DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/02/2026 (hereafter “the amendment”) has been accepted and entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “band” in claim 1 and claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,4-5,8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodgers (US 20220041335 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rodgers teaches a container assembly, comprising (see annotated fig.6 of Rodgers below):
a container body having an outer shell and an inner liner, said inner liner comprising a band near an upper end of the container body (see annotated fig.6 below for container body having an inner line and an outer shell see fig.3 for the inner liner being separate from the outer shell and band upper end of the body; it is noted applicant has not shown what the band is or the structure for it);
one or more first buckle connectors attached to an outer surface of the band (see fig. 3 for the buckle connectors 111r attached to an outer surface of the band);
a strap comprising one or more second buckle connectors at ends of the strap (see annotated fig.6 below for a strap and fig.5 for comprising one or more second buckle 163 connected at the end of strap);
a rigid handle comprising one or more arms, a cross-bar (see annotated fig.6 below for a rigid handle with two arms and cross-bar; it is noted that applicant has not defined the rigidity of the handle here rigid is read as stiff and the strap can be stiff), and one or more third buckle connectors, wherein each of said one or more arms comprises a cross-bar end and a buckle end, the cross-bar end is connected to an end of the cross-bar, and the buckle end is connected to one of the third buckle connectors (see annotated fig.6 below for the third buckle connector 111r will be on the opposite side and the arms comprises bar ends and buckle end and the bar ends are connected respectively); and
wherein each said second buckle connector and each said third buckle connector are configured to be interchangeably coupled to each said first buckle connector such that the strap and the rigid handle are interchangeable with and removably connectable to the one or more first buckle connectors (see annotated fig.6 below for the second buckle connected and third buckle connected are capable of being interchange coupled to the first buckle connecter such that the strap and the handle are interchangeable with and removably connected to the first buckle connectors).
Annotated fig.6 of Rodgers
Regarding claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers further teaches wherein the container body is a jug or a bucket (see annotated fig.6 above where the body is a bucket).
Regarding claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers further teaches wherein each of the one or more first buckle connectors and each of the one or more second buckle connectors or the one or more third buckle connectors are each a pair of side-release buckles (see annotated fig.6 above where the first connector and second connector and third connector are each a pair of side release buckles).
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 4 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers further teaches wherein the one or more first buckle connectors are male buckles when the one or more second buckle connectors and the one or more third buckle connectors are female buckles, or the one or more first buckle connectors are female buckles when the one or more second buckle connectors and the one or more third buckle connectors are male buckles (see annotated fig.6 above and fig.3 and 5).
Regarding claim 8, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers further teaches wherein the container assembly comprises a jug assembly (see annotated fig.6 above for the container seemly comprises a jug assembly).
Regarding claim 11, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers further teaches each said first buckle connector is rotatably coupled to the band wherein said band is formed on a liner (see annotated fig.6 above as the buckle connected is rotatably coupled to the band as it can hook and unhook from the attachment mechanisms and is formed on a liner).
Regarding claim 12, the references as applied to claim 11 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers further teaches each said first buckle connector comprises a fastener extended from the first buckle connector (see fig.3 for the fastener 119).
Regarding claim 13, the references as applied to claim 12 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers further teaches the fastener is coupled to a boss, said fastener extending radially into the liner (fig.3 shows the fastener 119 that is coupled to a boss 157 running radially into the liner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16,18-22,25 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Maldonado (US20120298672A1).
Regarding claim 14, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers does not teach the rigid handle further comprises one or more hook elements, wherein each said hook element comprises a hook end and an arm end, a hook terminating at the hook end, and the arm end rotatably coupled to the cross-bar end of each of said one or more arms.
Maldonado teaches the rigid handle further comprises one or more hook elements, wherein each said hook element comprises a hook end and an arm end, a hook terminating at the hook end, and the arm end rotatably coupled to the cross-bar end of each of said one or more arms (fig.1A-1B shows the rigid handle 110 with a hook elements 124 with a hook 122 terminating at a hook end and arm end rotatable coupled to the cross bar of the arms 112).. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rigid handle disclosed by claim 1 by adding the teaching of the hook as disclosed by Maldonado in order to allow the cooler to hang. “The exemplary hooks 120, 122 engage an object to allow the cooler to hang. Each hook 120, 122 can have one or more of a number of shapes and/or features.”-0034, Maldonado
Regarding claim 15, Rodgers teaches a container assembly, comprising (see annotated fig.6 of Rodgers above):
a container body having an outer shell and an inner liner, said inner liner comprising a band formed near an upper end of the container body, said band defined by said inner liner (see annotated fig.6 above for container body having an inner line and an outer shell see fig.3 for the inner liner being separate from the outer shell and band upper end of the body; it is noted applicant has not shown what the band is or the structure for it);
one or more first buckle connectors attached to an outer surface of the inner liner (see fig. 3 for the buckle connectors 111r attached to an outer surface of the inner liner);
a rigid handle comprising one or more arms, a cross-bar (see annotated fig.6 above for a rigid handle with two arms and cross-bar; it is noted that applicant has not defined the rigidity of the handle here rigid is read as stiff and the strap can be stiff), and one or more third buckle connectors, each of said one or more arms comprises a cross-bar end and a buckle end, the cross-bar end is connected to an end of the cross-bar, and the buckle end is connected to one of the third buckle connectors (see annotated fig.6 above for the third buckle connector 111r will be on the opposite side and the arms comprises bar ends and buckle end and the bar ends are connected respectively).Rodgers does not teach one or more hook elements, each said hook element comprising a hook end and an arm end; and wherein: the cross-bar end is connected to an end of the cross-bar, and the buckle end is connected to one of the third buckle connectors; wherein handle is rigid, a hook terminating at the hook end, and the arm end rotatably coupled to the cross-bar end of each of said one or more arms.
Maldonado does teach one or more hook elements, each said hook element comprising a hook end and an arm end; and wherein: the cross-bar end is connected to an end of the cross-bar, and the buckle end is connected to one of the third buckle connectors; wherein handle is rigid, a hook terminating at the hook end, and the arm end rotatably coupled to the cross-bar end of each of said one or more arms (fig.1A-1B shows the rigid handle 110 that is rigid with cross bar 116 and two arms 112/114 with a hook elements 124 with a hook 122 terminating at a hook end and arm end rotatable coupled to the cross bar of the arms 112). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rigid handle disclosed by Rodgers by adding the teaching of the hook as disclosed by Maldonado in order to allow the cooler to hang. “The exemplary hooks 120, 122 engage an object to allow the cooler to hang. Each hook 120, 122 can have one or more of a number of shapes and/or features.”-0034, Maldonado
Regarding claim 16, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 15 further teaches wherein the container body is a jug or a bucket (see annotated fig.6 above where is body is a bucket)
Regarding claim 18, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 15 further teaches wherein the container assembly further comprises an attachment comprising one or more second buckle connectors (fig.5 for comprising one or more second buckle 163).
Regarding claim 19, the references as applied to claim 18 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 18 further teaches the attachment is a strap, wherein the one or more second buckle connectors extend at ends of the strap (see annotated fig.6 below for a strap and fig.5 for comprising one or more second buckle 163 connected at the end of strap).
Regarding claim 20, the references as applied to claim 18 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 18 further teaches wherein each said second buckle connector and each said third buckle connector are configured to be interchangeably coupled to each said first buckle connector such that the attachment and the rigid handle are interchangeable with and removably connectable to the one or more first buckle connectors (see annotated fig.6 below for the second buckle connected and third buckle connected are capable of being interchange coupled to the first buckle connecter such that the strap and the handle are interchangeable with and removably connected to the first buckle connectors).
Regarding claim 21, the references as applied to claim 18 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 18 further teaches wherein each of the one or more first buckle connectors and each of the one or more second buckle connectors or the one or more third buckle connectors are each a pair of side-release buckles (see annotated fig.6 and fig.1-5).
Regarding claim 22, the references as applied to claim 21 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 21 further teaches wherein the one or more first buckle connectors are male buckles when the one or more second buckle connectors and the one or more third buckle connectors are female buckles, or the one or more first buckle connectors are female buckles when the one or more second buckle connectors and the one or more third buckle connectors are male buckles (see annotated fig.6 above and fig.1-5).
Regarding claim 25, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 15 further teaches wherein the container assembly comprises a jug assembly (see annotated fig.6 above that show the jug assembly).
Regarding claim 29, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 15 further teaches each said first buckle connector is rotatably coupled to the liner (see annotated fig.6 above for the first connector being rotatable to liner).
Regarding claim 30, the references as applied to claim 15 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 15 further teaches each said first buckle connector comprises a fastener extended from the first buckle connector (see fig.3 for fastener 119).
Regarding claim 31, the references as applied to claim 30 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Rodgers as modified in claim 30 further teaches the fastener is coupled to a boss running radially into the liner (fig.3 shows the fastener 119 that is coupled to a boss 157 running radially into the liner).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7,9-10,23-24,26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Only reference still used from the previous rejection is Maldonado which is used to teach the hook elements which is supported by the teaching as stated above. The way applicant portrayed their arguments made it seem as examiner was bodily incorporating the references, as applicant recited what the two refences as used for. Drawing objection is still upheld because applicant recites “[0054], "In some embodiments, where the container body 103 is formed as a single wall structure, an upper portion of the container body 103 may comprise a band where the handle 105 or strap 205 may be connected." This text is in reference to FIGS. IA - 2. Alternatively, in paragraph [0055], the specification describes when the container is a double walled structure. Specifically, the specification states, "In some embodiments, such as a double wall structure, the band may be defined by the liner 131 and the one or more first buckle connectors 133 may be attached to the exposed liner portion 231." (emphasis added). Again, this is in reference to FIGS. lA - 2.” However even in the specification applicant recited it does not state what the band is and applicant did not made it clear on the record that “handle 105 or strap 205” are the band. Claim recites “a container body having an outer shell and an inner liner, said inner liner comprising a band near an upper end of the container body” and goes on to also claim “strap” so which is it? Is the strap or handle the “band” because it cannot be both if applicant is claiming all three structures since band is not shown or given any indication in specifications what it is. Even when applicant states “the band may be defined by the liner 131..” (emphasis added) still does not state what the band is.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRINCE PAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735