DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the “both sides of the channel changeover plate located on both sides of the reversing rotating shaft respectively form a cover plate” as recited in claim 3; and
the “second inclined plane is provided on the first support plate and the second support plate” as recited in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Channel changeover plate 401 appear to be the same as the cover plate 4013. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the outlet pipe” in line 4, should read -- the water outlet pipe.-- Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5-12, 13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the channel changeover plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Line 2 recites “channel changeover plates (plural),” it is unclear which particular "the channel changeover plate" is referred in line 3 by the Applicant. Clarification is respectfully requested.
The term “"8" shape” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “"8" shape” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The exact size, shape and geometry to meet the claim limitation is not known. In other words, based on different type of font, the limitation “"8" shape” can be “8,” “8,” “8,” “8” and many more. Which one would meet the claim limitation? Why and why not? For the purpose of examination, the limitation “"8" shape” will be interpreted as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the transition" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first support plate" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There are two first support plates in the claim, it is unclear which particular "the first support plate" is referred in line 4 by the Applicant. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the second reversing rod " in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 11 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldney (EP0826427).
With respect to claim 1, Goldney discloses a water spinner structure (Figs. 1-16), comprising a driving mechanism (5), the driving mechanism comprising a driving assembly (8 and 9), and a water inlet member (7) and a water outlet pipe (6) being connected to the driving mechanism; wherein the driving assembly comprises a driving member (9), an impeller (8) is movably connected to the driving member, a first impeller driving channel (from 7 to 23 via 14) is provided on the driving member, and after water flows into the water inlet member, the impeller is driven to rotate in a first direction (Col. 3, lines 20-22) through the first impeller driving channel to drive the driving mechanism to rotate to make the water outlet pipe rotate in a circumferential direction.
With respect to claim 2, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 1, wherein a second impeller driving channel (from 7 to 23 via 15) is further provided on the driving member, and after water flows into the water inlet member, the impeller is driven to rotate in a second direction (Col. 3, lines 22-24) through the second impeller driving channel to drive the driving mechanism to rotate to make the outlet pipe rotate in the circumferential direction; and the water spinner structure further comprises a channel reversing mechanism (16) to control the water to pass through the second impeller driving channel or the first impeller driving channel.
With respect to claim 3, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 2, wherein the channel reversing mechanism comprises channel changeover plates (left and right plates of 17) connected to the driving mechanism by a reversing rotating shaft (of 17 securing 18), and both sides of the channel changeover plate located on both sides of the reversing rotating shaft respectively form a cover plate (of 17. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention) controlling the first impeller driving channel to be blocked and the second impeller driving channel to be opened or the first impeller driving channel to be opened and the second impeller driving channel to be blocked (Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 4, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 2, wherein the driving assembly further comprises a gear transmission mechanism (9), the gear transmission mechanism is meshed with the water inlet member, and the gear transmission mechanism drives the impeller to rotate, and the water inlet member is fixedly connected with the driving member (Col. 2, line 54 to Col. 3, line 32).
With respect to claim 5, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 3, wherein the channel reversing mechanism further comprises a reversing control mechanism (Fig. 8), the reversing control mechanism comprises a first reversing rod (18 and 19), the driving mechanism comprises a housing (casing of 5), the first reversing rod comprises a first rod body (19), a second spring (18) and a second rod body (of 17), the second spring connects the first rod body and the second rod body, the second rod body is arranged on the channel changeover plate, and an upper end of the second rod body passes through the housing.
With respect to claim 6, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 3, wherein the channel reversing mechanism further comprises a reversing control mechanism (Fig. 8); the reversing control mechanism comprises two reversing projections (See Fig. 8 with additional annotations below) provided on the channel changeover plate, and further comprises a second reversing rod (rod shown in Fig. 8 with additional annotations below and 19); the driving mechanism comprises a housing (casing of 5); one end of the second reversing rod is arranged between the two reversing projections; and an upper end (at 19) of the second reversing rod passes through the housing.
With respect to claim 7, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 5, wherein end portions of the first rod body and the second rod body are inserted into both ends of the second spring (Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 8, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 3, wherein a spherical surface (left end of 19. Fig. 8) is provided outside the first rod body, an outer diameter of the spherical surface is greater than an outer diameter of the first rod body (right end of 19), and the first rod body is sheathed with a seal ring (Fig. 3) at a position close to the spherical surface.
With respect to claim 10, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 3, wherein the reversing rotating shaft is arranged in the middle of the channel changeover plate, and the driving member is provided with a rotating bracket (See Fig. 8 with additional annotations below) matched with the reversing rotating shaft.
With respect to claim 11, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 10, wherein an extended convex ring (openings of 14 and 15) is formed at the second impeller driving channel and the first impeller driving channel, and a (rims of 14 and 15) surface of the extended convex ring forms a first inclined plane matched with the circular plugging plate.
With respect to claim 13, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 4, wherein a support bracket (20, 22. Fig. 7) is provided on the driving member, the support bracket comprises at least two first support plates (20, 22), a circular arc surface is provided on the first support plate, and a mounting space (left end of 20. Fig. 7) for accommodating the gear transmission mechanism is formed between an outer side of the circular arc surface and an inner wall of the housing (Figs. 3 and 7).
With respect to claim 14, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 13, wherein the support bracket further comprises a second support plate (outer tabs of 20 and 22. Fig. 7), an included (rotatable) angle between the two first support plates is 180 degrees, the second support plate is arranged between the two first support plates, and a second inclined plane (curved planes of the outer tabs of 20 and 22. Fig. 7) is provided on the first support plate and the second support plate.
With respect to claim 15, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 13, wherein a bottom surface of the driving member is provided with a step surface (unmarked stepped ring on the left of 20 and 22 in Fig. 4) toward a top side of the support bracket.
With respect to claim 16, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 5, wherein the gear transmission mechanism comprises two gear (left and right) sets (Fig. 6), each of the gear sets comprises a pinion (right gear set) and a gearwheel (left gear set) spaced apart, the gearwheel of one gear set is meshed with the pinion of the other gear set, and the pinion of one gear set is meshed with the gearwheel of the other gear set.
With respect to claim 17, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 5, wherein the water spinner structure further comprises an angle adjustment mechanism (two sweep setting rings 20, 22. Fig. 7), the angle adjustment mechanism comprises a first direction adjustment member (20) and a second direction adjustment member (22), a first track (aperture of 20) is provided on the first direction adjustment member, a second track (aperture of 22) is provided on the second direction adjustment member, and an overlapping portion of the first track and the second track forms a movable range of the second reversing rod.
With respect to claim 18, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 17, wherein a first anti-drop block (rim of 20) matched with an inner wall of the second track is formed on the first track, and a second anti-drop block (rim of 22) matched with an inner wall of the first track is formed on the second track.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldney.
With respect to claim 9, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 5, wherein the two cover plates of the channel changeover plate are respectively circular (in the shape of a circle) plugging plates (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
Goldney fails to disclose the two circular plugging plates are connected to each other by the transition of an arc surface to form an "8" shape.
However, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results.
Claim(s) 20 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldney in view of Cooper et al. (US 5098020. Cooper hereinafter).
With respect to claim 20, Goldney discloses the water spinner structure according to claim 1, wherein the water outlet pipe is linear, and at least one water outlet hole (of 32 and 33) is provided on the water outlet pipe.
Goldney fails to disclose the water outlet holes are arranged obliquely with respect to the water outlet pipe from the middle to both sides, and an inclination angle increases successively.
However, Cooper teaches a water spinner structure (Figs. 1-14. Analogous art to the Applicant’s invention) wherein a water outlet pipe (14), and at least one water outlet hole (16) is provided on the water outlet pipe, the water outlet holes are arranged obliquely with respect to the water outlet pipe from the middle to both sides, and an inclination angle increases successively (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the water outlet holes are arranged obliquely with respect to the water outlet pipe, as taught by Cooper, to Goldney’s water outlet pipe, in order to produce the desired fan shaped spray (Col. 6, lines 31-48 and Figs. 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a water spinner structure: Stephany et al., Wichman et al., Chow, Leung and Wang et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 August 12, 2026