DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lead line for reference number “310” in figure 4 should point to a portion of the inner core 300 and not to a portion of the bush. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2010-0065871 A to Choi.
Re-claim 1, Choi discloses a suspension, comprising: a bracket 10/20 is coupled to a vehicle body; a bush (combined elements 200 and 500) is accommodated in the bracket, a fluid flows in the bush in response to elastic deformation; an inner core 100 is movably coupled to the bush and configured to pressurize the bush; a pipe 400 is interposed between the bracket and the bush and surrounds the bush; an upper part 22 is coupled to the bracket and covers the bush.
Re-claim 2, the bush includes: a damper 200 is coupled to the inner core 100, a chamber 210/220 accommodates the fluid, and is configured to be elastically deformable when the inner core moves; a fluid guide (see figure 9) is coupled to the damper and has a flow path 230 guiding flow of the fluid supplied from the chamber when the damper is elastically deformed.
Re-claim 3, the bush further includes a reinforcement 300 arranged inside the damper and configured to reinforce rigidity of the damper.
Re-claim 4, the chamber includes: a first chamber 210 arranged on a first side of the damper and connected to a first end of the flow path (via hole 240, figure 9); and a second chamber 220 arranged on a second side of the damper and connected to a second end of the flow path (via hole 250).
Re-claim 5, the first chamber and the second chamber are arranged at different heights with respect to an axial direction of the bush (see figure 13).
Re-claim 6, when one of the first chamber and the second chamber is reduced in volume to supply the fluid to the flow path when the damper is elastically deformed, the other one of the first chamber and the second chamber receives the fluid from the flow path to expand in volume when the damper is elastically deformed. During movement of the inner core, the chambers are compressed accordingly and expanded accordingly.
Re-claim 9, the flow path includes: a first fluid hole 240 connected to the first chamber 210, the fluid passes through the first fluid hole; a second fluid hole 250 is connected to the second chamber 220, the fluid passes through the second fluid hole; a flow path groove 230 connects the first fluid hole and the second fluid hole, the fluid flows in the flow path groove.
Re-claim 10, the flow path groove 230 extends spirally (interpreted as a groove that follows a spiral pattern) along a circumferential direction of the guide. The flow path groove of Choi is formed along a circumference and around an axis of the bush, and is interpreted as extending spirally about the bush. It is further noted that Choi discloses the length of the groove may be adjusted as needed, such as lengthening the groove (see page 5 paragraph 12 of the translation “ the flow path cross section shape and length of the orifice passage 230 are It can be easily deformed through the adjustment, and the adjustment of the cross-sectional shape and length of the orifice passage 230 means that tuning of various frequency bands is possible if necessary”). This suggests the groove can extend around a substantial circumference of the bush 200, thus forming a spiral groove.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2001/0024006 A1 to Murai.
Re-claim 1, Murai discloses a suspension, comprising: a bracket 61 is coupled to a vehicle body; a bush 30 is accommodated in the bracket, a fluid flows in the bush in response to elastic deformation; an inner core 10 is movably coupled to the bush and configured to pressurize the bush; a pipe 50 is interposed between the bracket and the bush and surrounds the bush; an upper part 66 is coupled to the bracket and covers the bush. The phrase “coupled” merely requires some connection, such as via the bush or via elements 55.
Re-claim 2, the bush includes: a damper 28/39 coupled to the inner core 10, a chamber K accommodates the fluid, and is configured to be elastically deformable when the inner core moves; a fluid guide (passage defined by 11, see figure 7) is coupled to the damper and has a flow path guiding flow of the fluid supplied from the chamber when the damper is elastically deformed.
Re-claim 3, the bush further includes a reinforcement 20 arranged inside the damper and configured to reinforce rigidity of the damper.
Re-claim 4, the chamber includes: a first chamber (i.e. upper) arranged on a first side of the damper and connected to a first end of the flow path; and a second chamber (i.e. lower) arranged on a second side of the damper and connected to a second end of the flow path.
Re-claim 5, the first chamber and the second chamber are arranged at different heights with respect to an axial direction of the bush (see figure 10).
Re-claim 6, when one of the first chamber and the second chamber is reduced in volume to supply the fluid to the flow path when the damper is elastically deformed, the other one of the first chamber and the second chamber receives the fluid from the flow path to expand in volume when the damper is elastically deformed.
Re-claim 7, the inner core 10 includes: an inner core body accommodated inside the damper; a first protrusion 12 protruding from a first side of the inner core body and inserted into the damper, and pressurizes the first chamber so as to reduce a volume of the first chamber; a second protrusion 13 protruding from a second side of the inner core body and inserted into the damper, and pressurizes the second chamber so as to reduce a volume of the second chamber.
Re-claim 8, the first protrusion 12 and the second protrusion 13 are arranged at different heights with respect to the axial direction of the bush (see figure 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sawada, Mayerbock, de Fontenay, Oshima, Kang, Gaspar, Schmitt, Boast, Soper and Siemer each teach a suspension device having the recited features of at least claim 1. Gaspar and Saito each teach a spiral fluid flow groove communicating two fluid chambers.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
supervisor, Robert Siconolfi, can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW /THOMAS J WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 October 14, 2026