DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuma et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2021/0020378).
With respect to claim 1, Fukuma discloses an electronic component (see abstract) comprising: an element body including a first main surface arranged to constitute a mounting surface, a second main surface opposing the first main surface, and an end surface coupling the first main surface and the second main surface (see FIG. 1, elements 110-116 and paragraphs [0025]-[0026]); a plurality of external electrodes disposed on the element body (see FIG. 1, elements 120 and 130 and paragraph [0024]); and a plurality of internal conductors disposed in the element body and including exposed ends exposed from the element body (see FIG. 2, elements 151/152 and see paragraph [0033]), wherein the first main surface is curved at an end coupled to the end surface (see paragraph [0033]), the plurality of external electrodes includes a first external electrode disposed on the first main surface and the end surface, the plurality of internal conductors includes a plurality of first internal conductors with the exposed ends connected to the first external electrode (see FIG. 2, elements 150 and 120, and paragraph [0032]), and a distance T1 (μm), a distance H1 (μm), and a curvature radius R1 (μm) satisfy relations of H1/2 > T1 and R1 > T1, the distance T1 being between an internal conductor, of the plurality of internal conductors, adjacent to the first main surface, and a plane in contact with the first main surface and parallel to the second main surface, in a direction perpendicular to the plane; the distance H1 being between an exposed end, of the exposed ends, connected to the first external electrode and closest to the plane, and the plane, in the direction perpendicular to the plane; and the curvature radius R1 being at the end included in the first main surface and coupled to the end surface (see paragraph [0035], noting that TE1 – corresponding to H1—is more than 1.5 times the thickness of TC1 – corresponding to T1, and paragraph [0034], wherein the curvature radius of ridge 117 corresponds to the dimension of TE1 and is between 5 and 25 µm).
With respect to claim 4, Fukuma discloses that the element body includes a side surface coupling the first main surface and the second main surface and adjacent to the end surface, the plurality of external electrodes includes a second external electrode disposed on the first main surface and the side surface, the plurality of internal conductors includes a plurality of second internal conductors with the exposed ends connected to the second external electrode, and the distance T1 (μm) and a distance H2 (μm) satisfy a relation of H2/2 > T1, the distance H2 being between an exposed end, of the exposed ends, connected to the second external electrode and closest to the plane, and the plane, in the direction perpendicular to the plane. See FIG. 2, elements 150 and 130, and paragraph [0037]; see also, paragraphs [0039] and [0040], noting that TE2 – corresponding to H2—is more than 1.5 times the thickness of TC2 – corresponding to T1.
With respect to claim 5, Fukuma discloses that . The electronic component according to claim 4, wherein the first main surface is curved at an end coupled to the side surface, and the distance T1 (μm) and a curvature radius R2 (μm) satisfy a relation of R2 > T1, the curvature radius R2 being at the end included in the first main surface and coupled to the side surface. See paragraph [0039], wherein the curvature radius of ridge 117 corresponds to the dimension of TE2 and is between 5 and 25 µm
With respect to claim 9, Fukuma discloses that the plurality of internal conductors oppose each other in a direction in which the first main surface and the second main surface oppose each other. See FIG. 2.
With respect to claim 10, Fukuma discloses an electronic component device comprising: the electronic component according to claim 1 (see the rejection above); and an electronic device in which the electronic component is solder-mounted, wherein the first main surface opposes the electronic device (see paragraph [0101]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claims 2 and 6, the prior art fails to teach the relationship recited therein With respect to claims 3 and 7, the prior art fails to teach the relationship between R1 and a curvature radius at the end. With respect to claim 8, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the recited value for T1 when taken in conjunction with the relationships recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Motomiya et al. (US 11,990,283), Yamane (US 2023/0245833), and Song et al. (US 2023/011761) each disclose structures similar to that recited in claim 1, but fails to teach or suggest the relationships recited therein.
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847