Claim Interpretation
Note that the element defined as “an outer wall portion” is element 116 for claim 1 and its dependents (note that the Office is bound to interpret claims in light of the specification), while the element defined as “an outer wall portion” is element 120 for claim 15 and its dependents because claim 15, line 5 states that an outer wall portion opposite to the inner surface of the outer receptacle 106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Niebolte (US 8621885).
Niebolte discloses a temperature-regulation receptacle system comprising: a top end portion (top end of assembled parts 14 and 16, see Fig. 2-3), a bottom end portion (bottom end of assembled parts 14 and 16, see Fig. 2-3) , an inner wall portion (16) extending between the bottom end portion and the top end portion, a bottom surface adjacent to the bottom end portion, and an outer wall portion (14), the top end portion defining an opening (top opening) of a first recess (recess defined by inner wall of 16) configured for receiving a stemless drinking vessel; a solution (freezer gel 44) contained within an inner cavity between the outer wall portion and the inner wall portion; wherein a first segment (vertical segment on right side of Fig. 3 having conical section 20) of the top end portion is spaced apart from the bottom end portion by a first distance and a second segment (vertical segment on left side of Fig. 3 with the top end below conical section 20) of the top end portion is spaced apart from the bottom end portion by a second distance that is less than the first distance, forming a side opening extending laterally from the inner wall portion and the outer wall portion and extending vertically from the second segment of the top end portion; wherein at least a portion (annular portion at bottom end) of the outer wall portion is continuous around an entire perimeter of the receptacle system and independent of any breaks about the perimeter of the receptacle system, the outer wall portion and the inner wall portion; wherein the inner wall portion includes multiple curved surfaces, each of varying degrees of curvature and of which at least one first curved surface is between the top end portion and a bottom surface of the bottom end portion wherein a degree of curvature of the at least one first curved surface differs from a degree of curvature of the other curved surfaces among the multiple curved surfaces, and wherein the inner wall portion contacts the stemless drinking vessel to transfer thermal energy between the solution and the stemless drinking vessel with the at least one first curved surface.
See annotated Fig. 1 and annotated portion of Fig. 3 which shows internal frustro-conical section 20. Mathematically, the frustro-conical section can’t have the same radius of curvature (degree of curvature) along its entire surface. There is a wider section of the conical surface of greater diameter and greater radius of curvature as compared to any narrower section of the conical surface of lesser diameter and lesser radius of curvature. Compare a cone to a right cylinder wherein every surface of the right cylinder (e.g., internal cylindrical portion 16) must be the exact same curvature because the diameter doesn’t change. Therefore, when evaluating the last seven lines of clam 1 (lines 9-25), the Office concludes that there are at least two curved surfaces of the multiple curved surfaces that vary in degree of curvature because one radius of curvature (cylindrical portion 16 or the widest portion of the conical section 20 at the lower end of the conical section) is greater than the other radius of curvature (narrowest part of the conical section at upper end of conical section 20). There is no requirement for prior art references to discuss every limitation of a patent claim. The curved surfaces of portion 16 and section 20 are not discussed.
Re claim 2, further comprising a stand (assembled parts 29 and 37) that is removably couplable to the bottom end portion.
Re claim 3, further comprising a frictional member (threads which frictionally engage each other).
Re claim 8, wherein the solution comprises a gel (freezer gel).
Re claim 9, the gel (freezer gel) has a freezing point above a temperature of household freezers. The freezer has to have a freezing point above temperature of freezer or gel will not be frozen and reach its peak performance temperature.
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Patton (US 8695373).
Patton discloses a temperature-regulation receptacle system comprising: a top end portion (top end of wall liner 14 ), a bottom end portion (bottom end of wall liner 14), an inner wall portion (inner sheet of wall liner 14) extending between the bottom end portion and the top end portion, a bottom surface (bottom surface of bottom end portion) adjacent to the bottom end portion, and an outer wall portion (outer sheet of wall liner assembly 14), the top end portion defining an opening (top opening of 14) of a first recess (recess defined by inner surface of 14) configured for receiving a stemless drinking vessel; a solution [phase change material (PCM) 20] contained within a cavity (one of cavities of segments 15, 16, 17) between the outer wall portion and the inner wall portion; wherein a first segment (vertical segment aligned with a chain 18 of segments and extending from the lowestmost segment 17 to the horizontal top edge in Fig. 2) of the top end portion is spaced apart from the bottom end portion by a first distance and a second segment (vertical segment aligned with a chain 18 of segments and extending from the lowestmost segment 17 to the inclined top edge in Fig. 2) of the top end portion is spaced apart from the bottom end portion by a second distance that is less than the first distance; forming a side opening extending laterally from the inner wall portion and the outer wall portion and extending vertically from the second segment of the top end portion. See annotated Fig. 2 of Patton.
wherein at least a portion (annular portion consisting of six segments attached to, adjacent to and surrounding the central core section 17 at bottom end) of the outer wall portion is continuous around an entire perimeter of the receptacle system and independent of any breaks about the perimeter of the receptacle system, the outer wall portion and the inner wall portion;
wherein the inner wall portion includes multiple curved surfaces, each of varying degrees of curvature and of which at least one first curved surface is between the top end portion and a bottom surface of the bottom end portion wherein a degree of curvature of the at least one first curved surface differs from a degree of curvature of the other curved surfaces among the multiple curved surfaces, and wherein the inner wall portion contacts the stemless drinking vessel to transfer thermal energy between the solution and the stemless drinking vessel with the at least one first curved surface.
The sheet materials of assembly 14 (see column 4, lines 17-23) allow the assembly 14 to bend to conform to the outer receptacle 11, especially along the webs 21 which attach adjacent sections 18 (see column 4, lines 26-28 and 48-61). The web 21 is essentially the two layers of the plastic sheet welded together and the amount of web material allows folding or bending of adjacent segments 15, 16 with respect to each other (see column 4, lines 52-55), the segments 15, 16 are easily folded or bent at an angle to conform to the curved shape of the container surface (see column 4, lines 59-61). It would be expected that: (1) the amount of web bending (bending of web 21 as one progresses vertically along a sidewall would be inconsistent because there is no constant spherical or hemispherical curve which the liner is conforming with as outer container 11 is not hemispherical; (2) the amount of bending in the circumferential direction varies when a bottom, annular row (row immediately adjacent to the central core section 17, see Fig. 1 configuration) of six sections 18 wherein the bending is a smaller radius of curvature as compared to an upper, annular row of 12 sections 18 (see Fig. 1 configuration) wherein the bending is a larger radius of curvature. Additionally, within one section 18, there would be bending associated with the contour of the transition from PCM holding compartment 19 to the web 21 as one could imagine that the cross section of a section 18 of Fig. 5 would be close to what is shown in the cross section of Fig. 4B,
There is no requirement for prior art references to discuss every limitation of a patent claim. The curved surfaces of sections 18 or of the entire wall lining assembly 14 are not discussed. Logically, there must be curved surfaces if the webs are bent. Logically, there is no reasonable manner of providing only curved surfaces that are all bent to the exact same degree or same radius of curvature.
Re claim 15, Patton further comprising an outer receptacle 11 including an inner surface opposite to and facing the outer wall portion, wherein the outer receptacle is detachably nestable to the outer wall portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton.
This rejection is made if it is deemed possible to make the container of Patton with only curves of the same degree of curvature or same radius of curvature.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radius of curvature of an upper, annular row of 12 sections 18 (see Fig. 1 configuration) to have a larger radius of curvature to alleviate bending stress as compared to the radius of curvature of a bottom, annular row (row immediately adjacent to the central core section 17, see Fig. 1 configuration) of six sections 18 which is a smaller radius of curvature to provide enough bend to conform to the curvature of the outer container 11 near the bottom of the outer container.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niebolte in view of Pawlik et al. (US 2020/0002079) (Pawlik).
Re claim 4, Niebolte fails to disclose magnetic members. Pawlik teaches magnets for detachably coupling the stand to the bottom end portion of a receptacle, see paragraph [63], lines 17-22 and 25-30. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add magnetic members to provide a stable and detachable coupling of the bottom end portion to the stand.
Re claim 5, the stand of Niebolte discloses a lower portion and a lip extending upwardly away from the lower portion, the lower portion and the lip defining a second recess. Re claim 6, the lip extends around a perimeter of the stand and substantially surrounds the stand.
Re claim 7, Niebolte discloses an open bottom end or egress, at the bottom end portion of the system. Niebolte fails to disclose that the egress is configured to funnel condensation into the second recess. Pawlik teaches a receptacle 100 with inner wall portion 108 having top incline 134, curved surface 136, middle incline 138 and bottom incline 140 to funnel condensation towards a bottom opening 114. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add inclined, funneling surfaces to the egress to direct liquid the flow into a center of the stand.
Claim(s) 12, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton (US 8695373) in view of Lee (US 2018/0297747).
Re claims 12, 13 and 16, Patton further comprising an outer receptacle 11 including an inner surface opposite to and facing the outer wall portion, wherein the outer receptacle is detachably nestable to the outer wall portion. Patton fails to disclose coupling members. Lee teaches coupling members (magnets 110 and 210, one magnet 110 located within inner nested container 100 and the other magnet 210 located at the bottom end of the outer nested container 300 with stand 200). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the magnets to provide an attachment or coupling that will not inadvertently become detached to keep the parts connected as a unit.
Claim(s) 12, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton in view of Albaum (US 9663285).
Re claims 12, 14 and 17, Patton further comprising an outer receptacle 11 including an inner surface opposite to and facing the outer wall portion, wherein the outer receptacle is detachably nestable to the outer wall portion. Patton fails to disclose coupling members. Albaum teaches coupling members [a tab defined by ramp 64 on cylindrical flange 28 which flange 28 defines a stem portion of an outer receptacle (cap 14) which outer receptacle is nestable with body 12]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the tab and stem portion coupling members to provide an attachment or coupling that will not inadvertently become detached to keep the parts connected as a unit.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton in view of Pawlik.
Patton has funneling surfaces. Patton fails to disclose an egress or outlet to discharge condensate. Pawlik teaches an egress and funneling surfaces. ]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the egress to discharge condensate to prevent condensate from collecting on a beverage container which makes the hand wet and the beverage container slippery to hold and makes it difficult to firmly grasp the beverage container.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patton in view of Niebolte.
Patton’s PCM is not specified. Gel is a well known form of PCM. Niebolte teaches freezer gel as a PCM. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the PCM to be freezer gel as a readily available, cost effective, durable and reuseable type of PCM.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Office has made revisions to the statement of rejections to address the limitations added to the claim.
In response to applicant's argument that Niebolte fails to show multiple curved surfaces. The argument that a frustrum of a cone that (has) only one curvature defined by the radii of the frustrum is not well understood because a cone has a wider end and a narrow end with different radii of curvature. Applicant draws a similar conclusion with Patton with no analysis. These conclusions show little to no analysis and lack adequate reasoning or proof.
Conclusion
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733