Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17 and 20-21] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 20080045175 A1) in view of Surendran (US 20180124795 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Yoon teaches an apparatus comprising: [0039] The UWB device includes an antenna 5, a filter 10, a transmit/receive (Tx/Rx) selection switch 15, a low noise amplifier (LNA) 20, a DAA module block 30, a multitone generation block 40, and a controller 35, an ultra-wideband (UWB) radio configured to transmit a UWB radio signal in a UWB frequency band; [0040] The filter 10 filters radio signals to transmit or receive only UWB band signals via the antenna 5 and [0041] The Tx/Rx selection switch 15 selects one of a Tx circuit and a Rx circuit according to the transmission or the reception of the UWB radio signal, and responsive to detecting the presence of a radio altimeter signal in the UWB frequency band, cause the UWB radio not to transmit the UWB signal.[0060] When determining the interference with another device in a corresponding available channel, the controller 35 controls to change the available channel by issuing the control signal, or aborts the output and controls to retrieve the available channels when there is no available channel to change to.
Yoon does not teach, and a detect-and-avoid circuit configured to: monitor the UWB frequency band for a presence of a radio altimeter signal in the UWB frequency band.
However, Surendran does teach, and a detect-and-avoid circuit configured to: monitor the UWB frequency band for a presence of a radio altimeter signal in the UWB frequency band. [0025] System 200 includes a spectrum sensing WAICS 202 that is wirelessly connected with each of WAICS 204, WAICS 206, and WAICS 208. Spectrum sensing WAICS 202 detects presence of an RA signal and communicates this information regarding detection of the RA signal to each of WAICS 204, WAICS 206, and WAICS 208 for managing WAICS communication in the RA Band.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include detect and avoid circuit as taught by Surendran.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network management efficiency. (Paragraph 0038 by Surendran)].
In regard to claim 4, 10, 15 and 20, Yoon and Surendran teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Yoon also teaches wherein the detect-and-avoid circuit is further configured to: cause the UWB radio to transmit the UWB signal responsive to not detecting the presence of a radio altimeter signal in the UWB frequency band [0070] As such, the UWB device according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention determines the communicability of the channels using the strength of the signal received in each channel, and transmits or receives the radio signal in the available channel which does not suffer from communication interference.
In regard to claim 5, 11 and 21, Yoon and Surendran teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Yoon does not teach the radio altimeter signal is in the 4.2-4.4GHz frequency band.
However, Surendran does teach the radio altimeter signal in the 4.2-4.4GHz frequency band. [0004] However, for use of wireless communication in an aircraft, only available option currently is Radio Altimeter spectrum (which is 200 MHz band from 4.2 to 4.4 GHz).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include detect and radio altimeter as taught by Surendran.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network management efficiency. (Paragraph 0038 by Surendran)].
In regards to claim 7 and 17, Yoon teaches responsive to detecting the presence of a radio altimeter signal in the UWB frequency band, causing a UWB radio not to transmit a UWB signal in the UWB frequency band [0060] When determining the interference with another device in a corresponding available channel, the controller 35 controls to change the available channel by issuing the control signal, or aborts the output and controls to retrieve the available channels when there is no available channel to change to.
Yoon does not teach one or more non-transitory machine-readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more hardware processors of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising: causing a detect-and-avoid circuit to monitor an ultra-wideband (UWB) frequency band for a presence of a radio altimeter signal.
However, Surendran does teach one or more non-transitory machine-readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more hardware processors of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising: [0124] Thus, a computer-readable storage medium may store instructions for execution by one or more processors, including instructions for causing the processor(s) to perform steps or stages consistent with the embodiments described herein. The term “computer-readable medium” should be understood to include tangible items and exclude carrier waves and transient signals, i.e., be non-transitory, causing a detect-and-avoid circuit to monitor an ultra-wideband (UWB) frequency band for a presence of a radio altimeter signal; [0025] System 200 includes a spectrum sensing WAICS 202 that is wirelessly connected with each of WAICS 204, WAICS 206, and WAICS 208. Spectrum sensing WAICS 202 detects presence of an RA signal and communicates this information regarding detection of the RA signal to each of WAICS 204, WAICS 206, and WAICS 208 for managing WAICS communication in the RA Band. A system comprising: one or more hardware processors; and one or more non-transitory machine-readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors [0124] Thus, a computer-readable storage medium may store instructions for execution by one or more processors, including instructions for causing the processor(s) to perform steps or stages consistent with the embodiments described herein. The term “computer-readable medium” should be understood to include tangible items and exclude carrier waves and transient signals, i.e., be non-transitory.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include detect and radio altimeter as taught by Surendran.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network management efficiency. (Paragraph 0038 by Surendran)].
In regards to claim 12, Yoon teaches responsive to detecting the presence of a radio altimeter signal in the UWB frequency band, causing a UWB radio not to transmit a UWB signal in the UWB frequency band [0060] When determining the interference with another device in a corresponding available channel, the controller 35 controls to change the available channel by issuing the control signal, or aborts the output and controls to retrieve the available channels when there is no available channel to change to.
Yoon does not teach A method comprising: monitoring an ultra-wideband (UWB) frequency band for a presence of a radio altimeter signal.
However, Surendran does teach A method comprising: monitoring an ultra-wideband (UWB) frequency band for a presence of a radio altimeter signal [0025] System 200 includes a spectrum sensing WAICS 202 that is wirelessly connected with each of WAICS 204, WAICS 206, and WAICS 208. Spectrum sensing WAICS 202 detects presence of an RA signal and communicates this information regarding detection of the RA signal to each of WAICS 204, WAICS 206, and WAICS 208 for managing WAICS communication in the RA Band.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include detect and radio altimeter as taught by Surendran.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network management efficiency. (Paragraph 0038 by Surendran)].
Claim [6] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 20080045175 A1) in view of Surendran (US 20180124795 A1) in view of Mathias et al. (US Publication 2015/0303886 A1).
In regard to claim 6, Yoon and Surendran teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Yoon and Surendran do not teach an antenna; and a directional coupler electrically coupled to the antenna, the UWB radio, and the detect-and-avoid circuit.
However, Mathias does teach an antenna; and a directional coupler electrically coupled to the antenna, the UWB radio, and the detect-and-avoid circuit [0033] FIG. 2 shows a schematic block circuit diagram of a high-frequency HF transmitter according to a first embodiment. At its input IN the high-frequency transmitter 100 has an adjustable attenuation member (or an adjustable amplifier) 10, a power amplifier (transmitter output stage) 40, an operating point regulating unit 20, optionally a directional coupler 60 at the output of the power amplifier 40 and a power detector 50 at the output of the directional coupler 60. The output of the power detector 50 is coupled to the adjustable attenuation member 10 and the operating point regulating unit 20. The output of the power amplifier 40 is coupled to a transmitting antenna 70.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon, Mathias and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include UWB hardware configurations as taught by Mathias.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network transmission efficiency. (Paragraph 0008 by Mathias)].
Claim [2, 3, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 18 and 19] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 20080045175 A1) in view of Surendran (US 20180124795 A1) further in view of ECC Report 120.
In regard to claim 2, Yoon and Surendran teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Yoon does teach responsive to determining the calculated distance is less than the distance threshold, cause the UWB radio not to transmit the UWB signal [0060] When determining the interference with another device in a corresponding available channel, the controller 35 controls to change the available channel by issuing the control signal, or aborts the output and controls to retrieve the available channels when there is no available channel to change to.
Yoon does not teach a detect circuit configured to generate one or more parameters based on the radio altimeter signal and a controller configured to: calculate a distance to a source of the radio altimeter signal based on the one or more parameters, determine whether the calculated distance is less than a distance threshold,
Surendran teaches a detect circuit configured to generate one or more parameters based on the radio altimeter signal; [0038] Processor 226 in communication with sensor 210, determines the signal power at the center of the spectrum sensing RA sub-band. Processor 226 makes a predefined number of such determinations or measurements.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include detect and radio altimeter as taught by Surendran.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network management efficiency. (Paragraph 0038 by Surendran)].
Yoon and Surendran do not teach, and a controller configured to: calculate a distance to a source of the radio altimeter signal based on the one or more parameters, determine whether the calculated distance is less than a distance threshold.
However, ECC Report 210 does teach calculate a distance to a source of the radio altimeter signal based on the one or more parameters, [Pg 22 A.1.2 Paragraph 3] The basis of the DAA proposal is that UWB devices listen for BWA signals and use the level of the detected signal to estimate the distance to any nearby BWA terminal. The UWB device then adjusts its transmitted power so as to ensure that its signals will be less than -114.7dBm/MHz at the BWA terminal. Since up and downlink frequencies are unknown, any signal received by a UWB device is interpreted as a BWA uplink signal, and the largest received signal strength is used to determine the UWB transmit power, determine whether the calculated distance is less than a distance threshold, [Pg 5 2.1 Paragraph 1] each DAA zone corresponds to a minimum isolation between the potential victim system and the potential UWB interferer. In each zone, in conjunction with the given minimum isolation, a specific protection level is defined allowing for a specific UWB transmission level for the different victim systems in order not to cause interference to the operation of the potential victim system and [Pg. 25 A.1.2.2 Paragraph 1] The path loss between the UWB device and the BWA terminal needs to exceed 49.7dB before the UWB device may transmit at -65dBm/MHz. The threshold can be calculated from the margins discussed above. Table 10 gives the calculation.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon, ECC report 120 and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include detection parameters configurations as taught by ECC report 120.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network detection parameters. (Pg 7 2.4 paragraph 1 by ECC report 120)].
In regard to claim 8, 13 and 18, Yoon and Surendran teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Yoon does teach responsive to determining the calculated distance is less than the distance threshold, causing the UWB radio not to transmit the UWB signal in the UWB frequency band. [0060] When determining the interference with another device in a corresponding available channel, the controller 35 controls to change the available channel by issuing the control signal, or aborts the output and controls to retrieve the available channels when there is no available channel to change to.
Yoon does not teach receiving one or more parameters, the one or more parameters generated based on the radio altimeter signal; calculating a distance to a source of the radio altimeter signal based on the one or more parameters; determining whether the calculated distance is less than a distance threshold.
Surendran teaches receiving one or more parameters, the one or more parameters generated based on the radio altimeter signal; [0038].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include detect and radio altimeter as taught by Surendran.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network management efficiency. (Paragraph 0038 by Surendran)].
Yoon and Surendran do not teach calculating a distance to a source of the radio altimeter signal based on the one or more parameters; determining whether the calculated distance is less than a distance threshold.
However, ECC Report 210 does teach calculating a distance to a source of the radio altimeter signal based on the one or more parameters; [Pg 22 A.1.2 Paragraph 3] The basis of the DAA proposal is that UWB devices listen for BWA signals and use the level of the detected signal to estimate the distance to any nearby BWA terminal. The UWB device then adjusts its transmitted power so as to ensure that its signals will be less than -114.7dBm/MHz at the BWA terminal. Since up and downlink frequencies are unknown, any signal received by a UWB device is interpreted as a BWA uplink signal, and the largest received signal strength is used to determine the UWB transmit power, determining whether the calculated distance is less than a distance threshold, [Pg 5 2.1 Paragraph 1] each DAA zone corresponds to a minimum isolation between the potential victim system and the potential UWB interferer. In each zone, in conjunction with the given minimum isolation, a specific protection level is defined allowing for a specific UWB transmission level for the different victim systems in order not to cause interference to the operation of the potential victim system and [Pg. 25 A.1.2.2 Paragraph 1] The path loss between the UWB device and the BWA terminal needs to exceed 49.7dB before the UWB device maytransmit at -65dBm/MHz. The threshold can be calculated from the margins discussed above. Table 10 gives the calculation.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon, ECC report 120 and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include detection parameters configurations as taught by ECC report 120.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network detection parameters. (Pg 7 2.4 paragraph 1 by ECC report 120)].
In regard to claim 3, 9, 14 and 19, Yoon, ECC Report 120, and Surendran teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Yoon does not teach wherein the controller is configured to calculate the distance to a source of the radio altimeter signal by measuring a signal strength of the radio altimeter signal.
Surendran teaches measuring a signal strength of the radio altimeter signal [0031] Sensor 210 continuously samples the RA band at the spectrum sensing RA sub-band and communicates with processor 226 to estimate the average power in the spectrum sensing RA sub-band.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include detect and radio altimeter as taught by Surendran.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network management efficiency. (Paragraph 0038 by Surendran)].
Yoon and Surendran do not teach wherein the controller is configured to calculate the distance to a source of the radio altimeter signal.
However, ECC Report 210 does teach wherein the controller is configured to calculate the distance to a source of the radio altimeter signal, [Pg 23 A.1.2.1 paragraph 1] The UWB device uses the detected signal strength to estimate the path loss between it and the nearest BWA terminal. On the basis of this it then determines in which of the three zones it is located. Three factors need to be taken into account in determining the appropriate threshold levels.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon, ECC report 120 and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon in include controller as taught by ECC report 120.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network detection parameters. (Pg 7 2.4 paragraph 1 by ECC report 120)].
In regard to claim 16, Yoon, ECC Report 120, and Surendran teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Yoon does not teach the radio altimeter signal is in the 4.2-4.4GHz frequency band.
However, Surendran does teach the radio altimeter signal in the 4.2-4.4GHz frequency band. [0004] However, for use of wireless communication in an aircraft, only available option currently is Radio Altimeter spectrum (which is 200 MHz band from 4.2 to 4.4 GHz).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yoon, ECC Report 120 and Surendran before him or her, to modify the method of Yoon and ECC Report 120 to include detect and radio altimeter as taught by Surendran.
The motivation for doing so would be to improve network management efficiency. (Paragraph 0038 by Surendran)].
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466