DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is ‘configured to’ perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kambara (US 2023/0010669) in view of Suh (US 2012/0113502).
Regarding claim 1 Kambara discloses an electromagnetic wave reflecting device, comprising: a reflection panel (e.g., Figs. 3A-7, at 13) configured to reflect radio waves of a desired band selected from a frequency band between 1 GHZ and 170 GHz (e.g., Abstract, paragraph 0009); and a frame (e.g., Figs. 3A-7, at 11) configured to hold the reflection panel, wherein the reflection panel includes a dielectric layer (e.g., Figs. 3A-7, at 132), a conductive pattern (e.g., Figs. 3A-7, at 102) periodically provided on one surface of the dielectric layer, a ground layer (e.g., Figs. 3A-7, at 131) provided on the other surface of the dielectric layer.
Kambara does not disclose an adhesive layer configured to bond the conductive pattern to the one surface of the dielectric layer, and a gap is provided in the adhesive layer.
Suh discloses an adhesive layer (e.g., Figs. 1-4, at 30) configured to bond the conductive pattern to the one surface of the dielectric layer, and a gap is provided in the adhesive layer (e.g., Figs.3A-3D, at 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Kambara in accordance with the teaching of Suh regarding the use of an adhesive layer in order to bond the respective layers (Suh, paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 7 Kambara further discloses an electromagnetic wave reflecting fence, wherein a plurality of the electromagnetic wave reflecting devices each being the electromagnetic wave reflecting device of claim 1 are joined by the frame (e.g., Fig. 7, at 10-1 and 10-2 and 11).
Regarding claim 9 Kambara discloses a reflection panel (e.g., Figs. 3A-7, at 13), comprising: a dielectric layer (e.g., Figs. 3A-7, at 132); a conductive pattern (e.g., Figs. 3A-7, at 102) periodically provided on one surface of the dielectric layer; a ground layer (e.g., Figs. 3A-7, at 131) provided on another surface of the dielectric layer.
Kambara does not disclose an adhesive layer configured to bond the conductive pattern to the one surface of the dielectric layer, wherein a gap is provided in the adhesive layer.
Suh discloses an adhesive layer configured to bond the conductive pattern to the one surface of the dielectric layer, wherein a gap (e.g., Figs.3A-3D, at 30) is provided in the adhesive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Kambara in accordance with the teaching of Suh regarding the use of an adhesive layer in order to bond the respective layers (Suh, paragraph 0065).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 2, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein a thickness of the adhesive layer is 0.002 mm or more and 0.05 mm or less, and an occupancy of the adhesive layer with respect to the dielectric layer is 9.0% or more and 50.0% or less.
Kambara and Suh are both cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a an electromagnetic wave reflecting device having a reflection panel, a frame, a dielectric layer, and an adhesive.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding dependent claim 5, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of an intermediate layer covering the adhesive layer and the conductive pattern, wherein the intermediate layer fills at least a part of the gap of the adhesive layer.
Kambara and Suh are both cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a an electromagnetic wave reflecting device having a reflection panel, a frame, a dielectric layer, and an adhesive.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding dependent claim 7, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein a plurality of the electromagnetic wave reflecting devices each being the electromagnetic wave reflecting device of claim 1 are joined by the frame.
Kambara and Suh are both cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a an electromagnetic wave reflecting device having a reflection panel, a frame, a dielectric layer, and an adhesive.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The International Search Report disclosed by Applicant contains additional references and analysis considered highly relevant to the current application.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845