DETAILED ACTION
The papers submitted on 13 July 2026, amending claims 6-12, are acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 6-12, in the reply filed on 13 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13 July 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “comprised of plurality lights…” which is grammatically incorrected and could be rewritten as “comprised of a plurality of lights…” or “comprised of plural[[ity]] lights…”
Claim 6 recites “and barrier disposed…” which is grammatically incorrected and could be rewritten as “and a barrier disposed…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “spaced a sufficient distance” in the claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sufficient distance” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore it is unclear what spacing is required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aw et al. (US 2017/0210064 A1) in view of Blessing (US 8,840,235 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Aw discloses an extrusion-based 3D printer (FIG. 1-2; title/abstract) comprising:
peristaltic pumps 5a, 5b connected to a nozzle 17 and a resin reservoir 2/3 (FIG. 1-2; ¶¶ 113+);
said nozzle 17 connected to a dispensing head(s) 4 configured for controlled movement, equated with the claimed printing arm (¶¶ 113+; FIG. 1-2);
said pump is capable of drawing s resin from said resin reservoir and delivers resin to said nozzle (¶¶ 113+);
radiation source(s) 9, equated with the claimed curing source, said curing source comprised of plurality lights surrounding said nozzle; said lights spaced a sufficient distance from said nozzle to prevent light from reaching said nozzle (¶¶ 153, 156).
Aw does not appear to expressly disclose a barrier disposed between said lights and said nozzle, said barrier blocks light from reach said nozzle.
However, Blessing discloses a print head (title/abstract) which includes:
a nozzle 10 (FIG. 1; 8:8+);
a curing source 5, said curing source comprised of a plurality of lights surrounding said nozzle, such as two UV-LED's 5' or ring-like UV-LED 5' (FIG. 2-4A, 7; 8:30-9:67, 11:1-12) said lights spaced a sufficient distance from said nozzle to prevent light from reaching said nozzle (FIG. 2, 4; 8:30-9:67);
and a barrier 8 disposed between said lights and said nozzle, said barrier blocks light from reaching said nozzle (FIG. 2, 4; 8:30-9:67).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Aw to include the barrier of Blessing, in order to prevent curing of the print material in or on the nozzle tip and clogging it.
Regarding claim 7, Blessing discloses the barrier is a circular trench (FIG. 4; 9:40-67).
Claim 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aw et al. (US 2017/0210064 A1) in view of Blessing (US 8,840,235 B2) as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Ando et al. (US 10,112,406 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Aw discloses peristaltic pumps.
Aw does not appear to expressly disclose gear pumps.
However, Ando discloses a similar printer (title/abstract) which includes a gear pump for moving liquid printing materials (3:4+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the peristaltic pumps of Aw with gear pump of Ando, because such pumps are known in similar arts and could be substitute with expected results.
Regarding claim 9, Aw discloses a stepper motor for controlling the pump (¶¶ 42, 72, 94).
Claim 10-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aw et al. (US 2017/0210064 A1) in view of Blessing (US 8,840,235 B2) and Ando et al. (US 10,112,406 B2) as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of Gillespie (US 3,621,892 A).
Regarding claim 10, Aw does not appear to expressly disclose a vacuum for removing bubbles from the print material.
However, Gillespie discloses a device for resin dispensing (title/abstract) which includes a vacuum degassing device (abstract; 2:12+, 2:40+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Aw to include the vacuum degasser of Gillespie, in order to reduce bubbles and improve print performance.
Regarding claim 11, Aw discloses the tubing is opaque to shield from UV light (¶ 156).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aw et al. (US 2017/0210064 A1) in view of Blessing (US 8,840,235 B2), Ando et al. (US 10,112,406 B2), and Gillespie (US 3,621,892 A) as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Imai (JP 2015-100945 A, citations based on FIT translation submitted herewith)
Aw does not appear to expressly disclose reflective surfaces in the trench.
However, Imai discloses a similar nozzle for discharging and curing UV print materials (title/abstract) which includes a light shielding member 13 with a reflecting member 14 (FIG. 3, p. 3).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Aw to include the reflective surfaces of Imai, in order to better guide the curing light away from the nozzle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
IKEDA; Masashi et al.
US 20160193848 A1
Derian; Gary A. et al.
US 5509954 A
Wouters; Paul et al.
US 8157365 B2
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742