DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a plurality of PCD bearings positioned between the sealing element and the inner housing” of claim 9; and “when piping is inserted through the sealing element, a grip is provided between the sealing element and the piping providing rotation of the sealing element with the piping, and thereby also providing rotation of the sealing element connected to the portion of the inner housing and rotation of the piping sealed by the sealing element within the outer housing” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2-20 recite “a plurality of…PCD bearings”. Claim 1 previously recited “polycrystalline diamond bearings (PCD). It is unclear if the PCD bearings recited in claims 2-20 are the same as the PCD bearings recited in claim 1 or if they are new and separate bearings.
Claim 5-8, 11, and 13 and 17-18 recite “upper” and/or “lower”. No frame of reference has been established from which “upper” and “lower” are measured.
Claim 9 recites “when”. It is unclear if the limitations following the term “when” are optional. For example, if the condition “when piping is inserted” never occurs, is the limitation that follows the condition required? Applicant should avoid using the term “when” in this way in claim limitations and instead positively recite the limitations. Furthermore, it is unclear if the “piping” is within the scope of the “rotation control device” or if it is outside the scope of the RCD.
Claim 20 recites “a rotating control device”. Claim 17 previously recited a device. It is unclear if these are the same elements or of they are two separate elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-13, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonzalez U.S. 2020/0256379.
Re clm 1, Gonzalez discloses a rotating control device (downhole motor; [0034]; motors control rotation of the drill), comprising: an inner housing (either of 502/505a, Fig. 5B or 756, Fig. 7); an outer housing (either of 504/505b, Fig. 5B or 760, Fig. 7); and polycrystalline diamond bearings (506a-d, Fig. 5B) positioned between the inner housing and the outer housing, wherein the inner housing and the outer housing are rotatable relative to each other along a rotational axis via the polycrystalline diamond bearings.
Re clm 2, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of radial PCD bearings (506d, Fig. 5B) formed directly on ([0035]) an inner radial surface of (inner surface of 504) the outer housing wherein the inner radial surface of the outer housing extends in a direction parallel with a central rotational axis of the inner housing.
Re clm 3, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings further comprise: a plurality of radial PCD bearings (506c, Fig. 5) formed directly on ([0035]) an outer radial surface of the inner housing, wherein the outer radial surface of the inner housing extends in the direction parallel with the central rotational axis of the inner housing.
Re clm 4, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of radial PCD bearings (506c and/or 506d) formed on one or more surfaces of a bearing base ring (502 and/or 504), wherein the bearing base ring is positioned between an inner radial surface of the outer housing and an outer radial surface of the inner housing.
Re clm 6, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of axial PCD bearings (506a) formed directly on a lower axial surface (no frame of reference has been recited for the term ‘lower’, thus any arbitrary direction can be chosen; top surface of 505a can be considered lower surface of bearing interface while bottom surface of 505b can be considered upper surface of bearing interface) of the inner housing, wherein the lower axial surface of the inner housing extends in a direction perpendicular to the rotational axis.
Re clm 7, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings further comprise: a plurality of axial PCD bearings (506b) formed directly on an upper axial surface (no frame of reference has been recited for the term ‘upper’, thus any arbitrary direction can be chosen; top surface of 505a can be considered lower surface of bearing interface while bottom surface of 505b can be considered upper surface of bearing interface) of the outer housing, wherein the upper axial surface of the outer housing extends in the direction perpendicular to the rotational axis.
Re clm 11, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings are formed on a set of bearing base rings (502, 504, 505a and 505b), wherein the set of bearing base rings comprises: an inner base ring (502) having radial PCD bearings (506c) formed on an outer surface of the inner base ring; an outer base ring (504) having radial PCD bearings (506d) formed on an inner surface of the outer base ring, wherein the radial PCD bearings formed on the inner surface of the outer base ring and the radial PCD bearings formed on the outer surface of the inner base ring are configured to interface when the outer base ring is assembled around the inner base ring; a lower base ring (505a) having axial PCD bearings (506a) formed on an upper surface of the lower base ring; and an upper base ring (505b) having axial PCD bearings (506b) formed on a lower surface of the upper base ring, wherein the axial PCD bearings formed on the upper surface of the lower base ring and the axial PCD bearings formed on the upper surface of the lower base ring are configured to interface with each other when the upper base ring is assembled on the upper surface of the lower base ring.
Re clm 12¸ Gonzalez further discloses when the outer base ring is assembled around the inner base ring, a radial PCD bearing interface (gap between adjacent PCD elements) provides radial flow-by slots, wherein the radial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid ([0064]), whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings (lubricating fluid that passes between opposing bearing surfaces would also cool those bearings).
It is further noted that the limitation “the radial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings” does not positively recite the well fluid nor the cooling of the bearing and that the gaps between the PCDs are at least capable of performing the function recited.
Re clm 13, Gonzalez further discloses when the upper base ring is assembled on the upper surface of the lower base ring, an axial PCD bearing interface provides axial flow-by slots (gap between adjacent PCD elements), wherein the axial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid ([0064]), whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings (lubricating fluid that passes between opposing bearing surfaces would also cool those bearings).
It is further noted that the limitation “the axial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings” does not positively recite the well fluid nor the cooling of the bearing and that the gaps between the PCDs are at least capable of performing the function recited.
Re clm 17, Gonzalez discloses a device (Fig. 5B), comprising: a set of bearing base rings, wherein the set of bearing base rings comprises: an inner base ring (502) having a plurality of radial polycrystalline diamond (PCD) bearings (506c) formed on an outer surface of the inner base ring; a lower base ring (505a) having a plurality of axial PCD bearings (506a) formed on an upper surface of the lower base ring.
Re clm 18, Gonzalez further discloses the set of bearing base rings further comprises: an outer base ring (504) having radial PCD bearings (506d) formed on an inner surface of the outer base ring, wherein the radial PCD bearings formed on the inner surface of the outer base ring and the radial PCD bearings formed on the outer surface of the inner base ring are configured to interface when the outer base ring is assembled around the inner base ring; and an upper base ring (505b) having axial PCD bearings (506b) formed on a lower surface of the upper base ring, wherein the axial PCD bearings formed on the upper surface of the lower base ring and the axial PCD bearings formed on the upper surface of the lower base ring are configured to interface with each other when the upper base ring is assembled on the upper surface of the lower base ring.
Re clm 20, Gonzalez further discloses the set of bearing base rings are configured to provide rotation between one or more portions of a rotating control device (downhole motor; [0034]; motors control rotation of the drill) via rotation about the radial PCD bearings or the axial PCD bearings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6-7 and 11-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez U.S. 2020/0256379 in view of Boyd U.S. 2015/0159460.
Assuming Gonzalez does not disclose a rotating control device:
Re clm 1, Gonzalez discloses a device ([0034]), comprising: an inner housing (502/505a, Fig. 5B or 756, Fig. 7); an outer housing (504/502b, Fig. 5B or 760, Fig. 7); and polycrystalline diamond bearings (506a-d, Fig. 5B) positioned between the inner housing and the outer housing, wherein the inner housing and the outer housing are rotatable relative to each other along a rotational axis via the polycrystalline diamond bearings.
Although Gonzalez discloses the bearings can be used in a number of applications including drilling systems, Gonzalez does not explicitly state the device is a rotating control device.
Boyd teaches a rotating control device (Fig. 1) with bearings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the bearing arrangement of Gonzalez into any well-known drilling device that requires bearings and provide the set of bearing base rings are configured to provide rotation between one or more portions of a rotating control device (RCD) via rotation about the radial PCD bearings or the axial PCD bearings to achieve the predictable result of rotationally supporting drilling machine components relative to each other.
Re clm 2, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of radial PCD bearings (506d, Fig. 5B) formed directly ([0035]) on an inner radial surface of (inner surface of 504) the outer housing wherein the inner radial surface of the outer housing extends in a direction parallel with a central rotational axis of the inner housing.
Re clm 3, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings further comprise: a plurality of radial PCD bearings (506c, Fig. 5) formed directly on ([0035]) an outer radial surface of the inner housing, wherein the outer radial surface of the inner housing extends in the direction parallel with the central rotational axis of the inner housing.
Re clm 4, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of radial PCD bearings (506c and/or 506d) formed on one or more surfaces of a bearing base ring (502 and/or 504), wherein the bearing base ring is positioned between an inner radial surface of the outer housing and an outer radial surface of the inner housing.
Re clm 6, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of axial PCD bearings (506a) formed directly on a lower axial surface (no frame of reference has been recited for the term ‘lower’, thus any arbitrary direction can be chosen; top surface of 505a can be considered lower surface of bearing interface while bottom surface of 505b can be considered upper surface of bearing interface) of the inner housing, wherein the lower axial surface of the inner housing extends in a direction perpendicular to the rotational axis.
Re clm 7, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings further comprise: a plurality of axial PCD bearings (506b) formed directly on an upper axial surface (no frame of reference has been recited for the term ‘upper’, thus any arbitrary direction can be chosen; top surface of 505a can be considered lower surface of bearing interface while bottom surface of 505b can be considered upper surface of bearing interface) of the outer housing, wherein the upper axial surface of the outer housing extends in the direction perpendicular to the rotational axis.
Re clm 11, Gonzalez further discloses the PCD bearings are formed on a set of bearing base rings (502, 504, 505a and 505b), wherein the set of bearing base rings comprises: an inner base ring (502) having radial PCD bearings (506c) formed on an outer surface of the inner base ring; an outer base ring (504) having radial PCD bearings (506d) formed on an inner surface of the outer base ring, wherein the radial PCD bearings formed on the inner surface of the outer base ring and the radial PCD bearings formed on the outer surface of the inner base ring are configured to interface when the outer base ring is assembled around the inner base ring; a lower base ring (505a) having axial PCD bearings (506a) formed on an upper surface of the lower base ring; and an upper base ring (505b) having axial PCD bearings (506b) formed on a lower surface of the upper base ring, wherein the axial PCD bearings formed on the upper surface of the lower base ring and the axial PCD bearings formed on the upper surface of the lower base ring are configured to interface with each other when the upper base ring is assembled on the upper surface of the lower base ring.
Re clm 12¸ Gonzalez further discloses when the outer base ring is assembled around the inner base ring, a radial PCD bearing interface (gap between adjacent PCD elements) provides radial flow-by slots, wherein the radial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid ([0064]), whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings (lubricating fluid that passes between opposing bearing surfaces would also cool those bearings).
It is further noted that the limitation “the radial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings” does not positively recite the well fluid nor the cooling of the bearing and that the gaps between the PCDs are at least capable of performing the function recited.
Re clm 13, Gonzalez further discloses when the upper base ring is assembled on the upper surface of the lower base ring, an axial PCD bearing interface provides axial flow-by slots (gap between adjacent PCD elements), wherein the axial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid ([0064]), whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings (lubricating fluid that passes between opposing bearing surfaces would also cool those bearings).
It is further noted that the limitation “the axial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings” does not positively recite the well fluid nor the cooling of the bearing and that the gaps between the PCDs are at least capable of performing the function recited.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd U.S. 2015/0159460 in view of Moyes U.S. 2023/0332641.
Re clm 1, Boyd discloses a rotating control device (Fig. 1), comprising: an inner housing (80); an outer housing (92); and bearings (90) positioned between the inner housing and the outer housing, wherein the inner housing and the outer housing are rotatable relative to each other along a rotational axis via the bearings.
Although Boyd discloses any suitable bearings may be used, Boyd does not disclose the bearings are polycrystalline diamond bearings (PCD).
Moyes discloses using any type of bearing in wellbore devices ([0002]) including rolling bearings and polycrystalline diamond bearings ([0015]).
Since both Boyd and Moyes disclose bearings in wellbore devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the rolling bearing of Boyd with any well-known bearing type such as that of Moyes and provide the bearings are polycrystalline diamond bearings for the purpose of rotationally supporting two wellbore elements.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd U.S. 2015/0159460 in view of Moyes U.S. 2023/0332641.
Re clm 1, Boyd discloses a rotating control device (Fig. 1), comprising: an inner housing (80); an outer housing (92); and bearings (90) positioned between the inner housing and the outer housing, wherein the inner housing and the outer housing are rotatable relative to each other along a rotational axis via the bearings.
Although Boyd discloses any suitable bearings may be used, Boyd does not disclose the bearings are polycrystalline diamond bearings (PCD).
Moyes discloses using any type of bearing in wellbore devices ([0002]) including rolling bearings and polycrystalline diamond bearings ([0015]).
Since both Boyd and Moyes disclose bearings in wellbore devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the rolling bearing of Boyd with any well-known bearing type such as that of Moyes and provide the bearings are polycrystalline diamond bearings for the purpose of rotationally supporting two wellbore elements.
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sokol U.S. 2011/0036638 in view of Cooley U.S. 9,611,885
Re clm 1, Sokol discloses a rotating control device (Fig. 2), comprising: an inner housing (at least 26); an outer housing (at least 28); and bearings (24) positioned between the inner housing and the outer housing, wherein the inner housing and the outer housing are rotatable relative to each other along a rotational axis via the bearings.
Sokol does not disclose the bearings are polycrystalline diamond bearings (PCD).
Cooley discloses bearings used in drilling devices comprising polycrystalline diamond bearings (at least 130, 132, 230, 232, Fig. 2B; col. 2: lines 32-37) for the purpose of enhancing the durability and operational life of the bearing (col. 2: lines 32-37).
Since both Sokol and Cooley disclose bearings in wellbore devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the bearing of Sokol with any well-known bearing type such as that of Cooley and provide the bearings are polycrystalline diamond bearings for the purpose enhancing the durability and operational life of the bearing.
Re clm 2, the improvement of Cooley further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of radial PCD bearings (214 and 232, Fig. 2B; col. 2: lines 4-9; it is noted that 214 can be considered either part of the bearing or part of the housing) formed directly on an inner radial surface (inner surface of 102b) of the outer housing wherein the inner radial surface of the outer housing extends in a direction parallel with a central rotational axis of the inner housing.
Re clm 3, the improvement of Cooley further discloses wherein the PCD bearings further comprise: a plurality of radial PCD bearings (216 and 230, Fig. 2B; col. 2: lines 4-9; it is noted that 216 can be considered either part of the bearing or part of the housing) formed directly on an outer radial surface of the inner housing, wherein the outer radial surface of the inner housing extends in the direction parallel with the central rotational axis of the inner housing.
Re clm 4, the improvement of Cooley further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of radial PCD bearings (either 230 or 232, Fig. 2B; col. 2: lines 4-9) formed on one or more surfaces of a bearing base ring (214 or 216), wherein the bearing base ring is positioned between an inner radial surface of the outer housing and an outer radial surface of the inner housing (shown in Fig. 2B).
Re clm 6, the improvement of Cooley further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of axial PCD bearings (130, Fig. 2B; col. 2: lines 4-9) formed directly on a lower axial surface (for example, left facing surface of 116) of the inner housing, wherein the lower axial surface of the inner housing extends in a direction perpendicular to the rotational axis.
Re clm 7, the improvement of Cooley further discloses the PCD bearings further comprise: a plurality of axial PCD bearings (132, Fig. 2B; col. 2: lines 4-9) formed directly on an upper axial surface (upward facing surface of 114) of the outer housing, wherein the upper axial surface of the outer housing extends in the direction perpendicular to the rotational axis.
Re clm 8, the improvement of Cooley further discloses a plurality of axial PCD bearings (either of 130 or 132, Fig. 2B; col. 2: lines 4-9) formed on one or more surfaces of a bearing base ring (114 or 116), wherein the bearing base ring is positioned between a lower axial surface of the inner housing and an upper axial surface of the outer housing.
Re clm 9, Sokol further discloses a sealing element (16, Fig. 2) connected to a portion of the inner housing; when piping (14) is inserted through the sealing element, a grip (since element 16 seals against element 14, it imparts some gripping force) is provided between the sealing element and the piping providing rotation of the sealing element with the piping, and thereby also providing rotation of the sealing element connected to the portion of the inner housing and rotation of the piping sealed by the sealing element within the outer housing.
Sokol in view of Cooley further discloses a plurality of PCD bearings (bearings 24 of Sokol, Fig. 2B; PCD is improvement of Cooley) positioned between the sealing element and the inner housing (Sokol shows the bearings 24 positioned axially between the top end of the inner housing 26 and 17 and the bottom end of 16, Fig. 2B).
Re clm 10¸ Sokol further discloses a sealing element (16) connected to a portion of the inner housing (17 and/or 26).
Sokol in view of Cooley further discloses a plurality of PCD bearings (bearings 24 of Sokol, Fig. 2B; PCD is improvement of Cooley) positioned between the sealing element and the outer housing (24s of Sokol are radially between outer housing 28 and seal 16).
Re clm 11, the improvement of Cooley further discloses the PCD bearings are formed on a set of bearing base rings (114, 116, 214 and 216, Fig. 2B), wherein the set of bearing base rings comprises: an inner base ring (216) having radial PCD bearings (230) formed on an outer surface of the inner base ring; an outer base ring (214) having radial PCD bearings (232) formed on an inner surface of the outer base ring, wherein the radial PCD bearings formed on the inner surface of the outer base ring and the radial PCD bearings formed on the outer surface of the inner base ring are configured to interface when the outer base ring is assembled around the inner base ring; a lower base ring (for example, 114) having axial PCD bearings (132) formed on an upper surface of the lower base ring; and an upper base ring (116) having axial PCD bearings (130) formed on a lower surface of the upper base ring, wherein the axial PCD bearings formed on the upper surface of the lower base ring and the axial PCD bearings formed on the upper surface of the lower base ring are configured to interface with each other when the upper base ring is assembled on the upper surface of the lower base ring.
Re clm 12, the improvement of Cooley further discloses when the outer base ring is assembled around the inner base ring, a radial PCD bearing interface (Fig. 16) provides radial flow-by slots (140), wherein the radial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings.
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd U.S. 2015/0159460 in view of Higginbotham U.S. 2013/0170778.
Re clm 1, Boyd discloses a rotating control device (Fig. 1), comprising: an inner housing (80); an outer housing (92); and bearings (90) positioned between the inner housing and the outer housing, wherein the inner housing and the outer housing are rotatable relative to each other along a rotational axis via the bearings.
Although Boyd discloses any suitable bearings may be used, Boyd does not disclose the bearings are polycrystalline diamond bearings (PCD).
Higginbotham discloses using any suitable type of bearing in wellbore devices ([0019]) including rolling bearings and polycrystalline diamond bearings ([0019]).
Since both Boyd and Higginbotham disclose bearings in wellbore devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the rolling bearing of Boyd with any well-known bearing type such as that of Higginbotham and provide the bearings are polycrystalline diamond bearings for the purpose of rotationally supporting two wellbore elements.
Re clm 14, the improvement of Higginbotham further discloses the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of tapered PCD bearings (28 and 48, Fig. 5) positioned along an inner surface of the outer housing (40) and along an outer surface of the inner housing (20), wherein the tapered PCD bearings are positioned to provide support for both radial loads and axial loads between the inner housing and the outer housing.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez U.S. 2020/0256379 or Gonzalez U.S. 2020/0256379 in view of Boyd U.S. 2015/0159460 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cooley U.S. 8,480,304.
Gonzalez or Gonzalez in view of Boyd discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 5, Gonzalez does not disclose at least two sets of spaced apart PCD bearings are provided between the inner housing and the outer housing; a spacing of the PCD bearings provide radial flow-by slots between each of the at least two sets of spaced apart PCD bearings; and the radial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings.
Cooley teaches a bearing arrangement comprising at least two sets of spaced apart PCD bearings (two rings or arrays of PCD bearings, Fig. 1) are provided; a spacing of the PCD bearings provide flow-by slots between each of the at least two sets of spaced apart PCD bearings (as shown in Fig. 1); and the flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid (col. 1: lines 27-42), whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings for the purpose of providing PCD elements which are easier to cool (col. 4: lines 23-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Gonzalez and provide at least two sets of spaced apart PCD bearings are provided between the inner housing and the outer housing; a spacing of the PCD bearings provide radial flow-by slots between each of the at least two sets of spaced apart PCD bearings; and the radial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings for the purpose of providing PCD elements which are easier to cool.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez U.S. 2020/0256379 or Gonzalez U.S. 2020/0256379 in view of Boyd U.S. 2015/0159460 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cooley U.S. 8,480,304.
Gonzalez or Gonzalez in view of Boyd discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 14, Gonzalez does not disclose the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of tapered PCD bearings positioned along an inner surface of the outer housing and along an outer surface of the inner housing, wherein the tapered PCD bearings are positioned to provide support for both radial loads and axial loads between the inner housing and the outer housing.
Higginbotham teaches a plurality of tapered PCD bearings (28 and 48, Fig. 5) positioned along an inner surface of the outer housing (40) and along an outer surface of the inner housing (20), wherein the tapered PCD bearings are positioned to provide support for both radial loads and axial loads between the inner housing and the outer housing for the purpose of providing both radial and axial capabilities in a single set of bearing elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute either or both of the radial and axial PCD arrangements of Gonzalez with the arrangement of Higginbotham and provide the PCD bearings comprise: a plurality of tapered PCD bearings positioned along an inner surface of the outer housing and along an outer surface of the inner housing, wherein the tapered PCD bearings are positioned to provide support for both radial loads and axial loads between the inner housing and the outer housing for the purpose of providing both radial and axial capabilities in a single set of bearing elements.
Re clm 15, Gonzalez in view of Higginbotham discloses the tapered PCD bearings are formed directly on ([0035] of Gonzalez) the inner surface of the outer housing (40, Fig. 5 of Higginbotham) and the outer surface of the inner housing.
Re clm 16, Gonzalez in view of Higginbotham further discloses the tapered PCD bearings are formed on one or more surfaces of a bearing base ring (502b, Fig. 5B of Gonzalez; 20 or 40, Fig. 5 of Higginbotham), wherein the bearing base ring is positioned between the inner surface of the outer housing and the outer surface of the inner housing.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez U.S. 2020/0256379 as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Cooley U.S. 8,480,304.
Gonzalez discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 19, Gonzalez does not disclose the radial PCD bearings further comprises at least two sets of spaced apart radial PCD bearings, wherein a spacing between the plurality of radial PCD bearings provides radial flow-by slots between each of the at least two sets of spaced apart radial PCD bearings, and wherein the radial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the radial PCD bearings; and the axial PCD bearings further comprises at least two sets of spaced apart axial PCD bearings, wherein a spacing between the plurality of axial PCD bearings provides axial flow-by slots between each of the at least two sets of spaced apart axial PCD bearings, and wherein the axial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the axial PCD bearings.
Cooley teaches a bearing arrangement which the PCD bearings (Fig. 1) further comprises at least two sets of spaced apart PCD bearings (two rings or arrays of PCD bearings), wherein a spacing between the plurality of PCD bearings provides flow-by slots between each of the at least two sets of spaced apart PCD bearings (as show by Fig. 1), and wherein the flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid (col. 1: lines 27-42), whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the PCD bearings for the purpose of providing PCD elements which are easier to cool (col. 4: lines 23-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Gonzalez and provide the radial PCD bearings further comprises at least two sets of spaced apart radial PCD bearings, wherein a spacing between the plurality of radial PCD bearings provides radial flow-by slots between each of the at least two sets of spaced apart radial PCD bearings, and wherein the radial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the radial PCD bearings; and the axial PCD bearings further comprises at least two sets of spaced apart axial PCD bearings, wherein a spacing between the plurality of axial PCD bearings provides axial flow-by slots between each of the at least two sets of spaced apart axial PCD bearings, and wherein the axial flow-by slots are configured to receive a well fluid, whereby receiving the well fluid provides cooling to the axial PCD bearings for the purpose of providing PCD elements which are easier to cool.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez U.S. 2020/0256379 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Boyd U.S. 2015/0159460.
Gonzalez discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Assuming Gonzalez does not disclose a rotating control device:
Re clm 20, Gonzalez does not disclose the set of bearing base rings are configured to provide rotation between one or more portions of a rotating control device (RCD) via rotation about the radial PCD bearings or the axial PCD bearings.
Boyd teaches a rotating control device (Fig. 1) with bearings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the bearing arrangement of Gonzalez into any well-known drilling device that requires bearings and provide the set of bearing base rings are configured to provide rotation between one or more portions of a rotating control device (RCD) via rotation about the radial PCD bearings or the axial PCD bearings to achieve the predictable result of rotationally supporting drilling machine components relative to each other.
Conclusion
/ALAN B WAITS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617