Claim Interpretation
1. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Sensing unit” first introduced in claim 1 line 3 and elsewhere in the claims. “Sensing” is functional language, and “unit” is a generic placeholder, and the claims lack sufficient structure to perform said function. Structure is found in [0051] as various light or temperature sensors and will be interpreted as such and equivalents.
“Suction unit” first introduced in claim 1 line 5 and elsewhere in the claims. “Suction” is functional language, and “unit” is a generic placeholder, and claims 1-5 lack sufficient structure to perform said function. Structure is found in [0091] of Applicant’s Specification as a suction port in a surface and will be interpreted as such and equivalents. Claim 6 adds that the suction unit has a “tape gripper”, however as described in [0092] of Applicant’s Specification and as seen in Figure 8, this structure does not cause suction and is therefore a different structure from the 112(f) interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boldrini et al. (US 5,328,114; hereafter Boldrini).
Regarding claim 1, Boldrini teaches of a tape removal apparatus (title) comprising a sensing unit (sensor- 15) that senses a tape (tape- 2) attached to a roll (reel-3) and a suction unit (roller- 4; noted as gripping by suction) that uses suction to remove the tape attached to the roll (col. 2 lines 59-68; see Figure 2).
The tape and electrode roll are materials/articles worked upon by an apparatus. MPEP 2115 teaches- “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). The combined references are capable of sensing tape that is attached to an electrode roll and removing the tape by suction, and thus the tape and electrode roll do not impart patentability to this claim.
Regarding claim 3, Boldrini further teaches of a rotary roll configured to rotate the roll (roller- 5; col. 2 lines 56-57). As noted in the rejection of claim 1, the sensing unit senses tape, and the suctioning unit provides suction. The tape being attached to the end of an electrode roll is a limitation directed to material/article worked upon by an apparatus and does not differentiate over the prior art of Boldrini, as explained in the rejection of claim 1. When the sensing unit and suction unit are activated are limitations that relate to a Manner of Operating a Device. MPEP 2114.II teaches- “"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)”. These claimed manners of operation do not add structural limitations to the claimed apparatus and therefore does not differentiate over the prior art of Boldrini.
Regarding claim 4, the tape is material/article worked upon, and therefore related limitations do not differentiate from the prior art of Boldrini as explained in the rejection of claim 1. As noted in the rejection of claim 1 the suction unit already separates tape from a roll, and would be capable of separating a non-adhesive portion of tape from an outer surface of an electrode roll.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boldrini in view of Sato et al. (US 2001/0035248; hereafter Sato).
Regarding claim 2, while Boldrini’s sensor is noted as an optical sensor (col. 2 lines 47-50), it is not clear if it senses a color. Sato teaches of a sensing unit that senses color (color sensor- 45; also noted as a tape detection sensor) configured to sense tape (tape- 8) attached to a roll (roll fiberboard- 4; [0096]). The advantage of Sato’s sensing unit is that it is a color sensor, and in combination with colored tape allows for easy tape detection ([0097]-[0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to use the sensing unit of Sato in the apparatus of Boldrini for the advantage of easy tape detection.
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boldrini.
Regarding claim 5, in applying Boldrini as in claim 1, an additional tape and corresponding suction unit would be a duplicate apparatus and would fall under “duplication of parts”. MPEP 2144.04.VI states- “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”. As a result, claim 5 does not further differentiate itself from the prior art of Boldrini. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to have an additional tape and corresponding suction unit for the advantage of being able to remove tape from multiple rolls at the same time.
6. Claims 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boldrini in view of Lee (KR 20170139831; pdf translation included with Office Action).
Regarding claim 6, Boldrini teaches of a tape removal apparatus (title) comprising a sensing unit (sensor- 15) that senses a tape (tape- 2) attached to a roll (reel-3) and a suction unit (roller- 4; noted as gripping by suction) that uses suction to remove the tape attached to the roll (col. 2 lines 59-68; see Figure 2).
Boldrini does not teach that the suction unit comprises a tape gripper. Lee teaches of a suction unit (arm- 10) capable of both sucking a tape (adhesive sheet- 50) and gripping a tape with a tape gripper (grip portion- 350; pg. 5 lines 13-29; both suction and gripping are show in the peeling process of Figures 2A-E). Lee teaches that the combination of suction and physical gripping is more stable in adsorbing than suction alone (pg. 9 lines 8-10; grip portion is part of the grip unit as per pg. 4 lines 15-16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to use the suction unit of Lee in the apparatus of Boldrini for the advantage of more stable adsorption.
The tape and electrode roll are materials/articles worked upon by an apparatus and do not impart patentability to this claim as explained in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Boldrini further teaches of a rotary roll configured to rotate the roll (roller- 5; col. 2 lines 56-57). As noted in the rejection of claim 1, the sensing unit senses tape, and the suctioning unit provides suction. The tape being attached to the end of an electrode roll is a limitation directed to material/article worked upon by an apparatus and does not differentiate over the prior art of Boldrini, as explained in the rejection of claim 1. When the sensing unit and suction unit are activated are limitations that relate to a Manner of Operating a Device, and does not differentiate over the prior art of Boldrini as explained in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, the tape is material/article worked upon, and therefore related limitations do not differentiate from the prior art of Boldrini as explained in the rejection of claim 1. As noted in the rejection of claim 6 the suction unit already separates tape from a roll, and would be capable of separating a non-adhesive portion of tape from an outer surface of an electrode roll.
Regarding claim 10, in applying Boldrini as in claim 6, an additional tape and corresponding suction unit would be a duplicate apparatus and would fall under “duplication of parts”. MPEP 2144.04.VI states- “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”. As a result, claim 5 does not further differentiate itself from the prior art of Boldrini. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to have an additional tape and corresponding suction unit for the advantage of being able to remove tape from multiple rolls at the same time.
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boldrini and Lee as applied to claim 6 above, and in further view of Sato.
Regarding claim 7, while Boldrini’s sensor is noted as an optical sensor (col. 2 lines 47-50), it is not clear if it senses a color. Sato teaches of a sensing unit that senses color (color sensor- 45; also noted as a tape detection sensor) configured to sense tape (tape- 8) attached to a roll (roll fiberboard- 4; [0096]). The advantage of Sato’s sensing unit is that it is a color sensor, and in combination with colored tape allows for easy tape detection ([0097]-[0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to use the sensing unit of Sato in the apparatus of Boldrini for the advantage of easy tape detection.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745