DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2025 and 03/18/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the submission of information disclosure statement is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (CN214600593U, hereinafter referred to as “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a mounting plate (Fig 1, plate 2) for hanging a fluid reservoir (Fig 1, cleaning tank 1, note in Fig 2 shows reservoir (1) hanging to plate (2), see also [0022] for details) relative to an endoscope cart (Fig 1, cleaning brush (3) is used for cleaning dirty endoscopy, see [0012] and [0024] for details, so conventional endoscope cart should be nearby the endoscope for cleaning), the mounting plate (2) comprising: a generally planar body portion (Fig 1) extending from a first end to a second end (Fig 1, from end near 9 to end labeled as 14); a first aperture (Figs 1-3, aperture through plate 2 for portion 10 to penetrate) extending through a thickness of the generally planar body portion (Figs 1 and 2); and a retention member (Fig 1, card plate 14) adjacent to the second end of the generally planar body portion (Fig 1, 14 at second end of plate 2); wherein the retention member (14) is configured to be coupled to a reservoir (1, see Fig 2).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses wherein the retention member is releasably coupled to the generally planar body portion (Fig 2, see [0022] for details).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses wherein the retention member is formed as a single monolithic structure with the generally planar body portion (Fig 1, card plate 14 is monolithic with plate 2).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao discloses wherein the retention member is formed as a single monolithic structure with the second generally planar body portion (Fig 1, card plate 14 is monolithic with plate 2, which can be interpreted as be either first or second planar body portion).
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohashi (US 20190021948A1, hereinafter referred to as “Ohashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Ohashi discloses a mounting plate (Figs 3 and 4, base plate 98) for hanging a fluid reservoir (Figs 3 and 4, bags 16; alternatively. bag 87) relative to an endoscope cart (Fig 1, medical cart, equivalent to endoscope cart), the mounting plate (98) comprising: a generally planar body portion extending from a first end to a second end (Fig 4); a first aperture extending through a thickness of the generally planar body portion (Fig 4, hole 104, or alternatively, two holes which are above hook 108); and a retention member (Fig 3, hook 90) adjacent to the second end of the generally planar body portion (Fig 4, hook 90 adjacent top end with hole 104); wherein the retention member (90) is configured to be coupled to a reservoir (Fig 3, hook 90 is configured to be coupled to bags 16 by means by hooking through hole 104 of plate 98).
Regarding claim 2, Ohashi discloses wherein the retention member is releasably coupled to the generally planar body portion (Figs 3 and 4, hook 90 is releasably coupled to plate 98).
Regarding claim 4, Ohashi discloses further comprising a second aperture extending through the thickness of the generally planar body portion (Fig 4, two holes above hook 108 or hole 104).
Regarding claim 5, Ohashi discloses wherein the second aperture is adjacent to the second end of the generally planar body portion (Fig 4, two holes above hook 108 or hole 104).
Regarding claim 6, Ohashi discloses wherein the retention member passes through the second aperture (Fig 3, hook 90 pass through hole 104).
Regarding claim 7, Ohashi discloses wherein a length of the first aperture is adjustable (Fig 4, note: based on the number of tubes extending through aperture at above hook 108, length of aperture would change, thus without any tubes, aperture is at full length, while the more tubes are inserted through, the less is the aperture length).
Regarding claim 8, Ohashi discloses wherein the generally planar body portion comprises a first body portion and a second body portion, the second body portion movably secured to the first body portion (Fig 4, cover 100 can be considered one body portion, while plate 98 can be the other body portion, and 100 and 98 are movably secured going from Fig 3 to Fig 4).
Regarding claim 9, Ohashi discloses wherein the first body portion and second body portion each comprise a first leg, a second leg spaced from and extending generally parallel to the first leg and a bridge (Fig 4, cover has two wider sections at each end to be considered a leg, and a narrower bridge middle section, while plate 98 has two hooks 108 which can be legs, and bridge can be middle part between two 108).
Regarding claim 13, Ohashi discloses wherein the retention member comprises a hook (Fig 3, hook 90).
Regarding claim 14, Ohashi discloses a mounting plate (Figs 3 and 4, base plate 98) for hanging a fluid reservoir (Figs 3 and 4, bags 16; alternatively bag 87 ) relative to an endoscope cart (Fig 1, a medical cart is shown), the mounting plate comprising: a generally planar body portion extending from a first end to a second end (Fig 4); and a retention member (Fig 3, hook 90) adjacent to the second end of the generally planar body portion (Fig 4, hook 90 adjacent top end with hole 104); wherein the retention member is configured to be coupled to a reservoir (Fig 3, hook 90 is configured to be coupled to bag 16 by means by hooking through hole 104 of plate 98).
Regarding claim 15, Ohashi discloses wherein the retention member extends through an aperture in the generally planar body portion (Fig 3, hook 90 pass through hole 104 in the base plate 98).
Regarding claim 16, Ohashi discloses a mounting plate (Figs 3 and 4, base plate 98) for hanging a fluid reservoir (Figs 3 and 4, bags 16; alternatively bag 87) relative to an endoscope cart (Fig 1, a medical cart is shown), the mounting plate (98) comprising: a first generally planar body portion extending from a first end to a second end; a second generally planar body portion extending from a first end to a second end (Fig 4, cover 100 can be considered one planar body portion, while plate 98 can be the other planar body portion, both with two ends), a length of the second generally planar body portion extending generally orthogonal to a width of the first generally planar body portion (Figs 3 and 4, base plate 98 is substantially rectangular in shape, and length of cover 100 (second planer body portion) extending horizontally is orthogonal or perpendicular to width of the main body 94 or plate 98 (first planar body portion) extending vertically, see Fig 4); and a retention member (Fig 3, hook 90) adjacent to the second end of the generally planar body portion (Fig 4, hook 90 adjacent top end with hole 104); wherein the retention member (90) is configured to be coupled to a reservoir (Fig 3, hook 90 is configured to be coupled to bags 16 by means by hooking through hole 104 of plate 98).
Regarding claim 17, Ohashi discloses wherein the retention member is releasably coupled to the second generally planar body portion (Figs 3 and 4, hook 90 is releasably coupled to cover 100).
Regarding claim 19, Ohashi discloses further comprising an aperture extending through a thickness of the second generally planar body portion adjacent a second end thereof (Fig 3, cover 100 has a recessed middle part shaped as an aperture).
Regarding claim 20, Ohashi discloses wherein the retention member passes through the aperture (Fig 4, 90 pass through aperture of cover 100).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonsalves (US 10052434B2, hereinafter referred to as “Gonsalves”).
Regarding claim 1, Gonsalves discloses a mounting plate (Fig 16, metal plate at 8 from IV pole) for hanging a fluid reservoir (Fig 16, fluid bag shown) relative to an endoscope cart, the mounting plate (8) comprising: a generally planar body portion extending from a first end to a second end (Figs 16 and 17); a first aperture extending through a thickness of the generally planar body portion; and a retention member adjacent to the second end of the generally planar body portion; wherein the retention member (Figs 16 and 17, hook) is configured to be coupled to a reservoir (Figs 16 and 17).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (US 20240148241A1, hereinafter referred to as “Ikeda”).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses a mounting plate (Fig 1, holding portion 3) for hanging a fluid reservoir (Fig 1, storage bag B1) relative to an endoscope cart (Fig 1, endoscope cleaning cart 100), the mounting plate (3) comprising: a generally planar body portion (Fig 6) extending from a first end to a second end (Fig 6, left end to right end); a first aperture extending through a thickness of the generally planar body portion (Fig 6, hanger portion 31); and a retention member (Fig 1, insertion unit Z1) adjacent to the second end (left end) of the generally planar body portion (Fig 1); wherein the retention member (Z1) is configured to be coupled to a reservoir (Fig 1, Z1 tube end is coupled to storage bag B1).
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda discloses wherein the retention member is releasably coupled to the generally planar body portion (Fig 1, insertion unit Z1 is releasably coupled to plate 3).
Regarding claim 4, Ikeda discloses further comprising a second aperture extending through the thickness of the generally planar body portion (Fig 6, six hanger portions 31 through entire thickness of plate 3).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda discloses wherein the second aperture is adjacent to the second end of the generally planar body portion (Fig 6, one hanger portion 31 is adjacent to right end of plate 3).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda discloses wherein the retention member passes through the second aperture (Fig 1, operation unit Z2 pass through another aperture (31)).
Regarding claim 7, Ikeda discloses wherein a length of the first aperture is adjustable (Figs 4 and 6, length of hanger portion 31 is adjustable by choosing from different sizes).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of cited prior art including Zhao, Ohashi, Gonsalves, and Ikeda, singularly or in any combination thereof, disclose or teach a free end of first leg of the first body portion overlaps a free end of the first leg of the second body portion and a free end of the second leg of the first body portion overlaps a free end of the second leg of the second body portion as claimed in claim 10, adjustment mechanism configured to adjust a length of the first aperture as claimed in claim 11, and adjustment mechanism comprises a rack and a pawl as claimed in claim 12.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Staley (US 20190374705A1) disclose a medical feeding assembly with a bag and hook. Shah (US 20200405955A1) discloses a hanger system for detection of endoscope to a fluid management system. Hamano (US 5415287) disclose an endoscope holding and storage apparatus. Norman (US 10188477B1) discloses a medical cart with an IV pole with hook hangers. Awadu (US 11382495B2) discloses endoscope hanger and holder with apertures. Takase (US 20020123663A1) disclose endoscope holding apparatus.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DING Y TAN whose telephone number is (303)297-4271. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 8:00am MT--5:00pm MT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/DING Y TAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 /TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632