DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taub et al. (US 2009/0143661) in view of one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 1.
A device comprising one or more sensors operably coupled to a primary monitoring device (PMD):
E.G. Taub discloses receiver unit 104 having analyzer 22 and input device 32 ([0042]; Fig. 2). Input device 32 may comprise a touchscreen that detects the user’s touch to activate a corresponding function [0085]. Receiver unit 104 and its touchscreen respectively corresponds to the claimed PMD and at least one of the expressly recited sensors.
…monitoring the at least one sensor to determine user-interaction frequency:
E.G. Taub discloses monitoring interactions with the receiver unit, and recording the data and time of each interaction to determine interaction frequency ([0048], [0052], [0055]). Its touchscreen provides an alternative input implementation for such interactions [0085].
…historical user data and identifying a level of difference;
E.G. Taub disclosed deriving statistics, including average glucose views per day, from recorded user interactions [0054]; adjusting a target interaction level according to recorded interaction history ([0014], [0097]); and calculating the difference between the actual interaction level and the target interaction level [0074].
Taub et al. does not expressly disclose using the user’s historical interaction frequency itself as the comparison baseline to detect changes in current interaction frequency and identify the level of difference between those frequencies.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to configure Taub’s receiver to additionally compare the current interaction frequency with the user’s recorded historical average interaction frequency and calculate the different. This would permit the user or healthcare provider to determine whether engagement with the monitoring device has increased or decreased relative to the user’s established behavior, thereby facilitating Taub’s disclosed review of interaction patterns and adjustment of interaction recommendations ([0053]-[0054], [0061], [0097]).
The modification would employ the interaction records and historical statistics Taub already generates as inputs to its disclosed frequency-comparison and difference-calculation operations. A skilled artisan would reasonably expect success because both values represent interaction frequency and the existing receiver already performs the required recording, statistical procession, and comparison functions. The additional comparison would predictably quantify a change in user behavior while retaining Taub’s existing target-based monitoring. The modification follows from Taub’s teaching concerning historical interaction statistics, individualized monitoring, and numerical comparison, with the predictable result of identifying deviations from the user’s prior interaction frequency. This articulated reason to modify is consistent with KSR international Co. v. Teleflex Inc, 550 U.S. 398, 417-418 (2007) and MPEP §2143.f
Claim 8.
Regarding the limitation inherited from claim 1:
The teachings and proposed modification discussed for claim 1 are incorporated herein.
Comparing the frequency-of-use change-rate measurement to data limited by one or more of location, ambient sound, or time of day:
E.G. Taub discloses interaction-frequency statistics categorized by time of day [0054], recording the date and time of individual interaction targets according to time of day ([0061]-[0062]).
Taub et al. does not expressly disclose comparing the claimed frequency-of-use change-rate measurement against historical data restricted measurement against historical data restricted to a corresponding time-of-day interval.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the historical-frequency comparison proposed for claim 1 to use records from corresponding time-of-day intervals. Taub expressly recognizes that interaction frequency and appropriate interaction targets vary throughout the day. Comparing corresponding intervals would distinguish changes in the user’s engagement from differences attributable to ordinary daytime and nighttime usage. Taub already records interaction timestamps and generates time-of-day statistics. Selecting historical records for a corresponding interval and applying its comparison operation would predictably provide a comparison operation would predictably provide a comparison accounting for the disclosed daily variation in interaction patterns. This supplies an articulated reason to modify under KSR, 550 U.S. at 417-418.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are considered patentable over the prior art of record because the cited references, individually or in combination, do not teach or suggest evaluating device-interaction frequency against stored relationships linking physiological changes with changes in usage frequency. Although Taub discloses monitoring interaction frequency, maintain interaction history, and comparing actual usage with a target, it does not teach or suggest the additional association-based evaluation required by claim 2 and incorporated into claims 3-7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rau et al. (US 2013/0281798) discloses analyzing physiological and cognitive information using stored current and historical data and providing alerts to healthcare professionals.
CA 2818020 discloses comparing sensed movement information with stored patterns associated with physiological or psychological state.
/NICOLE F JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796