DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (WO 2022242636 A1; see translation).
With regards to claim 1. Wang disclose(s):
An electronic device (figs 1-4) comprising:
a first body (10) including one or more antennas (1-5);
and a second body (20) configured to be capable of flipping ([0033]) relative to the first body (10), and including one or more antennas (A-E);
wherein:
the one or more antennas (1-5) of the first body (10) and the one or more antennas (A-E) of the second body (20) are configured to at least form a plurality of target antennas with multiple inputs and multiple outputs (see multiple wireless ranges; [0031; 0045]), and the plurality of target antennas are configured to be capable of simultaneously being in a working state and have a same communication frequency band ([0046-0048]);
the plurality of target antennas include a first antenna (1-5) that is one of the one or more antennas of the first body and a second antenna (A-E) that is one of the one or more antennas of the second body [0046];
and the plurality of target antennas are configured such that:
when the first body and the second body are in a non-stacked position relationship, the plurality of target antennas are in the working state, and a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna meets an isolation requirement (see operation in open and closed states; [0033, 0037]; the examiner takes the position operating in certain frequency involves meeting isolation requirements);
and when the first body and the second body are in a stacked position relationship, the plurality of target antennas are in the working state, and an antenna form of the first antenna and an antenna form of the second antenna meet the isolation requirement (see operation in open and closed states; [0033, 0037]; the examiner takes the position operating in certain frequency involves meeting isolation requirements).
With regards to claim 2. Wang disclose(s):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first antenna includes a monopole antenna, and the second antenna includes a dipole antenna ([0030]).
With regards to claim 4. Wang disclose(s):
The electronic device according to claim 1,
wherein the first antenna (1-5) and the second antenna (A-E)are configured such that: when the first body (10) and the second body (20) are in the non-stacked position relationship (“open” [0033]), the first antenna and the second antenna are located on a same side of the electronic device (see segments 5 and E in fig 1);
and when the first body and the second body are in the stacked position relationship ([0033]), the second antenna is located within a projection of the first antenna on the second body (see segment 5 corresponding to segment E when folded in fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2022242636 A1; see translation) in view of Choi (US 20250392031 A1).
With regards to claim 3. Wang disclose(s):
The electronic device according to claim 1, wherein:
the first antenna (1-5) includes a first
and the second antenna (A-E) includes a second
Wang does not disclose(s):
The antenna segments being metal
Choi teaches:
The antenna segments being metal (see “When a signal is provided to both the conductive portion 312 and the conductive portion 313, the conductive portion 312 and the conductive portion 313 may be understood as a metal structure of a dipole antenna having a length of 2 L”; [0087])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Wang by implementing the antenna segments being metal as disclosed by Choi in order to radiate electromagnetic signals efficiently as taught/suggested by Choi ([0121]).
With regards to claim 12. Wang disclose(s):
The electronic device according to claim 1,
wherein the first antenna (1-5) includes a
Wang does not disclose(s):
The antenna segments being metal
Choi teaches:
The antenna segments being metal (see “When a signal is provided to both the conductive portion 312 and the conductive portion 313, the conductive portion 312 and the conductive portion 313 may be understood as a metal structure of a dipole antenna having a length of 2 L”; [0087])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Wang by implementing the antenna segments being metal as disclosed by Choi in order to radiate electromagnetic signals efficiently as taught/suggested by Choi ([0121]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2022242636 A1; see translation) in view of Yan (WO 2024046220 A1).
With regards to claim 5. Wang disclose(s):
The electronic device according to claim 1,
Wang does not disclose(s):
wherein a target radiation direction of the first antenna and a target radiation direction of the second antenna satisfy an orthogonal relationship.
Yan teaches:
wherein a target radiation direction of the first antenna and a target radiation direction of the second antenna satisfy an orthogonal relationship [0049].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Wang by implementing the target radiation direction of the first antenna and a target radiation direction of the second antenna satisfy an orthogonal relationship as disclosed by Yan in order to improve mutual influence between multiple radiators in a foldable electronic device as taught/suggested by Yan ([0032]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6-9 ,10-11, and 13-14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896