DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koth (2020/0390639).
Annotated fig 14B of Kloth.
With respect to claim 1, Koth discloses an apparatus for treating tissue (1400, fig 14A), the apparatus comprising an elongated member (1410, fig 14A); and a first support member (1403, fig 14A) at a first end of the elongated member (see 1403 at the right end of 1410 in fig 14A), the elongated member comprising a first pressure location (1408, fig 14A) and a second pressure location (1412, fig 14A), the first pressure location being at a second end of the elongated member opposite the first end (see location of 1412 in fig 14A where the end is on the left of element 1410 opposite 1403); and a second support member (1404, fig 14A) between the first and second pressure locations (see location of 1404 between 1412 and 1408 in fig 14A), wherein, in a first mode, the first and second support members rest on the same plane (see annotated fig 14B where 1412 and 1408 are in the same plane (y) as labeled by the axis), and in a second mode, the second support member is a handle (note the device 1400 is movable and therefore the support member 1404 can be held since It extends past 1402 allowing a user to hold and manipulate the device).
With respect to claim 2, Koth discloses the apparatus is formed as a single component (see fig 14M where the device is a singular component held together via fasteners).
With respect to claim 4, Koth discloses the tissue is connective tissue (see [0007] where the device targets muscles but is self-manipulated and would be easily usable to connective tissue near muscles).
With respect to claim 5, Koth discloses the apparatus is for treatment of lower back pain (see [0034] note the device can be used in many ways for manual massage and allows for lower back treatment).
With respect to claim 6, Koth discloses in the first mode, the first and second support members are placed on a ground (see fig 14B and [0055]), and the second pressure location is located higher than the first pressure location (see pressure locations 1412 and 1408 where 1412 is higher vertically).
With respect to claim 7, Koth discloses the first pressure location extends away from the second support member (see fig 14A where 1408 extends vertically away from support 1404).
With respect to claim 8, Koth discloses the first pressure location has a rounded end (see curved end of 1408 in fig 14E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koth in view of Peterson (9,192,503).
With respect to claim 3, Koth shows all the elements as claimed above, but is silent regarding the apparatus molded as a single component.
However, Peterson teaches a single molded massage apparatus (see fig 1 and col. 6, lines 23-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus to be a single molded component as taught by Peterson so as to provide a conveniently transportable device that allows for easy massaging in multiple locations.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koth in view of Koth (2020/0390639).
With respect to claim 9, Koth discloses all the elements as claimed above but lacks the second pressure location is rounded in shape.
However, Koth teaches a pressure location (1408, fig 14A and 1708, fig 17A) with a rounded shape (see curved end of 1408 in fig 14E and spherical shape in fig 17A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second pressure location (1412) of Koth to be rounded as taught by Koth for a more comfortable, effective pressure application for the user.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koth in view of Nelson (2017/0042756).
With respect to claim 10, Koth discloses all the elements as claimed above but is silent regarding the apparatus formed as a hollow tool.
However, Nelson teaches a hollow (see [0030]) massage device (1/4, fig 3) with reinforcing ribs (supports; 19, fig 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Koth to be hollow with reinforcements as taught by Nelson so as to provide a lightweight tool and reduce manufacturing costs.
With respect to claim 11, the modified Koth shows a plurality of reinforcing ribs (19, fig 14 of Nelson after the modification) formed on a bottom side of the apparatus (see ribs 19 in fig 14 where they are on the underside of 39 and therefore after the modification the underside of 1400 would have the ribs).
With respect to claim 12, the modified Koth shows the reinforcing ribs are exposed from the apparatus (see ribs 19 in fig 14 where they are on the underside of 39 and therefore after the modification the underside of 1400 would have the ribs and thus exposed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lancellotti (3,831,592), Henneseey (D317204), Meyers (6,261251), Grippo (2011/0224588), Wu (2013/0035616), Iwagami (2020/0069517), and Fanelli (2022/0047441) are cited to show additional massage devices.
/KELSEY E BALLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785