DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species A (figs.1-6) and claims 1-2,4-16 and 18-31 in the reply filed on 04/24/2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “band” in claim 1 and 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,4-8 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lassiter (US6789693B2).
Regarding claim 1, Lassiter teaches a container assembly, comprising (see annotated fig.3 of Lassiter below):
a container body comprising a band near an upper end of the container body (see annotated fig.3 below for container body with a band near upper end of the body; it is noted applicant has not shown what the band is or the structure for it );
one or more first buckle connectors attached to an outer surface of the band (see annotated fig.3 below for the buckle connectors attached to an outer surface of the band);
a strap comprising one or more second buckle connectors at ends of the strap (see annotated fig.3 below for a strap comprising one or more second buckle connected at the end of strap);
a rigid handle comprising one or more arms, a cross-bar (see annotated fig.2 below for a rigid handle with two arms and cross-bar; it is noted that applicant has not defined the rigidity of the handle here rigid is read as stiff and the strap can be stiff), and one or more third buckle connectors, wherein each of said one or more arms comprises a cross-bar end and a buckle end, the cross-bar end is connected to an end of the cross-bar, and the buckle end is connected to one of the third buckle connectors (see annotated fig.3 below for the third buckle connector and the arms comprises bar ends and buckle end and the bar ends are connected respectively); and
wherein each said second buckle connector and each said third buckle connector are configured to be interchangeably coupled to each said first buckle connector such that the strap and the rigid handle are interchangeable with and removably connectable to the one or more first buckle connectors (see annotated fig.3 below for the second buckle connected and third buckle connected are capable of being interchange coupled to the first buckle connecter such that the strap and the handle are interchangeable with and removably connected to the first buckle connectors).
Annotated fig.3 of Lassiter
Regarding claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter further teaches wherein the container body is a jug or a bucket (see annotated fig.3 above where the body is a bucket).
Regarding claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter further teaches wherein each of the one or more first buckle connectors and each of the one or more second buckle connectors or the one or more third buckle connectors are each a pair of side-release buckles (see annotated fig.3 above where the first connector and second connector and third connector are each a pair of side release buckles).
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 4 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter further teaches wherein the one or more first buckle connectors are male buckles when the one or more second buckle connectors and the one or more third buckle connectors are female buckles, or the one or more first buckle connectors are female buckles when the one or more second buckle connectors and the one or more third buckle connectors are male buckles (see annotated fig.3 above).
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 5 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter further teaches wherein each said male buckle comprises a center arm and one or more spring arms spaced from the center arm, each said spring arm comprising a retaining catch that terminates at one end (see annotated fig.3 above and fig.4).
Regarding claim 7, the references as applied to claim 6 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter further teaches each said female buckle comprises a front opening and one or more side openings, and each side opening operably receives the spring arm and secures the male buckle by engaging the retaining catch (see annotated fig.3 and fig.4 that shows the openings that receive the spring arms).
Regarding claim 8, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter further teaches wherein the container assembly comprises a jug assembly (see annotated fig.3 above for the container seemly comprises a jug assembly).
Regarding claim 11, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassier further teaches each said first buckle connector is rotatably coupled to the band wherein said band is formed on a liner (see annotated fig.3 above as the buckle connected is rotatably coupled to the band as it can hook and unhook from the attachment mechanisms and is formed on a liner).
Regarding claim 12, the references as applied to claim 11 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter further teaches each said first buckle connector comprises a fastener extended from the first buckle connector (see annotated fig.3 below for the fastener).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Seiders (US20170043916A1).
Regarding claim 9, the references as applied to claim 8 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter further teaches wherein the jug assembly further comprises a cap (see annotated fig.3 above for the cap). Lassiter does not teach the container body further comprises a spout extending from the top of the container body.
Seiders teaches the container body further comprises a spout extending from the top of the container body (fig.3 shows the cap 104 with a spout 310 extending from the top). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cap disclosed by Lassiter by adding the teaching of spout on the cap as disclosed by Seiders in order to have a controlled flow of the contents being stored in the container.
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lassiter (US 6789693 B2) above and further in view of Maldonado (US20120298672A1).
Regarding claim 10, the references as applied to claim 9 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 9 does not teach the jug assembly further comprises a cap assembly comprising the cap at one end and a hinge at another end, the hinge pivotally coupled to the top of the container body such that the cap pivotally rotates around the hinge between a closed position and an open position, wherein the cap seals the spout in the closed position.
Maldonado does teach the jug assembly further comprises a cap assembly comprising the cap at one end and a hinge at another end, the hinge pivotally coupled to the top of the container body such that the cap pivotally rotates around the hinge between a closed position and an open position, wherein the cap seals the spout in the closed position (fig.3A shows the spout 306 that is a flip spout i.e. pivotally hinged to open and closed positions). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spout disclosed by claim 9 by adding the teaching of a hinged spout as disclosed by Maldonado in order to make the opening of the spout/cap easier as it requires no turning of screws and its just a flip.
Regarding claim 14, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter does not teach the rigid handle further comprises one or more hook elements, wherein each said hook element comprises a hook end and an arm end, a hook terminating at the hook end, and the arm end rotatably coupled to the cross-bar end of each of said one or more arms.
Maldonado teaches the rigid handle further comprises one or more hook elements, wherein each said hook element comprises a hook end and an arm end, a hook terminating at the hook end, and the arm end rotatably coupled to the cross-bar end of each of said one or more arms (fig.1A-1B shows the rigid handle 110 with a hook elements 124 with a hook 122 terminating at a hook end and arm end rotatable coupled to the cross bar of the arms 112).. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rigid handle disclosed by claim 1 by adding the teaching of the hook as disclosed by Maldonado in order to allow the cooler to hang. “The exemplary hooks 120, 122 engage an object to allow the cooler to hang. Each hook 120, 122 can have one or more of a number of shapes and/or features.”-0034, Maldonado
Claim(s) 15-16,18-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lassiter (US6789693B2) and further in view of Maldonado (US20120298672A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lassiter teaches a container assembly, comprising (see annotated fig.3 above):
a container body comprising a band formed near top of the container body, said band defined by a liner (see annotated fig.3 above for the container body with a band near top of the body defined by a liner );
one or more first buckle connectors attached to an outer surface of the liner (see annotated fig.3 above for the buckle connected attached to an outer surface of the liner);
a handle comprising one or more arms, a cross-bar, one or more third buckle connectors, each of said one or more arms comprising a cross-bar end and a buckle end (see annotated fig.3 above for the handle comprising arms, cross-bar and buckle end at the ends) each said third buckle connector is operably coupled to each said first buckle connector such that the rigid handle is removably connectable to the liner (see annotated fig.3 above). Lassiter does not teach one or more hook elements, each said hook element comprising a hook end and an arm end; and wherein: the cross-bar end is connected to an end of the cross-bar, and the buckle end is connected to one of the third buckle connectors; wherein handle is rigid, a hook terminating at the hook end, and the arm end rotatably coupled to the cross-bar end of each of said one or more arms.
Maldonado does teach one or more hook elements, each said hook element comprising a hook end and an arm end; and wherein: the cross-bar end is connected to an end of the cross-bar, and the buckle end is connected to one of the third buckle connectors; wherein handle is rigid, a hook terminating at the hook end, and the arm end rotatably coupled to the cross-bar end of each of said one or more arms (fig.1A-1B shows the rigid handle 110 that is rigid with cross bar 116 and two arms 112/114 with a hook elements 124 with a hook 122 terminating at a hook end and arm end rotatable coupled to the cross bar of the arms 112). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rigid handle disclosed by claim 1 by adding the teaching of the hook as disclosed by Maldonado in order to allow the cooler to hang. “The exemplary hooks 120, 122 engage an object to allow the cooler to hang. Each hook 120, 122 can have one or more of a number of shapes and/or features.”-0034, Maldonado
Regarding claim 16, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 15 further teaches wherein the container body is a jug or a bucket (see annotated fig.3 above where is body is a bucket)
Regarding claim 18, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 15 further teaches wherein the container assembly further comprises an attachment comprising one or more second buckle connectors (see annotated fig.3 above).
Regarding claim 19, the references as applied to claim 18 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 18 further teaches the attachment is a strap, wherein the one or more second buckle connectors extend at ends of the strap (see annotated fig.3 above where the strap is the attachment and the second connected extends at the end of it).
Regarding claim 20, the references as applied to claim 18 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 18 further teaches wherein each said second buckle connector and each said third buckle connector are configured to be interchangeably coupled to each said first buckle connector such that the attachment and the rigid handle are interchangeable with and removably connectable to the one or more first buckle connectors (see annotated fig.3 and fig.4 of Lassiter that show the each of the connectors are capable of being interchangeably coupled to other connecters).
Regarding claim 21, the references as applied to claim 18 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 18 further teaches wherein each of the one or more first buckle connectors and each of the one or more second buckle connectors or the one or more third buckle connectors are each a pair of side-release buckles (see annotated fig.3 and 4 of Lassiter).
Regarding claim 22, the references as applied to claim 21 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 21 further teaches wherein the one or more first buckle connectors are male buckles when the one or more second buckle connectors and the one or more third buckle connectors are female buckles, or the one or more first buckle connectors are female buckles when the one or more second buckle connectors and the one or more third buckle connectors are male buckles (see annotated fig.3 above for the connected being made and female connected similar to that of applicants).
Regarding claim 23, the references as applied to claim 22 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 22 further teaches wherein each said male buckle comprises a center arm and one or more spring arms spaced from the center arm, each said spring arm comprising a retaining catch that terminates at one end (see annotated fig.3 and fig.4 of Lassiter that show the male buckles with arm and spring arms on each other with retaining catch similar to applicants).
Regarding claim 24, the references as applied to claim 23 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 23 further teaches said female buckle comprises a front opening and one or more side openings, and each side opening operably receives the spring arm and secures the male buckle by engaging the retaining catch (see annotated fig.3 and 4 that show the female buckle with front opening, side opening and the opening that receive the spring arm similar to applicant’s).
Regarding claim 25, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 15 further teaches wherein the container assembly comprises a jug assembly (see annotated fig.3 above as modified with Maldonado that show the jug assembly).
Regarding claim 26, the references as applied to claim 25 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 25 does not teach wherein the jug assembly further comprises a cap, and the container body further comprises a spout extending from the top of the container body.
Maldonado does teach wherein the jug assembly further comprises a cap, and the container body further comprises a spout extending from the top of the container body (see annotated fig.3A below with a cap that will disclose a spout under). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spout disclosed by claim 25 by adding the teaching of a hinged cap with a spout as disclosed by Maldonado in order to make the opening of the spout/cap easier as it requires no turning of screws and its just a flip and having a spout giving the user more control over the flow of contents that are extracted from the container.
Annotated fig.3A of Maldonado
Regarding claim 27, the references as applied to claim 26 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 26 further teaches the spout comprising a connection configured to removably connect to the cap (see annotated fig.3B above foe the connection of the cap being removably connected to spout since the cap is a hinged cap).
Regarding claim 28, the references as applied to claim 26 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 26 further teaches jug assembly further comprises a cap assembly including the cap at one end and a hinge at another end, the hinge pivotally coupled to the top of the container body such that the cap assembly pivotally rotates around the hinge between a closed position and an open position, wherein the cap seals the spout in the closed position (fig.3A shows the spout 306 that is a flip spout i.e. pivotally hinged to open and closed positions).
Regarding claim 29, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 15 further teaches each said first buckle connector is rotatably coupled to the liner (see annotated fig.3 above for the first connector being rotatable to liner).
Regarding claim 30, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 15 further teaches each said first buckle connector comprises a fastener extended from the first buckle connector (see annotated fig.3 above).
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lassiter (US6789693B2) and further in view of Maldonado (US20120298672A1).
Regarding claim 30, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 15 does not each said first buckle connector comprises a fastener extended from the first buckle connector.
Ripley does teach wherein the first buckle connector comprises a fastener extended from the first buckle connector (fig.4A show the buckle 16b with a fastener 22 extending from 16b coupled to a boss on 16a in fig.3 into the liner 18). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the buckle disclosed by claim 12 by adding the teaching of the fastener and the boss as disclosed by Ripley in order to enable control over how easily the handle rotates relative to the container. “The coupling mechanism that couples the handle to the collar and/or container (including e.g. the fastener that fastens the first rotation portion to the second rotation portion) may enable control over how easily the handle rotates relative to the container. For example the fastener may comprise a tensioning mechanism such that tightening of the fastener may decrease the ease with which the handle rotates relative to the container, and/or loosening of the fastener may increase the ease with which the handle rotates relative to the container.” -0031, Ripley
Regarding claim 31, the references as applied to claim 30 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter as modified in claim 30 further teaches the fastener is coupled to a boss running radially into the liner (fig.3 shows the boss 16A created to receive the fastener).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 12 and further in view of Ripley (US20220232956A1).
Regarding claim 13, the references as applied to claim 12 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Lassiter does not teach the fastener is coupled to a boss, said fastener extending radially into the liner.
Ripley does teach the fastener is coupled to a boss, said fastener extending radially into the liner (fig.4A show the buckle 16b with a fastener 22 coupled to a boss on 16a in fig.3 into the liner 18). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the buckle disclosed by claim 12 by adding the teaching of the fastener and the boss as disclosed by Ripley in order to enable control over how easily the handle rotates relative to the container. “The coupling mechanism that couples the handle to the collar and/or container (including e.g. the fastener that fastens the first rotation portion to the second rotation portion) may enable control over how easily the handle rotates relative to the container. For example the fastener may comprise a tensioning mechanism such that tightening of the fastener may decrease the ease with which the handle rotates relative to the container, and/or loosening of the fastener may increase the ease with which the handle rotates relative to the container.” -0031, Ripley
Conclusion
See PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant’s claims as written are too broad as highlighted by a 102 and 103.
/PRINCE PAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3735