DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al, US Patent Publication 2024/0191001.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a pulp dissolving device for refined cotton (teaches pretreating, but as an apparatus that makes the device must simply be capable of performing the function of dissolving, which this pretreatment device is – see abstract and claims), comprising a supporting base (item 2), wherein a pulp dissolving unit A (5) is installed on the top of the supporting base, and a pulp discharging unit (discharge door [0007]) is installed in front of the pulp dissolving unit A;
a pulp dissolving unit Bis installed on the right side of the pulp dissolving unit A, and a pulp dissolving unit C is installed on the pulp dissolving unit A (2) and the pulp dissolving unit B (this is a mere duplication of parts see MPEP 2144.04 In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) that states that “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”);
the pulp dissolving unit A comprises a pulp dissolving frame (see figure 1), stirring shafts (Figure 3) and stirring supports (figures 3-5);
the pulp dissolving frame is welded to the top of the supporting base (item 7 figure 3); the number of the stirring shafts (item 20, figure 5) is two.
The reference displays four as an example and [0057 and 0065] describes the shafts as connected to gears 22 simply as a plurality. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the number of a plurality of items to fit the desired outcome as a multitude of shafts is directly taught.
Zhou further teaches that the stirring shafts are rotationally installed on the pulp dissolving frame (see figure 5); and the number of the stirring supports is two rows, and the two rows of stirring shafts are welded to the outside of the two stirring shafts (see above where the average artisan is known to adjust the number of shafts in an obvious manner to arrive at the same end result.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou remains as applied above and further teaches that the pulping unit comprises a tracked system for controlling the rotation of the shafts (shown in figures 4 and 5 with two stroke switches and gears to connect and rotate the blocks and discs [0057]. The Examiner is stating that this performs the same function as a”v-belt” and a pair of pulleys as the same actions occur with the same operation. This will make the gear system and the pulley system to be functional equivalents, and it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another is obvious when they are functional equivalents (see KSR rationales, MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou remains as applied above and further teaches that the device further includes a motor [0015-0016] to control the stroke switch (argued above as a functional equivalent of the pulley system [0025-0026]) with a semicircular tooth system (items 15 and 18 figure 4) acting as the linking blocks of the system to the rotary shafts (see figures 4 and 5)
Regarding claims 4-5, Zhou remains as applied above and further teaches that the discharge area is a door (reading on a valve) which is attached to the device wall near the bottom [0056] with additional liquid outlets (items 25 and 66) on the front and back of the drum [0056]. All of the same components are present and it has also been held that a simple rearrangement of parts for the same functionality has been held to be obvious under In re Japikse, see MPEP 2144.04.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While many of the limitations of claim 6 (and its dependents) are conventional in of themselves, the specific placement in relation to each other and the functionality they provide are not presented in an obvious manner by the prior art. While the average artisan could put each claimed piece in the claimed locations, there is no reason as to why they would utilize this specific combination of limitations at their claimed locations.
The physical components and positioning of each limitations has risen to the level of more than routine optimization and mere rearrangement of parts for claims 6 and beyond, and it would be unreasonable to assume they placements to be obvious without motivation provided by the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/456289 and 18/963816 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims (at least claims 1-5 are much broader in scope than the copending applications which include all of the claimed limitations and additional limitations focus on additional aspects of their inventions. Under broadest reasonably interpretation, the claims of the copending applications do read on claims 1-5. Starting in claim 6 the level of specificity arise to being non-obvious even over the copending applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publications 2015/0343450 and 2015/0314486 and USP 5,964,984, 5,244,585, 4,657,636, and 4,200,537 all have devices for treating cotton pulp that provide teaching of at least claim 1 in the instant invention. All of the above cited references teach devices with the secured stirring devices in a tank of some kind to pretreat the cotton or pulp. As above the level of specificity achieved in claim 6 is sufficient to overcome all of these other example in the prior art of devices to dissolve or pretreat cotton and pulp.
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748