DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2025 and 08/12/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (“Cho”) [PGPUB 2019/0150023] in view of Yang et al. (“Yang”) [PGPUB 2024/0414586].
Regarding claim 1, the Cho reference discloses a reflective quality of service (QoS) method, comprising: determining, by a terminal device, to enable a first reflective QoS manner [Cho; figures 7-9; paragraphs 0074-0075 and 0108]; and
determining a first rule in the first reflective QoS manner, wherein the first rule comprises a QoS rule or a QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule, wherein the terminal device identifies classification information of a packet in the first reflective QoS manner [Cho; fig 7; para 0065, 0071, 0074-0078, and 0114].
The Cho reference discloses the UE performs classification and marking of user plane traffic [Cho; fig 7; para 0073-0074] but does not specifically disclose the classification information is associated with distinguishing between packets in a same internet protocol (IP) flow.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Yang reference discloses classification information is associated with distinguishing between packets in a same internet protocol (IP) flow [Yang; fig 6a-6d; para 0056-0060 and 0094]. The Cho and Yang references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area of managing packet flow of UPF. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of a classification information per packet, taught by Yang, into the system, taught by Cho. The motivation for doing so would have been to label each packet for specific packet flow.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses a parameter in the first rule comprises the classification information, or the first rule corresponds to one or more types of packets in the same IP flow [Cho; fig 19; para 0065-0066 and 0074-0076] [Yang; para 0051-0052].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses receiving first indication information or second indication information from a network device; wherein the first indication information indicates to notify a non-access stratum (NAS) of an update of a service data flow (SDF) to QoS flow mapping rule; and wherein the second indication information indicates to update the QoS flow to DRB mapping rule [Cho; para 0096-0097 and 0108-0109] [Yang; para 0050-0051].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses determining to enable the first reflective QoS manner comprises: determining, based on a first packet from the network device, to enable the first reflective QoS manner [Cho; figures 7-9; paragraphs 0074-0075 and 0108] [Yang; para 0054-0056].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses the first packet comprises third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates to the terminal device to determine the first rule in the first reflective QoS manner, or the third indication information indicates that the first packet is a packet of a first QoS type [Cho; figures 7-9; paragraphs 0074-0075 and 0108] [Yang; para 0054-0056].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses a value of an information element associated with the first packet is a specific value, and wherein the information element comprises at least one of a QoS flow identifier (QFI), a DRB identifier, a network slice identifier, a data network name, a logical channel identifier, a logical channel group identifier, or an IP flow identifier [Cho; para 0065-0066 and 0071] [Yang; para 0051-0052].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses determining to enable the first reflective QoS manner comprises: determining, based on fourth indication information from the network device, to enable the first reflective QoS manner, wherein the fourth indication information indicates to the terminal device to determine the first rule for a first information element in the first reflective QoS manner, and wherein the information element comprises at least one of a QoS flow identifier (QFI), a DRB identifier, a network slice identifier, a data network name, a logical channel identifier, a logical channel group identifier, or an IP flow identifier [Cho; para 0065-0066 and 0071] [Yang; para 0051-0052].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses the fourth indication information comprises a first field and a second field, wherein the first field carries the first information element, and wherein the second field indicates to the terminal device to determine the first rule in the first reflective QoS manner; or wherein the fourth indication information comprises a third field, wherein the third field carries the first information element, and wherein the third field further indicates to the terminal device to determine the first rule in the first reflective QoS manner; or wherein the fourth indication information comprises a fourth field, and wherein the fourth field indicates to the terminal device to determine the first rule in the first reflective QoS manner [Cho; figures 7-9; paragraphs 0074-0075 and 0108] [Yang; para 0054-0057 and 0088-0089].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses fourth indication information is carried in at least one of a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) control protocol data unit (PDU), a media access control control element (MAC CE), downlink control information (DCI), a non-access stratum (NAS) message, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) control PDU, or a radio resource control (RRC) message [Cho; fig 6; para 0068 and 0107-0108] [Yang; para 0043, 0082, and 0105-0106].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses classification information comprises at least one of a type of the packet, an importance level of the packet, a flag bit indicating whether to allow discarding of the packet, a type of a protocol data unit (PDU) set to which the packet belongs, an importance level of a PDU set to which the packet belongs, or a flag bit indicating whether to allow discarding of the PDU set to which the packet belongs [Cho; para 0073-0074, 0108, and 0111] [Yang; para 0056-0060].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses the classification information of the packet is carried in the packet [Cho; fig 7; para 0073-0074] [Yang; fig 6a-6d; para 0056-0060 and 0094].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses sending a second packet to the network device according to a second rule, wherein the second rule comprises at least one an important packet is repeatedly sent for a plurality of times, important information is carried in first N packets or last M packets of a protocol data unit (PDU) set, or an important packet comprises fifth indication information, wherein the fifth indication information indicates to the network device to reply whether the important packet is correctly received, and wherein N and M are positive integers [Cho; para 0056, 0068, 0071, 0106-0108, and 0114] [Yang; para 0056-0058 and 0133].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses important packet comprises at least one of a 1st packet of a PDU set, a last packet of the PDU set, a packet carrying a PDU set boundary indication, a packet carrying a total size of the PD U set, a packet that is not allowed to be discarded, or a packet carrying important information; and wherein the important information comprises at least one of information indicating the total size of the PDU set, number information of the PDU set, a type identifier of the PDU set, information indicating a PDU set boundary, or information indicating an association relationship between a plurality of PDU sets [Cho; para 0056, 0068, 0071, 0106-0108, and 0114] [Yang; para 0056-0058 and 0133].
Regarding claim 14, the Cho reference discloses a reflective quality of service (QoS) method, comprising: generating, by a network device, a first packet [Cho; para 0046 and 0054]; and
sending the first packet to a terminal device, wherein the first packet comprises third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates to the terminal device to determine a first rule in a first reflective QoS manner, or the third indication information indicates that the first packet is a packet of a first QoS type [Cho; figures 7-9; paragraphs 0065, 0074-0078, 0108, and 0114];
wherein the first rule comprises a QoS rule and/or a QoS flow to DRB mapping rule, wherein the first reflective QoS manner indicates the terminal device to identify classification information of a packet manner [Cho; fig 7; para 0065-0066, 0074-0078, and 0081].
The Cho reference discloses the UE performs classification and marking of user plane traffic [Cho; fig 7; para 0073-0074] but does not specifically disclose the classification information is associated with distinguishing between packets in a same internet protocol (IP) flow.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Yang reference discloses classification information is associated with distinguishing between packets in a same internet protocol (IP) flow [Yang; fig 6a-6d; para 0056-0060 and 0094]. The Cho and Yang references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area of managing packet flow of UPF. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of a classification information per packet, taught by Yang, into the system, taught by Cho. The motivation for doing so would have been to label each packet for specific packet flow.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses classification information comprises at least one of a type of the packet, an importance level of the packet, a flag bit indicating whether to allow discarding of the packet, a type of a protocol data unit (PDU) set to which the packet belongs, an importance level of the PDU set to which the packet belongs, or a flag bit indicating whether to allow discarding of the PD U set to which the packet belongs [Cho; para 0073-0074, 0108, and 0111] [Yang; para 0056-0060].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses classification information of the packet is carried in the packet [Cho; fig 7; para 0073-0074] [Yang; fig 6a-6d; para 0056-0060 and 0094].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses receiving a second packet from the terminal device, wherein the second packet comprises fifth indication information, and wherein the fifth indication information indicates to the network device to reply whether the second packet is correctly received; and sending sixth indication information to the terminal device, wherein the sixth indication information indicates that the second packet is correctly received [Cho; para 0056, 0068, 0071, 0106-0108, and 0114] [Yang; para 0056-0058 and 0133].
Regarding claim 18, the Cho reference discloses a reflective quality of service (QoS) method, wherein the method comprises: generating, by a network device, fourth indication information [Cho; para 0046 and 0054]; and
sending the fourth indication information to a terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates the terminal device to determine a first rule for a first information element in a first reflective QoS manner, wherein the first rule comprises a QoS rule or a QoS flow to data radio bearer (DRB) mapping rule, the first reflective QoS manner indicates the terminal device to identify classification information of a packet [Cho; figures 7-9; paragraphs 0065, 0074-0078, 0108, and 0114];
wherein the information element comprises at least one of the a QoS flow identifier (QFI), a DRB identifier, a network slice identifier, a data network name, a logical channel identifier, a logical channel group identifier, or an IP flow identifier [Cho; fig 13; para 0065-0066 and 0071].
The Cho reference discloses the UE performs classification and marking of user plane traffic [Cho; fig 7; para 0073-0074] but does not specifically disclose the classification information is for distinguishing between packets in a same internet protocol (IP) flow.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Yang reference discloses classification information is for distinguishing between packets in a same internet protocol (IP) flow [Yang; fig 6a-6d; para 0056-0060 and 0094]. The Cho and Yang references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area of managing packet flow of UPF. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of a classification information per packet, taught by Yang, into the system, taught by Cho. The motivation for doing so would have been to label each packet for specific packet flow.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses the fourth indication information comprises a first field and a second field, wherein the first field carries the first information element, and wherein the second field indicates to the terminal device to determine the first rule in the first reflective QoS manner; or wherein the fourth indication information comprises a third field, wherein the third field carries the first information element, and wherein the third field further indicates to the terminal device to determine the first rule in the first reflective QoS manner; or wherein the fourth indication information comprises a fourth field, and wherein the fourth field indicates to the terminal device to determine the first rule in the first reflective QoS manner [Cho; figures 7-9; paragraphs 0074-0075 and 0108] [Yang; para 0054-0057 and 0088-0089].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Cho-Yang further discloses the fourth indication information is carried in at least one of a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) control protocol data unit (PDU), a media access control control element (MAC CE), downlink control information (DCI), a non-access stratum (NAS) message, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) control PDU, or a radio resource control (RRC) message [Cho; fig 6; para 0068 and 0107-0108] [Yang; para 0043, 0082, and 0105-0106].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cha et al. [PGPUB 2024/03231258] describes multiple IP flows with DRB mapping.
Jiang [USPAT 11,190,967] describes a NAS reflective QoS function with SDAP headers.
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458