DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION CONCERNING RESPONSES
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on June 12, 2026, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on March 27, 2026. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last Office Action, claims 16 and 27-28 have been amended. Claims 25 have been cancelled. As a result, claims 16-24 and 26-33 are now pending in this application.
The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn due to the amendment filed June 12, 2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 12, 2026, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on March 27, 2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Hence, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further review a new ground of rejection has been made in view of Chang et al. (Publication Number US 2025/0047521 A1).
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 16-17, 21-29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Muth (Publication Number US 2021/0224079 A1) in view of Chang et al. (Publication Number US 2025/0047521 A1).
As per claim 16, Muth discloses “A Controller Area Network, CAN, transceiver, comprising: a transmit data, TXD, interface, a receive data, RXD, interface, a bus interface for coupling to a CAN bus, a receiver unit, a transmitter unit (the CAN transceiver 108 comprises a transmitter unit 110 and a receiver unit 112. The transmitter unit 110 has an input coupled to the transmit input 118 of the CAN transceiver 108 and outputs connected to the CAN bus terminal 122 of the CAN transceiver 108; Paragraph 0052), and a wake-up unit, wherein the bus interface is configured to receive a bus signal, from the CAN bus via the bus interface (providing a wake-up indication to the CAN controller based on the signal matching a predetermined pattern of one or more periods in which the signal is less than or equal to the negative threshold level; Paragraphs 0031-0034), wherein the bus signal is a differential voltage signal (the CAN bus 104 comprises two signal lines for communicating a differential signal between the plurality of CAN devices 102a-d; Paragraph 0049), wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect, based on the bus signal, a silent section of the bus signal representing one or both of an end-of-frame, EOF, field of a first CAN frame and an inter-mission-space, ITM, following to the EOF field, wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect, in the silent section of the bus signal, at least one wake-up pulse having a differential bus voltage that is less than a first predefined negative threshold voltage (the new physical bus levels (negative differential) introduced by the CAN XL Physical Layer may be used for wake-up management, besides other features. A negative CAN bus level, known as “level1” in CAN XL terminology, may be combined with a period, or in effect signal pattern, as a global wake-up trigger in the CAN XL bus system. Normal CAN or CAN FD traffic does not trigger the wake-up because these protocols and physical layers do not use negative differential voltage bus levels; Paragraph 0070).”
Muth discloses “wherein the wake-up unit is configured to cause a wake-up signal representing a wake-up instruction to be sent via an interface of the transceiver in response to the at least one detected wake-up pulse (see the exceptional signal providing the wake-up notification that may be positioned within a CAN XL frame in the ‘End of Frame’ CAN phase; Paragraph 0079).”
While Muth discloses “and wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect a first section of the bus signal representing at least one of a Start-of-frame field, SOF, an arbitration field, or a control field of the first CAN frame (an example is the CAN XL exceptional symbol; FIG. 7),” Muth does not disclose “wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect a reference pattern, being represented by the first section of the bus signal, and wherein the wake-up unit is configured to cause the wake-up signal to be sent only in response to detection of both the reference pattern and the at least one detected wake-up pulse.”
Chang et al. discloses “wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect a reference pattern, being represented by the first section of the bus signal, and wherein the wake-up unit is configured to cause the wake-up signal to be sent only in response to detection of both the reference pattern and the at least one detected wake-up pulse (data frame 202 recognition may be achieved by the CAN transceiver of the ECUs 104 and/or the central gateway 110 (for the purpose of examination the focus is on the central gateway 110 that receives the active frame 202 over CAN bus 106A in [FIG. 2A] and then sends a WUP 204 over a second CAN bus 106B in [FIG. 2B]), by sensing a particular predefined CAN bus signal logic transition patterns of the WUP 204, where a sleeping ECU does not require a full CAN frame to wake [Paragraphs 0032-0033]. Note the wording of the claims could be interpreted as the wake-up pulse corresponding to the reference pattern as opposed to the reference pattern and wake-up pulse being two separate entities).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Muth with elements of Chang et al. to help reduce electric system startup time [Paragraph 0001].
As per claim 17, Muth discloses “The CAN transceiver of claim 16 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above), wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect, based on the bus signal, a trigger pulse having a differential bus voltage that is greater than a positive, predefined second threshold voltage (whether the differential signal on the CAN bus V.sub.CAN is greater than or equal to the third threshold level (input=0?); Paragraph 0105), wherein the wake-up unit is configured to wait for a predefined waiting time, that follows the trigger pulse (a period of time such as the first period (time_1); Paragraph 0105), wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect, based on the bus signal, a base section of the bus signal (testing the condition compared to a threshold; Paragraphs 0104-0105), wherein the base section having a differential bus voltage between the first threshold voltage and the second threshold voltage during a predefined base time following the waiting time (example is the state machine tests the condition 1008 whether the differential signal on the CAN bus V.sub.CAN is greater than or equal to the third threshold level (input=0?) and continues the measurement 1006 of the first period (time_1); Paragraph 0105), wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect, based on the bus signal, an observation section of the bus signal, wherein the observation section has a differential bus voltage that is less than the second threshold voltage during a predefined observation time following the base time (at time_0; Paragraph 0105), wherein the observation section forms at least a part of the silent section (input=0; Paragraph 0105), and wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect, in the observation section of the bus signal, at least one wake-up pulse having a differential bus voltage that is less than the first threshold voltage (where the threshold level is met; Paragraph 0105).”
As per claims 21 and 33, Muth discloses “The CAN transceiver of claim 16 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above), wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect, in the silent section, a predefined wake-up pattern comprising a plurality of wake-up pulses each having a differential bus voltage that is less than the first predefined negative threshold voltage, and wherein the wake-up unit is configured to cause the wake-up signal representing a wake-up instruction to be sent in response to the detected wake-up pattern (FIG. 2, 9, and 10).”
As per claim 22, Muth discloses “The CAN transceiver of claim 16 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above), wherein the wake-up unit is coupled to the receiver unit, the RXD interface or both to cause the sending of the wake-up signal (FIG. 3).”
As per claim 23, Muth discloses “The CAN transceiver of claim 16 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above), wherein one or both of the CAN transceiver and the receiver unit are configured to treat a wake-up pulse as a recessive bit (FIG. 2, 9, and 10).”
As per claim 24, Muth discloses “The CAN transceiver of claim 16 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above), wherein wake-up unit is configured to control the receiver unit such that the receiver unit generates a signal at the RXD interface representing a recessive bit based on the wake-up pulse (FIG. 2, 9, and 10).”
As per claim 26, Muth discloses “The CAN transceiver of claim 16 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above), wherein the CAN transceiver, in response to being activated, is configured to receive, via an interface of the transceiver other than the bus interface, a control instruction to send out a wake-up pattern, wherein the CAN transceiver is configured to receive a second CAN frame, via the TXD interface, and wherein the CAN transceiver is configured to transmit an output signal via the bus interface, such that the output signal represents the second CAN frame modified to include at least one wake-up pulse in an instruction section of the output signal representing the EOF, the ITM, or both of the CAN frame, wherein the at least one wake- up pulse has a differential bus voltage less than the first threshold voltage (where the threshold level is met [Paragraph 0105]. See also [Abstract, lines 4-8]).”
As per claim 27, Muth discloses “A CAN device comprising: the CAN transceiver of claim 16 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above), and a CAN controller, wherein the CAN controller is coupled to the TXD interface of the CAN transceiver and the RXD interface of the CAN transceiver (the CAN transceiver 108 comprises a transmitter unit 110 and a receiver unit 112. The transmitter unit 110 has an input coupled to the transmit input 118 of the CAN transceiver 108 and outputs connected to the CAN bus terminal 122 of the CAN transceiver 108; Paragraph 0052), wherein the wake-up unit of the CAN transceiver is configured, in response to the detected wake-up pulse or the detected wake-up pattern, to cause the wake-up signal to be sent to the CAN controller via the RXD interface or another interface of the CAN transceiver, and wherein the CAN controller is configured to change from an inactive state to an operating state in response to the received wake-up signal (Abstract, lines 4-8).”
As per claim 28, Muth discloses “A method for a CAN transceiver comprising a transmit data, TXD, interface, a receive data, RXD, interface, a bus interface for coupling to a CAN bus, a receiver unit, a transmitter unit, and a wake-up unit (the CAN transceiver 108 comprises a transmitter unit 110 and a receiver unit 112. The transmitter unit 110 has an input coupled to the transmit input 118 of the CAN transceiver 108 and outputs connected to the CAN bus terminal 122 of the CAN transceiver 108; Paragraph 0052), wherein the method comprises the steps of: receiving a bus signal at the bus interface, wherein the bus signal is a differential voltage signal (the CAN bus 104 comprises two signal lines for communicating a differential signal between the plurality of CAN devices 102a-d; Paragraph 0049).” Muth discloses “detecting, by the wake-up unit, a silent section of the bus signal representing an end-of-frame, EOF, field of a CAN frame, an inter-mission-space, ITM, following to the EOF field, or both, based on the bus signal (the new physical bus levels (negative differential) introduced by the CAN XL Physical Layer may be used for wake-up management, besides other features. A negative CAN bus level, known as “level1” in CAN XL terminology, may be combined with a period, or in effect signal pattern, as a global wake-up trigger in the CAN XL bus system. Normal CAN or CAN FD traffic does not trigger the wake-up because these protocols and physical layers do not use negative differential voltage bus levels; Paragraph 0070).” Muth discloses “detecting, by the wake-up unit, at least one wake-up pulse in the silent section of the bus signal, the at least one wake-up pulse having a differential bus voltage that is less than a predefined negative first threshold voltage (the new physical bus levels (negative differential) introduced by the CAN XL Physical Layer may be used for wake-up management, besides other features. A negative CAN bus level, known as “level1” in CAN XL terminology, may be combined with a period, or in effect signal pattern, as a global wake-up trigger in the CAN XL bus system. Normal CAN or CAN FD traffic does not trigger the wake-up because these protocols and physical layers do not use negative differential voltage bus levels; Paragraph 0070).” Muth discloses “causing, by the wake-up unit, a wake-up signal representing a wake-up instruction to be sent via an interface of the transceiver in response to the at least one detected wake-up pulse (see the exceptional signal providing the wake-up notification that may be positioned within a CAN XL frame in the ‘End of Frame’ CAN phase; Paragraph 0079).”
While Muth discloses “and detecting, by the wake-up unit, a first section of the bus signal representing at least one of a Start-of-frame field, SOF, an arbitration field, or a control field of the first CAN frame (an example is the CAN XL exceptional symbol; FIG. 7),” Muth does not disclose “wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect a reference pattern, being represented by the first section of the bus signal, and wherein the wake-up unit is configured to cause the wake-up signal to be sent only in response to detection of both the reference pattern and the at least one detected wake-up pulse.”
Chang et al. discloses “wherein the wake-up unit is configured to detect a reference pattern, being represented by the first section of the bus signal, and wherein the wake-up unit is configured to cause the wake-up signal to be sent only in response to detection of both the reference pattern and the at least one detected wake-up pulse (data frame 202 recognition may be achieved by the CAN transceiver of the ECUs 104 and/or the central gateway 110 (for the purpose of examination the focus is on the central gateway 110 that receives the active frame 202 over CAN bus 106A in [FIG. 2A] and then sends a WUP 204 over a second CAN bus 106B in [FIG. 2B]), by sensing a particular predefined CAN bus signal logic transition patterns of the WUP 204, where a sleeping ECU does not require a full CAN frame to wake [Paragraphs 0032-0033]. Note the wording of the claims could be interpreted as the wake-up pulse corresponding to the reference pattern as opposed to the reference pattern and wake-up pulse being two separate entities).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Muth with elements of Chang et al. to help reduce electric system startup time [Paragraph 0001].
As per claim 29, Muth discloses “The method of claim 28 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above), wherein the method further comprising steps of: detecting, by the wake-up unit based on the bus signal, a trigger pulse having a differential bus voltage that is greater than a positive, predefined second threshold voltage (whether the differential signal on the CAN bus V.sub.CAN is greater than or equal to the third threshold level (input=0?); Paragraph 0105).” Muth discloses “waiting, by the wake-up unit for a predefined waiting time that follows the trigger pulse (a period of time such as the first period (time_1); Paragraph 0105).” Muth discloses “detecting, by the wake-up unit based on the bus signal, a base section of the bus signal, wherein the base section has a differential bus voltage that is between the first threshold voltage and the second threshold voltage during a predefined base time following the waiting time (example is the state machine tests the condition 1008 whether the differential signal on the CAN bus V.sub.CAN is greater than or equal to the third threshold level (input=0?) and continues the measurement 1006 of the first period (time_1); Paragraph 0105).” Muth discloses “detecting, by the wake-up unit based on the bus signal, an observation section of the bus signal, wherein the observation section has a differential bus voltage Page 6 of 8that is less than the second threshold voltage during a predefined observation time following the base time (at time_0; Paragraph 0105), wherein the observation section forms at least a part of the silent section (input=0; Paragraph 0105).” Muth discloses “and detecting, by the wake-up unit, at least one wake-up pulse in the observation section of the bus signal, the at least one wake-up pulse having a differential bus voltage that is less than the first threshold voltage (where the threshold level is met; Paragraph 0105).”
Claims 18-20 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Muth (Publication Number US 2021/0224079 A1) and Chang et al. (Publication Number US 2025/0047521 A1) in view of the “International Standard ISO 11898-2 – Road vehicles – Controller area network (CAN)” (2016) (henceforth CAN ISO).
As per claims 18 and 30, Muth and Chang et al. disclose “The CAN transceiver of claim 17 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above).” However, Muth and Chang et al. do not disclose the exact timing as disclosed in the limitation “wherein the waiting time is between 0.01 µs and 2 µs, in particular between 0.1 µs and 1.18 µs, wherein the base time is between 2 and 7 times a cycle time according to a predefined bit frequency at the bus interface, or wherein the observation time is between 5 and 7 times the cycle time according to the predefined bit frequency at the bus interface.”
CAN ISO discloses the timing as disclosed in the limitations “wherein the waiting time is between 0.01 µs and 2 µs, in particular between 0.1 µs and 1.18 µs, wherein the base time is between 2 and 7 times a cycle time according to a predefined bit frequency at the bus interface, or wherein the observation time is between 5 and 7 times the cycle time according to the predefined bit frequency at the bus interface (bus biasing control timings can be between 0.5 µs and 5.0 µs (for CAN activity filter time, long) and between 0.15 µs and 1.8 µs (for CAN activity filter time, short); Page 20, table 20).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Muth and Chang et al. with elements of CAN ISO as both prior arts disclose the use of CAN, which is a known bus protocol in the arts with CAN ISO further disclosing the basic features and standards of the CAN bus.
As per claims 19 and 31, CAN ISO discloses “The CAN transceiver of claim 18 (as disclosed by Muth and CAN ISO above), wherein the second threshold voltage is between plus 0.5 volts and plus 0.9 volts (Page 10).”
As per claims 20 and 32, Muth and Chang et al. disclose “The CAN transceiver of claim 16 (as disclosed by Muth and Chang et al. above).” However, Muth and Chang et al. do not disclose the exact voltage range as disclosed in the limitation “wherein the first threshold voltage is between minus 0.25 volts and minus 0.45 volts.”
CAN ISO disclose the exact voltage range as disclosed in the limitation “wherein the first threshold voltage is between minus 0.25 volts and minus 0.45 volts (Page12, table 15).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Muth and Chang et al. with elements of CAN ISO as both prior arts disclose the use of CAN, which is a known bus protocol in the arts with CAN ISO further disclosing the basic features and standards of the CAN bus.
RELEVENT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and relied upon is citied to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
The following references teach data transfer as they pertain to CAN bus systems:
U.S. PATENT NUMBERS:
2020/0267018 A1 – [Paragraphs 0017-0018 and 0020-0022]
2024/0171424 A1 – [Paragraphs 0068 and 0072-0073]
CONCLUDING REMARKS
Conclusions
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.W.Y/Examiner, Art Unit 2181 August 6, 2026
/Farley Abad/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181