DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that, according to the Filing receipt received 12/10/2024, that the instant application 18/962,371 filed 11/27/2024 is a continuation of 18/065,772 filed 12/14/2022, which claims domestic benefit of U.S. provisional applications 63/289,780 filed 12/15/2021 and 63/370,740 filed 08/08/2022. All of the instant claims have been awarded the effective filing date of 12/15/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 11/27/2024, 08/13/2025, and 06/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: "sufloxide" should read "sulfoxide". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “about 20% to about 30% of dimethyl sulfoxide”. The amounts “20%” and “30%” are not associated with any particular units (e.g., w/w or v/v) and are therefore unclear. Claims 3-10 require and do not clarify the limitation at issue and are also rejected. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osborne (US 2022/0031705 A1; filed July 27, 2021; IDS filed 11/27/2024).
Osborne teaches a formulation #11 that comprises 0.5% w/w SHR0302 and 30% w/w DMSO (p. 8, col. 1, par. 0083). Formulation #11 further comprises laureth-4 in an amount of 4.0% w/w (p. 8, col. 1, par. 0083). In paragraph [0045], Osborne discloses that SHR0302 is also known as ARQ-250 and has the following structure.
Osborne teaches that formulation #11 is a cream (p. 8, col. 1, par 0084).
The above applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osborne et al. (US 2022/0152033 A1; effectively filed 2020; IDS filed 11/27/2024).
Osborne et al. discloses a composition, which comprises 0.3% w/w SHR0302 and 30% w/w DMSO (p. 6, Table 1). Osborne et al. further discloses that the composition is a cream (p. 6, par. 0072).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osborne et al. (US 11628177 B2; effectively filed 2020; IDS filed 11/27/2024).
Osborne et al. discloses a composition, which comprises 0.3% w/w SHR0302 and 30% w/w DMSO (col. 14, Table 1). Osborne et al. further discloses that the composition is a cream (col. 14, lines 36-38).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osborne et al. (US 2023/0226083 A1; effectively filed 2020; IDS filed 11/27/2024).
Osborne et al. discloses a composition, which comprises 0.3% w/w SHR0302 and 30% w/w DMSO (p. 8, Table 1). Osborne et al. further discloses that the composition is a cream (p. 6, par. 0091).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osborne et al. (US 2023/0414511 A1; effectively filed 2020; IDS filed 11/27/2024).
Osborne et al. discloses a composition, which comprises 0.3% w/w SHR0302 and 30% w/w DMSO (p. 6, Table 1). Osborne et al. further discloses that the composition is a cream (p. 6, par. 0072).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osborne (US 2023/0338383 A1; effectively filed 2020; IDS filed 11/27/2024).
Osborne discloses a composition comprising 0.5% w/w SHR0302, 30% w/w DMSO, and 4.0% w/w laureth-4 (p. 8, Experimental Example 9, Formulation 11). Osborne further discloses that the composition is a cream (p. 9, par. 0085).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osborne (WO 2022/027041 A1; effectively filed 2020; IDS filed 11/27/2024).
Osborne discloses a composition comprising 0.5% w/w SHR0302, 30% w/w DMSO, and 4.0% w/w laureth-4 (p. 25, Experimental Example 9, Formulation 11). Osborne further discloses that the composition is a cream (p. 26, par. 0095).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Higham et al. (US 2022/0133728 A1; filed October 28, 2021; IDS filed 11/27/2024).
Higham et al. teaches a formulation (ARQ-252 0.3% Cream) comprising 30.0% w/w DMSO and 0.3% w/w SHR0302 (p. 6, col. 1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (EP 3714887 A1; 2020) in view of Herschler (US 3,711,602 A; IDS) and Kushwaha (Journal of Bioequivalence & Bioavailability; 2018).
Jiang et al. teaches a composition, Embodiment 2, comprising 2 g, or 2% w/w, of an active ingredient (3aR, 5s, 6aS)-N-(3-methoxy-1,2,4-thiadiazol-5-yl)-5-(methyl(7H-pyrrolo[2,3-d]pyrimidin-4-yl)amino) hexahydrocyclo-penta[c]pyrrole-2(1H)-carboxamide (p. 5, table 1, embodiment 2) with the following structure (p. 2 par 0005).
Jiang et al. further discloses that Embodiment 2 is stable under long-term conditions at 25⁰C ± 2⁰C at 6 months, 9 months, and 12 months (p. 8, pars 0038-0039, Table 5). As stated in the instant specification, paragraph [00055], controlled room temperature is defined as 20 to 25⁰C. Examiner additionally notes it would be reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that Embodiment 2 is also stable at 8 months. The disclosed compositions are described as ointments (p. 6, par. 0030) wherein Embodiment 2 further comprises water-miscible (i.e., hydrophilic) components PEG400 and PEG4000 (p. 5, table 1, embodiment 2).
Jiang et al. does not teach that the composition further comprises laureth-4, or that laureth-4 is present at an amount between about 0.5% w/w to about 5% w/w. Jiang et al. does not teach that the formulation comprises dimethyl sulfoxide in an amount of about 20% to about 30 or 20 to about 27% w/w. However, these limitations are obvious over Herschler and Kushwaha.
Herschler teaches compositions for topical application comprising at least 10% by weight DMSO in a preferred embodiment (col. 6, lines 8-9). Herschler further discloses that DMSO can be used to increase permeability of tissues, resulting in increased penetration rates when applied with physiologically active agents (col. 3, lines 15-19). Furthermore, the concentration of DMSO can be varied to account for desired results, such as a lower concentration of DMSO for a localized effect (col. 5, lines 41-46).
Kushwaha teaches a topical formulation comprising 5% w/w laureth-4 and that laureth-4 functions as a penetration enhancer (p. 50, col. 2, par. 3 and Table 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine DMSO with Embodiment 2 of Jiang et al. One would have been motivated to do so because Jiang et al. discloses that the motivation of the composition is to enhance penetration of the stratum corneum (p. 2, par 0006). There would have been reasonable expectation of success because DMSO can act as a penetration enhancer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of DMSO in the formulation to between about 20% w/w and about 30% w/w, and further to 20% to about 27% w/w. One would have been motivated to do so because the range of at least 10% by weight disclosed by Herschler overlaps with the range of the instant invention. Furthermore, the claimed ranges are greater than at least 10% by weight. There would have been reasonable expectation of success because Herschler further discloses that the amount of DMSO present in the formulation can be optimized for local topical application.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine laureth-4, in an amount of 5% w/w, with Embodiment 2 of Jiang et al. One would have been motivated to do so because Jiang et al. discloses that the motivation of the composition is to enhance penetration of the stratum corneum (p. 2, par 0006). There would have been reasonable expectation of success because laureth-4, at a concentration of 5% w/w, can act as a penetration enhancer in a topical formulation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11730740 (“the ‘740 patent”; IDS filed 11/27/2024).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed toward a topical pharmaceutical composition comprising SHR0302, laureth-4, and dimethyl sulfoxide (claims 1-4). Claim 6 is additionally directed toward compositions selected from an oil-in-water emulsion, a water-in-oil emulsion, a microemulsion, a nanoemulsion, a foam, a spray, a hydrophilic ointment, or a hydrophobic ointment. When looking to the specification to construe the scope of claim 1, Formulation 11 in column 15 specifically delineates a composition comprising 0.5% w/w SHR0302 and 30% w/w DMSO and 4.0% w/w laureth-4. Thus, the scope of the instant claims and those of the '740 patent overlap such that it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the instant invention.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12161643 (“the ‘643 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 9 of the ‘740 patent is directed toward a topical pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically effective amount of SHR0302 and about 25% w/w of dimethyl sulfoxide. Claim 10 limits the amount of SHR0302 to 0.1-1% w/w. Claims 11-12 further limit the composition to comprising laureth-4 in an amount of 0.5-5% w/w. Claim 13 is directed toward compositions selected from an oil-in-water emulsion, a water-in-oil emulsion, a microemulsion, a nanoemulsion, a foam, a spray, a hydrophilic ointment, or a hydrophobic ointment. Claim 14 is directed toward a topical pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically effective amount of SHR0302 and about 20-30% w/w of dimethyl sulfoxide, wherein the pharmaceutical composition inhibits crystal growth at controlled room temperature for 6 months. Claims 9-14 of the ‘740 patent therefore anticipate at least instant claims 1-3 and 6-8.
When looking to the specification to construe the scope of claims 9 and 14 of the ‘740 patent, column 15 (Table 1) discloses Formulation A comprising 0.3% w/w SHR0302 and 30% w/w dimethyl sulfoxide. Column 18 (Example 2) discloses Formulation C comprising 0.3% w/w SHR0302, 25% w/w dimethyl sulfoxide, and 4% laureth-4 which exhibited stability at room temperature for up to 12 months. Thus, the scope of the instant claims and those of the '643 patent overlap such that it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at claims 4-5 and 9-10 of the instant invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MADELINE E BRAUN/Examiner, Art Unit 1624 09/25/2026