DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-6, 7-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without “significantly more”. Claim(s) 1-6, 7-14, 16-20 is/are directed to Abstract Idea such as an idea standing alone such as an instantiated concept, pan or scheme, as well as a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper for example using measurement received from a mobile device, transmitting from the source relay node to a donor access node.
The apparatus and the method claim 1, 9 and 17 recites limitation, “estimating the channel quality gain based on whether a first cell specific reference signatransmission point”. Since the claim is directed to a process and a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The claim recites obtaining, by a network device, cell profile data pertaining to a cell of a radio access network; generating, by the network device based on the cell profile data, minimum receive level cell information that includes a first minimum receive level value used only for radio connection reestablishment by an end device; generating, by the network device, a control plane message that includes the first minimum receive level cell information; and transmitting, by the network device, the control plane message. The obtaining step i.e., collecting information, the generating step i.e., analyzing it and then transmitting step i.e., outputting certain results of the obtaining and analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016) is no more than an abstract idea i.e., mental process of "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," etc. (Step 2A: Prong One Abstract Idea=Yes).
The claim is then analyzed if it requires an additional elements or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception – i.e., limitation that are indicative of integration into a practical application: improving to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. In the current claims, there is no additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A: Prong Two Abstract Idea=Yes).
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine if there are additional limitation recited in the claim such that the claim amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. The claim requires the additional limitation of a computer with the central processing unit, memory, a printer, an input and output terminal and a program. These generic computer components are claimed to perform the basic functions of storing, retrieving and processing data through the program that enables. In the current scenario, there are no additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B: No). Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Further, dependent claims 7 and 15 are added to the independent claim it will overcome the rejection. Other dependent claims does not carry any positive limitation or step that recite within the scope of the claim and does not carry patentable weight they are also rejected for the same reasons as independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. Pub. No. US 20240196249 A1
Regarding Claim 1, Wu teaches a method (Para 16, reestablishment procedure for a UE that was performing quality of experience (QoE) measurement collection (QMC) and reporting, before releasing a QoE configuration) comprising:
obtaining, by a network device, cell profile data pertaining to a cell of a radio access network (Fig. 3A and 3B Step 310-314, the UE 102 starts 310 QMC and reporting. In some implementations, after starting 310QMC and reporting, the UE 102 transmits 312 uplink (UL) message(s) to the S-BS 104, the message(s) containing one or more QoE reports. In some implementations, the uplink message(s) are UL RRC message(s) and the UE 102 transmits the UL RRC message(s) to the S-BS 104 via an SRB. In some implementations, the SRB is an SRB4. In such implementations, the S-BS 104 can include, in the RRC reconfiguration 308, configuration parameter(s) to configure the SRB4. Alternatively, the S-BS 104 can send, to the UE 102, a DL RRC message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) including configuration parameter(s) to configure the SRB4 during event 304 or before event 312. Depending on the implementation, the S-BS 104 then transmits 314 the one or more QoE reports to the TCE/MCE 190. In some implementations, the QoE report(s) are encapsulated in transparent container(s) that the S-BS 104 receives 312 from the UE 102 and forwards to the CN 110 or OAM 180 i.e., obtaining, by a network device, cell profile data pertaining to a cell of a radio access network);
generating (Para 79 and Fig. 3A and 3B, the CN 110 or OAM 180 transmits 338 a QMC deactivation message to the T-BS 106, including a command to release one or more QoE configurations configured in the procedure 384, i.e., generating), by the network device (Para 79 and Fig. 3A and 3B, Unit 110 CN 110 or OAM 180) based on the cell profile data (Para 56, QoE), minimum receive level cell information (Para 3, KPI) that includes a first minimum receive level value used only for radio connection reestablishment by an end device (Para 80, the QMC deactivation message is a Deactivate Trace message where trace id is a value (typically a unique, immutable identifier) that is assigned to a single end-to-end request or transaction through multiple services. In other implementations, the QMC deactivation message (e.g., Trace Deactivation IE, QoE Deactivate IE, or QoE Deactivation IE) is included in an OAM-to-BS message or a CN-to-BS message (e.g., NGAP message). In such implementations, the CN 110 or OAM 180 transmit 338 the message (i.e., the OAM-to-BS message or the CN-to-BS message) including the QMC deactivation message to the T-BS 106. In this manner, QoE configuration(s) for a UE is transferred from a first base station to a second base station and the CN or OAM can deactivate QMC at the second base station i.e., a first minimum receive level value used only for radio connection reestablishment by an end device);
generating, by the network device, a control plane message that includes the first minimum receive level cell information (Para 79 and 84, the CN 110 or OAM 180 transmits 339 a QMC activation command to the T-BS 106. The CN 110 or OAM 180 includes a command to modify the one or more QoE configurations in the QMC activation command i.e., generating, by the network device, a control plane message that includes the first minimum receive level cell information; and
transmitting, by the network device, the control plane message (Para 79 and 84, The T-BS 106 then transmits 341 a radio resource reconfiguration message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE 102, the message including the command to modify the one or more QoE configurations).
Regarding Claim 2, Wu teaches wherein the first minimum receive level value includes q-RxLevMin value or a q-RxLevMinSUL value (Para 59).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu teaches wherein the cell profile data includes measurement report data from end devices (Para 55).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu teaches wherein the control plane message includes a second minimum receive level value used only for radio connection non-reestablishment by the end device, and wherein the second minimum receive level value differs from the first minimum receive level value (Para 84).
Regarding Claim 5, Wu teaches wherein the first minimum receive level value includes an offset (Para 84).
Regarding Claim 6, Wu teaches wherein the first minimum receives level cell information includes at least one of a Fifth Generation Quality of Service Identifier (5QI) value, an application service identifier, a category of an application service, or data indicating reestablishment (Para 3 and 80).
Regarding Claim 7, Wu teaches further comprising: establishing, by the network device, a first radio connection with the end device via the cell; losing, by the network device, the first radio connection; and reestablishing, by the network device after the transmitting, a second radio connection with the end device via the cell (Para 89 and 107-108).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu teaches wherein the network device is an integrated or a split radio access network device of the radio access network (Fig. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 9, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 11, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 12, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 13, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding Claim 14, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 15, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Regarding Claim 16, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Regarding Claim 17, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 18, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 19, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 20, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patel et al. Pub. No. US 20260136426 A1 - SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR DELIVERING A MESSAGE AFTER A CONNECTION REESTABLISHMENT IN A NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORK
Wang et al. Pub. No. US 20260006500 A1 - METHOD FOR HANDOVER KEY MANAGEMENT WITH NEXT GENERATION NETWORKS AND A SYSTEM THEREOF
Wu et al. Pub. No. US 20250081047 A1 - Managing Quality of Experience Reporting
Wu et al. Pub. No. US 20230388891 A1 - MANAGING UE INFORMATION AFTER PREPARING A CONDITIONAL MOBILITY PROCEDURE
Hwang et al. Pub. No. US 20220007212 A1 - METHOD FOR PROCESSING NODE FAILURE IN INTEGRATED ACCESS AND BACKHAUL SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING REDIRECTION INFORMATION THEREIN
WO 2025175194 A1 - SUBSEQUENT CONDITIONAL CELL SWITCH
WO 2025162548 A1 - OPERATIONAL MANAGEMENT OF RADIO RESOURCE CONTROL PROFILES
CA 2938389 C - MACHINE-TO-MACHINE (M2M) TERMINAL, BASE STATION, METHOD, AND COMPUTER READABLE MEDIUM
NIZAR N. SIVJI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/NIZAR N SIVJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647