DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/19/2026. These drawings are acceptable and have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heath et al. (US 10292369) in view of Bai et al. (US 8634635) and Tecott et al. (US 7086350).
Regarding claim 8, Heath et al. discloses an animal caging system (Fig. 4) comprising: an animal cage (110) comprising a cage top (140) and a cage bottom (140), the cage bottom includes a floor (Fig. 4), one or more cameras (250) positioned only in a single observation area positioned above the cage top (Fig. 4, within the single observation area housing (120)), a portion of the cage top is transparent (col. 7, lines 34-36 discloses the transparency of the top), wherein a line of sight is present from the single observation area (within housing (120)) above the cage top along one or more sight lines to the cage bottom (Fig. 4, col. 6, 21-28, “line-of-sight… into living space 145”); wherein the one or more cameras (250) observe an interior of the cage (Fig. 4, col. 6, lines 21-28, “line-of-sight… into living space 145”).
Heath et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a feeder positioned adjacent to an end wall of the animal cage, the single observation area is separate and detached from the cage top, a complete line of sight is present from the single observation area above the cage top along one or more sight lines to the cage bottom; wherein the one or more cameras observe an entire portion of the floor of the cage bottom and an interior of the cage, and wherein the feeder being positioned outside of the one or more sight lines.
Bai et al., like Heath et al., teaches an animal caging system (Fig. 1), and further teaches wherein a feeder ((1301) having two baskets (1305)) is positioned adjacent to an end wall of the animal cage (Figs. 1 and 13A, col. 6, lines 6-11, along perimeter, therefore adjacent to an end wall), a complete line of sight is present from the single observation area above the cage top along one or more sight lines to the cage bottom (col. 6, lines 31-35, “unobstructed top view of the entire floor”); and wherein the one or more cameras (1311) observe an entire portion of a floor of the cage bottom and an interior of the cage (Fig. 13A, col. 6, lines 31-35, “unobstructed top view of the entire floor”, interior of cage is also unobstructed based on Fig. 13A image), and a feeder ((1301) having two baskets (1305)) positioned adjacent to an end wall of the animal cage (col. 6, lines 6-11, along perimeter, therefore adjacent to an end wall), the feeder being positioned outside of the one or more sight lines (col. 6, lines 8-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Heath et al. to provide a complete line-of-sight to observe an entire portion of the floor with a feeder outside of the sight lines as taught by Bai et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a more complete analysis of the movement of the animals within the cage.
Tecott et al., like Heath et al., teaches an animal caging system (Fig. 1), and further teaches wherein the single observation area (28) is separate and detached from the cage top (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the animal caging system of Heath et al. modified by Bai et al. to detach and separate the single observation area as taught by Tecott et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide increased ease in the removal of the cage top when necessary for cleaning, removing animal, etc.
Regarding claim 9, Heath et al. as modified by Bai et al. and Tecott et al. teaches the system of claim 8, and teaches (references to Bai et al.) wherein the feeder (1301) includes a water tray system ((1313) is a water bottle slot for providing water, i.e. a water tray system).
Regarding claim 10, Heath et al. as modified by Bai et al. and Tecott et al. teaches the system of claim 9, and teaches (references to Bai et al.) wherein the water tray system includes a nozzle (col. 6, lines 16-18, for broadest reasonable interpretation, a spout is an equivalent of a nozzle).
Regarding claim 11, Heath et al. as modified by Bai et al. and Tecott et al. teaches the system of claim 8, and teaches (references to Bai et al.) wherein said feeder includes one or more baffles positioned within said feeder (Fig. 13A, col. 6, lines 14-16), wherein the one or more baffles baffle supply air through the feeder from a top portion of the feeder to the cage bottom.
The embodiment shown in Fig. 13A does not show wherein the one or more baffles baffle supply air through the feeder from a top portion of the feeder to a bottom of the animal cage. However, as expressed in col. 6, lines 22-25, the feeder can provide supply air through the feeder, and the bars/mesh act like baffles in this embodiment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Heath et al. as modified by Bai et al. and Tecott et al. to include one or more baffles to the feeder as taught by Bai et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to supply air movement within the cage interior while in use.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heath et al. (US 10292369) in view of Bai et al. (US 8634635) and Tecott et al. (US 7086350) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Coiro, Sr. et al. (US 5894816, hereinafter “Coiro”).
Regarding claim 12, Heath et al. as modified by Bai et al. and Tecott et al. teaches the system of claim 8, and teaches (references to Heath et al.) wherein said cage top (140) includes one or more walls extending from a ceiling (Fig. 1B shows walls extending from the ceiling of the cage top) and said cage bottom includes one or more walls extending from the floor (Fig. 4 shows walls extending up from the floor of the cage).
Heath et al. as modified by Bai et al. and Tecott et al. is silent as to wherein at least one of the walls extending from the ceiling and/or at least one of the walls extending from the floor have a material thickness between about 0.005 to about 0.125 inches.
Coiro, like Heath et al., teaches an animal caging system for observation, and further teaches wherein sidewalls have a material thickness between about 0.005 to about 0.125 inches (col. 3, lines 50-52 teaches a thickness of about 0.094 inches which is within the range of the claim. Please note the term “about” is being understood to mean within mechanical tolerances).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Heath et al. as modified by Bai et al. and Tecott et al. to provide a material thickness between about 0.005 to about 0.125 inches as taught by Coiro, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a thickness with enough strength to hold the cage together, but also thin enough to be able to see through with transparency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, Applicant argued that Bai et al. does not teach an unobstructed view only from the observation area above the cage. Additionally, applicant argued that requiring the side camera of Bai et al. would be disadvantageous since it would interfere with an animal cage rack system. Therefore, Applicant argued that it would not be obvious to combine the prior art references for a rejection.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to Bai et al., col. 6, lines 31-35 explicitly teach that the top view alone can achieve an unobstructed view of the entire floor. Further, the limitation of having a single observation area is covered by the primary reference of Heath et al. Therefore, the prior art reads on this limitation. With respect to the animal cage rack system, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., animal cage rack system) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
All arguments with respect to the area being separate and detached are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on another prior art reference for this specific limitation. Therefore, the prior art reads on the claims, and they are rejected as noted above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Semenuk et al. (US 5996535), Scofield (US 5483441), Ohl (US 2004/0020443), Karlsson (US 12041911), Gabriel et al. (EP 1461997), Arias et al. (EP 4516094), and Betts-Lacroix et al. (US 2018/0146644) teach systems to track organisms through visuals from an observation area positioned above a cage top.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643