DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s submission filed on 11/27/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application of which Claims 1, 19, and 20 are independent and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s)(IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024, 1/31/2025, 1/31/2025, 2/20/2025, 3/18/2025, 4/4/2025, 5/14/2025, 6/23/2025, 7/1/2025, 9/10/2025, 9/30/2025, 1/2/2026, 1/21/2026, 2/16/2026, 3/3/2026, 4/30/2026, 5/20/2026 and 6/17/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 10, 12, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woolsey et al. (US20160373571A1)(herein " Woolsey ").
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20 Woolsey teaches[A first user device, comprising: a display; a first microphone; one or more processors; a memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, wherein the one or more programs include instructions for: - claim 1], [A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a first user device with a display and a first microphone, cause the first user device to:- claim 19], and [A method, comprising: at a first user device with a display and a first microphone: - claim 20] (Woolsey, Par. 0016:” … audio captured by a microphone is split so that it is received by a digital assistant and phone/video call applications; “, and Par. 0033:” … users 105 employ respective devices 110 “, and Par. 0044:” The digital assistant 350 can be exposed to the user 105 through a UI that is displayed on the device. “, and Par. 0087:” … Computer system 3300 includes a processor 3305, a system memory 3311, … The drives and their associated computer-readable storage media provide non-volatile storage of computer-readable instructions, data structures, program modules, and other data for the computer system 3300. … In addition, as used herein, the term computer-readable storage media includes one or more instances of a media type (e.g., one or more magnetic disks, one or more CDs, etc.), and Par. 0088:” one or more application programs 3357, other program modules 3360, and program data 3363… A monitor 3373 or other type of display device is also connected to the system bus 3314 via an interface, such as a video adapter 3375.”)
during a communication session between at least the first user device and a second user device with a second microphone: displaying a communication session user interface, (Woolsey, Par. 0064] FIGS. 21 to 24 illustratively show how the digital assistant can be utilized in the course of a video call [communication session] 215 between local [first user] and remote [second user] parties.”, and Par. 0044:” The digital assistant 350 can be exposed to the user 105 through a UI that is displayed on the device. For example, FIGS. 7, 8, and 9 show various illustrative screen captures of UIs that may be utilized in the present use of a digital assistant in communications. It is emphasized that the particular UIs displayed in the drawings can vary from what is shown according to the needs of a particular implementation. UI 700 in FIG. 7 shows the digital assistant (named “Cortana” in this example) represented by a tile 705 that is displayed along with tiles representing other apps or user experiences on a start screen of a device. “, and Par. 0048:”… As shown in FIG. 10, the audio from the microphone 320 is split into two streams at a split point 1005 so that both the phone and video call apps 335 and 345 as well as the digital assistant 350 can receive audio signals from the user 105.”)
wherein the communication session user interface includes a user interface element that represents a digital assistant; (Woolsey, Par. 0064] FIGS. 21 to 24 illustratively show how the digital assistant can be utilized in the course of a video call [communication session] 215 between local [first user] and remote [second user] parties.”, and Par. 0044:” The digital assistant 350 can be exposed to the user 105 through a UI that is displayed on the device. … UI 700 in FIG. 7 shows the digital assistant (named “Cortana” in this example) represented by a tile 705 that is displayed along with tiles representing other apps or user experiences on a start screen of a device. “)
receive/receiving a first user input corresponding to a selection of the user interface element that represents the digital assistant; (Woolsey, Par. 0044:”… UI 700 in FIG. 7 shows the digital assistant (named “Cortana” in this example) represented by a tile 705 [user interface element] that is displayed along with tiles representing other apps or user experiences on a start screen of a device. “, and Par. 0045:” When the user invokes the digital assistant, for example, by touching the tile 705 [user interface element] or by invoking a voice command or gesture, a UI 800 shown in FIG. 8 is displayed on the device 110 that includes a text string 805 that asks the user if something is needed.”)
in response to receiving the first user input corresponding to the selection of the user interface element that represents the digital assistant, invoking a digital assistant session during the communication session; and (Woolsey, Par. 0049:” … shown in FIG. 12 which provides a transcript of what is spoken during an illustrative voice call 205. As the parties [first and second users] are talking on the call, the local [first] user invokes the digital assistant by saying the key phrase “Hey Cortana” at point 1 in the call at block 1205. It is emphasized that this particular key phrase is intended be illustrative and that other key words, phrases, or other methods of invocation [selection of the user interface element] can be utilized depending on the needs of a particular implementation of the present use of a digital assistant in communications.”)
while the digital assistant session is invoked during the communication session: receiving, via the first microphone of the first user device, a second user input that represents a first voice communication of the communication session; and (Woolsey, Par. 0059:” FIGS. 19 and 20 illustratively show how the digital assistant can be utilized in the course of a messaging conversation 210 between local [first user] and remote [second user] parties. UIs 1905 and 1910 are respectively exposed by messaging apps on the local and remote devices. Chains of text messages are shown in each UI with outgoing messages being shown on the right side and incoming messages from the other party being shown on the left side. While text messages are used in this particular illustrative example, it is noted that other forms and types of messages, including multimedia messages, voice, and video messages, may be supported by the present use of a digital assistant in communications. “)
receiving a third user input that represents a second voice communication of the communication session, wherein the third user input is initially received via the second microphone of the second user device; and (Woolsey, Par. 0054:” FIG. 15 depicts a screen capture of a UI 1500 that is displayed on the device of the remote [second] user at point 3 in the call at block 1215 in FIG. 12. Here, the contact information sent by the digital assistant comes in as new message notification 1505 which is displayed at the top of the UI on the remote user's device. In this illustrative example, the notification shows the sender and a snippet of the content that is contained in the message. Typically, the remote user can launch the texting application to see the full content of the message which can include various kinds of contact information such as street address, link to website, phone number, map, etc.”) Note: Point 3 in Fig. 12 can represent the third user input which represents a second voice communication issued by the second user by the second user device. Furthermore, each of the user devices as depicted in Fig. 19, are equipped with their own microphone as depicted in the US (1905, and 1920).
outputting a digital assistant response, (Woolsey, Par. 0061:” The digital assistant injects its own text message into the messaging app UI on the local device, as indicated by reference numeral 1920 in FIG. 19, to visually show the local user how it is responding to the request. Here, the digital assistant indicates that it is sending the contact information to the remote user in the text message 1920. In some cases, the digital assistant can respond to the request using audio.”)
wherein the digital assistant response is determined based on the first voice communication and the second voice communication. (Woolsey, Par. 0049:” … the local [first] user invokes the digital assistant by saying the key phrase “Hey Cortana” [first voice communication] at point 1 in the call at block 1205.”, and Figure 12 at point 1:” send the Asian Fusian contact information which is mapped to the second voice communication.”, and at point 2 of figure 12, box 1210, digital assistant response:” sure thing, texting Asian Fusion contact information to Mark.”)
Regarding claim 2, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey further teaches wherein the communication session between at least the first user device and the second user device is a video communication session. (Woolsey, Par. 0036:” The devices 110 and communications network 115 may be configured to enable device-to-device communication. As shown in FIG. 2, such device-to-device communication 200 can include, for example, voice calls 205, messaging conversations 210, and video calls 215.”, and Par. 0071:” … the digital assistant can set up a conference bridge using voice or video and invite the meeting participants to join the bridge with the appropriate instructions. When the meeting is scheduled to start, the digital assistant can place a call into the conference bridge on the user's behalf.”, and Par. 0084:”FIG. 32 shows a flowchart of an illustrative method 3200 in which a digital assistant participates in a messaging session between local and remote parties. In step 3205 a messaging session is established between devices used by local and remote parties. The digital assistant sets up a listener so that during the messaging session the local user can invoke the digital assistant by saying a key word or phrase in step 3210. As the user speaks, the digital assistant listens in, as shown in step 3215.”)
Regarding claim 3, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for storing data associated with the digital assistant response, (Woolsey, Par. 0062:” In typical implementations, the messages [data]from the digital assistant are persisted in the user's communications history with the remote user with full fidelity.”) Note: digital assistant stores its messages in the (chat) history.
wherein the data associated with the digital assistant response is determined based on the first voice communication and the second voice communication. (Woolsey, Par. 0049:” … the local [first] user invokes the digital assistant by saying the key phrase “Hey Cortana” [first voice communication] at point 1 in the call at block 1205.”, and Fig. 12 at point 1:” send the Asian Fusian contact information which is mapped to the second voice communication.”, and at point 2 of figure 12, box 1210, digital assistant response:” sure thing, texting Asian Fusion contact information to Mark.”)
Regarding claim 9, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey further teaches wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes displaying text that is determined based on the first voice communication and the second voice communication. (Woolsey, Par. 0061:” The digital assistant injects its own text message into the messaging app UI on the local device, as indicated by reference numeral 1920 in FIG. 19, to visually show the local user how it is responding to the request. Here, the digital assistant indicates that it is sending the contact information to the remote user in the text message 1920. In some cases, the digital assistant can respond to the request using audio. The text message 1920 may typically be conspicuously marked in some manner so that it is clear to the local user that the message is from the digital assistant and not from the remote user.”, and Par. 0049:” … the local [first] user invokes the digital assistant by saying the key phrase “Hey Cortana” [first voice communication] at point 1 in the call at block 1205.”, and Fig. 12 at point 1:” send the Asian Fusian contact information which is mapped to the second voice communication.”, and at point 2 of figure 12, box 1210, digital assistant response:” sure thing, texting Asian Fusion contact information to Mark.”, which is depicted on UI, such as box 1920, in Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 10, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey further teaches wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes displaying the digital assistant response during the communication session. (Woolsey, Par. 0061:” The digital assistant injects its own text message into the messaging app UI on the local device, as indicated by reference numeral 1920 in FIG. 19, to visually show the local user how it is responding to the request. Here, the digital assistant indicates that it is sending the contact information to the remote user in the text message 1920. In some cases, the digital assistant can respond to the request using audio. The text message 1920 may typically be conspicuously marked in some manner so that it is clear to the local user that the message is from the digital assistant and not from the remote user. For example, the message can be labeled with the name of the digital assistant as shown, or be highlighted using special text, fonts, colors, graphics, etc. Messages showing the presence of the digital assistant may also be utilized in some cases. For example, messages can be utilized such as “Cortana has entered the conversation” or “Cortana has left the conversation” as the case may be.”) Note as indicated in Fig. 19, the digital assistant response is outputted/displayed during the communication session.
Regarding claim 12, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey further teaches wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes outputting the digital assistant response at the first user device and the second user device. (Woolsey, Par. 0063:” In a similar manner as with the phone call example above (in which the remote user is enabled to hear what the digital assistant is saying when interacting with the local user at the local device [first user device]), here the remote user [2nd user] is provided with an incoming text message 1925 that shows the interaction between the local user and the digital assistant. As shown in FIG. 20, the digital assistant provides the contact information in a text message 2005 on the local device as well as an incoming text message 2010 at the remote device. In this example, the text message includes the name and address of the restaurant of interest as a link that may be followed for more information. A map, in this example, is also provided in the text message that can typically be used to launch a map app on a respective device that can provide a map of the area, directions to the restaurant, nearby points of interest, etc.”)
Regarding claim 13, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey further teaches wherein the digital assistant response is determined based on dialog history corresponding to the communication session. (Woolsey, Par. 0005:”… the digital assistant maintains awareness of call state [dialog history] and other context using inputs from various sources so that it is enabled to take actions that appear natural while reducing the burden on the user. Thus, on a four-way conference call with John the user, and Tom, Richard, and Harry, the user can say “schedule a meeting for us” and the digital assistant understands that the word “us” refers to the four participants. …”, and Par. 0042:”… The various inputs can be used alone or in various combinations to enable the digital assistant 350 to utilize contextual data 620 when it operates. Contextual data can include, for example, … call history, messaging history, …, data associated with other parties to a communication ...”) Note: when in step 1 of Fig. 12, the local user ask “hey Cortana send the Asian Fusion Contact information”, digital assistant knows that the request is to send it to Mark based on the dialog history, therefore it responds: “sure thing, texting Asian Fusion contact information to Mark.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey, and in further view of Pfriem et al. (US20170295117A1)(herein "Pfriem").
Regarding claim 4, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 3.
Woolsey, does not teach, however, Pfriem teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for displaying an indication that the data associated with the digital assistant response is available. (Pfriem, Par. 0003:” … In response to analyzing a message thread, the intelligent personal assistant component may proactively provide an indication that assistance is available from the intelligent personal assistant component. For instance, an indication may be provided that content [data], retrieved by the intelligent personal assistant component, is available to be included within the messaging application based on analysis of the message thread.”, and Par. 0047:” … Examples of UI indications provided by an intelligent personal assistance service may include but are not limited to: illumination of a processing device, visual presentations (e.g., image, GIF, avatar, etc.), audio alerts (accompanying a message on a processing device), vibrations (accompanying a message on a processing device), and in-application messaging/notifications/icons, among other examples.”)
Pfriem is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey further in view of Pfriem to include instructions for displaying an indication that the data associated with the digital assistant response is available. Motivation to do so would instantly alert the user when the response is ready to review.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey, and in further view of John Cronin (US20160072940A1)(herein " Cronin ").
Regarding claim 5, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 3.
Woolsey, does not teach, however, Cronin teaches wherein the data associated with the digital assistant response is accessible by the first user device and the second user device. (Cronin, Par. 0020:” … User devices 105 [first user device] and 110 [second user device] may also be configured to access data from other storage media, …”, and Par. 0027:” Network connections 160, 165, and 170 may include any suitable wired or wireless transmission mediums or channels through which data may be communicated between user devices 105 and 110, network 175, and personal assistant server 180.”, and Par. 0030:” Personal assistant server 180 is a server that manages functions of the personal assistants running on user devices 105 and 110 and is coupled to network 175 via network connection 170. Personal assistant server 180 may be any suitable remote or local server that stores data. In some embodiments, personal assistant server 180 is an electronic storage device. Personal assistant server 180 is accessible by other devices through network 175.”, and Par. 0044:” … a personal assistant provides an answer to a received input based on a search, because the system identifies a keyword in the received input indicating that a search is necessary for responding to the received input. …”) Note: Digital assistant server is connected and accessible by the first and second devices. Furthermore, DA provides response to a given query which is accessible to both parties.
Cronin is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey further in view of Cronin to wherein the data associated with the digital assistant response is accessible by the first user device and the second user device. Motivation to do so would accelerate decision-making since no one has to wait for post-call follow-ups to get the context or data they need.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey, and in further view of Gruber et al. (US 20130275164A1)(herein " Gruber ").
Regarding claim 6, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey, does not teach, however, Gruber teaches wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes displaying a first portion of the digital assistant response at the first user device during the communication session and (Gruber, Par. 0166:” … Conversation screen 101A features a conversational user interface showing what the user said 101B ("I'd like a romantic place for Italian food near my office") and assistant's 1002 response, which is a summary [first portion] of its findings 101C ("OK, I found these Italian restaurants which reviews say are romantic close to your work:") and a set of results 101D (the first three of a list of restaurants are shown).”)
storing a second portion of the digital assistant response that is different from the first portion of the digital assistant response. (Gruber, Par. 0166:” … the user clicks on the first result in the list [first portion], and the result automatically opens up to reveal more information about the restaurant, shown in information screen 101E [second portion]. Information screen 101E and conversation screen 101A may appear on the same output device, such as a touch-screen or other display device; the examples depicted in FIG. 2 are two different output states for the same output device.”, and Par. 0167:”… information screen 101E shows information gathered and combined from a variety of services, including for example, any or all of the following:”, and Par. 0168:” Addresses and geolocations of businesses;”, and Par. 0169:” Distance from user's current location;”, and Par. 0170:” Reviews from a plurality of sources;”). Note: the second portion response is different from the first portion, furthermore, second portion being displayed reads on “storing s second portion of the response”.
Gruber is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey further in view of Gruber to wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes displaying a first portion of the digital assistant response at the first user device during the communication session and storing a second portion of the digital assistant response that is different from the first portion of the digital assistant response. Motivation to do so would allow the digital assistant to provide an immediate, conversational reply without overwhelming the user or screen.
Regarding claim 7, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 6.
Woolsey, as modified above, further teaches the first portion of the digital assistant response corresponds to a transcription of the first voice communication and/or the second voice communication; and (Woolsey, Par. 0018:” FIG. 12 shows an illustrative transcript of audio interactions among a digital assistant and parties to a voice call;”, and Par. 0049:” … provides a transcript of what is spoken during an illustrative voice call 205. “, and Par. 0052:” After the local [first] user initiates the digital assistant with the key phrase in this example, the user requests that the digital assistant send contact information for a restaurant to the remote user. The digital assistant responds at point 2 in the call at block 1210 in FIG. 12 by saying that the contact information will be sent to the remote user as a message.”)
Woolsey, as modified above, does not teach, however Gruber further teaches the second portion of the digital assistant response corresponds to an instruction that is received during the communication session. (Gruber, Par. 0168:” Addresses and geolocations of businesses;”, and Par. 0169:” Distance from user's current location;”, and Par. 0170:” Reviews from a plurality of sources;”, and Par. 0175:”Show the location of and directions to this restaurant on a map ("map it");”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey, and Gruber and in further view of Brandel et al. (US 20200410996 A1)(herein " Brandel "), and Pfriem.
Regarding claim 8, Woolsey, as modified above, teaches the first user device of claim 6.
Woolsey, as modified above, does not teach, however, Brandel teaches receiving, at the first user device, a fourth user input corresponding to a request to access an application; and (Brandel, Par. 0075:” … the receiving of the voice assistant runtime component occurs in response to receiving a request from a user device to access a web application or web page.”)
Brandel is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey, as modified above, further in view of Brandel to receive, at the first user device, a fourth user input corresponding to a request to access an application. Motivation to do so would validate credentials to protect sensitive systems from unauthorized entry.
Woolsey, as modified above, does not teach, however, Pfriem teaches in response to receiving the fourth user input, displaying, within a user interface of the application, an indication that the digital assistant response is available. (Pfriem, Par. 0003:” … In response to analyzing a message thread, the intelligent personal assistant component may proactively provide an indication that assistance is available from the intelligent personal assistant component. For instance, an indication may be provided that content [response], retrieved by the intelligent personal assistant component, is available to be included within the messaging application based on analysis of the message thread.”, and Par. 0060:” … This enables an intelligent personal assistant service to provide responses (e.g. reply, message, cue, content) in a conversational manner.”, and Par. 0047:” … Examples of UI indications provided by an intelligent personal assistance service may include but are not limited to: illumination of a processing device, visual presentations (e.g., image, GIF, avatar, etc.), audio alerts (accompanying a message on a processing device), vibrations (accompanying a message on a processing device), and in-application messaging/notifications/icons, among other examples.”)
Pfriem is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey, as modified above, further in view of Pfriem to display, within a user interface of the application, an indication that the digital assistant response is available. Motivation to do so would instantly alert the user when the response is ready to review.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey, and in further view of Vashisht et al. (US10715648B1)(herein " Vashisht").
Regarding claim 11, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey, does not teach, however, Vashisht teaches wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes displaying the digital assistant response after the communication session has ended. (Vashisht, Col. 5, ll. 33-40:”… and after the incoming call has ended, method 200 may proceed to stage 250 where a call history associated with the incoming call may be displayed through the user interface, as illustrated in FIG. 7. The call history may include contact information associated with the caller, a transcription of the conversation, and/or one or more actions captured from the conversation and performed by virtual assistant 125.”, and Col. 10, ll. 3-8:”… a plurality of features associated with managing a conversation between the virtual assistant and a caller during the incoming call may be displayed through the user interface. After the incoming call has ended, a call history associated with the incoming call may be displayed through the user interface.”)
Vashisht is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey further in view of Vashisht to wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes displaying the digital assistant response after the communication session has ended. Motivation to do so would generate a wrap-up note and sends an email summary/response to the user right after a call session ends.
Regarding claim 14, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey, further teaches a fifth user input; and in response to receiving the fifth user input, outputting the digital assistant response:” Woolsey, reference numeral 1915 in FIG. 19:” Hey Cortana, send Mark the Asian Fusion contact information.” And in response to this request, digital assistant respond as indicated by reference numeral 1920 in FIG. 19:” Sure thing, sending Asian Fusion contact information to Mark Howard.”) Note: Woolsey teaches a digital assistant outputting a response after receiving an input.
Woolsey does not teach, however, Vashisht teaches a digital assistant engagement after communication session ended ( Vashisht, Col. 5, ll. 33-40:”… and after the incoming call has ended, method 200 may proceed to stage 250 where a call history associated with the incoming call may be displayed through the user interface, as illustrated in FIG. 7. The call history may include contact information associated with the caller, a transcription of the conversation, and/or one or more actions captured from the conversation and performed by virtual assistant 125.”)
Vashisht is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey further in view of Vashisht teaches a digital assistant engagement after communication session ended. Motivation to do so would generate a wrap-up note and sends an email summary/response to the user right after a call session ends.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey, and in further view of Nicholson et al. (US 20180366115A1)(herein " Nicholson").
Regarding claim 15, Woolsey teaches the first user device of claim 1.
Woolsey, does not teach, however, Nicholson teaches wherein the digital assistant response includes one or more candidate tasks based on the first voice communication and the second voice communication. (Nicholson, Par. 0046:”… the user 300 may provide first voice input of a response cue for a digital assistant of “Hey digital assistant”, which may be followed by second voice input requesting that a task be executed by the digital assistant. In this case, the second voice input includes “show me pictures of the Great Wall and the Taj Mahal”. … ensuing voice input and provide output as a response to the cue.”, and Par. 0047:” … The digital assistant application stored at the computer 310 may then be executed to process the second voice input and execute a task in conformance therewith. …”).
Nicholson is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wherein the digital assistant response includes one or more candidate tasks based on the first voice communication and the second voice communication. Motivation to do so would allow the digital assistant to proactively anticipate user intent and reduce cognitive load.
Regarding claim 16, Woolsey, as modified above, teaches the first user device of claim 15.
Woolsey, as modified above, further teaches wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes displaying the one or more candidate tasks overlaying the communication session user interface during the communication session. (Woolsey, Par. 0061:” The digital assistant injects its own text message into the messaging app UI on the local device, as indicated by reference numeral 1920 in FIG. 19, to visually show the local user how it is responding to the request. Here, the digital assistant indicates that it is sending the contact information to the remote user [candidate task] in the text message 1920. In some cases, the digital assistant can respond to the request using audio. The text message 1920 may typically be conspicuously marked in some manner so that it is clear to the local user that the message is from the digital assistant and not from the remote user.”) Note: Digital assistant provides a candidate task as “sending Asian Fusion contact information to Mark Howard.”
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey, and Nicholson, and in further view of Vashisht.
Regarding claim 17, Woolsey, as modified above, teaches the first user device of claim 15.
Woolsey, as modified above, does not teach, however, Vashisht teaches wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes displaying the one or more candidate tasks after the communication session has ended. (Vashisht, Col. 5, ll. 33-40:”… and after the incoming call has ended, method 200 may proceed to stage 250 where a call history associated with the incoming call may be displayed through the user interface, as illustrated in FIG. 7. The call history may include contact information associated with the caller, a transcription of the conversation, and/or one or more actions captured from the conversation and performed by virtual assistant 125.”, and Col. 10, ll. 3-8:”… a plurality of features associated with managing a conversation between the virtual assistant and a caller during the incoming call may be displayed through the user interface. After the incoming call has ended, a call history associated with the incoming call may be displayed through the user interface.”)
Vashisht is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey, as modified above, further in view of Vashisht to wherein outputting the digital assistant response includes displaying the one or more candidate tasks after the communication session has ended. Motivation to do so would generate a wrap-up note and sends an email summary/response to the user right after a call session ends.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woolsey, and Nicholson, and in further view of Danila et al. (US 20190103101 A1)(herein “Danila”).
Regarding claim 18, Woolsey, as modified above, teaches the first user device of claim 15.
Woolsey, as modified above, does not teach, however, Danila teaches wherein the one or more candidate tasks are one or more task suggestions. (Danila, Par. 002:” In various implementations, the method may further include: comparing the dialog routine to a plurality of candidate tasks that are performable by the automated assistant; and based on the comparing, selecting the task to which the command is mapped from the plurality of candidate tasks.”)
Danila is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Woolsey, as modified above, further in view of Danila to wherein the one or more candidate tasks are one or more task suggestions. Motivation to do so would enable a digital assistant to proactively anticipates needs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Sanghavi et al. (US20160335532A1) teaches in Par. 0010:” One or more of the participant users can select to utilize a virtual assistant to assist the participant users with tasks during the communication session. A virtual assistant can be an application, module, software, etc., capable of analyzing messages included in the communication session to identify tasks and provide assistance with completing the identified tasks.”, and Par. 0011:” A task can be any type of action that a virtual assistant can provide assistance with. For example, a task can include scheduling a meeting, performing a financial transaction, determining an estimated time of arrival, providing directions, providing weather information, alerting a user of relevant information, etc.”
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
DARIOUSH AGAHI, P.E.
Primary Examiner
/DARIOUSH AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656