DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton (US-4815757), in view of, Robertson (US-11548658-B2).
Hamilton teaches:
In regards to claim 12, Hamilton teaches a surveillance platform configured for mounting in an interior cabin of a vehicle, the interior cabin of the vehicle having a roof with an opening, the surveillance platform comprising: (abstract; 10, 12, 22, 27-28 fig. 4, ‘opening’, ‘telescoping mast’, ‘fixed support’, ‘monitor’, ‘detecting device’; claim 26, ‘a vehicle having an interior space defined by a cab; an extendable mast carried within said vehicle cab adapted for supporting a detection device’)
(a) a retractable telescoping structure configured to receive surveillance equipment that is removably placed thereon, the retractable telescoping structure being configured to allow the retractable telescoping structure and the associated surveillance equipment to both fully retract into the interior cabin, and to allow the surveillance equipment to extend through the opening in the roof by an amount sufficient to allow the surveillance equipment to be fully external to the vehicle, the retractable telescoping structure including a top platform; and (abstract; 10, 12, 22, 27-28 fig. 4, ‘opening’, ‘telescoping mast’, ‘fixed support’, ‘monitor’, ‘detecting device’; claim 26, ‘a vehicle having an interior space defined by a cab; an extendable mast carried within said vehicle cab adapted for supporting a detection device’)
(b) a sealing device mounted to the retractable telescoping structure below the surveillance equipment, the sealing device being fastened to the top platform, the sealing device being an elastically deformable gasket having dimensions larger on all sides than the dimensions of the top platform and the opening in the roof, wherein edges of the elastically deformable gasket are configured to elastically deform during travel of the sealing device through the roof of the interior cabin when the surveillance equipment extends through the opening in the roof during extension of the retractable telescoping structure, and when the surveillance equipment retracts into the interior cabin during retraction of the retractable telescoping structure. (abstract; 10, 12, 22, 27-28 fig. 4, ‘opening’, ‘telescoping mast’, ‘fixed support’, ‘monitor’, ‘detecting device’; claim 26, ‘a vehicle having an interior space defined by a cab; an extendable mast carried within said vehicle cab adapted for supporting a detection device’)
Hamilton teaches the basic components of the invention as recited above, however, does not go into detail about a sealing device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Hamilton to provide a surveillance platform having a retractable telescoping structure in order to provide a device to with monitoring and surveillance capabilities.
Hamilton does not teach:
(b) a sealing device
Robertson teaches:
(b) a sealing device (abstract; 37-67 col 3 to 1-65 col. 4; 12, 14, 16, 18, 22, 24, 26, 28 fig(s)1-4, 9-10, ‘roof’, ‘opening’, ‘moonroof system’, ‘closure panel’, ‘unmanned vehicle (UAV), ‘pod assembly’, ‘headliner’, ‘opening’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Robertson to provide a seal for the surveillance platform having a retractable telescoping structure in order to prevent structural degradation of equipment of the electronic monitoring and surveillance device and external housing.
In regard to claim 13, Hamilton & Robertson teach a surveillance platform of claim 12 (see claim rejection 12) wherein the top platform of the retractable telescoping structure (Hamilton: abstract; 10, 12, 22, 27-28 fig. 4) is a drone launching and landing platform, and the surveillance equipment is a drone that releases from the drone launching and landing platform during launching of the drone and is received by the drone launching and landing platform during landing of the drone. (Robertson: abstract; 37-67 col 3 to 1-65 col. 4; 12, 14, 16, 18, 22, 24, 26, 28 fig(s)1-4, 9-10, ‘roof’, ‘opening’, ‘moonroof system’, ‘closure panel’, ‘unmanned vehicle (UAV), ‘pod assembly’, ‘headliner’, ‘opening’)
In regards to claim 14, Hamilton & Robertson teach a surveillance platform of claim 13 (see claim rejection 13) wherein the top platform includes a quick release mechanism configured to secure the drone to the retractable telescoping structure before and after a surveillance session by the drone, and to release the drone from the retractable telescoping structure during initiation of the surveillance session by the drone. (Robertson: 56, 67, fig. 7, finger release tabs’, base extension’, recessed compartment’)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 15-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The Examiner discovered that the telescoping features are available such as Trakka Inc. which provides the TRAKKA interceptor Protection system as disclosed in the Examiners search notes. Moreover, these systems are currently customized by using Ford vehicles as described in Patents US-20240227685-A1, US-20220177052-A1, and US-11548658-B2. The Examiner completed a PE2E-Search 10/25/2026, and reviewed the IDS submitted by the Applicant. The Examiner did not find the defined structure as recited by claim 15-17 for a surveillance platform with a retractable telescoping structure as recited by the claims below.
15. (New) The surveillance platform of claim 12 wherein a top surface of the elastically deformable gasket includes a heat source configured to inhibit buildup of snow or ice on the sealing device when power is applied to the heat source.
16. (New) The surveillance platform of claim 15 wherein the heat source is strips of heating elements.
17. (New) The surveillance platform of claim 12 wherein outer edges of the roof opening include magnetic material, and wherein a bottom surface of the elastically deformable gasket includes magnetic material placed around its outer edges so as to magnetically hold the sealing device against the magnetic material of the outer edges of the roof opening when the sealing device is extended through the opening in the roof during extension of the retractable telescoping structure and outer edges of a bottom surface of the sealing device are adjacent to a top surface of the roof of the vehicle.
Double Patenting
Claim 12, 14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10, 16-17 of U.S. Patent No.US-11529911. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application 17/371,894 recites the same language found in Patent 11,529,911 the slight difference is that claim 12 discloses a surveillance drone included with the surveillance platform. The independent claims 13, 15-17 concentrate on defining a surveillance equipment drone, an elastically deformable gasket, a heat source comprising strips, and a magnetic material included in a roof opening which is not the main focus of Patent US-11529911. (See claim comparison chart below.)
Application: 17/371,894
Patent: 11529911
12. A surveillance platform configured for mounting in an interior cabin of a vehicle, the interior cabin of the vehicle having a roof with an opening, the surveillance platform comprising:
(a) a retractable telescoping structure configured to receive surveillance equipment that is removably placed thereon, the retractable telescoping structure being configured to allow the retractable telescoping structure and the associated surveillance equipment to both fully retract into the interior cabin, and to allow the surveillance equipment to extend through the opening in the roof by an amount sufficient to allow the surveillance equipment to be fully external to the vehicle, the retractable telescoping structure including a top platform; and
(b) a sealing device mounted to the retractable telescoping structure below the surveillance equipment, the sealing device being fastened to the top platform, the sealing device being an elastically deformable gasket having dimensions larger on all sides than the dimensions of the top platform and the opening in the roof, wherein edges of the elastically deformable gasket are configured to elastically deform during travel of the sealing device through the roof of the interior cabin when the surveillance equipment extends through the opening in the roof during extension of the retractable telescoping structure, and when the surveillance equipment retracts into the interior cabin during retraction of the retractable telescoping structure.
10. A surveillance equipment platform configured for mounting in an interior cabin of a vehicle, the interior cabin of the vehicle having a roof with an opening, the surveillance equipment platform comprising:
(a) a retractable telescoping structure configured to receive surveillance equipment that is mounted thereon, the retractable telescoping structure being configured to allow the retractable telescoping structure and the associated surveillance equipment to both fully retract into the interior cabin, and to allow the surveillance equipment to extend through the opening in the roof by an amount sufficient to allow the surveillance equipment to be fully external to the vehicle, the retractable telescoping structure including a top platform that is oriented to be parallel to the roof of the interior cabin; and
(b) a sealing device mounted to the retractable telescoping structure below the surveillance equipment and oriented parallel to the roof of the interior cabin, the sealing device including:
(i) a rigid support plate fastened to the top platform, wherein the rigid support plate includes an upper surface that is configured to allow the surveillance equipment to be mounted thereto, and
(ii) an elastically deformable gasket fastened above and to the rigid support plate, the elastically deformable gasket having dimensions larger on all sides than the dimensions of the top platform, the rigid plate, and the opening in the roof, wherein edges of the elastically deformable gasket are configured to elastically deform during travel of the sealing device through the roof of the interior cabin when the surveillance equipment extends through the opening in the roof during extension of the retractable telescoping structure, and when the surveillance equipment retracts into the interior cabin during retraction of the retractable telescoping structure.
14. The surveillance platform of claim 13 wherein the top platform includes a quick release mechanism configured to secure the drone to the retractable telescoping structure before and after a surveillance session by the drone, and to release the drone from the retractable telescoping structure during initiation of the surveillance session by the drone.
17. The surveillance equipment platform of claim 16 wherein the surveillance equipment is connected to the surveillance equipment platform via a quick-release mechanism.
12. A surveillance platform configured for mounting in an interior cabin of a vehicle, the interior cabin of the vehicle having a roof with an opening, the surveillance platform comprising:
(a) a retractable telescoping structure configured to receive surveillance equipment that is removably placed thereon, the retractable telescoping structure being configured to allow the retractable telescoping structure and the associated surveillance equipment to both fully retract into the interior cabin, and to allow the surveillance equipment to extend through the opening in the roof by an amount sufficient to allow the surveillance equipment to be fully external to the vehicle, the retractable telescoping structure including a top platform; and
(b) a sealing device mounted to the retractable telescoping structure below the surveillance equipment, the sealing device being fastened to the top platform, the sealing device being an elastically deformable gasket having dimensions larger on all sides than the dimensions of the top platform and the opening in the roof, wherein edges of the elastically deformable gasket are configured to elastically deform during travel of the sealing device through the roof of the interior cabin when the surveillance equipment extends through the opening in the roof during extension of the retractable telescoping structure, and when the surveillance equipment retracts into the interior cabin during retraction of the retractable telescoping structure.
16. A surveillance equipment platform configured for mounting in an interior cabin of a vehicle, the interior cabin of the vehicle having a roof with an opening, the surveillance equipment platform comprising:
(a) a retractable telescoping structure configured to receive surveillance equipment that is mounted thereon, the retractable telescoping structure being configured to allow the retractable telescoping structure and the associated surveillance equipment to both fully retract into the interior cabin, and to allow the surveillance equipment to extend through the opening in the roof by an amount sufficient to allow the surveillance equipment to be fully external to the vehicle, the retractable telescoping structure including a top platform that is oriented to be parallel to the roof of the interior cabin; and
(b) a sealing device mounted to the retractable telescoping structure below the surveillance equipment and oriented parallel to the roof of the interior cabin, the sealing device being fastened to the top platform, the sealing device being an elastically deformable gasket having dimensions larger on all sides than the dimensions of the top platform and the opening in the roof, wherein edges of the elastically deformable gasket are configured to elastically deform during travel of the sealing device through the roof of the interior cabin when the surveillance equipment extends through the opening in the roof during extension of the retractable telescoping structure, and when the surveillance equipment retracts into the interior cabin during retraction of the retractable telescoping structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Gorney (US-9309686-B2), Wei (CN-105346473-A), Young (US-20190368216), Frederick (US-10668793-B2), and Wasson (US-12110702-B2), Jacobo (US-20240227685-A1), Price (US-11021215-B1) references further describe a surveillance platform having a retractable telescoping structure as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852