DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrenk (Schrenk, B. (2020), Electroabsorption-modulated laser as optical transmitter and receiver: status and opportunities. IET Optoelectron., 14: 374-385. https://doi.org/10.1049/iet-opt.2020.0010).
Regarding claim 1, Schrenk discloses an electro-photonic integrated circuit comprising: a laser (fig. 17 element DFB in light of fig. 2 element DFB and section 2); an electro-absorption modulator (EAM) (fig. 17 element EAM in light of fig. 9 element EAM and sections 4-4.1); and control circuitry comprising a laser driver circuit coupled to the laser and an EAM driver circuit coupled to the EAM (fig. 17, elements IDFB and VEAM and section 6, where the inherent circuit providing IDFB reads on laser driver circuit, and the inherent source of VEAM reads on EAM driver circuit), wherein the control circuitry is operable to control the laser and at least a first portion of the EAM in a transmitter mode and in a receiver mode (section 6), in the transmitter mode, the laser and the at least a first portion of the EAM are operable as part of an electro-absorption modulated laser (EML) to provide a modulated optical output (fig. 17 element DFB in light of fig. 2 element DFB and section 2), and in the receiver mode, the at least a first portion of the EAM is operable as a photodiode receiver to receive an optical input and output a photocurrent (fig. 17 element EAM in light of fig. 9 element EAM and sections 4-4.1). Schrenk discloses full-duplex transmission and thus does not disclose the laser and EAM controlled alternatively. However, the only difference between the claim and Schrenk is the timing applied to transmission and reception, which is an intended use difference. An intended use recitation that appears in the body of a claimed apparatus generally does not impart a patentable distinction if it merely states an intention while the prior art satisfies all the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus. The intended use does not impose a limit on the interpretation of the claim (see MPEP § 2103(I)(C) and 2111.04). Further, Schrenk discloses that the laser section is not required for reception, and can be turned off (fig. 9 and section 4.1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the Schrenk transceiver in alternating transmission and reception mode as a matter of intended use, and including the benefit of being able to turn off the respective unneeded section of the EML during its unneeded turn during the alternating, to save power.
Regarding claim 2, Schrenk discloses the electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein in the transmitter mode, the laser driver circuit turns on the laser using an appropriate laser drive current (fig. 2 and fig. 3a, inherent circuit providing IDFB and section 2, where current above threshold current ITH reads on the laser being turned on), and the EAM driver circuit operates the at least a first portion of the EAM to provide modulation of light from the laser for the modulated optical output (fig. 2 inherent source of VEAM and sections 2-3.1, OOK, PAM, etc. modulation types), and in the receiver mode, the laser driver circuit reduces the laser drive current, and the at least a first portion of the EAM acts as a photodiode receiver for the optical input (fig. 9 and section 4.1, laser section not lit). Schrenk does not specifically disclose that laser driver circuit current reduction is to close to a threshold. However, Schrenk discloses the laser threshold is ITH (fig. 3b and section 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the laser current to less than ITH for the receiver mode, since this is sufficient for the laser to not be lit, while not requiring a strictly 0 mA current.
Regarding claim 6, Schrenk discloses the electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 1, fabricated with an InP based semiconductor material system (fig. 17 in light of section 1, 3rd paragraph).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-14 and 18-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12199681. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are anticipated by the patented claims.
Present claim
Patent claim
1. An electro-photonic integrated circuit comprising:
a laser; an electro-absorption modulator (EAM);
and control circuitry comprising a laser driver circuit coupled to the laser and an EAM driver circuit coupled to the EAM, wherein the control circuitry is operable to control the laser
…and at least a first portion of the EAM alternatively in a transmitter mode and in a receiver mode,
in the transmitter mode, the laser and the at least a first portion of the EAM are operable as part of an electro-absorption modulated laser (EML) to provide a modulated optical output, and in the receiver mode, the at least a first portion of the EAM is operable as a photodiode receiver to receive an optical input and output a photocurrent.
1. An electro-photonic integrated circuit comprising
an electro-absorption modulated laser (EML), the EML comprising a laser and an electro-absorption modulator (EAM),
and control circuitry comprising a laser driver circuit, an EAM driver circuit, and a transimpedance amplifier (TIA), wherein the EAM comprises a first part and a second part, and electrical connections to the first part and the second part of the EAM, and
wherein the control circuitry is operable to bias said electrical connections to operate the first part and second part of the EAM independently in a transmitter mode and in a receiver mode [operable to operate independently reads on operable to operate alternatively],
in the transmitter mode, the laser and first and second parts of the EAM are operable as an EML to provide a modulated optical output; and in the receiver mode, the second part of the EAM is operable as a photodiode receiver to receive an optical input and output a photocurrent to the TIA [first and second are relative designations; the second one of the patent reads on the first one of the present claim].
2. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein in the transmitter mode, the laser driver circuit turns on the laser using an appropriate laser drive current, and the EAM driver circuit operates the at least a first portion of the EAM to provide modulation of light from the laser for the modulated optical output; and
in the receiver mode, the laser driver circuit reduces the laser drive current to close to a threshold current, and the at least a first portion of the EAM acts as a photodiode receiver for the optical input.
2. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein in the transmitter mode, the laser is turned on using the laser driver circuit to provide an appropriate laser drive current, and the EAM driver circuit operates the EAM to provide the modulated optical output; and
in the receiver mode, the laser drive current is reduced to close to a threshold current, the first part of the EAM is biased to absorb residual light from the laser, and the second part of the EAM acts as a photodiode receiver for the optical input.
3. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein in the transmitter mode the EAM driver circuit operates at least a second portion of the EAM to provide modulation of light from the laser for the modulated optical output; and
in the receiver mode, the EAM driver circuit operates the at least a second portion of the EAM to absorb residual light from the laser.
[from claim 1 above: …in the transmitter mode, the laser and first and second parts of the EAM are operable as an EML to provide a modulated optical output…]
[from claim 2 above: …in the receiver mode… the first part of the EAM is biased to absorb residual light from the laser, and the second part of the EAM acts as a photodiode receiver for the optical input…]
4. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 3, wherein the control circuitry comprises a transimpedance amplifier (TIA), and wherein in the receiver mode, the at least a first portion of the EAM outputs the photocurrent to the TIA.
[from claim 1 above: …control circuitry comprising a laser driver circuit, an EAM driver circuit, and a transimpedance amplifier (TIA), wherein the EAM comprises a first part and a second part, and electrical connections to the first part and the second part of the EAM…]
5. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 1, having a vertically integrated structure wherein a waveguide of the laser and a waveguide of the EAM are vertically coupled by a laterally tapered vertical coupler.
3. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 1, having a vertically integrated structure wherein a waveguide of the laser and a waveguide of the EAM are vertically coupled by a laterally tapered vertical coupler.
6. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 1, fabricated with an InP based semiconductor material system.
4. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 1, fabricated with an InP based semiconductor material system.
7. An electro-photonic integrated circuit comprising: a semi-insulating (SI) substrate;
a first plurality of semiconductor layers comprising control circuitry; and a second plurality of semiconductor layers providing a plurality of vertically stacked optical waveguides,
wherein: a first waveguide comprises layers structured as an electro-absorption modulator (EAM) waveguide; a second waveguide comprises layers structured as a laser waveguide; said layers of the second waveguide are patterned to define a laser mesa providing a laser cavity and a laterally tapered vertical optical coupler extending from an optical output of the laser cavity; said layers of the first waveguide are patterned to define a mesa of the EAM; wherein the laser cavity is laterally spaced from the EAM along a direction of optical propagation, and the laterally tapered vertical optical coupler is structured to couple an emitted optical mode from the laser cavity to an input of the EAM; and the control circuitry comprises a laser driver circuit coupled to the laser and an EAM driver circuit coupled to the EAM,
the control circuitry providing for bidirectional operation wherein: in a transmitter mode, the laser and at least a first portion of the EAM are operable as part of an EML to provide a modulated optical output; and in a receiver mode, the at least a first portion of the EAM acts as a photodiode receiver to receive an optical input and output a photocurrent.
5. An electro-photonic integrated circuit comprising: a semi-insulating (SI) substrate; an epitaxial layer structure comprising a plurality of semiconductor layers grown on the SI substrate; the epitaxial layer structure defining: a first plurality of semiconductor layers comprising control circuitry; and a second plurality of semiconductor layers providing a plurality of vertically stacked optical waveguides,
wherein: a first waveguide comprises layers structured as an electro-absorption modulator (EAM) waveguide; a second waveguide comprises layers structured as a laser waveguide; said layers of the second waveguide are patterned to define a laser mesa providing a laser cavity and a laterally tapered vertical optical coupler extending from an optical output of the laser cavity; said layers of the first waveguide are patterned to define a mesa of the EAM; wherein the laser cavity is laterally spaced from the EAM along a direction of optical propagation, and the laterally tapered vertical optical coupler is structured to couple an emitted optical mode from the laser cavity to an input of the EAM; and the control circuitry comprises a laser driver circuit, an EAM driver circuit, and a transimpedance amplifier (TIA); first electrical connections between the laser driver circuit and the laser for operating the laser in CW mode; second electrical connections between the EAM driver circuit and the EAM for driving the EAM, wherein the EAM comprises a first part and a second part which can be independently biased;
the control circuitry providing for bidirectional operation wherein: in a transmitter mode, the laser and the first and second parts of EAM are operable as an EML to provide a modulated optical output; and in a receiver mode, the second part of the EAM acts as a photodiode receiver to receive an optical input and output a photocurrent to the TIA.
8. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 7, wherein: in the transmitter mode, the laser driver circuit turns on the laser with a laser drive current to provide a CW laser output, and the EAM driver circuit operates the at least a first portion of the EAM to provide modulation of the CW laser output for the modulated optical output; and in the receiver mode, the laser driver circuit reduces the laser drive current to close to a threshold current, and the at least a first portion of the EAM acts as a photodiode receiver for the optical input.
6. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 5, wherein: in the transmitter mode, the laser is turned on using the laser driver circuit to provide a cw laser output, and the EAM driver circuit operates the EAM to provide the modulated optical output; and in the receiver mode, the laser drive current is reduced to close to a threshold current, the first part of the EAM is biased to absorb residual light from the laser, and the second part of the EAM acts as a photodiode receiver for the optical input.
9. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein: in the transmitter mode, the EAM driver circuit operates at least a second portion of the EAM to provide modulation of the CW laser output from the laser for the modulated optical output; and in the receiver mode, the EAM driver circuit operates the at least a second portion of the EAM to absorb residual light from the laser.
6. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 5, wherein: in the transmitter mode, the laser is turned on using the laser driver circuit to provide a cw laser output, and the EAM driver circuit operates the EAM to provide the modulated optical output [from claim 1 above: …in the transmitter mode, the laser and first and second parts of the EAM are operable as an EML to provide a modulated optical output…]; and in the receiver mode, the laser drive current is reduced to close to a threshold current, the first part of the EAM is biased to absorb residual light from the laser, and the second part of the EAM acts as a photodiode receiver for the optical input.
10. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 9, wherein the control circuitry comprises a transimpedance amplifier (TIA), and wherein in the receiver mode, the at least a first portion of the EAM outputs the photocurrent to the TIA.
[from claim 1 above: …control circuitry comprising a laser driver circuit, an EAM driver circuit, and a transimpedance amplifier (TIA)… in the receiver mode, the second part of the EAM is operable as a photodiode receiver to receive an optical input and output a photocurrent to the TIA [first and second are relative designations; the second one of the patent reads on the first one of the present claim].]
11. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 7, wherein the control circuitry comprises a switch for switching between the transmitter mode and the receiver mode, the switch having an input for receiving a transmit enable or receive enable signal from a data bus logic circuit.
8. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 5, wherein the control circuitry comprises a switch for switching between the transmitter mode and the receiver mode, the switch having an input for receiving a transmit enable or receive enable signal from a data bus logic circuit.
12. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 7, wherein the control circuitry comprises a connection for a bidirectional data bus, and comprises a mode select input for receiving a transmit/receive enable signal to switch between the transmitter mode and the receiver mode.
9. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 5, wherein the control circuitry comprises a connection for a bidirectional data bus, and comprises a mode select input for receiving a transmit/receive enable signal to switch between the transmitter mode and the receiver mode.
13. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 7, comprising a plurality of EAMs, wherein the laser is coupled to the plurality of EAMs through a 1:N optical splitter.
10. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 5, comprising a plurality of EAMs, wherein the laser is coupled to the plurality of EAMs through a 1:N optical splitter.
14. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 7, comprising four EAMs, wherein the laser is coupled to the four EAMs through a 1:4 optical splitter.
11. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 5, comprising four EAMs, wherein the laser is coupled to the four EAMs through a 1:4 optical splitter.
15. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 7, further comprising a passive waveguide vertically disposed under the EAM waveguide and patterned to form a spot size converter (SSC); the EAM waveguide comprising a second laterally tapered vertical optical coupler structured to couple the optical output/input from/to the SSC for coupling to a single mode optical fiber.
12. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 5, further comprising a passive waveguide vertically disposed under the EAM waveguide and patterned to form a spot size converter (SSC); the EAM waveguide comprising a second laterally tapered vertical optical coupler structured to couple the optical output/input from/to the SSC for coupling to a single mode optical fiber.
16. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 7, wherein, the first plurality of semiconductor layers are vertically separated from the plurality of vertically stacked optical waveguides by at least one spacer layer.
13. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 5, wherein, the first plurality of semiconductor layers for the control circuitry are vertically separated from the plurality of vertically stacked optical waveguides by at least one spacer layer.
17. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 7, wherein optical components comprising the laser and the EAM are formed on a first area of the SI substrate; and the control circuitry is formed on a second area of the SI substrate, adjacent the first area.
14. The electro-photonic integrated circuit of claim 5, wherein optical components comprising the laser and the EAM are formed on a first area of the SI substrate; and the control circuitry is formed on a second area of the SI substrate, adjacent the first area.
18. A surface mount electro-photonic module comprising: a substrate, a plurality of electro-photonic integrated circuits as defined in claim 7, the plurality of electro-photonic integrated circuits being arranged on a peripheral area of the substrate to provide optical I/O ports along at least one edge of the substrate; and a plurality of electronic integrated circuits mounted on another area of the substrate, and electrical connections between the plurality of electro-photonic integrated circuits and the plurality of electronic integrated circuits.
18. A surface mount electro-photonic module comprising: a substrate, a plurality of electro-photonic integrated circuits as defined in claim 5, the plurality of electro-photonic integrated circuits being arranged on a peripheral area of the substrate to provide optical I/O ports along at least one edge of the substrate; and a plurality of electronic integrated circuits mounted on another area of the substrate, and electrical connections between the plurality of electro-photonic integrated circuits and the plurality of electronic integrated circuits.
19. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 18 wherein the plurality of electro-photonic integrated circuits are arranged around a peripheral area of the substrate to provide the optical I/O ports along each edge of the substrate; and the plurality of electronic integrated circuits are mounted within an inside area of the substrate.
19. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 18 wherein the plurality of electro-photonic integrated circuits are arranged around a peripheral area of the substrate to provide the optical I/O ports along each edge of the substrate; and the plurality of electronic integrated circuits are mounted within an inside area of the substrate.
20. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 18, wherein the plurality of electronic integrated circuits are silicon integrated circuits.
20. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 18, wherein the plurality of electronic integrated circuits are silicon integrated circuits.
21. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 18, configured for edge coupling of optical fibers to the optical I/O ports of each electro-photonic integrated circuit.
21. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 18, configured for edge coupling of optical fibers to the optical I/O ports of each electro-photonic integrated circuit.
22. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 18, wherein an optical port-to- port spacing is in a range of 200µm to 300µm.
22. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 18, wherein an optical port-to-port spacing is in a range of 200 μm to 300 μm.
23. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 19, comprising 128 ports distributed around a periphery of the substrate.
23. The surface mount electro-photonic module of claim 19, comprising 128 ports distributed around a periphery of the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
R. B. Welstand, S. A. Pappert, C. K. Sun, J. T. Zhu, Y. Z. Liu and P. K. L. Yu, "Dual-function electroabsorption waveguide modulator/detector for optoelectronic transceiver applications," in IEEE Photonics Technology Letters, vol. 8, no. 11, pp. 1540-1542, Nov. 1996, doi: 10.1109/68.541576.
US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0190550 - (same assignee) integrated cascaded layer EML.
US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0072672 - optical transceiver photodetector is a second EAM reverse biased.
US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0016418 - EAM acting a photodetector for downstream and modulator for upstream.
US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0269215 - integrated EML with photodetector, laser and EAM.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634