20) along the central axis and having a concave side as shown in Fig. 1; and
a phasing plug (Fig. 1 shows a phasing plug 120) mounted to the motor assembly (i.e. motor….Para. [0021], Lines 18-20) along the central axis adjacent to the diaphragm (i.e. diaphragm 112) as shown in Fig. 1, the phasing plug (i.e. phasing plug 120) having a body (i.e. phasing plug 120 has a body) with an inlet side (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120 has an inlet side) having a convex front surface oriented toward the concave side of the diaphragm (i.e. diaphragm 112) and an outlet side (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120 has an outlet side) having a generally flat rear surface as shown in Fig. 1, the phasing plug (i.e. phasing plug 120) having a plurality of channels (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of apertures or slots 123) formed through the body (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120) from the inlet side to the outlet side through which acoustical signals generated by the diaphragm travel as shown in Fig. 1 and Para. [0015], Lines 1-10, each of the plurality of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) having an annular channels having an entrance at the front surface as shown in Fig. 1, an exit at the rear surface as shown in Fig. 1, and a path length between the entrance and the exit as shown in Fig. 1. Voishvillo further teaches that the plurality of annular channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) having equal path lengths such that acoustical signals traveling through the plurality of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) form a convex wavefront at the outlet side of the phasing plug (i.e. phasing plug 120) as shown in Fig. 1 and Para. [0025], Lines 6-10.
Voishvillo fails teach that the plurality of annular channels having unequal path lengths.
In a different embodiment, Voishvillo teaches a phasing plug 200 includes a plurality of channels 226 having unequal path lengths as shown in Fig. 2D and Para. [0032], Lines 1-4 and 10-15.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the embodiment of Voishvillo to include the plurality of channels having unequal path lengths, as taught by the different embodiment of Voishvillo. The advantage of such modification will allow the phasing plug improve acoustic loading and wave coherence while mitigating these unwanted resonance and distortion effects.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that one or more of the plurality of annular channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) are circuitous and include a curved configuration between the entrance and the exit as shown in Fig. 1 (a phasing plug configured for use in a compression driver having a dome diaphragm includes a set of concentric circular slots through which acoustic waves travel from the compression chamber to the horn entrance….Para. [0003], Lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that each of the plurality of annular channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123), a radial distance from the central axis varies from the entrance to the exit as shown in Fig. 1 (Phasing plug 120 is configured to mitigate several negative effects that may otherwise occur in compression chamber 122, such as variation in sound pressure in the compression chamber particularly along its radial dimension (e.g., perpendicular to central axis 124) for configurations in which diaphragm 112 includes a dome…..Para. [0026], Lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that the plurality annular of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) increase in path length from a first inner channel closest to the central axis to an outer channel farthest from the central axis (a horn driver, sound waves are directed to the horn through the acoustical channels of the phasing plug. The overall cross-sectional area of the channels gradually increases toward the exit of the phasing plug, finally matching the area of the horn's entrance (e.g., throat)…..Para. [0003], Lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that each of the plurality of channels is symmetric about the central axis (such that each portion 205 exhibits the same general meandering inner and/or outer perimeter, though the perimeter patterns scale down as top 202 is traversed radially inward toward innermost portion 216 (e.g., the lengths of segments 232 decrease for an aperture 226 that is closer to central axis 206 than for an aperture that is farther away from the central axis)….Para. [0033], Lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that the entrances of the plurality of channels form concentric circles about the central axis at the front surface, and the exits of the plurality of channels form concentric circles about the central axis at the rear surface as shown in Fig. 1 (a phasing plug configured for use in a compression driver having a dome diaphragm includes a set of concentric circular slots through which acoustic waves travel from the compression chamber to the horn entrance….Para. [0003], Lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that each of the plurality of channels, an area of the entrance is less than an area of the exit, such that a cross-sectional area of each channel increases from the entrance to the exit (The overall area of its acoustic entrance is significantly smaller than the area of a proximate diaphragm. This area gradually increases and matches the throat area of the waveguide or horn attached to the exit of the compression driver….Para. [0002], Lines 12-21).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that the motor assembly (i.e. motor….Para. [0021], Lines 18-20) includes an annular magnet (Fig. 1 shows a magnet 110) disposed between a top plate (Fig. 1 shows a top plate 113) as shown in Fig. 1, and a pole piece (Fig. 1 shows a pole piece-back plate assembly 115) positioned at a front side of the compression driver (i.e. compression driver 101) as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Fig. 1 of Voishvillo and Fig. 2 of Voishvillo teach all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Voishvillo teaches that the body (i.e. phasing plug 120) includes a front portion including the front surface as shown in Fig. 1, an intermediate portion adjacent to the front portion as shown in Fig. 1, and a rear portion adjacent to the intermediate portion and including the rear surface as shown in Fig. 1, the front surface including a chamfer so as to overhang the intermediate portion as shown in Fig. 1, the intermediate portion having a diameter that decreases in a linear, conical manner from the front portion to the rear portion as shown in Fig. 1, and the rear portion being generally cylindrical as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 20, Voishvillo teaches
A horn driver (Fig. 1 shows a horn driver 100), comprising:
a compression driver (Fig. 1 shows a compression driver 101) including
a motor assembly (Fig. 1 shows a motor is form by a voice coil 108, magnet 110, top plate 113, and/or pole piece-back plate assembly 115….Para. [0021], Lines 18-20) disposed about a central axis as shown in Fig. 1, a dome diaphragm (Fig. 1 shows a dome diaphragm 112…Para. [0026], Line 10) operably connected to the motor assembly (i.e. motor….Para. [0021], Lines 18-20) along the central axis and having a concave side as shown in Fig. 1, and
a phasing plug (Fig. 1 shows a phasing plug 120) mounted to the motor assembly (i.e. motor….Para. [0021], Lines 18-20) along the central axis adjacent to the diaphragm (i.e. dome diaphragm 112) as shown in Fig. 1, the phasing plug (i.e. phasing plug 120) having a body (i.e. phasing plug 120 has a body) with an inlet side (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120 has an inlet side) having a convex front surface oriented toward the concave side of the diaphragm (i.e. dome diaphragm 112) and an outlet side (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120 has an outlet side) having a generally flat rear surface as shown in Fig. 1, the phasing plug (i.e. phasing plug 120) having a plurality of annular channels (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of apertures or slots 123) formed through the body (i.e. body of the phasing plug 120) from the inlet side to the outlet side through which acoustical signals generated by the dome diaphragm travel as shown in Fig. 1 and Para. [0015], Lines 1-10, each of the plurality of annular channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) having an entrance at the front surface as shown in Fig. 1, an exit at the rear surface as shown in Fig. 1, and a path length between the entrance and the exit as shown in Fig. 1. Voishvillo further teaches that the plurality of annular channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) having equal path lengths such that acoustical signals traveling through the plurality of channels (i.e. plurality of apertures or slots 123) form a convex wavefront at the outlet side of the phasing plug (i.e. phasing plug 120) as shown in Fig. 1 and Para. [0025], Lines 6-10.
Voishvillo fails teach that the plurality of annular channels having unequal path lengths.
In a different embodiment, Voishvillo teaches a phasing plug 200 includes a plurality of channels 226 having unequal path lengths as shown in Fig. 2D and Para. [0032], Lines 1-4 and 10-15.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the embodiment of Voishvillo to include the plurality of channels having unequal path lengths, as taught by the different embodiment of Voishvillo. The advantage of such modification will allow the phasing plug improve acoustic loading and wave coherence while mitigating these unwanted resonance and distortion effects.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Casadei et al., US-PG-PUB No. 2021/0195319, Compression Driver, Fig. 1 shows an electro-acoustic transducer 1 comprises a compression driver 101 and a horn 2, the compression driver 101 has an acoustic equalizer 130.
Lewallen, US-PG-PUB No. 2008/0192972, Phasing Plug For Acoustic Compression Drivers, Fig. 6 shows a phasing plug for use in a compression driver is configured with a central sound absorbing region that absorbs phase-distorted sound waves produced by an adjacent region of a vibrating diaphragm.
Bie, US-PAT No. 5,117,462, Phasing Plug For Compression Driver, Fig. 1 shows a compression driver has a phasing plug with air passages coupling the compression region of the loudspeaker to the throat of the loudspeaker.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGELICA M MCKINNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-3321. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-3PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vivian Chin can be reached at 571-272-7848. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANGELICA M MCKINNEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694